Got my new ARB Simpson II but I'm not happy with the quality

Submitted: Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 23:07
ThreadID: 49168 Views:8968 Replies:21 FollowUps:20
I always thought ARB were a top notch mob who provided nothing but top quality gear but today when I opened up my new tent I find that there's a strap missing and a number of small holes in the canvas. I also found a tear, only a little one but little tears in time turn into big tears.
Oh and the holes for the window stays arent lined up with the eyelets, two of the round eyelets are now oval shaped.

So am I bitching about the small stuff or you reckon I should get ARB to replace it?

The strap that's missing is above the ladder on the outside, see the first pic.

Other than that it's an awesome tent, easy to put up and take down. Bit fiddley at first but yeah it's pretty good, just these little issues that I'm not happy with.

Your opinion guys?

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 23:18

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 23:18
I'd be after a replacement.

AnswerID: 259628

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 23:23

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 23:23
I wouldnt have bothered with photos, would have been back at ARB!

I bought a tent at Rays once, and after being harassed by Cammo to test it, i did before heading off.. lucky I did, the bleep in thing had no poles or ropes in the bag! Would have been happy arriving at Swifts Creek with no poles. When I called rays, they were not fussed, "oh thats a bumma, come back and get some"... I should have played with them, saying I was at swifts :D
FollowupID: 521123

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 23:34

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 23:34
hahahaha you're a lucky bugga, eh ! Just think of the story you'd have if Cammo had'nt harassed you.

FollowupID: 521124

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 23:39

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 23:39
Geez the dog looks impressed with his new digs!

When does he finish ladder training?
AnswerID: 259632

Reply By: Member - Brett (WA) - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 23:41

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 23:41
Takin it back tomorrow arvo, will post up the response. The shop bought it off, the guys there are awesome, it's an ARB issue and I'm pretty sure they'll help sorting it out.
AnswerID: 259633

Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 08:18

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 08:18
If you are dealing with the guys at Osborne Park then they will bend over backwards to help you.

I had a dual battery system fitted that was blowing fuses as soon as I got home and tested it. They sent the auto electrician that fitted it out to my house in Swanbourne to fix the problem immediatley after I called them, now thats service.

I would have set it up in their car park and checked it. Excellent bunch of guys, very helpful, you'll be right.
FollowupID: 521138

Follow Up By: Alan H - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 11:03

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 11:03
They fitted a dual battery system to my Defender which wasn't wired up correctly. It let me down in Bell Gorge and I had to get a jump from a tourist.
When we got back I went round to Osborne Park and complained, they rewired it and the second battery promptly collapsed inside when it received it's first charge for over 2 years!
They replaced it after some moaning from the then workshop foreman bloke, but Russel who used to work there told him to change it immediately and they did.

I also had some very inferior work done under the same foreman to another vehicle,but Brian S who used to be the franchise holder (I think) soon had it fixed and gave the lads a good talking about finishing jobs and cleaning vehicles afterwards.
On the credit side I have bought some good gear of them and had excellent service, but those incidents left a sour taste.

I don't think I'll be going back for anything now as there's other that make good stuff.
FollowupID: 521151

Follow Up By: hl - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 11:06

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 11:06
It was either good service or they got really worried your truck would go up in flames due to their stuff up (just kidding)...........
FollowupID: 521152

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 11:10

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 11:10
Hi Alan

I got bagged by one of the franchisee's for having a Defender....they probably thought it was funny..never been back since and now spend my money elsewhere!
FollowupID: 521153

Follow Up By: hl - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 11:16

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 11:16
hmmm
You can't really hold that against them, Bud.....
:-}
FollowupID: 521154

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 11:52

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 11:52
Mind you..bagged regularly by my mates, but they are always happy to get snatched out by the Landy when needed and have a good laugh at the end of it....but when some salesman bags me when I'm trying to hand over my cash I get the last laugh.

ps....love Landy's that much that I've bought another :)

Cheers :)
FollowupID: 521159

Reply By: Mick - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 00:08

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 00:08
Nice looking tent Brett. Much too "fussy" for my liking but it looks to be good quality and made from proper canvas. One major question though why have you put it up on the roof of your car? Tents are supposed to be on the ground!! Once you've pitched your tent up there you're stuck and if you want to do day trips from the camp site you have to take it down. Still, I guess it can be put on the ground if you want to stay a while in an area and travel out each day. The old basic centre pole is the one for me - up in a minute and strong as an ox.
AnswerID: 259638

Follow Up By: Member - Brett (WA) - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 08:18

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 08:18
Yeah I've done the whole big tent thing, tried every kind of camping. This only took me 10 minutes to set up which is ideal for me because most weekends I go camping I arrive at some ungodly time in the evening and it's no fun setting up poles and crap in the dark.

I find the concept to be really good.
FollowupID: 521137

Follow Up By: Moose - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 13:19

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 13:19
Hey Mick - Are you for real with the location comment?
FollowupID: 521177

Follow Up By: Mick - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 21:39

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 21:39
No Moose. Tongue is in cheek
FollowupID: 521222

Reply By: Stu-k - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 05:50

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 05:50
ARB are not as good as most people think, I will never buy off them again.
AnswerID: 259649

Reply By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 06:29

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 06:29
I think ARB used to be good until they discovered China. It's getting very hard to buy good stuff those days.
We try very very hard not to buy Chinese , just bought a Beefeater Barbeque made in Australia.....3 times the price but beautiful.

Reiner
PS 3 weeks and Cape York here we come :-)
AnswerID: 259650

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 09:14

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 09:14
What have you got against the Chinese ?
FollowupID: 521142

Follow Up By: Andrew (Bris) - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 10:38

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 10:38
The reason you pay more at ARB, is that they sell most things twice or three times. In my dealings with them I've usually had to have items replaced or repaired two or three times before they were up to scratch. My experience only.
FollowupID: 521149

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 15:10

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 15:10
MSG
FollowupID: 521186

Reply By: Dazmit - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 06:52

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 06:52
Yep - you must believe the marketing hype and go by the top notch prices all the 4WD accessory mobs are charging when in fact it's just very high profit margins.
An example is a typhoon twin compressor - made in China no doubt but 4WD mobs want around $350 for them, go to a Truck spares mob and buy the same thing for $170 - Mmmmm buying betting quality or just high mark up and paying for the nice ads in the magazines ???

Enjoy your tent after you insist on a new one as you have paid good money.

Darryl
Brisbane
AnswerID: 259651

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 07:01

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 07:01
Seen the same thing at the Brisbane Caravan and Camping Show, ARB around $350 across the road a guy was selling for $120, looked over both real well and guess where I brought mine?

Cheers Bruce
FollowupID: 521133

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 14:30

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 14:30
Gotta agree , throw a ARB sticker on and double /tripple the price , thats if they even manage to put a price tag on the item that your looking for , ARB on Nudgee rd would have to be the worst place ever for trying to price an item , salesmen they got heaps , service they got no idea.
FollowupID: 521184

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 07:02

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 07:02
Brett,

Nice setup. I'd be back there to get it replaced or money back. New roof top tents now seem to be going for about half the price they used to. I was wondering about the quality?
AnswerID: 259653

Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 07:15

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 07:15
Brett.

Take it back.

Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

AnswerID: 259654

Reply By: Voxson - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 08:44

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 08:44
I had the same one but sold it after 1 stay in it.
When packs up wet it dampened the mattress, the holes where the big alloy "U" bar comes from let in mozzies, i got ever so soaked packing it up because it was a very dewy morning and almost froze my arms off pushing in all the sides, i couldnt leave my bedding in it because it would appear to be almost tearing the hold town straps trying to force it shut.
The window stays are the same on all of them.
The tear i would get looked at and the holes for sure.
The missing strap should be replaced.
But good luck with it anyway.
AnswerID: 259663

Reply By: The Landy - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 09:18

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 09:18
The problem with any product is quality control. No problem buying China, but the importers such as ARB need to have strict guidelines on the quality otherwise it is their brand name that suffers. They need to sort that out and rectify the issues you have.

I recently bought an Eezi Awn and I am happy with the product. I looked at the Ebay ones that are selling for a large discount to others, couldn’t touch them because of quality. I later found out that a major chain rejected the (Chinese) product due to quality and they’ve eventually found there way onto eBay……I can’t verify that, but it wouldn’t surprise..
AnswerID: 259668

Reply By: Everonwards - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 10:20

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 10:20
I would expect that they will fix the problem- it's a big name. I had bull bar and driving lights fitted by them but had to take it back because the lights were wrongly wired in- I had been assured that they did plenty of them on my make of 4wd- . They were very helpful, friendly and apologetic etc. but I guess I have lost confidence in them after that- and would not class myself as a repeat customer. I can't do this stuff myself, so will pay hard-earned money willingly for a good job done right- another reason this site is good to try and find them.
AnswerID: 259679

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 11:53

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 11:53
I had the OME suspension fitted by ARB to the prado recently, very happy with there service. I did have an issue where they damaged a inner drive shaft boot I would say wedging something in there to pull down on suspension ?? and must have cought the boot and put a small tear in it. I replaced the brake pads (front) the following day and noticed grease and crap sprayed everywhere and took me a few minutes to find the tear. Rang them straight away and notified them and was expecting the usual "sorry mate must have been there etc" but to there credit he booked it in again straight away and replaced the inner boot. Now wether they new they had done it or not I dont know but no questions asked and was fixed. I will return to them for dual batt & rear locker to be supplied and fitted. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 259697

Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 12:39

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 12:39
Stephen,

you can't be naive to believe the level of service and workmanship will be the same across the variety of ARB franchises. It all depends on the policies and attitudes of the owner/manager and capabilities and experience of their staff.

I've had good things done by ARB in Perth, but not so good here in the Gold Coast, yet a Brisbane shop is great. I've had some good TJM jobs and one where I had to get in the wrokshop and help the fitter without so much as a discount! Doesn't mean I wouldn't go back to TJM.

Use "their" to indicate possession not "there". It is a possessive adjective and indicates that a particular noun belongs to them.
FollowupID: 521168

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 16:30

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 16:30
Hi Wizard, agree with you that not all stores would be as good as other stores, was just implying that so far I have found the Penrith Store to be very helpful and backed up there, oops sorry I mean their word that if there was any issues with anything to contact them straight away which I did and didnt have any problems with their service. I have had work done on the old hilux previously with TJM at Emu Plains and found there service to be excellent as well, but have heard of another TJM store that fitted a snorkel I think to a patrol for memory and it was such a shocking job that they had to replace the guard etc as they stuffed it that person no longer works for them. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 521192

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 19:22

Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 19:22
>Use "their" to indicate possession not "there". It is a possessive
>adjective and indicates that a particular noun belongs to them.

It has long been an internet convention (indeed courtesy) that one does not correct the spelling or grammar of others - I see no reason why you should be exempt from this; so stop doing it.

FollowupID: 521318

Reply By: Wannabe Nomads - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 15:09

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 15:09
Hi guys.
We have an ARB/ Howling moon Simpson model and are wrapped with it. The original model they sold was a re- badged howling moon product, along with their hard cased car side awning.
We bought ours over a year ago now, and have seen the new one that ARB are getting made elsewhere now. How old is yours? The new model came out in about march/ April. Yes have to agree, and so do the ARB guys, the new one is an inferior copy. They would like to not have the new one and re- stock with the original, re- badged howling moon. If it was up to the fellow we talked to , he would have the original one back in place of the "new" one quick smart, as it reflects poorly on their buisness to sell an inferior product.. Sure, you pay more, but you do get what you pay for. I'm not sure what one you have, but our experiences with ARB have been great. Any problems... they fix it ASAP.
We have had ours out in wind, rain, frosts and heat. Have nothing but praise for it. It is as it says.. a Touring Tent. That is what it was designed for. We have used it in a caravan park for 2 night stays and yes it is a bother to pack up each time you want to go out. With the fact in mind that it is a Touring Tent.. we have no probs/ hassles with it.
Love it!!!
AnswerID: 259725

Reply By: Wannabe Nomads - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 15:13

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 15:13
Just checked your pics. Yes you do have the newer model. yours has the top roof vents, which are an improvement.
I'm sure ARB will come to the party to get the "issues " fixed.
AnswerID: 259726

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 16:14

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 16:14
Suppose its a Chinese tent with an ARB patch sewn in - you are doing the quality control for the manufacturer - that's modern retailing - nothing new - and we all accept it as standard practice - the only thing ARB could be picked for probably is not checking them first (but nobody wopuld expect that - as long as they send it back and give you a good, new one).
AnswerID: 259735

Reply By: Member - Brett (WA) - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 16:38

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 16:38
OK all is good. The tent's been taken off and it's getting replaced with a new one. Very happy with that.

It's going to be QA / QC before being thrown back onto my Cruiser.

I wouldn't have expected anything else from ARB.

My dealer, Coastal4X4 were excellent, right away they took photos and have taken the tent off with the full intention of getting me a new one.

Doesn't get any better than that
AnswerID: 259739

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 22:35

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 22:35
Brett,

Good to hear.

FollowupID: 521231

Reply By: TD100 - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 18:54

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 18:54
i have the howling moon version and it is brilliant,well made also have the arb version of the side awning and its very good also.your tent must have been a monday or friday made on cheers Paul
AnswerID: 259757

Reply By: sean - Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 13:58

Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 13:58
ARB is a bit like the RM outback brand. Not what they used to be. Warranty not so good either. First hand experience.

Sean
AnswerID: 259863

Reply By: Wannabe Nomads - Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 20:59

Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 20:59
Our experiences with ARB have been nothing but good. They have gone out of their way to get things right. Yes we have had a couple of things needed to be fixed, but they were more than happy to fix/ replace the items at no charge.
Glad to hear your tent issues have been addressed. Happy touring.. Its all about the journey.
AnswerID: 259907

Reply By: uneekwahn - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 21:15

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 21:15
We've just completed a 2 month tour of the kimberleys in the same tent from ARB.

had no problems with the tent itself, quality wise. only real issue we had was where the U shaped metal bar goes in at the back as someone said earlier as it lets bugs in. Simple solution was to throw an old shirt or something there. Don't know what we'll do for the long term though, but I don't see it as a major problem.

We also got an ARB awning off the side of the car with the mozzie netting too. Unfortunately we didn't check that before we left and low and behold the first night we set it up at Bell Gorge, we noticed two identically sized tears or rips in the top of the fabric on opposite sides.

We only got back yesterday and plan on taking it back to ARB in the next couple of days. Will let you all know how it goes.

Jason.
AnswerID: 261618