How do I pick a UHF aerial?

Hiya all forumites,

I'm trying to select a UHF aerial and there are way too many to choose from.

It will be used mainly in hilly country so I was thinking about a 6dB ground independant aerial. It will be mounted on the roof rack.

If it's to be mounted on the roof rack can I get away with a smaller aerial, even a stubby one?

Will a 4.5dB aerial do the same job or will it perform worse compared to a 6db?

Are there any other things I should consider? Is one brand better then another?

Reply By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 13:03

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 13:03
In hilly situations it is better to have a lower Db gain aerial

see this link

It explains it very well

AnswerID: 258750

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 13:16

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 13:16
Hi ben_gv3
Like Kev said above, the 4.5dB gain would be better.
GME gave a good brochure that shows the patern radiated by the different aerials gains. The Higher gain aerials have a longer transmission distance, but more dirctional. Get youself a copy and you will be able to make your own mind up to what would suit you best.

Who has been here

AnswerID: 258753

Follow Up By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 13:19

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 13:19
The said Brochure is the one I linked to :))

FollowupID: 520140

Reply By: ben_gv3 - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 13:21

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 13:21
Thanks for that fellas.

From the looks of it I have a 4.5dB aerial lying around. However I think it is ground plane dependant. Do these have to be mounted onto a metal surface, ie a roof, or will a roof rack do?
AnswerID: 258756

Follow Up By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 13:33

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 13:33
Read the top left corner of page 2 on the link that should explain it for you.

FollowupID: 520141

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 13:30

Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 13:30
Ben, just be aware that they can be damaged. I had a 4.5dB gain one lying around too, but ist wasn't any good as I couldn't get decent signal out of it. I just use it to stiffen the end of a chimney flue cleaner now :-D
FollowupID: 520400

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 13:39

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 13:39
Yep re the above - and anything GME is good quality and value, IMO. GP independent on the roof is the best possible setup, according to so called experts I have consulted. You commonly see that used by commercial UHF users (couriers etc.), where quality communications means money to them..... they might be on 25W compared to our 5W but its often the very same hardware.
AnswerID: 258759

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 14:49

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 14:49
By checking this website for Antenna's

AnswerID: 258764

Follow Up By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 15:09

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 15:09
That's a good one as well Doug.

Kev

FollowupID: 520148

Reply By: BoldJack - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 19:38

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 19:38
G'Day ben_gv3
You can buy a set up from Dick Smiths that comes with 2 different aerials that you can swap depending on the terrain your in. Good strong spring base ,cost about $80 I think. It may suit your needs.
Probably buy them anywhere.
Cheers BoldJack
AnswerID: 258783

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 20:03

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 20:03
I find it very frustrating when in a convoy; I can here the lead vehicle and the tail end Charlie but often miss conversations with the intermediate vehicles. Been told by Terry at Outbacker Communications that the aerial is fine but it still pees me off. The aerial is type is (?) other than this skinny black thing that stares me in the face and sits on my front bar.

AnswerID: 258792

Reply By: Jeeps - Saturday, Aug 25, 2007 at 21:56

Saturday, Aug 25, 2007 at 21:56
I've used dozens of UHF antennas. I've had $200 GME's still in the garage), mobile one, Benelec, Uniden etc. They're all comparable, GME's are built well.

The best i've used is RFI. Nothing comes close to an RFI antenna. I have several RFI 6.5db stainless steel elevated feed antennas on my vehicles. They are exceptional and car to car up on the beach at Fraser island i can get 25klm+ (tested with GPS & a mate).

AnswerID: 258909

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 13:02

Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 13:02
I have an RFI CD900, they are $90, and are simply brilliant.

http://www.prestigecom.net.au/default.asp?category=UHF+CB+Antenna&subcat=6%2E5db+UHF+CB+Antenna

Remember to earth everything.

I sorted mine finally after some mongrel had a go at it.

My D22 Navara, is painted and bolted, dipped and annadised and the general earthing is " pyss poor "
I earthed the outside chassis of my unit, to a bolt near the motor, that went directly to the battery
The underside of the aerial, on the Bullbar,I earthed directly to the -ve on the main battery
And finally found that in 2 days, some-one had a go at the aerial again, so this time I put just a little locktite on the bottom of the top section, and done it up real tight.
Now thats the 2nd aerial that I have trouble with, and I am wondering weather if the earthing problem was there all the time.

And that bloody carpark is off limits too

Cheers Mate
AnswerID: 258936