tyre deflation

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 11:12
ThreadID: 49583 Views:2420 Replies:6 FollowUps:6
hi can anyone tell me the best presure to drop my tyres too for mud driving?

Reply By: Smudger - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 12:34

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 12:34
Deflating won't help, you need traction in mud, that comes back to tread selection.
AnswerID: 261700

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 13:51

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 13:51
agree with Smudger. also, weird things happen in mud and you need to be prepared with other techniques like "wobbling" your steering wheel left and right to help the tyres find some traction and pull out at the exit. Lowering the pressures unnecessarily not only reduces the ability of the tyre to bite/grip on any sounder ground underneath, but can leave you vulnerable to hidden dangers like sharp sticks/rocks/car parts etc. which may result in sidewall damage.
FollowupID: 523137

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 13:53

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 13:53
forgot to say, if I can avoid mud, I will. too much work and potential dollars involved in cleaning and ensuring running gear brakes etc. do not suffer prematurely.
FollowupID: 523138

Reply By: archar - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 12:54

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 12:54
i have 33'' mud tyres (simmilar to simex extremes) do i need to deflate them?
AnswerID: 261703

Follow Up By: Smudger - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 18:06

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 18:06
I reckon the best indicator is always in your owners manual. Strange I know, but true. Just recently we did a run fron Sydney to Alice via The Rock, some seriously rough tracks including the road to Hermansberg and the Oodnadatta track, plus side trips. I left my tyres at the book value, and after 10,000kms in 4 weeks ..no punctures. Lucky? Maybe, but that's a pretty dinkum test. Good tyres, and that doesn't mean expensive, I paid $150ea for mine, and sensible driving are the keys. (I have paid good money for bad tyres in the past too. But, that's another story.
Archar, it realy does boil down to a sensible approach to off-roading. when you go bush, the rule is "slow and low".
FollowupID: 523172

Reply By: Alfantz - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 13:37

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 13:37
18psi is probably standard.
AnswerID: 261707

Reply By: howie - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 17:08

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 17:08
i don't usually drop the pressure in 'pure' mud, but have dropped the pressure by 25% or more to climb a muddy rocky hill.
each situation is slightly different.
rock climbers use very low pressures
'rocking' the steering wheel helps (keep the windows closed).
AnswerID: 261732

Reply By: ross - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 19:36

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 19:36
Try it at 25 psi and at 20 psi and see how it goes. I believe your tyres will wrap and around sharp objects better.

Some tyre will even self clean if you deflate due to the tread bending as it comes off the bottom.

In the end tyre deflation is all about the terrainand the type of tyre.
There is no one rule for every situation
AnswerID: 261758

Reply By: StormyKnight - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 23:08

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 23:08
How long is a piece of string?

Basically the lower the pressure, the bigger the footprint, the more traction.

Whether you need to lower the pressures is another thing all together.

I run 50psi when I'm on the bitumen, & if I'm doing any sort of length on dirt I'll drop them back to around 35psi, mainly to help with the comfort when driving thru potholes.

If I'm struggling at all, I'll drop them down again perhaps to 20-25psi. This should be fine for just about anything.

Minimum would be 15psi. Less than this & you risk running the tyre off the rim, so only go this low as a last resort & don't drive over 10-15km/h untill you put more air in them.

2001 Prado GXL TD Auto BFG 265/75R16s MT's
AnswerID: 261811

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 06:24

Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 06:24
Bloody hell mate, 50 psi on the bitumen, why ?
I run 35 fully loaded, on the black stuff, 22-25 on outback roads, and 15 in the sand.
At a pinch I would try 8 -10 psi, but only to get out of trouble.

I try to keep out of mud.,, gets real embarrasing !

But in saying that, we went through the floods between Dalhousie and Purni Bore, and that was as greasy as a pig's %$#%, I think we had 15-18 psi , coming out of the Simpson Desert.

FollowupID: 523267

Follow Up By: Ingtar - Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 12:10

Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 12:10
Factory specs on the 100series on standard tyres sits around 50PSI too. Though I was a bit surprised when I first saw it.
FollowupID: 523312

Follow Up By: StormyKnight - Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 17:42

Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 17:42
50psi = better fuel economy - as simple as that.
The Rides rougher for sure, but I can get 11l/100km with the BFG's on & sitting on 115km/h.
FollowupID: 523372