Tyre deflater

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 23:00
ThreadID: 49140 Views:5164 Replies:15 FollowUps:16
Are these a worthwhile purchase? If you have one, which brand or type. There seem to be a few around. With 8 wheels to deflate, it appears one of these gizmos that just lets the tyre down to a pre-selected pressure sounds like good news.

Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 23:05

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 23:05
For once I agree with Truckster, use a twig & a pressure gauge!
I have Stauns & find them hopelessly unreliable & have little confidence in them, I still check with a gauge.
AnswerID: 259482

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 23:24

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 23:24
I have gone upmarket - I use those metal valve core removal valve caps now..

I worked out ball park 20 seconds with the core removed gets me to where I wanna be... then tidy up with a twig.
FollowupID: 520986

Follow Up By: CLC50 - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 05:44

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 05:44
Well I am always on the beach
I have a set of Stauns & very happy with them,but I always keep them in there pouch & wrapped in a oily rag,
FollowupID: 520998

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 23:09

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 23:09
Hi Motherhen

I have a set of the stauns and find them very good , now that i have set them properly , when i first got them thought they were bloody useless.....the new ARB ones look pretty good and if i didnt already have the stauns would probably get one ...just my 2 bobs worth .........Cheers .....Dave
AnswerID: 259483

Reply By: Member - Pedro the One (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 23:20

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 23:20
Hi MaChook ..........

Stauns for me too.

Find them excellent, once you get them set correctly, as they say.

Sometimes those 'bloody little sticks' snap off under the valve stem and by the time you find another 'bloody little stick' to dig the first one out ...... da da da dah FLAT!

I have one pair set at 35psi and another pair at 15psi [and painted RED] for sand and boggy stuff.

With 8 wheels, perchance two sets ??

Regards Pedro

AnswerID: 259487

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 07:56

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 07:56
Agree with you pedro.
Those little sticks break or you can't find the right one.

That's why I use my ignition key to let air out of the tyres.

Just right.

I count the seconds on the first tyre to get to the right pressure, and then the rest are easy. Usually can get to within a psi by counting.

Never used strauns or such like so can't comment.

As a matter of interest, if time is so precious :o), how long does it take to take the tyre cap off, put on a struan, wait for the tyre go down, then put the caps back on?

FollowupID: 521003

Reply By: Blaze - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 23:40

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 23:40
Hi Mother,

I had stauns, and also found then unreliable because they would become sticky. After seeing a few members using the new ARB EZ Tyre Deflator, I purchased one as soon as I could. These are just the thing I believe.

Site: EZ Tyre Deflator
AnswerID: 259493

Follow Up By: Skippy In The GU - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 08:36

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 08:36
Hi Blaze, I've used them and they are great except the tyre gauge can be 10 lbs out. I always use a real tyre gauge after deflating
FollowupID: 521139

Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 23:41

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 23:41
I use stauns and I cannot understand how they could be of no use to someone.

They are extremely simple, completely adjustable, and you let down 4 tyres at once.

MARVELOUS!!

I have three set at 18 PSI, and one painted red set at 12 PSI
AnswerID: 259495

Reply By: Olcoolone- Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 00:02

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 00:02
We use the ARB Ezy-Deflater, used it first time at Warrawenna and it worked great, about 5 minutes to deflate 4 tyres from 36psi to 24psi.

The hardest thing was removing and replacing the caps.

Haven't used the other one.

Regards Richard
AnswerID: 259499

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 08:19

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 08:19
We use ARB Ezy-Deflaters a lot quicker than straun which we leave in the glove box.
Dave....
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 521011

Follow Up By: Hairy - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 17:26

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 17:26
Yep!!!
I used Handy's ARB deflator the other day,I reckon they are brilliant.
Im going to buy one this weekend.
FollowupID: 521074

Follow Up By: Member - Karl - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 18:21

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 18:21
Me too - I am not normally one who goes for a product because of a name but this is one good product and very easy to use.

Karl
FollowupID: 521080

Reply By: Brian B (Brisbane) - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 01:10

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 01:10
Have got Stauns and they are excellent. Have had them for a long time and they get used every few weeks usually and no problems so far. Have periodically checked them and they have remained accurate to what I have them set to.

They make short work for us when needing to lower the pressures on our 4wd and our camper.
AnswerID: 259504

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 02:12

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 02:12
Good friends of ours accuse me of having two of everything.
Boy, what an exaggeration.

But I do have two sets of Staun deflaters:-)

One set I have set to 28psi for dirt tracks, etc....
Another set I have set to 18 for sand work.

If you adjust them properly they will give you an accurate and consistent deflation down to what you have set.

I walk around the vehicle and by the time I have put the fourth one on, the first has done its job. Very quick, very reliable.

Oh, and I have placed a drop of enamel paint on each of the deflaters so I don't get them mixed up. Blue for the higher set and red for the lower set.

Can't comment on the other style of deflators as I haven't needed to change.

It's a no brainer IMHO.

AnswerID: 259506

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 07:56

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 07:56
I have a set of Stauns and they are OK.

I also have a pressure gauge which allows me to deflate and read the pressure at the same time. I can also attach the compressor to it while it is on the tyre and repressure while watching the gauge rise to the desired setting. Very simple.

Wish I could show you a pic but their website is being rebuilt, sorry.

I got it at Ballards Motorcycle Accessories at Penrith.

AnswerID: 259520

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 08:38

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 08:38
Never went for Stauns because I'm always using different pressures. Bought the ARB Ezydeflater when they were first released and used it a lot - quality bit of gear that works very well. I still finetune the pressures with a nail on my keyring.

I've actually slipped a coupling in the middle of the hose and can now use it to reseat tubeless tyres from a well inflated spare.
AnswerID: 259529

Follow Up By: Rick (S.A.) - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 17:56

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 17:56
" I've actually slipped a coupling in the middle of the hose and can now use it to reseat tubeless tyres from a well inflated spare."

Tell us more, (heaps more detail) oh wise & experienced one.

Cheers & welcome back to suburbia
FollowupID: 521076

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 21:29

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 21:29
Gday Rick...........with statements like that, you'll make me throw up :-)))

OK,
- everything must have more than one use
- Reinflating stubborn tubeless tyres is still a hassle if you're not wanting to blow yourself up with butane.

So, when I bought the ezyinflater, I was impressed at the way it unscrewed the valve core so easily, and the way you could turn turn it on and off by sliding the fat bit. I thought that would be a great way to harness a whoosh of air to reinflate a tubeless tyre.

So I cut the ezydeflater hose in 2 places - in one a put an air coupling, so I could easily pull it apart (female coupling at the valve end; secondly I put a schraeder valve in so I could hook up my tyre pump (don't have to do this - its optional).

Then I got a length of airhose, long enough so it could reach any tyre. On one end of the hose is a male coupling. At the other end is a clip-on chuck with the guts removed so air can flow very fast.
!MPG:36!
So how does it work???
#1 Connect the long hose to the coupling on the ezideflater.
#2 Remove the valve core from the flat tyre and connect the long hose to it.
#3 Screw on the ezydeflater to a fully inflated tyre (My spare at 65-80psi)
#4 Use the ezydeflater to remove the valve core and slide the fat bit to turn on the whoosh of air.

A was teaching a friend to use his beadbreaker and levers on a 285/75R16 on an 8 inch rim. To reinflate, we tried just the pumps, and the rope trick and despite all efforts, it didn't go up. So hooked this thing up, and the first side popped within 5-10 seconds, so I was happy with the way it worked.

phil
FollowupID: 521098

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 23:10

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 23:10
Thanks Phil, my Rooster thinks you have a great idea here.

FollowupID: 521120

Follow Up By: Skippy In The GU - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 08:49

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 08:49
You could also just have a air hose with both ends going over valves , this is a quick method in inflating a tyre from your spare, set your soare tyre at 65 psi and let it equalize the two tyres
FollowupID: 521140

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 09:17

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 09:17
Phil,

Where did you end up getting those ARB connectors from?

I have chased around everywhere in Qld and no-one knows about them....not even ARB. I wanted a similar setup, albeit with a tyre inflator thinga ma jig .

BTW they are not normal fittings....more than likely something special out of china/taiwan. Specialist hose fitting shops do not know anything about them.

FollowupID: 521143

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 13:18

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 13:18
Motherhen,
I hope your rooster enjoys some shed time tinkering :-))

Skippy,
Yep, a simple hose works. I mucked around with that. 1/4" rubber fuel line fits over the metal part of the valve - I used a fuel line clip on the flat tyre so it won't blow off. Found it a bit messy when you had to remove the valve on the inflated tyre. And I like to play with gadgets :-)))

Andrew,
The sliver coupling is standard. the ARB stuff - I simply bought a deflater and took to it with a stanley knife. Its pretty good gear for $55. I still use it as a deflater - it has 2 uses.
FollowupID: 521176

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 13:23

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 13:23
I realise they are standard ARB components, however they aren't a standard fitting....bugger all places would stock them as they are not industry standard.

I've been looking for a female fitting, yet they seem to be hard to get hold of....

FollowupID: 521178

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 22:19

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 22:19
What Phil is describing is pretty much what I bought off the shelf at Ballards.

The pressure gauge has a clip on fitting for the tyre valve and a hose about 300mm long for connecting to the compressor. The end is actually a tyre valve. There is a button mounted on the pressure gauge, hold the button down and the pressure drops. You can read the pressure on the gauge as you deflate or as you inflate the tyre.

Cost me $50

FollowupID: 521230

Reply By: Steve63 - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 13:33

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 13:33
Have a set of staun's. They work fine though I always check the pressure. They are simple to use once set up. Have not used the ARB gizmo.

AnswerID: 259554

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 17:21

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 17:21
Why 8 to deflate ? 6 yes , the 250 and the trailer , or has the trailer 4 wheels ? anyhow used the stauns and found them very good but now find its just as easy to use a "bushranger" dial guage with inbuilt deflator ,$20 or so.
AnswerID: 259573

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 23:21

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 23:21
Hi Axel, and yes, the Bushtracker is dual axled. If we'd let the caravan tyres down last year on the road south from Glendambo, we mightn't have needed a new fridge.

Thanks for your feedback. Phil has come up with a good idea.

FollowupID: 521121

Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 18:07

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 18:07
I've got two sets of stauns, one ARB EziDeflator. I use whichever I find first, which sometimes resorts to me using a stick. Just depends how much crap I have in the car at the time.
I've never had any problems with the stauns and they are the quickest and easiest method IMO.
AnswerID: 259579

Reply By: Member - Tom V (WA) - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 19:13

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 19:13
same as Muzzgit, i use Stauns. 3 set @ 18 & one set @ 12. mainly for sandtraks here in WA.
I also have a locally made deflater, deflates @ 1lb per second, if u want pressure somewhere in between.
cheers Tom
AnswerID: 259589

Reply By: Motherhen - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 23:34

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 23:34
Thanks forumates for the feedback and ideas. Although the Stauns are the most popular, Phil's idea has much merit.

Mh

AnswerID: 259630