Go West Young (?!) Man

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 07:26
ThreadID: 49302 Views:4545 Replies:15 FollowUps:11
Work dropped a bombshell on me yesterday.

I am off to Perth before Christmas for at least the next 5 years so I will have to say goodbye to my beloved Flinders. (I get one last fix in Oct when I am taking a group of managers up there for a weeks training seminar under canvas)

I have visited most of the WA coast in Patrol Boats (in the Wollongong not the Hammersly) but it will be the first time we have lived there.

My wife and I will now have the full set having lived in every mainland capital city except Perth.

Two questions for the sandgropers:

If we have a house budget of around $450K where should we be looking? My office will be in Yokine, and I don't mind up to 60 minutes drive to work.

And to keep it OT, my impression is that the camping there is great (I have spent some time under canvas in the Busselton State Forrest). Is bush camping in state forests in WA unregulated and free like NSW/VIC? SA is very regimented.

Pete

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 07:49

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 07:49
you could try around Dianella although depending on what you are after it might be a bit out of the budget
regulations with camping are as per usual - the closer you are to the city and the more popular the spot the greater the regulations and fees usually apply
You will love WA compared to SA in the camping and destinations stakes.
No other state comes close with the diversity of places to go
AnswerID: 260241

Reply By: Member - Brett (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 08:14

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 08:14
G'day Pete, give me a yell when you get over here. I won't be going to sea until mid next year so will have a few opportunities to go bush. $450K is just below the average price for a house over here. It's getting pretty pricey in the housing department.

A mate of mine and I found a number of top camping spots just this weekend gone so yeah will have to show you around.
AnswerID: 260243

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 08:29

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 08:29
Yokine is pretty close to the freeway so that opens up your options greatly, esp if you are willing to travel for up to 60 mins. It's 12 years since I left Perth but still believe it has a great road network, although driving down to Dwellingup is not what it used to be - ye gods!

Can't comment on price though mate. Depends what sort of environmentsurroundings you like to come home to, beach/bush/river/concrete jungle. I believe house values have shot up in Perth in recent years.
AnswerID: 260247

Reply By: mike w (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 09:53

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 09:53
Check out the real estate institure of WA site www.reiwa.com

it wil allow you to search the current market as per your requirments.

$450 should not be too much of a problem. Prices have plataeud at the moment, with some areas even going backwards. it all comes down to location, location, location. Inner city suburbs and the coast are obviously going to set you back alot more. The further you go out, the cheaper it will get. As you say, you dont mind 60min travel (although, why would you want to??), which opens up alot of areas, especially close to the freeway. Be mindful, our freeways arent the best, with peak hour sometimes seeing a 15min trip, turned into a 50minute one. Also, be sure to leave those pesky indicators in SA, they are not used here ;)

For interest, an area such as Ellenbrook, which is about 30km from the CBD, 20min from the freeway, $450 can get you a nice 4x2, basic yet very liveable.
AnswerID: 260258

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 10:13

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 10:13
My brother was transferred to Perth for 2 years. That was in 1994 and he is still there.

Recently when considering employment options he came across a job that attracted his attention in Sydney. His wife, who did not want to go to Perth in the first place and his teenage daughters, who really only know Perth threatend him with death if he even considered applying for the job.

If his experience is anything to go on you will love it. My brother is into most things outdoors, including cycling, sailing and camping, he is never stuck for something to do or somewhere to go.

AnswerID: 260261

Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 10:29

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 10:29
I'm tipping that your XO looked a lot better in overalls than the one in the HAMMERSELY!

What is the job Pete? It sounds like a great opportunity (Promotion? Payrise?)

AnswerID: 260266

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 10:55

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 10:55
The XO didn't look as good, but his attitude was better. I wonder if he kept that report I gave him when he left - "He works well in a crisis which is good because he creates lots of them." or words to that effect. Certainly the CO wasn't as good looking in the 'GONG, but he used to drive everywhere as fast.

The move west is sideways, and not just in direction. It has been sold to me as "Rounding out my experience to place me in a good position for promotion in 4 years time." I wonder if they have been talking to DNOP, those words could have come straight from their book of lies.

The only trouble with promotion is that the next step up is my bosses job and he is more than welcome to it.

Pete
FollowupID: 521663

Reply By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 11:37

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 11:37
Traitor!!
AnswerID: 260277

Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 11:50

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 11:50
Thanks for all your replies - except MN1 :o)

Pete

AnswerID: 260280

Follow Up By: Kevndeb - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 15:13

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 15:13
You mean Spider is not real.....My 10 year daughter will be devastated....

Rockingham is for all things navy.... Rockingham is full of ex and serving....but a bit of hike to Yokine....Used had friend who was on a sub, who lived in Rockingham. He is now teaching in Melbourne...

Debbie< who 14 year old ACU son's room is more like an Army Barrack....and I hate CAM/webbing/packs lying around.....but the good thing no fraternization in the hoochie rule is very very good rule ....no girlfriends.....so far...but he is off to ADFA in under two years....:-(
FollowupID: 521709

Reply By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 17:50

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 17:50
Pajman,

A cuppla things to consider,,,,,,,,,,

One, have you tried tapping yer boss for a relocation allowance or a lump sum, bearing mind that Perth house prices are now the highest in Australia, perhaps highest in the Western World by now!! Worth a try,,,,,,

Second, if you decide on South of The River (SOR), bear in mind that there are some very nice places down this way and generally cheaper than North of The River (NOR). Plus, with the new railway from Mandurah into the Perth CBD (and beyond) due by late this year, possibly before Christmas,,,,,,,,,45 minutes and yer in Perth, 10 minutes more and yer in Yokine.

37 minutes more and yer in Darwin - nah just kiddin' ya,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Bilbo
AnswerID: 260335

Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 00:24

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 00:24
But itll cost you $50 a trip on the allanah express, the way its going at the moment...
FollowupID: 521803

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 18:18

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 18:18
As much as I hate to talk about WA's best kept secret...

You could do a lot worse than look at Mandurah. 50mins from Yokine (I did the trip this morning, new grandson lives there), 45 mins from Perth on the new train (starting Dec), freeway being extended as we speak.

Heaps of beach fishing, 4wdriving around Collie etc, southwest vineyards (Margaret River) and the Peel Inlet for relaxed boating, crabbing etc. And from personal experience the house prices are dropping here. Try www.realestate,com,au and put in postcode 6210. $450K will buy you a beautiful 4X2.

If you move here you owe me a beer.

AnswerID: 260346

Follow Up By: Kevndeb - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 18:49

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 18:49
And the new railway line may be up and running by either Christmas or Easter....depending on who you talk to... the pollies or the unions.

Timms Thicket 4x4 track near there as well.

There is also the new marina thingo going into Cockburn.

FollowupID: 521745

Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 23:33

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 23:33
Welcome, freind. I would like to add that, while it's a nice place, Mandurah is a loooong drive at peak hour.

AnswerID: 260401

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 01:28

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 01:28
travelling along way to work absaaaalutly has knobs on it- closer to work the better. you will reeely apreciate the hour or so per day you get to spend at home rather than mixing it in the perth streets- they are pretty darn busy
AnswerID: 260408

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 07:27

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 07:27
Davoe,

I don't mind driving and I can count getting into the car as starting work. I spend most of the time on the road working down my call list (hands free of course!).

And like my current job, I will only be based at the office and will spend more than half my time visiting buildings all over the place. My patch in SA includes buildings in Darwin, Katherine, Alice Springs, Broken Hill, Mildura, Swan Hill, Robinvale and all over SA.

This was at work three weeks ago:
!MPG:15!

Pete
FollowupID: 521812

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 07:58

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 07:58
What sort of a defence establishment is that???
Missile silo built into hill? :-)

FollowupID: 521818

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 09:18

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 09:18
I only used to work for Defence. I now work as a facility manager.

My boss and I were looking for a place to hold a national management seminar. The photo is the view east from the camp ground.

This is the same spot looking North:
!MPG:17!and West:
!MPG:16!We wandered away from the car up a Gorge to the left of the hill in the first shot leaving my crummydore as you see it with the keys in the ignition.

We finally got back to the car about 2 hours later and it was still there.

I LOVE the Flinders.

Pete

FollowupID: 521833

Reply By: Alan S (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 09:37

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 09:37
Pete

Consider slightly east. Try the hills. Perth has grown North & South considerable distances because people have tried to stay near the beach, but have often forgetten the hills.
Suburbs such as Midland, Kalamunda, walliston, mundaring are all only about 20k's or less out. Midland has a trainline direct to the city. From there to yokine is probably only a 30 min drive accross roe hwy, onto reid hwy.

Prices have started to climb but there are still some good options with a bush lifestyle.

AnswerID: 260439

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 10:10

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 10:10
Kalamunda is weeeeell out of that price bracket and Midland - well I looked there but it reminded me to much of Kalgoorlie with the "social demographics" if you know what i mean
Ended up in High Wycome and direct access to the Roe Highway - couldnt be happier no more suntanned bros peering over the fence to see what they can steal and no more 30 barking dogs per km all trying to jump over there front fence toi have a peice of you
-but wouldnt recomend it due to his distance from work although it would fall comfortably within his price bracket with excellent public transport to the city, belmont, midland, kalamunda, and carousell
FollowupID: 521860

Follow Up By: Alan S (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 10:38

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 10:38
My wife works in Midland and has noticed over the last few months there are less of the bros around. As the prices have increased alot of them have been moved on. Certainly i wouldnt recommend Midvale. I reckon this trend will continue as people realise that Midland is so close to the city and prices rise further.

Koongamia is even becoming better again as values increase. Although i still wouldnt consider Stratton.

FollowupID: 521865

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 10:10

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 10:10
Pete, websites you may find interesting:

http://www.mymandurah.com/

http://www.mofsc.com.au/

http://www.peeldirect.com.au/

http://www.mandurah.wa.gov.au/

http://www.mandurahwa.com/index.html

AnswerID: 260447

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 10:21

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 10:21

Pete
FollowupID: 521863

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 10:27

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 10:27
should be pointed out Mandurah is one serios drive To Yokine even without peak traffic which seems not to have peak hours in perth but start at 7am and finish at 6 pm
FollowupID: 521864

Reply By: Andrew(WA) - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 22:17

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 22:17
Go to realestate.com.au

It will give you all the up to date rentals and home sales...just choose your state, pick a price range...and magic happens.

That'll give you an idea of what you get for your $$$

Good luck.
AnswerID: 260788