Member - Straps (SA)
Hi gang,
I have placed a bid on the above mentioned
UHF radio on Ebay. Not being radio savvy, I am wondering what I need to purchase in the way of an aerial / installation equip & mounting gear, in case I am successful in winning.??
(it comes with the following;
complete with mounting bracket, microphone, power cord, microphone clip, extension lead and detailed instruction book)
Any tips in simple speak would be most appreciated.
Shane
Reply By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 21:33
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 21:33
Hi Shane,
Just put one of these new units in myself. They are great. Any good quality aerial will be fine.
As for installing the unit, mount the unit anywhere where it is out of the way (I mounted
mine under the dash) as all your controls are on the microphone.
Great unit, made here in Australia with 3 year warranty.
Even if you do not win the successful bid, lash out and get one, you will not regret buying one.
Reply By: Member - Straps (SA) - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 21:38
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 21:38
Hey Stephen,
Thanks for the prompt reply.
Forgive a silly question, but WHAT is a good quality aerial.?? Any tips or point me to look online..?? (I did look quite some time back at some other GMW / Uniden stuff, but I will be buggered if I can remember what the stuff was..)
Shane
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 08:22
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 08:22
Hi Shane,
As a general rule of thumb, most good quality aerials will start around the $90 - $100 price mark and them up into the $200's
Will be be driving mainly in the built up areas or looking for longer range. I am if a fan of GME, for the fact that it is made here in Australia, not China.
Reply By: stocky - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 21:39
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 21:39
Get the biggest/best antenna you can afford/put up with - you wont be sorry!
IF your happy to drill holes in your car - a nice 4.5db whip in the centre of your roof works wonders - otherwise a *good* ground independant elevated feed antenna either on the guard or bullbar - i.e RFI CD921/931 or GME AE4018K1 or similar
Alternatively the GME AE4705 is GREAT if you can put up with the size - but I wouldn't bother with its big brother (AE4706) as its too big and the performance gain (unless your crossing the nullabor!) is minimal in most terrains.
I love & work in country/outback areas - I use the AE4705 - but I can put up with it - i rarely ever get to
Adelaide to worry about low clearances in car parks!
Stocky
Follow Up By: stocky - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 21:44
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 21:44
BTW - the RFI antenna's come preterminated with am FME plug (just bigger than the coax!) so its easy to run to the radio - then you fit the supplied adaptor to suit the radio. not 100% efficient in terms of signal but excellent for the DIYers!
Stocky
Follow Up By: Member - Straps (SA) - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 21:47
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 21:47
Hey Stocky,
Thanks heaps.
Have just relocated to Ayers Rock for 12 months and looking to mount to my bullbar, (I think). I am keen to give it a go as a DIY, however have a bloke up here that is pretty cluey and installed his own previously within a professional feel, so hoping that he will help).
Will have a look at some of the aerials mentioned.
Shane
Follow Up By: stocky - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 21:54
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 21:54
NP - I *think* "Central Comms" is the GME dealer up there - may also do RFI.
Stocky
Follow Up By: Member - Straps (SA) - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 21:58
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 21:58
Hadn't thought of that. My *employer* has good rapport with them and I might have to take one of our vehicles up to them soon. Might have to try and get onto them and see what sort of price they have..
Hmm, whats is an RFI antenna and what is FME plug..?? (will do some searching online also)..!!
The AE4705 is approx. $180 on Ebay..
Shane
Follow Up By: stocky - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 22:02
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 22:02
RFI is a brand like GME
FME is a plug type - commonly used on mobile phone antenna's
AE4705 - dont pay $180 on ebay - you can get them for less in shops!
FYI - prices i have seen
RFI CD921 approx $90
AE4705 approx $170
Follow Up By: Member - Straps (SA) - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 22:05
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 22:05
Thanks heaps Stocky,
Muchos Gracias..!!
Let's say I get the radio, I am assuming that I need the RFI FME plug as
well as an aerial / antenna..!?!?!?
Shane
Follow Up By: stocky - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 22:12
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 22:12
Sorry to confuse you!
What i was suggesting is if you where going to do it DIY - rather than trying to fit the plug on the end of the antenna coax (which a lot of people fail to do correctly) - RFI have made the job easier by pre-fitting an "fme" connector on the end of the cable and supply an adaptor to fit the
UHF radio that goes onto the "fme" plug
The "fme" plug is only slightly bigger in diameter than the coax so it makes it easy for the DIY'er - no need to try and fit the plug after running the coax
Basically - the RFI antenna comes with all you need in terms of cable/connectors pre-fitted - all you need to do is mount the antenna on the bullbar bracket (or get a bracket to suit if your bar does not have one), run the cabel to the radio and simply screw on the adaptor and connect to the radio - SIMPLE & FOOLPROOF!
:-)
Talk to the gusy at Central Comms - they will see you right
Stocky
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 22:13
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 22:13
Stocky
I use one of these and get around 30klm with it
Check out the website Shane,
Mobile One Antenna
Follow Up By: stocky - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 22:15
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 22:15
Yup properly mounted with a suitable groundplane they are an excellent performer - not all people like drilling holes in their 4B!
:-)
Follow Up By: Member - Straps (SA) - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 22:18
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 22:18
Gents, thanks again.
Think I understand now.
Will look into the antenna that you suggest Doug.
I have used magnetic mounts and this style of aerial Doug. What sort of limitations would that impose, as opposed to a bull bar mounted aerial.???
Shane
Follow Up By: stocky - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 22:21
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 22:21
Just be aware that will only work properly if you drill a hole and mount it through your roof - not my favourite option although it works
well
Have fun :-)
Stocky
Follow Up By: Member - Straps (SA) - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 22:23
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 22:23
Won't be drilling any holes in my ol girl..!!
Bull bar has a hole / mount on it already. (Gitsham bar)
Shane
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 22:30
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 22:30
Shane
No ho;es needed ,
mine is on the roof bar, see the rig
pic , it is yje one in the middle on the Raised feed
Follow Up By: stocky - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 07:40
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 07:40
Yeah
well thats a bit different Doug! Both the RFI CD921 & GME AE4018K1 are the same style of "elevated feed ground independant" antenna
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 08:07
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 08:07
stocky
Not sure what your aiming at there , I think what you might be saying is I have shown 2 different antennas, NO the top photo is as part of the bottom one, it detaches , also excuse the typo's , I was in part darkness last night, ho;es and yje = holes and the, bugger now i'll cop it ,...lol.
Also someone mentioned I wouldn't get 30klm all the time,
well that's common sense, I didn't I get 30 klm 100%, though under freak conditions near
Hughenden early one morning we all reception of 210klm, yes you read it right 210klm,
We have all seen the big thick massive fibreglass jobs eh,
well all it is a thin wire running up the core, I have had 2 and both have expired, I find the small one does the job ,
Follow Up By: stocky - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 18:25
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 18:25
I know doug - but it added to the confusion
One picture was suitable for what he wanted and the other wasnt (as pictured first)
at the end of the days its all good!
Stocky
Reply By: John R (SA) - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 21:41
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 21:41
All you will need is an aerial.
Unless otherwise stated, an aerial will invariably come with the several metres of coax/cable & plugs required to join it to your radio.
Given your post, I will assume that you have not had any experience in installing a radio, so I would suggest you get someone who deals in radios to install it.
A tip with ebay - if you intend to bid on something, log on and wait until there's about a minute left of the auction before putting your bid in.
That way you stand a better chance of getting it, and don't spend a week pushing the price up.
Follow Up By: Member - Straps (SA) - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 21:45
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 21:45
Thanks for
the tip. I possibly won't mind missing out on this one and will look for next time.
Still six days to go, so I guess I will contribute to first bit of pushing up the price.
Shane
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 22:29
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 22:29
Shane, I find this crowd very good on pricing too. Would land at your place just a couple of days after order and landed freight paid too for something over a hundred or so.
Prestige Communications Just think before you place your last bids on ebay about the value and guarantees
Reply By: japmel - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 22:30
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 22:30
Don't get in to a Bidding war on ebay... Keep in mind that you can get that
UHF Radio from
Prestige Communications delivered to your door for probably less than they are going for on ebay. (Prestige deliver free)
I was looking at UHF Radios on ebay last year and I noticed the prices were going above what Prestige sell them for.
The usual disclaimer,, I have nothing to do with Prestige etc etc
Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 23:09
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 23:09
G'day Shane , i have just recently been trying to buy a UHF on ebay also, ...my honest opinion, ...don't bother!! ...just buy one from one of the shops mate , on ebay you get stuck in a bidding war and will end up paying more than what you can buy one new ...i almost got caught last night ..lol....as for aerial i have just had the AE4705 on my Patrol that i just sold , and seriously i don't think that aerial was any better than the one Doug T above has , my son has one on his Pajero and it works a treat, so don't bother spending your dough on stuff you don't need ...just my opinion , hope it helps .....Cheers ......Dave
Reply By: Skippy In The GU - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 23:52
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 23:52
Hi Straps, If your going to drive on corrugated road then don't get the wire type aerial like pictured above. I have broken a few of them and so have my friends, or maybe we are just unlucky. I now use the similar type but with the thick rubber coating around it. Sorry I can show you a
pic. If you want the best reception then place the aerial as high as you can, or get GME 9db aerial this will get out further on the flat ground.
Try Electric bug on Torrens rd or transceiver
services at para hills west.
UHF work on line of sight. you can chat to another person over 150kms away as long as your on top of a mountain, I have one of those aerial that Dougy's got and they won't work 30kms everywhere
Talk to a real radio tech about how signals work not to a truck driver or tyre fitter
Follow Up By: stocky - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 07:41
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 07:41
Thats the RFI design - the rubber coat the whip to stop vibration damage
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 23:57
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 23:57
Shane,
Two
places I can recommend to you if you live in the metro area of
Adelaide.
Electric Bug 199-203 Torrens Road
Croydon 8346 9234
Electric Bug
Transceiver
Services Factory 5 1387 Main North Road Para Hills West. 8285 4666
(No URL)
I would also agree with the Prestige Communications Website if you wish to purchase online.
Follow Up By: Member - Straps (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 08:29
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 08:29
Thanks for
the tip. Have used both of those stores for various things in the past. But am currently at Ayers
Rock, so I think buying on line might be a more likely option..!!! ;) :):):)
Shane
Reply By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 07:55
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 07:55
if your bid fails let me know
i am thinking of upgrading and may have same remote head gme for sale...if price is right
Follow Up By: Member - Straps (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 08:31
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 08:31
Thanks for the heads up. Might
well be interested. Might take my chance (have fun with Ebay) first and then see what transpires. Methinks that I won't be picking up the ebay item for $10 though..!?!?? hehehehe
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 09:12
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 09:12
are you saying i wont expect to hear from ........you wont be getting
mine for 10 bucks either....
Follow Up By: Member - Straps (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 18:01
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 18:01
No 1,
Thnaks for the info. What I meant was that I will see what happens with the ebay bid etc and if successfuly there, then you probably won't hear from me. :)
Would like to think that I could get the radio on Ebay for $10 (as that is what the starting bids were), but I am smart enough to know that it will go up quickly..
Will let you know if I am interested in picking up your unit.
Shane
Reply By: brushmarx - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 09:03
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 09:03
It is a year since I went through the same antenna choices.
Based on my sometimes faulty memory, the higher db rating certainly gives a longer range, however the signal has a limited vertical spread, and as such, in hilly country, the signal hits the hills and goes no further.
Lower db, and resultant much higher vertical signal spread, gives less overall distance, but works a lot better in hilly country.
I was told it was best to buy one of each, but most of my current driving is not wide open plains, I bough a mid range one.
Reply By: Stu050 - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 13:57
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 13:57
I have been using the same GME AE409L for the past 10 years, and find it to be very satisfactory. It is groundplane independant, so it can be mounted virtually anywhere (common sense applies here).
In the box is the standard antenna (6db gain) and an additional section to convert to a 9db gain antenna. I am using the 6db as it is more than satisfactory for my needs. The radio that it is plugged into is a Sawtron 999 which I bought new in 1985.
Stu
Reply By: Member - Straps (SA) - Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 22:49
Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 22:49
Sorry to bring things back up.
Was wondering what would suffice for an antenna.
Is 4db gain ok, or is it better to go for 5 / 6 or 9 db gain.???
Doing a little search, I would like to mount to the bull bar of my fourby. Have found the GME AE409L & CD 5000 and have looked at what people have suggested above..
Not really sure what to go for..???
Any more antenna advice gang..???
Shane
Follow Up By: Kev M - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 07:04
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 07:04
Shane,
Look HereAnd Here
Hopefully this will explain what you require.
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Skippy In The GU - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 07:27
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 07:27
Which 4db are you talking about, if it has it's own ground plain then it doesn't really make that much difference.
everything will work better if to attach it to your roof rack and not your bull bar