Submitted: Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 20:41
Bretterson
Hi all, my first post here,
my partner and myself are planning a six month trek around Oz in May next year, the initial ground work has been underway for awhile now.
we plan to tow a 21ft caravan with with a late model landcruiser turbo diesel. we plan to leave from
Perth and head clockwise, i was wondering if anyone would have a rough estimate on what our fuel bill may be just based on highway 1?
regards,
Brettersonl
Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 21:26
Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 21:26
Lets say you average 18l/100km
Lets say you do 30,000km around Oz
That works out a fuel usage of 5400 litres
The average price at the moment is around $1.35 per litre
So $1.35 x 5400 = $7920
The average price in May 2008 may be $1.50 or worse case scenario $2.00 per litre
Thats life!.....lol
Enjoy
Follow Up By: long haired nomad - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 22:46
Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 22:46
bretterson,
if you want a rough guesstimate now on fuel price now 2007 i'd use a average price of $1.60/ litre.Which would make williems figure $8640. In
Sydney now diesel is $1.30, kununnurra this year was (May) 1.55/litre,
Broome $1.60,
Alice Springs $1.45/litre Queensland is by far the cheapest Mt Isa was $1.25.
Follow Up By: Blaze - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 00:01
Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 00:01
Willem, did you use a calculator to do the maths. I am impressed... LOL
On another subject, when did you take the picture of
the Lost City below Lemmen National
Park, was it your last trip... I really enjoyed this one. I often wondered how they could have lost so many cities in the North :-)
Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 08:03
Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 08:03
Yerr Blaze
Calculators are wonderful toys
Yep pic was taken in July. Maybe they could've named
the Lost City something like "Lots of stone towers leaning at a precarious angle" OR " Outside Upside Down Stalagmites" OR Blue Sky Inverted Stalagtites"...................
Reply By: Bretterson - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 21:28
Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 21:28
thanks heaps mate :-)
Reply By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 21:32
Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 21:32
A trip straight around the major path is however only roughly 15,000 so could be looking at around $4000
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 21:48
Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 21:48
Hi Robin,
I'm just back from almost 6 weeks in WA. Its amazing how the kilometres pile up with side trips etc etc. We did 11,400km from
Adelaide to
Adelaide for what was basically a
Pilbara trip with a bit of
Exmouth and
Esperance thrown in.
phil
Reply By: Mick - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 00:28
Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 00:28
Bretterson, work out how many litres you will use per hundred km. Then calculate how many hundred km you will travel and multiply that by the number of litres you already worked out will be needed to travel 100km. Then multiply your answer by the average cost of fuel per litre. I think you should then use a variable coefficient of say 2.7 and a constant multiple of 48 (you choose whichever one is applicable to your vehicle.) If you double those 2 figures and take the square root of the approximate circumference of the island continent from the result you should get a meaningful answer. If that's too complicated just work it out for yourself - you know your fuel consumption and you know how far you're going to travel!! For what it's worth when I tow a similar sized caravan at 100kph it costs me on average 20cents per kilometre or $20 per 100km.
Follow Up By: nowimnumberone - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 12:26
Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 12:26
what about pie r square
Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 13:58
Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 13:58
Gday nowimnumberone
We need to know what "R" is first.
So we have to measure from the centre near Fink and take an average to the coast , in all directions , then do the "PI" bit , and then square it.
Muzbry (i should be working but have no motivation today)
Reply By: Bretterson - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 09:29
Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 09:29
Thx heaps, you guys have been very helpful..
seems to be a great
forum this one!