Subaru Forester in Bendethra???

Submitted: Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 21:52
ThreadID: 49678 Views:2386 Replies:5 FollowUps:3
Took a cruise in the Cruiser (as one does) last weekend to Bendethra and had a most thoroughly good time there. Tracks are real easy (for the Cruiser), river low (tried to float a Pajero in it some years ago, bit os a story there...) - has anyone seen Subaru Foresters go into Bendethra? Of driven one? I think that with the exception of a couple of spots (which should be able to be negotiated with care), a Forester should be able to get in there though not sure of the river. The Cruiser was burbling its exhaust in the river (bum jacked up about 4-5" from a saggy standard low) so I was wondered about the Subbie air intake etc. Sister wants to come on the next trip, and while she is quite game and an excellent driver I do not think she wants to thump her pet on the rocks or drown it.

Any takers???

viz

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 22:18

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 22:18
Hi Viz, if the cruiser you were in had a 4/5 inch lift and your exhaust was burbling in the water I think you would drown the subi very quickly. Not sure how it would go with a blind over the front of it ?? I would say by your own thread you are experienced in 4wdriving and would be able to say either yes or no to your sister. As said if the track is easy and no real steep climbs the subi would probably be ok (for memory the Forester no low range only the outback ??) but the river I think would be a no go zone. Is there another way around she could go on higher ground ?? I haven't been there myself so have no idea of the terrain your talking about. Remember insurance issues should any thing go wrong (hopefully not) Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 262148

Follow Up By: viz - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 22:42

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 22:42
Yah. Me thinks the same, it is one thing to " 'ave a go", but the consequences could be quite expensive. Might be that we park the Subie near the river and ferry the occupants (and gear) to the campsite...

Thanks for the reply

viz
FollowupID: 523675

Reply By: Redback - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 22:25

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 22:25
Seen heaps of soft roaders at Bendethra, Xtrails, Subarus, Tucsons, nothing hard about going in and out of Bendethra.

AnswerID: 262151

Reply By: brett - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 22:47

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 22:47
Which river crossing were you doing? I've been there twice in the last couple of years and the river crossing before the main camp area didn't come any where near the exhaust in my 1.5 inch lifted NP pajero. While there is nothing real tricky coming in from Moruya, it's reasonably steep and wouldn't recommend it without low range.
AnswerID: 262156

Reply By: Diver1 - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 23:32

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 23:32
Lets just say that soobies are under - rated!!

Had one travel with us last year and it made it up BIG RED after only a few tries (which who doesnt unless they've done it before!)

Laura
AnswerID: 262162

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 15:07

Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 15:07
Laura - I was in Nowra the other day on the way back from our six weeks trip to Cooktown and points west in QLD - happened to notice a troopy ute on the Shoalhaven River bridge with the number plate Diver 1 - any connection to you??
FollowupID: 523743

Follow Up By: Diver1 - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 21:10

Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 21:10
No i wish though.

I couldnt believe my eyes when I saw that rego!! I want it!! Gets around that troopy - someone else asked me a while ago whether it was me in that troopy but up near cairns!

Just wonder if i can get the new nsw rego in something similar!!

maybe instead of AF32BQ
DI01VR

LOL!!

Laura
FollowupID: 523804

Reply By: Andrew - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 15:32

Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 15:32
Foresters have low range, its just not as low as big 4by's Might float if the waters too deep. The real issue is the air intake which is at the fron of the bonnet so definitely needs tarping if the water will reach near the top of the grille. Mine has been nose under and the induction resonator seperated the water out but that was more good luck than good management.

A
AnswerID: 262674