mechpete
just a comment ,
arrived home friday from a great trip across Simpson west to east ,
6 vehicles , 1vehicle 2 mechs, 1vehicle farmer and wife , 4 vehicles with on board paramedics from country victoria .
We had a great crossing no problems ,but it amazed me how many people go out there without any communication ,and sand flag , 1 vehicle was stopped on the down
hill side of a dune ,taking photos ,when we came over the top he nearly had us as in his tailgate , they didn,t even agknowledge us ,the bloke travelling with him was just an arrogant pig , another vehicle with 4 germans init (Brits) renta , when we tried to explain the safety issues ,they couldn,t speak english ,so we left them , so to other travellers out there , watch out ,
cheers mechpete.
Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 23:02
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 23:02
Mechpete
That's the reason I don't go there anymore. It's become over crowded, and full of people who have no idea what their doing.
Kim
Reply By: Member - jdwynn (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 06:31
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 06:31
Interesting post mechpete.
I think at the end of the day, seeing all that goes on, as long as you're safe, that's all you can really worry about.
We did our first trip over Simpson in April this year. Only passed 5 vehicles and had no real issues other than 3 of those not announcing their presence (which we do every 0.5 hr).
Judging from recent
Birdsville temperatures it was just a little cooler than when we went which surprised me. How were track conditions and how were flys?
Cheers JD
Reply By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 08:16
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 08:16
Mechpete
We have come across this type of event many times in the Simpson.
When we quiz people about the first and most important factor, SAFETY, all groups come up with the same lame excuse, that there is always someone else out in
the desert to lend a helping hand if needed.
We have had to lend a helping hand once, for the fact that the people did not know how to drive in sand and have never been off road before. When reaching our final destination, others have said that we should have left them there. Being raised and living in the country, you never leave a stopped vehicle on the side of the road without offering assistance, its just a courtesy thing.
I think that there should be greater safety checks in place for people that travel in remote areas, as there will be more deaths through driver incompetence, just like the overseas tourists, east of
William Creek near Lake Eyre a number of years ago
We all see the deserts from the safety of our motor vehicles and it looks great, but in the event of mechanical failure or accidents, that same peaceful looking desert changes face very quickly and will show no mercy.
It is a never ending debate, but it should start with the people that issue the permits.
That's my two bobs worth.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 09:43
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 09:43
Question!!!
Can the main Simpson tracks still be regarded as "remote" with the amount of traffic crossing during the season these days??
Follow Up By: seven - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 11:08
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 11:08
Geez, Chill out mate, sounds like you need another break after going to the simpson.
Aren't these trips suppose to be enjoyed, maybe they were enjoying themselves, chill
regards Seven.
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 13:10
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 13:10
Hi John
I know from where you are coming from. The scenario is you have a head on collision with someone on a dune crest, as the other vehicle did not have a sand flag(I would like a dollar for every vehicle that I have seen like that, no flag or even
UHF Radio). Neither parties have HF or Sat phone?
You have to wait for 2 or 3 hours for another vehicle to come along, in the hope that they have communications with the outside world. In the mean time, the person with internal injuries dies.
If you don't call this remote, then what is it.
We all have to be responsible for our own actions and how many times do you hear comments of irresponsible 4X4 drivers.
Reply By: Member - Coyote (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 09:19
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 09:19
For what it's worth, my 2 cents worth.. WHo are we to say who can/cant have permissionto travel into
the desert, in fact who is anyone.. If people pay for thier permit, then theyu should not be expected to undergo some beuracratic 'safety' certification process. Geez I am sick to death of people prattling on about safety like this (forgive the emotion) but 50 years ago before EPIRBs, radios in every car and GPS, people crossed the Simpson "safely".. Is it now "normal" or safe to crioss with a GPS, EPIRB AND
HF radio /SATPHONE??? how much other crap do you carry in theback of your car??? o you carry aspare helicoter for emergency evacuastion?? why not it would be SAFER.. I think this country and many others are going way over the top with MANDATING SAFETY... what ever happened to good old "common sense" be carefull, and yes the reality is ther eis probably at elast 3 or 4 other cars a day crossin gthe desert, so if worse comes to worse, they will be about 3 days from one oned or the other and they can send a recovery back, so worst case I'l be prepared to spend a week or two camped in
the desert if I break soemthing that I'm not carrying.. perhaps I shuld tow a spare vehicle in that way anything i could break I havea spare for???? the reality is every man and his dog is towing so much crap liek EPIRBS etc around, that why would I bother with one.. eveyone else has one.
Follow Up By:- Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 16:22
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 16:22
Good on ya! Your post was really last straw to break camel back – I cannot find mate with second vehicle to cross Simpson and was a bit hesitated to do it in one vehicle. Your post truly convinces me that if I will not be able to find someone (still preferable option) then I should go just with my wife (subject to proper preparation of course). What do you recon is better time May or June?
Follow Up By: Member - Coyote (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 08:28
Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 08:28
Hey mate. I've only done it East to West the once and we did it in September and my only comment is that we did it too late in the year as it was too hot to be comfortable to explore much. I do know that Voxson (EO member in SA) has done the crossing both ways many times and at different times of the year so perhaps drop him a member message..
Not sure if it helps you but I have a 4.2 GU and we did French line, we carried one jerry and we got to Mt Dare with about 10-15L left in the
tank and thats without doing many detours etc. (no trailer)Mya dvice re time of the year is to go at the coolest time and ideally just after a bit if rain (not that you can plan ahead for that I guess)
Anyway mate.. Have a great time, on your own or with another it will be awesome..
Follow Up By:- Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 09:11
Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 09:11
Thanks for replay. Fuel not an issue – I have 260L capacity. I think we settle on second half of June.
Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 20:10
Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 20:10
I just did east to west and I reckon thats by far the best way at the moment due to better run-up on the east side. West sides were all VERY scolloped out.
Reply By: Smudger - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 11:52
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 11:52
How difficult is the Simpson, really? In the past we've had the opportunity to cross the Simpon, but I've passed because I've always believed that it's a trip that should be done in company. Then, about 7 weeks ago were were on the
Oodnadatta Track and met 4 or 5 couples heading for Dalhousie to do the Simo'. All intending to go solo. Some had done it before, others were first timers. "There's always heaps of people out there", was a stock reply.
Now, I've been driving remote tracks for over 3 decades, only the last 15 years with a 4WD. My truck is always in good nick and I always with sufficient spares to get us out of trouble, plus satphone. I'm an experienced bush driver and bushcraftsman. I've gotta say that what some people call a rough track makes me smile at times, however I reckon that the reason I'm still here is coz I am cautious. But, have I been denying myself a great experience for the lack of a travelling mate?
My wife and I are going to be in SA next March and this time we're thinking about comming home solo via the Simpson.
So, how tough is it ..really?
Follow Up By: Member - Coyote (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 12:50
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 12:50
Mate, I think your right.. you've been putting it off for too long. I did it with my wife last year and it was great. The most difficult thing we had to do was reverse and try 1 sandhill a second time becuase I bauked and din't keep my momentum up around a bit of a twiston a sandhill. its 1/2nd gear most of the way but the reason it's 'difficult' is because it's remote. It is easier than driving the
sand dunes on
Stockton beach or
Robe. Sounds like you have the background to do it.. all you need is the gear and know how to get yourself outif you get stuck in the sand, satke a tyre etc. It is really not a hard trip.
i sayit's like walkig along a plank. when it's 1ft off the ground 90% of people can do it with thier eyes closed.. put a bit of risk in t6o it (even though you can mitigate this) and suddenly the same task is so much "harder" I say go for it. Be prepared, but go for it. you will enjoy I am sure.
Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 15:27
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 15:27
I crossed the Simpson in May this year, and was quite prepared to do it solo, Yes I can here the gasp of everyone's breath from here, I had cb, uhf, Hf, 240 litres of fuel(used 110) 60 litres of
water, 10 days food.
I was in
Birdsville for 2 days and when I told a few people of my plans they advised me that it wasn't a good idea, then I told them what I had with me, as
well as an itinery at home with planned calls back home on specific dates, began to see that I had done
my home work, And I still felt comfortable about going alone.
Upon departure from the
Birdsville caravan park, the manager(who knew my plans) told me that there was 3 blokes in a troopy going across as
well, so I went down and introduced myself as they where packing up.
It was a good trip, good to see how others do things, we combined culinary skills to make. . . . STUFF.
Point is, I wouldn't put of crossing simply because I couldn't find some one to cross with(second vehicle),once you get to
Birdsville, or Mount dare/
Dalhousie springs, the chances are you WILL meet someone who is going in the same direction and may welcome company for 3 days.
The ones who are not displaying flags or disregarding other permit conditions probably don't have permits to begin with.
Shane
Follow Up By: redfive - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 16:35
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 16:35
Shane
You forgot to tell them "the 3 blokes in the troopy " were bloody great blokes and we all had very sharp axes lol
Glenn
Reply By: Vince NSW - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 16:33
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 16:33
Did my first crossing in July. I was surprised at how easy it was. The trip was wonderful but almost spoilt when only 15 km from Big reg we almost had a head on with TWO west bound trucks both on the same dune & only 20 mt apart. They were a group of 8 trucks without flags and when we had a go at hem about not talking on UHF, we found out that they were on Ch 14 as there was too much "TALK" on Ch 10.
It was still the trip of a lifetime and is the Co-pilot had not had a bad back, we would have been tempted in turning around and doing a double crossing
Vince
Reply By: Alan H (Narangba QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 16:51
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 16:51
In spite of carrying radio and flags, It can be unsafe to assume others are doing the same.
Every now and then the lead vehicle (usually convoy of 3) would stop on a crest for a while to observe activity ahead. Trailing vehicles could then just drive up to the lead. We kept changing lead vehicle and a couple of times found vehicles coming without flags and without hearing them on radio.
Bit like using a GPS - still take and use a map
Reply By: Gossy - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 16:59
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 16:59
We crossed a couple of months ago with 3 cars and 5 motorbikes. Very frustrated with the amount of dribble that people talk on the designated channel. 99% of these were old 4wders with some even wearing makeup etc!!!!!!!
All they were doing were stopping other groups talking to each other.
Great trip though. We lost one bike rider with a broken arm but otherwise a huge success!
Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 10:08
Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 10:08
Gossy,
You pass my convoy heading to
Birdsville with the injured bike rider.
The chatter on ch10 is getting to the stage that it is becoming dangerous.
One convoy had ch10 tired up most of the time. She thought she was doing the right thing.
It was there first crossing and they also had trailers. Just about ever dune a trailer in there convoy would get stuck and would broadcast that fact. They would then use ch10 to assist the driver in backing down the dune.
Another convoy could not contact them as there was no break in the transmission.
I hope the bike rider was OK with the broken arm, it could not have been a good trip into
Birdsville for him.
Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 20:26
Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 20:26
Hey Wayne,
I crossed a few weeks ago and stopped on the WAA line about 10 km from AAK track to help a guy dissasemble a motor bike and load it into his truck. He told me that he had stashed the bike in some brush after he broke his arm a couple of months ago and had only just recovered enough to come back and get his bike. He had an older guy (think it was his father in law) and his teen age son with him but the bike was still a bit to heavy for them to lift into his 100 series. The guy's arm has healed ok but he didn't have much strength yet. Bike seemed to be undamaged.
I agree with your comments about chatter on Ch 10. Had one guy giving an almost non stop comentary about every bump in the track to a mate in a following vehicle. Another vehicle wanted to know exactly where I was when I spoke to them on ch 10, they were using a gps and told me that they were 23.xxx km from a certain point and seemed to expect me to immediately relate that to my position comming the other way !
Follow Up By: Gossy - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 09:39
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 09:39
Its a small world. Yes that was the same guy! Arm healing OK to the extent that he is back riding the bike again (wife not happy about it!).
Sorry for the late answer but been on leave for 1 week.
Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 10:38
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 10:38
Hi again Gossy, Yes, small world alright. even in the middle of the Simpson someone will see what you are up to and tell the rest of the world :-))
If you are in contact with the guy that broke his arm say hi from me. We were traveling alone but passed more vehicles in the Simpson then we did on many other 'normal' tracks in that part of the world. 4wd hire companies in Alice recomend the Old
Andado road to Mt Dare as a great drive for tourists - and it is, but we only saw one other vehicle in two days where as we passed at least 4 vehicles each day in the Simpson.
Reply By: Crackles - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 20:35
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 20:35
The more popular an area gets the less friendly it often becomes so just as you wouldn't expect people sitting next to you on a
Melbourne train to talk to you, so too groups & individuals keep to themselves in the Simpson.
It's interesting to see the difference over the years as back in 85 you would stop & talk to every other traveller & now as you've already mentioned, not so much as a raised eyebrow from many.
As for others being ill prepared as long as you treat the oncoming vehicles like they dont have a flag or CB & have no idea what they are doing then it really doesn't matter.
It's certainly not a difficult trip during the winter & the risk is fairly minimal as so many others are out there. With many not serving their apprenticeship on easier trips first it is surprising that more don't get into trouble though :-)
Cheers Craig..............
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 08:37
Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 08:37
I agree with you, Craig
Having done 7
treks to date, in, across and around the Simpson, west to east, east to west, north to south and south to the centre, towing and not towing, I only concentrate on what I am doing and not what other people are up to.
This year I only came across two groups and and two solo drivers and thought that
the desert tracks were quite quiet. It also helps if you travel outside of school holiday periods.
Channel 10 becomes too noisy with other users seemingly unaware that others have to listen their inane chatter. I keep the radio on scan with the volume down. My 5 metre flag pole usually warns others and I have not had any issues over the years with close calls with other vehicles.
I usually stop and chat to everyone I pass. Some drive past without lowering their window or without acknowledgement but that is their problem...lol
Over the years I have experienced 2 mechanical failures in the Simpson and 1 on the CSR which I have been able to repair myself. As with all bush travel...go prepared and use common sense. The more you travel the better equipped you are.
I have stated in my latest article on my website that this year was my last trek to the popular areas of the Simpson. Some of the tracks are too rough being scalloped out by the sheer volume of traffic.
Still have to do the
Hay River trek and the
Madigan Line to complete the series. Maybe next year!!!
Follow Up By: Crackles - Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 20:47
Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 20:47
The Madigan is probably at the point now where the French Line was back in the late 70's with traffic numbers. Rarely see many out there & everyone that does stops for a chat. Like you I aim to go slightly off season to miss the crowds.
As for channel 10 we never talk on it, instead leaving a handheld tuned to that frequency in case. Have been bagged on 2 occations for talking on other channels but really the talk on 10 can get pretty trashy just as you get in the city & they dont need another dozen cars of our convoy adding to the chatter. Was a good idea when it was introduced but over the busy periods now so many are talking that you dont know if they are coming or going anyway.
ps: Passing near your place next week Willem on our way to
Argadells with lcool.
Cheers Craig............
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 20:53
Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 20:53
Well you had better drop in for a cuppa then.
I will email you my addy if you can drop in.