Family Trip

Submitted: Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 22:09
ThreadID: 49722 Views:2968 Replies:4 FollowUps:7
We're looking at travelling around Australia with two kids for a year or so. Have no vehicle or van yet. Want to go off road - Gibb rivier road and kimberley look great; around WA wildflowers etc. Want to be comfortable but have tent camping experience. We need a queen bed for hubbie and 1 as we are both over 6ft tall and broad shouldered. Any suggestions out there for van/camper and vehicle. Will be on a budget so good fuel economy would be good, but would rather invest in a good set up than skrimp on vehicle and rig. We're planning to work our way around the country . Any suggestions would be really appreciated. We've toyed with Kimberley Kampers, Karavan, Windsor Rapid (only a double bed i've hear - if so it will be eliminated, Jayco expanda etc but are very happy to hear from others experiences, especially families who may have done the same. One concern (under canvas) is feeling cold or damp at night. How is this overcome? Thanks to all who reply.

Reply By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 08:48

Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 08:48
What is your approx budget for the purchase of a van on tow vehicle??

Kev

AnswerID: 262398

Follow Up By: Newbiesb - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 15:32

Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 15:32
we're thinking up to $100K but of course less is always best. This is for vehicle, van and accessories. Have a tent already (if needed for worse off road trips).
FollowupID: 523964

Reply By: Steve - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 09:48

Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 09:48
Coromal Pioneer Silhouette has a queen and a double at each end. Not as rugged as an out-and-out camper (ie Kimberley Kamper, Camprite etc) but more of a compromise of comfort and off-road ability. Better build quality and "luxury" appointments than the equiv Jayco versions, (which are cheaper). It will get you anywhere, generally, other than the most rugged that Cape York has to offer. $30,000 new but you'll get a used one in the low $20's. Alan Graham in Gosford has one at $19,000. Has gas and electric stove which is handy and can be erected in 15 mins, not including annexe, which would take a further 15/20. I'll leave the car to others as the choice is wide and varied.
AnswerID: 262411

Follow Up By: Newbiesb - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 15:34

Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 15:34
One question with the fibreglass body - do they break on corrugated/stone roads? We have a concern with shell durability. I looked at the website and they look nice and comfy though. Has anyone had bad experiences with the shell? I've seen stone guards on camper photos. Has anyone seen these on the coromal?
FollowupID: 523965

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 15:55

Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 15:55

Friends have got a Silhouette and as far as I know they're really happy with it...and I"m sure they do have a stone guard on it.

Lyn
FollowupID: 523973

Follow Up By: Steve - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 16:55

Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 16:55
Dunno about the shell durability for certain mate. Not had it long enough - but there are a lot of people with fibregalss vans and campers these days, so there'll be a lot of irate customers if it doesn't come up to the mark. Signs are, it's ok as far as I can tell with anyone we know with glass shells. Regarding stone shields, we had a padded bra made for our previous van and it worked great.

On the issue of stone guards, does anyone know about those stoneguards that are like a heavy duty canvas sheet that sits horizontally over your draw bar (in fact, the whole area between back of car and van) so that any rocks just stay under the car/van. I saw one parked outside a servo but never got a chance to earbash the owner. Look good in theory.
FollowupID: 523985

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 10:11

Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 10:11

if you're looking at the Camper Trailer option..the Trakshak has two Queen beds and plenty of space. We have two children - 6 & 8 and it's served us well, you can also get the option of another room for underneath that can be used as another bedroom. We used to have a caravan but we wanted to go to more offroad places and opted for a campertrailer.

They are also pretty rugged and easy to set up. We've taken ours on a number of trips and have not an issue with it. OUr tow vehicle is a 2004 LC Auto TD, and it's fantastic.

As for sleeping under canvas etc, the only time that I can honestly say that I've been freezing and damp was in Walhalla one Winter but that was only briefly and once he sun hit the canvas all was good. You can buy heaters that use butane cartridges, I think they are coleman blackcats or something like that, I know people who have them and use them in their campers and swear by them.

If you want any more info, feel free to contact me..

Lyn
AnswerID: 262420

Follow Up By: Newbiesb - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 15:37

Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 15:37
i had a look at the web site and my main concern is the proximity of the kids at night!!! We don't particularly want them right next to us - we have early teenagers and it kind of kills the romance
FollowupID: 523966

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 15:54

Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 15:54
LOL...fair enough...quite a few people we know put the kids in their own tent..infact we'll be doing that as we intend to sell the trakshak and Al will build a hardfloor camper and we'll somehow - haven't figured it out yet, attached an Oztent to the side so they've kind of got their own room.

Lyn
FollowupID: 523971

Reply By: yakodi - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 20:36

Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 20:36
Gday, we've been on the road for 3 yrs now with 4 yr old and 4 month old. 100K is a lot to spend on the setup for a year on the road, you could just about purchase anything you liked 4x4 plus camper, bus plus small 4x4 on trailer, truck with camper on back towing a boat - the options are endless and you will see the many different setups on your travels. There is no perfect setup but if we had our time again we would have a well set up reliable troopy 4.2 td with comfortable camper/caravan with airconditioning because working on the road and living under canvas can be extremely hot....and makes for very long days trying to entertain kids for days on end in hot or wet/damp conditions..
We started with jayco camper which we were always repairing/ improving on towed by a Patrol. We now have a 20ft dirt road caravan with still enables us to travel the dirt highways but gets a bit tight around the heavily forrested areas in the east coast nat parks. With the weight of the van we can forget the beaches which were never a problem with the camper but we just pack the tent for true offroad adventures.
AnswerID: 262551

Follow Up By: Member - jdwynn (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 07:46

Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 07:46
yakodi
what type of van do you have - how's good is it? I don't of many 20ft vans that are ok for dirt. JD
FollowupID: 524477