Ianw
What are peoples thoughts on a new diesel injector system being developed in
Geelong, Vic.
The system produces an increase in power of 30%, a decrease in fuel use of 30% and reduces pollution to a level that meets stringent Europe and USA 2010 EPA Clean Air Legislation.
Sounds too good to be true? There is more!
Most diesel fuel systems cost around 12 to 25% of total engine cost. This one costs just 3%. And cop this! An existing diesel engine can be retrofitted with this system for around $5000.
AND SO CAN A PETROL ENGINE!!! Diesel "knock" has been reduced to such a low level that even petrol engines can run on diesel with only a modification to the head. Presto!! lightweight diesel engine!
Comments?
Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 22:15
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 22:15
You don't have a financial interest in in this operation do you???
You sound pretty much to be spruiking it!
Are you really after comment or just trying to stir up interest?
Muddy
Follow Up By: Ianw - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 22:24
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 22:24
No financial interest, unfortunately. Their business plan estimates a revenue of $33mil in 2009 rising to $1.1Bil by 2028.
The company is called Green Diesel Corp. and has won many awards for this system.
http://www.greendieselcorp.com/index.html
Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 12:05
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 12:05
Ian, please don't try to tell me that it is the fuel delivery system that can make a petrol engine run on diesel.
A modern petrol engine might run on diesel for a short time, but would self destruct very quickly.
Also, the company estimates revenue will be 1.1 billion by 2028!!! MAAATE, there won't be any diesel left to burn. HAHAHAHAHA
Follow Up By: madfisher - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 21:45
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 21:45
Muzz one of our customers put diesel in a petrol recently, went about 50 feet and stopped , no long term damage , but a pain to get going again as platium plugs do not like getting wet
Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 22:21
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 22:21
There is only one issue with petrol engines running diesel, to combust diesel you need compression and with compression comes stress.
I don't thnik a petrol engine will handle the stress for long, this is why diesel engines are heavy.
Regards Richard
Follow Up By: Ianw - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 22:42
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 22:42
Correction.. To IGNITE diesel you need compression. (In a conventional diesel engine.)
This system injects the diesel at 160,000 psi. compared to around 23000 in a common rail system. A quote from a mag article
" The GDI eliminates much of the stress that occurs in existing diesel engines which, in regards to the gentleness to the combustion process, allows existing less robust petrol motors to be converted to diesel."
I have seen the Holden V6 motor that was converted.
Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 23:24
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 23:24
Stop wasting peoples time!
Follow Up By: Ianw - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 23:34
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 23:34
You think its not real? Prototype is on the road now, Aus production starts next year, International production starts 2009.
Follow Up By: furph - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 07:24
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 07:24
Reminds one of another great ozz invention.....
Orbital.
Great, that is , for the company directors.
furph
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 10:30
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 10:30
Orbital technology is used in a lot of 2 stroke outboards etc
Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 05:03
Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 05:03
Had a look at the site, Interesting,,
It might get shelved, brought out, or its founders' found dead, like Stan Meyers , in the USA, for inventing a
water powered vehicle, back over 20 years ago, that would have shut down the oil companies, ( pity )
I wish them
well
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 07:26
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 07:26
the oil companys will buy out the patent and lock it in a cupboard alongside the 50mpg carby
Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 07:47
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 07:47
You're wrong..... it was a 100mpg carby and I had shares in the company, as a result I've never had to work again.
(I only work for the enjoyment now)
Reply By: robak (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 10:07
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 10:07
Surely you are not serious about this. The big car companies spend billions of dollars on improving fuel efficiency by 5%. Yet these guys claim to achieve a 30% fuel reduction AND 30% power increase.
If the claims are true, the owners of this technology will be on the worlds top 10 rich list by 2009.
But wait, there's more. YOU can buy shares in this company and share the financial success.
There's a common saying about fools and their money...
Five few things are certain about this company:
1. The shares will be worthless by 2009
2. The CEO will buy a new boat, house and a luxury sports car (or 2)
3. The stated fuel reduction and power claims will never eventuate.
4. The fools will complain about how the government didn't have policies in place to prevent them investing in this dodgy scheme and loosing their life's savings.
5. Today tonight will do a story on the CEO showing a history of failed companies behind him
R.
Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 10:25
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 10:25
I have now looked at the company's website, and if you read carefully it clearly says a lot about nothing.
For example, they try to show that they have some kind of a link with
Melbourne University, but in reality all they did was to borrow their lab (for a fee) to do some testing. Whoopie doo!
The text seems to have been written by a 12 year old with a lot of hype and no substance.
I like this bit the best:
"Share offer over-subscribed and now closed till further notice. Those that qualify as high wealth individuals may still apply"
Also, how can a $10 million company be run from a PO box and not a proper address?
R.
Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 11:46
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 11:46
Hi Robak,
As much as I agree with the majority of your reply I do disgree with the first bit, I think it should read.....
"The big car companies recieve billions of dollars from the oil companies to make damn certain that their new generation engines every year only improve fuel efficiency by 5%."
Pezza
Follow Up By: goingplatinumcomau - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 16:41
Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 16:41
I Agree
It was all done on Mythbusters and nothing worked full stop.
Follow Up By: Ianw - Friday, Sep 28, 2007 at 20:41
Friday, Sep 28, 2007 at 20:41
CRAP!!!!
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Saturday, Sep 29, 2007 at 00:03
Saturday, Sep 29, 2007 at 00:03
conspiracy theories are never far away on the internet.
So why dont the "little" car companies who dont get the billions produce the amazing vehicle?
Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 11:14
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 11:14
I see there was a similiar thread just over a year ago on EO.....
Thread 36419......one or two interesting postings there. Not too much seems to have happened since then going by the website.
I would be concerned that there doesn't seem to be any major (multi-million dollar) financial backers, excluding an alleged $3m grant from NAB. Surely someone would see the concept as viable? Why is this?
Reply By: Member - Hugh (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 15:15
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 15:15
There is nothing to this. The data these guys claim is without substantiation and the technical info on their website page titled " a research led institution" is a pile of jumbled rubbish. I'm surprised that Prof Harry
Watson at
Melbourne Uni would have endorsed this - I'll have to ask him.
This was around a year ago. At the time I passed it onto our legal people because the some of the graphs shown were from really old tests done at Melb Uni on some of our technology. They were politely asked to remove it. I note that the data looks the same but references missing.
This is all about a share float to raise funds. I'd keep the cash in your pocket and suggest you give these guys a wide berth.
Hugh
Reply By: Member - Gaz@Gove (NT) - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 17:53
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 17:53
If it sounds too good to be true -------------- it probably is.
Reply By: obee - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 19:30
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 19:30
sounds like another Ralph Sarich wanker, sorry, orbital job. Give it plenty of spin then unload the shares and move into real estate.
Owen
Reply By: StormyKnight - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 19:42
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 19:42
This looks more likely to be seen
on the road...
http://horisly.blogspot.com/2007/07/mercedes-develops-new-diesel-petrol.html
Follow Up By: Ianw - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 22:41
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 22:41
Why?
Cos its not Aussie!!!!
Follow Up By: StormyKnight - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 17:51
Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 17:51
No not at all...
The Diesotto is an inline 4 gasoline engine, with a 1.8l displacement. Its peak power is no less than 238 bhp/175 kW with a peak torque of 400 Nm.
Although further reading suggest that this engine is slanted at the medium term for release...whenever that is....
Reply By: Ianw - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 22:06
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 22:06
OK Thanks for the comments guys.
I too was a little dissapointed by the content, or lack of detail in their website, but I can understand it. If I was sitting on this I would keep the details absolutely secret too.
This guy has been around in the papers and tech mags for a few years now and has won several substantial awards with this injection system. If it was shonky one would have thought it would have been exposed by now. Just maybe the guy has something and is serious about keeping the technology in this country. If so, I can see his need to raise finance by a share offer
Unlike many (most) respondents to this post I prefer to be optimistic and not pessimistic about Australian inventions. Most of you will often say " this is the best country in the world etc etc", but you must realise that it was made that way by Australian people. Why is it so hard to believe that an Aussie could invent something so revolutionary? I guess its much easier to knock everything Aussie.
This thing has won the Triton Inventor of the year , Australian Machine of the year, an SAE Automotive engineering award, Australian design award, and Gold in the Class A Engineering Honors in the Salon International Des Inventions Geneve in Switzerland.
I say give him a chance!!!! I guess we'll find out next year!!
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 22:09
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 22:09
Lets see your receipt Ian
Follow Up By: Ianw - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 22:17
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 22:17
Keep knocking, Richard, keep on knocking!!!!
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 23:36
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 23:36
It was a simple question, not knocking at all
Follow Up By: Ianw - Friday, Sep 28, 2007 at 19:51
Friday, Sep 28, 2007 at 19:51
If you read the thread, you would have seen that I stated that I was only seeking comments, and that I have no commercial interest. Why would I have a receipt ? You seem to be reading something that is not there. It was an item that was displayed at a local inventors show, and sounded inetresting, thats all.
Reply By: Member - Brett (WA) - Friday, Sep 28, 2007 at 15:32
Friday, Sep 28, 2007 at 15:32
yeah.....nup.
I'll be right thanks mate.
Follow Up By: Ianw - Friday, Sep 28, 2007 at 19:44
Friday, Sep 28, 2007 at 19:44
Great grip on the English language, these Sandgropers!!!