Bone Cancer Metastases

My dearly loved partner and best friend (27 years together) has been unfortunate to have had bladder cancer metastasise into his spine.
Radiation has not helped and chemo has just started. Outlook is not good .
We have a secret spot in the NT he dearly wants to go to again if he is able to.
My question is we own a 79 series Toyota Ute and as we all know they are not the most comfortable passenger seats.
Is there a seat that can be fitted to give him a better trip, will it have to be approved etc.
Thanks Diane

Reply By: Member - Debbie R (SA) - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 20:56

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 20:56
Dianne,

While I can't answer your question, I'm sure once a few of the fellas read this they will answer. Just wanted to say hope that you both get to make the trip and enjoy the time together.

Debbie
AnswerID: 261274

Follow Up By: rum pig - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 21:00

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 21:00
Thanks Debbie life at the moment is like living a nightmare regards Diane.
So many dreams so little time.
FollowupID: 522612

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 21:13

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 21:13
There is but they aint cheap. When working open pits alot of the Knobs had air cushioned seats like busses and trucks do. They were 75 series utes but there isnt much difference.
Sorry I dont know where or a name but they are out there. Havnt seen them for a while - alot of cost cutting went on in Mining late last century
AnswerID: 261275

Follow Up By: rum pig - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 19:46

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 19:46
Thanks Davoe for your reply they sound like what i may be after regards diane
FollowupID: 522782

Reply By: ZukscooterX90 (Qld) - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 21:16

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 21:16
Hi Diane,i too can't answer your Q for sure, but i do think you may have to have it aproved,others here may know for sure.
Sorry about your partner & i sincerely hope all gets turned around for you both with a more positive outcome.
All the best to you both.
Kind thoughts Bob.
AnswerID: 261276

Follow Up By: rum pig - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 19:51

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 19:51
Thanks ZukscooterX90 Regards Diane
FollowupID: 522783

Reply By: Member - Earvin (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 21:32

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 21:32
Gday Diane,
Bloody bummer that bone cancer. My fiance has the same thing from breast cancer. I also thought about a better seat but she coped well with the regular seats on our trip to Cobourg this year. 12000 kms in all with little pain and discomfort. Patrol seats obviously aren't too bad.

She has just started on Chemo last week as the cancer has also taken hold of her lungs. She had radiation earlier in the year which helped a lot at the time with pain relief.

Today though she battled for 5 1/2 hours to walk up Pigeon House Mountain a bloody hell of a climb. What a lady!

Anyway sorry i haven't really answered your question. There are a number of seats out there that will be better than the Cruiser seats. Try searching this site I am sure there have been posts about this before.
AnswerID: 261278

Follow Up By: Member - Earvin (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 21:37

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 21:37
Check post 13998. It has abit of info on aftermarket seats for a troopy.
FollowupID: 522618

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 20:08

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 20:08
Hi there Earvin, dont know what to say except you have one strong lady. All I can say is I hope to hell she pulls through it all and comes out the other end smiling which Im sure she will. I know myself how the chemo is on the body and the radiation, I saw my nan go through it and my old man not nice at all especially when both were so independent people. All the best for the future and Im sure you will be making many more trips together. Best Wishes for you both. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 522790

Follow Up By: rum pig - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 20:13

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 20:13
Thank you for your reply. my partner had bladder cancer, had the bladder removed in June metastes showed up in July. 2007
Very aggressive.
Radiation did nothing for him , Chemo only for pain relief he is now on morphine patches and they seem to be helping with the pain.
Thanks for the post to 13998 i will look into them.
I truly hope your fiance enjoys her life for as long as she can.
My heart goes out to you as no one realises what pain and anguish we as loved ones go through watching what this terrible disease does.
Regards Diane
FollowupID: 522791

Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 21:47

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 21:47
Be carefull fella's. Sometimes things are not very transparent.

Kim
AnswerID: 261280

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 22:44

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 22:44
Eh?

FollowupID: 522629

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 23:07

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 23:07
Kim,

Do you wanna expand on that?

?????

Bilbo
FollowupID: 522637

Follow Up By: Brew34.5(SA) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 17:23

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 17:23
Lost me too.
FollowupID: 522749

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 20:18

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 20:18
Hi Kim, as Pauline Hanson would say PLEASE EXPLAIN !!!!. I hope your not saying what I think your saying ???? Steve
FollowupID: 522792

Follow Up By: rum pig - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 21:29

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 21:29
Kim i am sorry you read something into my posting that no one else saw. Maybe you should reread it a bit slower or better still look bone cancer up on the internet. regards Diane
FollowupID: 522814

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 23:54

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 23:54
kim i think i know what you are on about , and i do hope you are wrong ........Cheers.......Dave
FollowupID: 522824

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 00:43

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 00:43
I'll take a guess that Kim reckons that Diane has come on here cracking on that her partner's got cancer so that business owners can advertise ther expensive seats. OR even worse, the poor girl has come on here hoping someone will donate a good seat to her.

If she was coming on here asking for a whip round for a few thousand bucks (We had one of tese just down the road from us in Perth recently), I coiuld understand the scepticism but, gimme a break - she's only asking about seats!!

I can't see the problem and as you all know, I'm a cynical old bugger at the best of times!!

Put up or shut up, I say. Come out with it or stay out of it.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 522829

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 00:56

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 00:56
Bilbo , i wasnt having a shot at Diane at all about what you just rambled on about , i dont even think that way at all , what on earth made you think that?? If you cant see what i think Kim is on about then i suggest you should just shut up as well ........Cheers....Dave

P.S Have a nice day and dont forget ya pills
FollowupID: 522830

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 10:01

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 10:01
Dave,

There are several others on this thread that can't see what YOU are "rambling on about" with your esoteric, secret squirrel messages. Even the thread initiator, Diane is a bit non-plussed and offended by Kim's comments.

As several of us have said,"Please explain".

If you think somethingi is a secret, then keep it that way and keep it off here. How can anybody "be careful it's not transparent" when they haven't got a clue what you're on about?

Bilbo
FollowupID: 522869

Follow Up By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 19:42

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 19:42
This may well be a genuine call for help. If so I wish the lady all the best.

However, there have been a number of posts appearing here recently that are starting to look suspicious. Each of the entries have been under different names, but have a similar theme. The story always varies, but what is noticeable is the writing style.

Once all these things come together, I start getting cautious about the post. Hence my comment.

Kim

FollowupID: 522982

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 23:57

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 23:57
Thank you, now we can all get some sleep.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 523063

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 22:15

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 22:15
Where and when do you want to go?

Maybe I can help!!!

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 261283

Follow Up By: rum pig - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 20:19

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 20:19
Thanks Steve NT if we go it will depend on when he is well enough to travel . So it will be a snap decision.
Regards Diane
FollowupID: 522793

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 22:40

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 22:40
Try fitting a seat out of a Magna. Not sure which model but a mate fitted one to a 75 series and it had good lumbar support.
AnswerID: 261287

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 22:53

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 22:53
My work company car is a 380 Magna and the seats are excellent.

FollowupID: 522633

Follow Up By: rum pig - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 20:26

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 20:26
Thanks Willem i will look into that as well. Regards Diane
FollowupID: 522796

Reply By: Matt(WA) - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 22:45

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 22:45
Hi Diane,
Good luck with it all. I have a chronic back injury, and I have settled on Stratos XLLTSS Seats. Not exactly cheap at aroun $1800 each fitted, but it will be the only way I will be able to handle longer than half an hour in the car. Home this helps.
Matt

AnswerID: 261289

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 23:12

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 23:12
Like those Stratos seats sat in them at the 4wd shops and shows, but no way will I pay out that much.

OT. Matt didn't end up going this weekend. Both my batteries died and had to call the Rac man. Finished the plumbing on my water tank though. You go?

FollowupID: 522638

Follow Up By: rum pig - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 20:32

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 20:32
Thanks Matt did your seats have to be engineered approved and where would i get them from? Regards Diane
FollowupID: 522797

Follow Up By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 20:40

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 20:40
Diane,

I think TJM are a reseller and the seats come with a base mounting frame that suits your vehicle, so I don't think they will need to be engineered. The place you get them from should be able to advise you if it is required and possibly supply the engineers certificate if the fit the seat for you.

Best wishes
Kev

FollowupID: 522800

Follow Up By: rum pig - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 20:52

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 20:52
Thanks Kev i will phone them tomorrow regards Diane
FollowupID: 522804

Reply By: Member - Robert (WA) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 04:49

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 04:49
Hi if you send me your email address i might have something for you
Robert
AnswerID: 261304

Reply By: Member - John G- Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 09:20

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 09:20
G'day Diane

Depending upon the location of the spot in the NT and how easy it is for you to get to the nearest 'big' town, it may be an option to hire a current (comfortable) 4WD for the journey rather than go to the expense of a flash new seat for a one-off purpose. Good luck

John G
AnswerID: 261323

Follow Up By: rum pig - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 20:46

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 20:46
Thanks John ourspot isnt close to a big town so hireing would be out of the question cost, insurance, us geting there from Brisbane etc. Depending on how he travels we may only do a few hours a day travel. Will have to do it at his comfort and my driving.Regards Diane
FollowupID: 522802

Reply By: HowdyDoody - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 12:09

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 12:09
Hi Diane, I really hope you are able to make the most of your time. I have an alternative suggestion. Try getting pressure cushions etc for your existing seats. I used to work with Tempur cushions and I know that physio's and specialists recommend them for use in cars etc. I know patients with bone cancer use the mattresses and get a lot of relief from them. Try the Seat Cushion and the Transit Lumbar Support. I must declare that I used to be affiliated with the product, but am no longer. I believe they may work for you. You can order from any Harvey Norman or Forty Winks or get your physio to contact Tempur. www.tempur.com.au
Best of luck with acheiving the best outcome possible for you both.
AnswerID: 261343

Follow Up By: rum pig - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 20:58

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 20:58
Thanks HowdyDoody i will enquire about them as well Regards Diane
FollowupID: 522807

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 18:52

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 18:52
Diane

I have problems with my lower back, especially when driving my work landcruiser. None driving my patrol.

I was given a blow up lumbar support cushion by Blaze's wife some time ago and using that has greatly helped. I would suggest that a cushion like that could be a more cost effective option.

PS I am in remission and have been since Feb 2005. I hope your partner will be able to say the same in years to come. Enjoy your trip to the NT.

Tjilpi
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 261411

Follow Up By: rum pig - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 21:09

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 21:09
Thanks for your reply. Good luck to you as well. regards Diane
FollowupID: 522810

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 20:14

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 20:14
Hi Dianne, sorry to hear about your hubby, I really hope you get to his secret spot. Sounds like its what you both really need and lets hope he fights like hell and goes to his secret spot with you more then once and see's alot more then he thinks he's going to. All the best for you both and wishes. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 261435

Follow Up By: rum pig - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 21:20

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 21:20
Thanks Stephen i would take him to the moon if he asked me and it was possible. Regards Diane
FollowupID: 522812

Reply By: Member - Brad G (QLD) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 21:42

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 21:42
Try 'seats r us'. I think they are brizzy based - they do seats for everything from 4wd to trucks and ag machinery.

Brad.
AnswerID: 261452

Reply By: Member - Brett (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 07:26

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 07:26
Hi Diane,

well it looks like the team here have pointed you in the right direction and I believe the generosity from members will shine to help you through.

All I have to say is that my thoughts are with you both, it sounds like you're in the middle of a horrible battle. I can only hope it does work out well and you both get to travel and make the most of the time together.
AnswerID: 261480

Reply By: Ben Oz - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 22:34

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 22:34
I found this post on a forum for a well known national 4wd magazine discussing the pros/cons of bench seats in cruiser ute. Really low act or coincidence, you be the judge!

rumpig

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

i've got a 105 series with the passenger bench seat and the main problem i have with it is you don't have anywhere to put your phone or wallet (unless you have a roof console), my doors are full so no centre console sucks in my opinion. i was also warned about the 100 series seats being uncomfortable on long trips, which i found to be the case when i went to the cape last year, no lower lumbar support. i don't have a problem with the seats any other time, i drive every day in my fourbie and find the seats are quite comfy for the most time, just had problems on the long trip.

WHEN YOUR TASTE BUDS FULLY DEVELOP YOU WILL UNDERSTAND !!!
AnswerID: 261639