L.E.D. Taillights and Indicaters

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 20:34
ThreadID: 49046 Views:3489 Replies:12 FollowUps:2
G'day everybody, was wondering of any advantages/disadvantages of LED lights on a camper trailer, I gather you wont get blown globes, but they cost quite a bit more.
Thanks in advance, Peter and Lez

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 20:48

Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 20:48
G'day Pete and Lez. They don't take as much power to run to start, they are bright and seem to last well. We have several in the dairy that light up every time a cow is fed by the computer operated system. Hundreds of times a day (over 1000) and no dead LEDs so far from the first one installed three years ago. That gives a good cycling reliability anyway......

Mate, hope the filter is operating to the maxx
AnswerID: 258988

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 08:12

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 08:12
Found the other one installed has some dead LEDs though
FollowupID: 520622

Reply By: raunchy - Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 21:01

Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 21:01
Lower current draw so you dont need as heavy wiring, they are brighter, they actually come on noticeably quicker than incandescant globes, so safer, giving following drivers that extra millisecond to react, dont have to worry about faulty connections or water getting into the lights and they are much more sturdy. We have replaced the lights on ao couple of work trailers and the bar lights on the cruiser and now all the lights work all of the time, not just some of the time. If you shop around you will find a big variation in prices but they are getting down in price. I think we are paying about $50/pair for combination tail lights.

Ray
AnswerID: 258991

Reply By: Member - Robert G (WA) - Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 22:48

Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 22:48
We have replaced the rear tail lights on more than 10 of our fleet of toyota utes as well asm 3 trucks and couldn't be happier. Have not had a failure in over a year compared with cosntant globe changing in the feston globe style. The draw very low current and are so far have been very weather/water resistant.

go ahed and do it, you won't be sorry.
AnswerID: 259002

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 02:16

Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 02:16
Bought mine from AutoPro for $39.95 each for combination stop/tail/indicator lights.

Each light was about 80mm square which was about the same size as the old lights I chucked them for.

Well worth the effort mate.

AnswerID: 259006

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 06:49

Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 06:49
On a trailer you don't get the problems of faulty connections that you do with globes.
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 259008

Reply By: madcow - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 07:50

Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 07:50
Autobarn have them on sale for $69.00 a pair at the moment. 72 led's and are very bright more noticably so when the lights are covered in dust. Some new vehicles are coming out with them as OEM equipped. They do react quicker than the std globe and have an increased safety factor as mentioned above.
AnswerID: 259016

Reply By: Robin Miller - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 08:16

Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 08:16
Leds start up a little quicker and this can give someone following you an extra 1 metre to stop at 60kmh

AnswerID: 259018

Reply By: DIO - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 09:55

Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 09:55
Have tried them as replacements for stop and tail lights. Found them to be practically useless as it appears that because of the way they are constructed, they no longer use the reflector component of the light assembly. I found that there was a huge reduction in the brightness to the extent that I considered them dangerous owing to the poor output (level of brlghtness). They may even be illegal because of that fact.
Vehicles that have them installed at the time of manufacture don't have the same problem. If you have a close look at them you'll also find that the shape and design of the lens cover is also different.
My advice, stick with the globes if you want maximum safety and to avoid being rear-ended.
AnswerID: 259028

Follow Up By: Ingtar - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 11:36

Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 11:36
Sounds like you are using the replacement LED globes in normal lenses? Which are, as you mentioned, illegal and usually come with a recommendation for 'offroad/display use only'.

However if you get a set of the approved lights as are commonly sold for trailers etc they work quite well. I guess the biggest problem would be based around how good you are at reversing... they can be a bit more expensive if you break them often.
FollowupID: 520498

Reply By: Crackles - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 16:58

Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 16:58
Waterproof, dustproof, better protected from vibration or impact & can usually opperate on both 12 & 24 volt systems. Uses less power requiring smaller cable & puts less load on the flasher relay.
For reliability alone it's a no brainer.
Cheers Craig.........
AnswerID: 259077

Reply By: Olcoolone- Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 17:57

Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 17:57
We have LED's on our camper trailer and we supply then to our customers, very bright compaired to the standard globe types.

We use and did recommend one leading but we have had some issues with then dropping LED's out, we have six square one on our trailer and out of the six three have had problems but we haven't see any from our customer as yet.

Got a specials flyer from our supplier last week and the had Hella on special at a really good price.

The ones we use are nearly the same as the cheaper ones in look and design, the only differance is the curcuit boards.

The advantages as listed above like corrosion, durability and brightness.

When we mounted our we machined up some 10mm spacers and mounted the lights off the trailer and made them easier to remove and clean behind.....the number of lights we replace on trailer that are corroded is unbeliviable.

I would go the cheaper one aswell.

Regards Richard
AnswerID: 259089

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 08:49

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 08:49
Hi Mate,
Better email me with the results of the shopping expidition Hmmm?

I have replaced the lights on the work trailers with led's because of the continuos repairs required because they are regularly wet .
The led's are nice and bright and trouble free so far.
Will replace the truck and the rest of the trailers including the camper as required.

Cheers Pesty
AnswerID: 259189

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 16:09

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 16:09
I posted some research I did into the DS $9.95 LED lights. They were in my opinion not worth the $9.95....
You will get fantastic results from the more expensive complete assemblies.
AnswerID: 259402