Footloose
Tales of the unexpected :)
So there I am on my way back from
Perth, just me myself and I. On the road since before sun up in
Eucla, and just doing the rolling hills bit after
Yunta.I come over the brow of a
hill to spot an old bus half on and off the road. Something written on the back of it but my old eyes gloss over it and concentrate on staying on the road. Down the
hill and up the other side...hang on there's a
young female walking towards the next town. Slow down and swing a u turn where safe, it's a long long way to the next pit stop.
As I cruise back I can see that this
young lady is extremely good looking, and walking like an athlete..or TV star. I wonder if she'll notice the dirty passenger
seat..must throw that stuff in the back. Wow, her story is going to make a good yarn.
I stop opposite her, knowing that I'm a strange vehicle and male.
"G'day, are you Ok ?"
"Yes thanks. I'm with the bus and doing a walk for charity. But thanks for stopping"
"You're very very welcome. Good luck."
As I drive along I wonder if I was trying to do a good deed, or just proving that there's no fool like an old fool.
In any case I hope that they raised heaps for whatever charity it was. They deserved to.
Reply By: Member - Big Mke (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 19:09
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 19:09
Sounds like a Harry Chapman song " Midnight Watchman" :)
Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 19:25
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 19:25
Don't know the song or the name, sorry. But your response is better than the "Footie ya dirty ol perv" type of thing I was expecting :))
Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 19:29
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 19:29
Cute story!
Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 19:32
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 19:32
Thank you. True, sadly :))
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 19:45
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 19:45
So Footy,
Did you give them a donation?
(For charity that is)
Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 20:01
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 20:01
She didn't invite me to. They didn't seem to be inviting donations from passing traffic.
Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 20:13
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 20:13
You dirty old perv ............. footy LOL ....... and after she said I'm walking for hmmmm "charity" you failed to see a donation was required ...... money that is lol. besides at least then you could have perved longer.... eeerrrrr sorry felt better about doing a good deed longer.
Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 20:46
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 20:46
Brian, judging by what I saw in the mirror when I got home, I'm not surprised that she didn't ask for a donation...of any kind :))
Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 21:56
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 21:56
Love it........
So you drove on Footy, thinking about what could have been, maybe, perhaps, if only......................LOL LOL
-you could have always joined her, on the road that is.....
Michael
Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 18:43
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 18:43
Kev, sure do. Guess who they first coined the phrase DOM about ? LOL
Follow Up By: Kev M - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 19:21
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 19:21
Footie,
I was going to say me ;)) but I think you have a year or so one me LOL
Kev
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 19:31
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 19:31
Kev, after that episode I FEEL like I have a year or two on Willem !! LOL
Follow Up By: Kev M - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 19:35
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 19:35
LMAO
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 21:59
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 21:59
If my memory serves me you seem to have a habit of finding good looking
young ladies out bush whilst on your travels??
Maybe I should follow you around next time :-)
Follow Up By: Kev M - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 06:17
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 06:17
John,
They are only good looking according to Footy :))
It may mean that because of their age that they must be good looking LOL
| Russell Coight:
Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 09:17
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 09:17
Kev, there are few fields that I claim a degree of expertise in, but this is one :))
Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 09:21
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 09:21
John, just to reinforce that idea......
I am outside my motel room in
Eucla. Two
young ladies (that I'd briefly spoken to earlier) pass by.
"Where are you two off to?" I ask...now remember that I hadn't spoken to many people for a while.
"To the pub. You coming ?"
I return to bed with a comment to myself "what a stupid idea!"
I grow old, I grow old .
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 17:45
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 17:45
Oh!! Footy!! Footy!! Footy!! Whats the matter with you?
A perfect opening pass directed at you and you missed the ball.
Maybe you play for Collingwood? :-)
Follow Up By: Kev M - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 18:02
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 18:02
Footie,
Do you have any references for your expertise LOL
Kev
| Russell Coight:
Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 19:33
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 19:33
References ? Sure. Ask any
young lady down at the pub about the "Footy Factor". But make sure you pronounce it clearly :))))))
Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 23:29
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 23:29
"and walking like an athlete..or TV star...."
of course there is a placard marking this momentous event..lol
Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 09:23
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 09:23
Only in my mind :))
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 06:34
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 06:34
what you do is pull up and wind down the passenger side electric window and yell do you want a lift. When they reply keep yelling "what" until they stick there head in to reply then you quickly wind the window up trapping there head inside then you........................
Oh hang on Im getting outside of the G rating of this
forum
Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 09:24
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 09:24
Sounds like the voice of experience to me !
Probably better than trying to sing the old song "Jump in my car!"