Steve Fossett Missing

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 13:05
ThreadID: 49349 Views:2759 Replies:15 FollowUps:23
Breaking

Steve Fossett Missing

Searchers are looking for world famous ocean racing and aviation record holder Steve Fossett, who was reported missing Monday night. Fossett, 63, was last seen taking off from the Hilton Ranch south of Smith Valley, Nevada in a single engine Citabria Super Decathlon heading south.
Civil Air Patrol Nevada Wing Mission Public Information Officer Maj. Cynthia S. Ryan said three crews are in the air looking for Fossett’s blue and white aircraft and that more are on the way. “We will be launching more shortly,” she said.

The search area covers hundreds of square miles of rugged terrain. The Civil Air Patrol has called area airports looking for Fossett.
Fossett made the first solo nonstop, non-refueled circumnavigation of the world in 67 hours in the Virgin Atlantic GlobalFlyer. In 2002 he was the first person to solo around the world in a balloon. He holds several world soaring records as well.

He was in Sparks in August preparing a jet racer to break the land speed record at Bonneville Flats.

This doesn't look good. Check out our forum for the latest. Thanks to Tom Zinn for the photo of Fossett, one of the good guys.

Reply By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 13:38

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 13:38
Yea...and ???
Did he have Coopers or BFGs
Engel or Waeco...
AnswerID: 260479

Reply By: Voxson - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 13:47

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 13:47
Play with matches, get burnt one day.
Waste of a good search.
He is in the same league as Paris Hilton.
AnswerID: 260481

Follow Up By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 14:00

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 14:00
At least he's wasting his someone else's country's resources this time.

Kev

FollowupID: 521904

Reply By: Dave Thomson - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 14:47

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 14:47
Havn't got an ounce of sympathy for some one who puts THEMSELVES into life threatening situations just cause thier rich or they can, thier idiots, we lived in a little village in Scotland and every winter you'd get some maniac trudge up those hills in conditions that could only be discribed as suicidal, ends up costing the taxpayer tens of thousands and all for WHAT ??? no mate leave him and if he's lucky enough to have a next time he might just think twice,
just my 2 bobs,
AnswerID: 260487

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 18:14

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 18:14
What about 4WDs that get stuck in the High Country or Deserts & have to be rescued?
Same sort of thing, just on a different scale!
FollowupID: 521946

Follow Up By: Voxson - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 13:57

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 13:57
Yeah right, 4wd recoveries are always expensive and we always get the bill for them.
These world record plicks waste millions in OUR money and dont pay a cent and if they make the record then the selfish wankydoos take all the credit.
Making a world record is probably one of the most selfish things anyone could strive for in some cases.
FollowupID: 522127

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 19:06

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 19:06
Well if you actually paid attention to the news, he was only flying a light plane.
FollowupID: 522172

Follow Up By: Voxson - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 22:15

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 22:15
Oh it doesnt matter even he was driving a Tram, i dont like him anyway. Or Bullymore or Kay Cottees etce etc..
FollowupID: 522211

Reply By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 15:52

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 15:52
Aaaaagggghhhhhhhh!! Not not Steve Fossett!! Please God, not him again!! I couldn't stand to see any more pictures of LPG bottles falling over!!! No, please, no, I beg of you no more!!

I don't know what you guys in the rest of "Oz" had to put up with, but when he was here in The West doing his "cross Australia in a hot air Coles shopping bag" (or was it The Pacific??), every flamin' night we had reports about his attempt & how he couldn't start it 'cos "this went wrong 'n that went wrong". It went on for weeks, ad nauseum ACCOMPANIED by repetitive shots of his bank of about 60 gas bottles falling over in the wind in Kal!!

Please, no more,,,,,,,,,,,

If he wants adventure, he should go to Afghanistan or Nigeria and help eradicate polio where it's rampant. With all the money he's got, he could do something better with it than cause LPG bottles to surrender and all fall down!!

Bilbo
AnswerID: 260508

Follow Up By: Dave Thomson - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 15:06

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 15:06
Hahahaha Bilbo always glad when your back, always get a good laugh,
onya mate,
FollowupID: 522137

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 18:17

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 18:17
In any democracy and during any discourse in said democracy, someone must provide the balancing view, Dave.

That balancing view, on this occasion, is mine.

Thanks Dave. I'm happy that I bring some light relief to others.

Bilbo - "The take no prisoners hobbit"
FollowupID: 522162

Reply By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 15:56

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 15:56
I'm tipping Steve Fossett is no more..! Sounds like you guys aint gunna miss him , nor his gas bottles, or his gas full stop. !
AnswerID: 260510

Reply By: Member - Mark L (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 16:02

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 16:02
Geez thats ashame.
AnswerID: 260511

Reply By: Crackles - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 18:04

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 18:04
A bit harsh there lads, the poor fella is at best injured in his plane (if not dead) & you're bagging him for being an extreme adventurer. Just because your idea of a good time imay be wrapping yourself in cotton wool & watching TV shouldn't mean others who are obviously very successfull can't be extravegant or live on the edge, not that he was doing anything out of the ordinary making a normal everyday transit flight in a light plane. The guy has undoubtably donated millions to charity's yet that for some is still obviously not enough.
Despite the worrying circumstances I hope he is found in good health.
Cheers Craig..........
HZJ105 Vic
AnswerID: 260538

Follow Up By: Geoff M (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 21:29

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 21:29
Hey Cackles, I'm with you. These people wouldn't know an adventurer if they fell over one ...... or is it jealously because they can't afford it (Bilbo?).

Half of them spend their time "adventuring" around the Sydney and Melbourne freeways and wouldn't have a clue as to what it's like to put ones life on the line in search of adventure.

Every time he's needed to be rescued, he's paid his money for it.

As in any probability of a life lost, let's hope he's found safe and well.

FollowupID: 521997

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 01:52

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 01:52
Yer right Geoff, I can't seek my adventures around the freeways of Sydney or Melbourne - I live in Perth.

I just got back from a 4 month holiday up through Darwin so money's not an issue. I'm not a milliomaire but I don't need to work. A modest pension suffices.

Jealousy?? Nah,not really. After a lifetime of taking chances, I gave up thrill seeking about 7 years ago after a parachute jump went badly wrong and I was a gnats organ away from being dead. The Earth is awful hard after a 14000 feet drop with a dodgy 'chute!!

I was lucky. I learnt my lesson - the lesson being that your luck runs out eventually. Steve Fosset could well be learning his right now.

People didn't feel sorry me and I didn't expect 'em to be, after all I was asking for it most of my life.

So was Steve Fosset. So was Steve Irwin. So was my mate that got killed 40 years ago on a motorbike when he was 19 years old.

Is it just because he's a "celeb" that we concern ourselves with these people?

Do we even give a passing thought to kids that starve to death every day? No we wait with baited breath for news about the Steve Fossets of the world. We're "celeb mad".

Bilbo
FollowupID: 522043

Reply By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 20:55

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 20:55
Firstly,",,,,,,,,,The guy has undoubtably donated millions to charity's,,,,,,,,,,,,"

Prove it.

,,,,,,,,and even if ya can, I don't care, He's still a tosser.

The only reason he, and others like him, such as Richard Branson and that uber-idiot, Tony Bullimore is yet another, do what they do is:

a) because they can. Which in isolation, is never a good reason.

b) Because they're uber-rich and consequences don't matter. e.g if his balloon crashes in mid-Pacific, the Royal Australian Navy will come and get him and he has have very good lawyers that will ensure he doesn't get a bill for it. Commonly termed," The Tony Bullimore Paradigm". If I go out into desert and break down, I have to use a Sat Phone for the RFDS and a tilt tray truck to come and get me - I bet he doesn't!! He gets a TV company or a government to pay for it.

c) They are that far up themselves, they love the thought that everyone thinks they are magnificent human being and they are loved, adored and respected by millions and pictures of themselves will be all over the world news. I've got news for 'em and it's all bad.

The intelligent inhabitants of this world would respect them more if they used thier money for cures for diseases, to assist in ridding the earth of poverty, to educate people, to ensure kids have food and clean drinikng water, to fight depsotism and war. After all, Gandhi did this quite well and he was as poor as church mouse!. Instead, what do we get - another @#@%*&***ing balloon flight!! Jeezus!! Just what the world needs right now. No wonder there are countries in the world that hate us, The Western World. I didn't see Nelson Mandela flying in any balloons.

I hope he's allive, I hope he gets rescued but most of all I hope he's learning a very hard lesson. He's a waster.

Bilbo

PS - Heard on the ABC News this morning - one of Richard Bransom's companies recently aqcuired some land in Africa and built a "lodge" on it for "high roller guests" to stay and observe the wildlife. To achieve this they kicked off 2 tribes that have consequenty lost thier homelands and have nowhere to go. Bransom's company intends to now "negotiate' with these people after they complained to the U.N. Yeah right!! Hey Bransom, why didn't you negotiate BEFORE ya took the land off 'em. This is not the 1800s. Another waster.

AnswerID: 260573

Follow Up By: Crackles - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 22:57

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 22:57
I suppose seeing that Nelson Mandella & Gandhi don't drive around in Nissan Patrols wasting fuel that you will be selling yours shortly & donating the funds "for cures for diseases, to assist in ridding the earth of poverty, to educate people, to ensure kids have food and clean drinikng water, to fight depsotism and war."
" Jeezus!! Just what the world needs right now." Another tourist driving around the outback.
Not quite the same scale I no but surely there is a principle in your reply there somewhere ;-)
Cheers Craig..................
FollowupID: 522027

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 01:37

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 01:37
I have just about enough money to drive around in my 6.5 litre V8 Nissan Patrol thanks very much.

However, I don't have quite enough money to even start mending the worlds ills - he does.

I don't go around waving at TV cameras 'cos I've just driven cross country from Laverton to Kalgoorlie - he does

I'm not a publicity, adulation seeking tosser, he is,,,,,,,,,,,,,

I don't care if people don't worship me, he does.

But that's only my opinion - oh yes, and my Mum's opinion as well.

,,,,,,,,,and where's the proof that he's given heaps to charity. Or does he just "give at office" like the rest of us?

Bilbo
FollowupID: 522042

Follow Up By: Dave Thomson - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 15:12

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 15:12
Go Bilbo,
I wish you'd stand for president mate you'd walk it !!!
FollowupID: 522138

Reply By: Redback - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 07:42

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 07:42
Maybe we could pass these comments on to his family and friends who are worried sick about him, bound to chear them up.

Rsoles

AnswerID: 260631

Follow Up By: Voxson - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 14:03

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 14:03
Why dont we do just that.
These people have to take the good with the bad.
Cant wrap them up in cotton wool because the inevitable may have just happened.
When you become an extreme adventurer, you dont become one with certain conditions.
FollowupID: 522129

Reply By: The Landy - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 15:21

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 15:21
What amazes me about some of the responses in this type of thread is that they seem ignore a basic principle…someone is in trouble and most likely has a family that are beside themselves. If your view is that he is a tosser, so be it, but why not show some compassion by at least keeping it to yourself under the circumstances. Maybe everyone should reflect on how you would feel if you or a family member had the same misfortune beset you.

Besides, if we didn’t have adventurers in this world we’d probably all still think the earth is flat.

Give it a break!
AnswerID: 260718

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 15:25

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 15:25
There seems to be a trend to dislike people with money, it's the tall poppy syndrome. Not sure why that is and it seems Steve Fossett was not liked within these forums at all. I noticed someone else relating Steve to Richard Branson, another bloke with money. What about Dick Smith..? Why haven't we included him..?

Who knows what it is..??
FollowupID: 522140

Reply By: Bilbo - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 17:57

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 17:57
Whoever wants to get the ball rolling and make contact with Steve Fosset's family, can you please tell 'me that I'm worried about him, but he's still a tosser. However, if he is dead, tell them I hope they leave all his money to an orphanage in Vietnam or some place.

There was full page spread on Page 2 of "The West Australian" today. It was reported that he filed no flight plan, he left his sat phone room back at the ranch - The Hliton Family Ranch, which puts him in the company of another tosser, Paris - and he didn't tell anyone where he was going. It could have been one of several places.

Irresponsible??? I'd say so. If you or I did that we'd cop hell from people on this very forum. But what did it matter to him? The USAAF are now out looking for him with a Blackhawk helicopter fitted with infra-red search devices plus a dozen other search planes - as he KNEW they would because he's STEVE FOSSET!!. If it was some poor Mexican wet-back lost in the desert they wouldn't put the alarm clock to go out and look for the poor bugger!

It also gave a list of the records he's broken and the acheivements he's accomplished. Philanthropy was noticeable by its absence.

I hope he's alive, but I hope he's walking home with no shoes on through heavy cactus country.

We're "celebrity crazy". Perhaps that's my whole point. We worship the wrong things and wonder why we end up with a world that's seems to have gone insane.

Bilbo - The tosser spotting hobbit with tosser spotting binoculars
AnswerID: 260739

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 18:24

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 18:24
We sit here typing at our $1000 computers in our $300,000? houses with our $40,000? four wheel drives on the driveway pontificating about how people richer than us don't help people poorer than us in the Third World.

I suspect if you live in Central Africa and have an annual income of sod all then whether the likes of "us" is worth $350,000 or $350,000,000 is irrelevant.

https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/rw.html

To "them" we are all rich and should consider that before we sit too high on our horses.

FollowupID: 522164

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 22:13

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 22:13
Fair point Mike.

But he's got a MUCH higher horse than I've got and a lot more hay to go with it ;)

Bilbo
FollowupID: 522210

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 18:46

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 18:46
I wonder what people thought of Captain Cook, Burke, Wills, Sturt, Stuart, Strzelecki etc. etc..
I would have thought they could have also been referred to as "adventurers"!
FollowupID: 522313

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 20:53

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 20:53
Shaker,

Cap'n Cook was a Royal Navy captain. He did as he was told. The rest were civilians. All were paid to what they did by committees or societies. Stuart was a private (self employed) contractor, hence he was paid for his services. Burke of "Burke & Wills" was also paid but nearly got 'em all killed with exception of one man. They were all doing things out of necessity at the time. They either found grazing land, minerals or water OR "Colony Oz" was a write off.

Not that any of that makes any difference today, where we seem need an answer to the question," How fast can a man go around the world in a balloon",,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Did you notice that not one of those adventurers of yours had thier face on TV ;)

Bilbo
FollowupID: 522348

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 18:44

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 18:44
If you run full steam to the edge often enough, eventually you will slip and go over!

Cheers Pesty
AnswerID: 260745

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 18:48

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 18:48
But, at least, you'll know you're ALIVE! :) [Or were] :)
FollowupID: 522168

Reply By: Shaker - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 19:10

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 19:10
Do any of you small minded people actually read or listen to the news?

He was flying a light plane, like thousands of Australians do everyday!
AnswerID: 260747

Reply By: Bilbo - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 22:26

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 22:26
Well with all the flying that he does, he should know to be more careful!!

As I said above, I had a goodmate killed on a 600cc Norton Dominator motorbike, 40 years ago. Mike was his name and he was as "crazy as" on that bike. We all were, but Mike was head 'n shoulders worse than the rest of us. We all said it was only a matter of time before Mike copped it. The things he did, the stunts he pulled on that bike were simply inhuman, the speeds he did in traffic were obscene,,,,,,,,but his luck ran out one night.

He was coming home from a cricket match, in the evening, doing under the 30MPH speed limit, tootling along, minding his own business and just enjoying the evening sunshine,,,,,,,,when a Ford V8 Pilot with 4 drunks in it came around the bend on the wrong side of the road, hit him, knocked him off the bike. He hit his neck on a marker post and broke his neck. He was buried without a mark on him. We often said that he'd be buired in an egg cup 'cos they'd never find enough of him for a coffin! Well, he proved us all wrong but he was still dead.

Sometimes, if you push yer luck far enough - it simply runs out.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 260790

Reply By: The Landy - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 08:55

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 08:55
Some may have more knowledge on the subject with respect to Steve Fossett and his philanthropy. Although there is a trend that wealthy people who support charity organisations don’t necessarily go around shouting it from every rooftop. But in any case, just because he has more money in some cases, and probably much less in comparison to others, doesn’t mean that he is obliged to support those less well off. Although we always hope that people who can help those less fortunate will.

I think it is a dire and callous situation when civilised societies promote the view that we check your bank balance before we rescue you, and that cuts both ways. Anyone in trouble should be afforded the best rescue services regardless of how much, or little, their bank balance is. If he is found he may well even pay for his rescue, but let’s use the best resources to find him first.

In terms of celebrity, sure there are those who appear to be famous simply because they promote themselves that way. But I wouldn’t put Steve Fossett in that space.

People seek out the likes of Steve Fossett, and in that process convey ‘celebrity status on them’, because they are inspirational people and serve as example to many of what you can achieve through sheer determination. Look at what this man has achieved in his lifetime. I for one would welcome the opportunity to spend an hour with him.

Steve Fossett has done a lot in recent years to expand and generate interest in technology; his non-stop flight around the world has many benefits well beyond the fact that it created a record.

Let’s not condemn someone simply because they have the fortitude to pursue and live their dreams.

Life would be mediocre if we, or others, didn’t push to the boundaries, regularly. In fact, we might still be doing the Simpson Desert on the back of a camel if we didn’t!
AnswerID: 260828

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 10:25

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 10:25
Well spoken Landy.. Great words of wisdom and written very very well.! Keep up the great work....
FollowupID: 522254

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 20:31

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 20:31
The Landy,",,,,,,,,,,, Anyone in trouble should be afforded the best rescue services regardless of how much, or little, their bank balance is,,,,,,,,,"

So why do we as humanity choose to ignore all those kids in all those countries that don't have enough to eat or drink filthy water? Is it becasue they can't get thier smiling faces on "the 6 O' Clock News"?? They mustn't use the same publicity people as Steve Fosset and those like him.

There are people that "push the envelope" every day in all sorts of fields of endeavour, but they don't get the publicity that bloke gets.

Steve Fosset's publicity machine is what makes life mediocre. It bores the bum off me. I find it typical of today's media hype with its "look at me!!" mentality.

You said,"Steve Fossett has done a lot in recent years to expand and generate interest in technology; his non-stop flight around the world has many benefits ,,,,,,,,,"

Like what? Name it. That quote itself could have come straight off "The 6 O' Clock News".

A lot of highfalutin' nonsense without the evidence old chum. It sounds very similar to Steve's own spin machine. Got any facts?

Bilbo

FollowupID: 522340

Follow Up By: The Landy - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 07:33

Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 07:33
Hi Bilbo

It is a travesty that people around the world don’t have clean water to drink or not enough to eat. I certainly don’t think that humanity ignores these people, but we can all be doing more. But equally, I’m not about to blame Steve Fossett for the problems of the third world.

I hope that anyone in a position to help those less fortunate do so; whether Steve Fossett does or doesn’t is not something I have any knowledge of. But rather than condemning others for not doing something, I think it is more useful to just move on and do something about it ones self.

I read on here just recently something very appropriate in this instance (thanks to member RockyOne) “Two things stand like stone. Kindness in another’s trouble; courage in your own”.

Have a good weekend and let’s hope they find Steve Fossett alive and well.

FollowupID: 522390

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 11:32

Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 11:32
Landy,

This is being twisted into,"Why doesn't Steve Fosset give to charity etc", and reading back, I suppose I'm to blame for that. But my main thrust is why do we honour these people and worship at the altar of celebrity status and yet we hear nothing about people that do things that are selfless, giving and far less aggrandising.

We never seem to to give any publicity or praise to those who really do change peoples lives for the better. We seem to adore status, consumerism and those who have more than we do ourselves.

Why don't we adore those in the world that are starving to death through no fault of thier own?

Bilbo
FollowupID: 522426