'92 Nissan GQ TD

Submitted: Thursday, May 15, 2003 at 20:18
ThreadID: 4930 Views:1509 Replies:2 FollowUps:5
I am going to have a look at a 92 Nissan GQ 4.2 TD tomorrow. It has (according to the ad) A/C, P/S, P-windows, /C/locking, mags, flares,7 seater, turbo timer and about 300,000 on the clock. The salesman also said that it had an engine replacement or something like that at 220,000. It is a country vehicle.

If anyone has time to reply this evening please let me know what to look out for. Yes, it will mean trading the G60 and selling off some of my other vehicles but I will remove all the goodies off the G60 if a deal goes through.

After my last very dusty trip a week ago I got sick of all the dust. So the time to change has arrived.

Thanks in advanceCheers, Willem
Never a dull moment

Reply By: diamond(bendigo) - Thursday, May 15, 2003 at 20:32

Thursday, May 15, 2003 at 20:32
gday willem.
just one thing i was wondering about was the fact its had a new motor or something.
td42 usualy bulletproof in the motor if serviced properly.if it hasnt been serviced properly there could be big trouble ahead.find out who done the motor ect.
theres heaps in archives about gq problems or hope at least truckster comes on tonight he knows most.
rust around rear/side windows
floor cracking at fire wall and inner guards
ive seen a few with siezing rear callipers
thats a few i can remember hope this helpslooking foward to september(landcruiser park/fraser island)
AnswerID: 20141

Follow Up By: Member - Willem- Thursday, May 15, 2003 at 21:13

Thursday, May 15, 2003 at 21:13
Thanks for your response Diamond. I was just busy in the Archives when Trucksters email notice came in.Cheers, Willem
Never a dull moment
FollowupID: 12883

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, May 15, 2003 at 21:07

Thursday, May 15, 2003 at 21:07
Check List

Heres somethings..

Also GQ never came with a TD42 Turbo Diesel.

Also as Diamond said, 200,000klms is a problem, they usually get over 400,000klms easy!
AnswerID: 20145

Follow Up By: Member - Willem- Thursday, May 15, 2003 at 21:23

Thursday, May 15, 2003 at 21:23
Thanks Truckster. I thought that you were supposed to be somewhere else today?

Yes, quite an impressive list. I will have a good look at this vehicle. Maybe the turbo is an aftermarket one. It does seems strange that the engine carked it at 220,000. I will find out more tomorrow. Have dealt with this car dealer before and we operate on good terms.

But with all the troubles of the GQ my G60 dust problems fade into insignificance. But I would like a diesel though. Will let you all know of the outcome.Cheers, Willem
Never a dull moment
FollowupID: 12886

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, May 15, 2003 at 22:22

Thursday, May 15, 2003 at 22:22
Heading to Sydney Saturday.. Batemans Bay Sat Night at mates 'Dream Home' he just ahd built on his land... then Head for Hell on Sunday.

God I hate Sydney......
FollowupID: 12892

Follow Up By: diamond(bendigo) - Thursday, May 15, 2003 at 22:51

Thursday, May 15, 2003 at 22:51
you must be a little tired truckster you said sydney not bleep ney lollooking foward to september(landcruiser park/fraser island)
FollowupID: 12898

Follow Up By: Member - Willem- Friday, May 16, 2003 at 18:44

Friday, May 16, 2003 at 18:44
Well, I had a butchers at the GQ. It had an aftermarket turbo on. Drove quite well with 299,450 on the clock. Blew tons of pollution out the exhaust so I figured injectors would have to be looked at. Funny no rust in the rear side or back door windows. It had suspension seats, good paintwork, shiat tyres, no oil leaks, no panel cracks, a loose grille and a severely cracked alloy bullbar. The gearbox felt OK but the transfer lever was hard to operate ( probably lack of use ). The front pillars on the inside were untidy probably due to a windscreen replacement. The interior was a bit untidy but all the electrics worked. The vehicle had belonged to a local cocky. His missus drove it and blew a hose and kept on driving and cooked the motor. A $10,000 rebuild ensued and the new engine has done 80,000km in two years.
But with a $16,000 price tag I have decided to stick with my vacuum cleaner G60, VR Commodore and VC Valiant slant 6 for the time being.
One gets these crazy notions sometimes :-)
Cheers, Willem
Never a dull moment
FollowupID: 12955