Diamantina National Park

Submitted: Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 09:00
ThreadID: 49491 Views:2698 Replies:6 FollowUps:0
Hi everyone.... anyone here camped at Diamantina NP.... or for that matter Bladensburg NP? Just after some info as to what these parks are like for camping .....

Reply By: Member - John G- Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 09:25

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 09:25
G'day Brian,

We asked re Diamantina NP earlier in the year and got some good responses on the www.campertrailers.org site. We finished up only going as far as Old Cork Station.Camping there is riverfront, free, but with no facilities. We didn't stop there because we had opted for a day trip from Winton. If you search on 'dusty diamantina' on the campertrailer site you should be able to get the responses. On particularly good response was from an ernie treloar who had a great website. I can find references on Google but the website seems to be unavailable.

John G
AnswerID: 261156

Reply By: The Landy - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 09:53

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 09:53
Hi Brian

Send me a member msg with email and I will forward a story I wrote on a trip in 2004. We visited the park and would recommend you visit.

AnswerID: 261162

Reply By: Andy LC60 - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 15:40

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 15:40

Diamantina NP has 2 campgrounds, Hunters Gorge and Gum Hole. Hunters is fairly open and popular, fishing can be good (Yellowbelly). Gum Hole is amongst trees, is less popular but can be bad for insects, at the moment its still OK. Allow for a 120km circuit drive while you are there, take 2 spares and drinking water as none is available on park.
Bladensburg has 1 campground, Bough Shed, on Suprise creek. It is a popular site as it is easily accessable by 2WD. Scrammy lookout is great at sunset.

All site have a pit toilet, cost $4.5o per person per night and info and maps are available at the campgrounds. Please collect fire wood from outside the parks.
Call 4652 7333 (office hours) if you need more info.

The Ranger

AnswerID: 261220

Reply By: Member - Kim R (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 15:48

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 15:48
G'day Brian,
We did a trip June this year, fantastic place. You have 2 options for camping , 1. Open camping along the Diamantina , has a drop toilet and around 10 quite good spots. Spot 2 is about 14 k towards Boulia along the creek these are bush camps and reasonably private , but only about 5 spots, these were all taken when we were there.There is a loop dive which is quite good and there were plenty of birds at Green Tank .
Remember to carry in your fire wood.

Go and enjoy.

Ramo
AnswerID: 261224

Reply By: Bros 1 - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 18:58

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 18:58
Brian,
Camped at Old Cork and Gum Hole in 2005.
No facilities at Old Cork but good river side camp, (we were the only ones there) caught yellowbelly right next to camp. Middle of winter and 1.5 degrees. Good for campfire.
Were going to stay at Hunters Gorge but could not find enough flat ground.
Camped at Gum Hole overnight. Plenty of shade.
Interesting loop drive from Winton to Boulia.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 261246

Reply By: ZukscooterX90 (Qld) - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 19:59

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 19:59
Good evening Brian,same as others have said of the Diamantina NP camping camped in the Gorge camp ground it was ok with drop dunny can also put in a tinny or probably throw a line from the bank.I did not fish but there were a couple of older men when i was there & they had a tinny & caught some yellow belly & gave us some already filleted,Yum bloody melted in my mouth.Was there June last yr & plenty of flies,but don't let that deter you as it is a lovely place to visit.
Cheers Bob.
AnswerID: 261261