Re Firearms and wild pigs in NT

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 03:31
ThreadID: 50065 Views:5714 Replies:17 FollowUps:52
I will shortly be involved in a 5-month survey of gravel roads, and 4WD tracks in NT, spending quite a bit of time swagging and camping out. I was recently advised that there is quite a feral pig problem and I should carry a suitable rifle for protection.
My NZ firearms licence has expired, I had not intended to obtain a licence or firearms now that I am in OZ, but now wonder about the need, given the recent advice.
Can anybody confirm that there could be a requirement to carry a rifle ( probably .270 or similar), and any potentials difficulties, licences, permits, etc?
I have owned firearms in NZ for over 40years, spent 27 years in the armed forces and also owned a small sports shop where I sold firearms and ammunition for a few years. I am resident in WA, but time is short before we depart for this task and I'm looking for quick answers and advice.

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 04:19

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 04:19
Not too sure about that one, best to call up the nearest District Firearms Officer, ( or equivalent in where you live ) and have a chat.

You have the potential to get into legal trouble in Oz, if you arn't liscenced.

My advice is to take someone who is registered in Oz, with you
Cheers Bucky

AnswerID: 264107

Follow Up By: Diver1 - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 14:47

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 14:47
Bucky mate......remember the phone call the other night???? (dont worry i wont tell anyone!!!LOL!!! - na only joking!!)

hope you pulled up fine!!
FollowupID: 525896

Reply By: Ozboc - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 06:03

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 06:03
hi there , have a friend that had a similar problem and qualifications as he was in the army for 15+ years

when he had to reapply for his gun licence just after they made it very difficult, he had to show WHY he needed a gun licence. That came in the form a friend/ Farmer he knows that has a massive amount of property up near the qld boarder and he had to write a stat dec saying that he would often come up to clear his property of feral animals. The farmer also had to write out this stat dec saying he knew the guy and yes he was often invited up to help clear the property of feral animals and that he never had a problem or any fear of inviting him to the property

So with that said - if your doing contract work for someone and not just doing 4x4 tracking surveying for your own fun , then you should get your employer to also assist in your licence application and give as many reasons as possible as to why the firearm will be essential in your duty of work.

good luck and hope this helps a little

Boc
AnswerID: 264111

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 06:09

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 06:09
Bob,

You did'nt happen to see the movie "Razorback" did you :)))

Travelling with a firearm for protection against feral animals in Oz is a bit over the top.

AnswerID: 264112

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 07:30

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 07:30
rabbits while looking lovely little furry critters can be quite nasty gramps.....
one of FIL homegrown rabbits gave me a ruddy good nip
FollowupID: 525829

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 07:34

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 07:34
LOL anything that lives underground should be treated with caution MN1

FollowupID: 525830

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 08:09

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 08:09
What about the Killer Rabbit of Caerbannog?

Wouldn't pay to take that one too lightly. Mind you getting a licence to use the Holy Handgrenade could be interesting.
FollowupID: 525833

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 08:23

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 08:23
hahahaha not to mention the Black Beast of Arrrghhh

FollowupID: 525838

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 09:02

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 09:02
the Killer Rabbit of WHERE??? i cant even pronounce it
FollowupID: 525847

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 09:29

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 09:29
Wild boar only has 2 states
- dangerous
- or dead
great movie
FollowupID: 525855

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 12:55

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 12:55
MN1,

Scary isn't it?
FollowupID: 525882

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 15:12

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 15:12
hey it looks like Gramps.....not the rabbit the skull
FollowupID: 525902

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 16:44

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 16:44
MN1,

Wrong, it's got more hair than me LOL

FollowupID: 525922

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Saturday, Sep 29, 2007 at 15:13

Saturday, Sep 29, 2007 at 15:13
ROTFLMAO !!!!

Bluddy 'ell Matt, where do you guys find the chit ?

Pezza
FollowupID: 526103

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Saturday, Sep 29, 2007 at 18:57

Saturday, Sep 29, 2007 at 18:57
gramps swmbo took the pic when he carked it
FollowupID: 526119

Follow Up By: Kev M - Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 14:56

Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 14:56
This little piggy didn't go to market :))

FollowupID: 526339

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 07:35

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 07:35
Are you sure you havn't been listening to Furphy's, like Aussie scare tactic yarns or the like, I think someone has been having a lend of you,Pig's don't go around stalking humins, it's the other way around, It's not the Pigs you have to worry about, it's other humans, "Leave Your guns at Home Son" and get out there and enjoy , just don't go swimming in the coastal rivers, and that's NOT a furphy, I think it would be best if you had a chat with Steve from NT , a Member of this Forum.

CRIKY

Doug

AnswerID: 264118

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 09:03

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 09:03
thats a big lizard
FollowupID: 525848

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 16:45

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 16:45
Trick photography. It's only a fat old blue tongue.

FollowupID: 525923

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Saturday, Sep 29, 2007 at 10:13

Saturday, Sep 29, 2007 at 10:13
so i can pick it up from behind the head then eh?
FollowupID: 526085

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 07:46

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 07:46

Don't even entertain the idea of moving around without a firearms licence and a registered firearm.

It is a PITA to get a licence but it is achievable. I too moved house from the NT to South Aus and was licenced and had a NT registered fiream but I still had to do a Tafe course in SA to obtain a shooters licence for hunting purposes and re-register my rifle.

Having lived in the NT for many years and bushcamped big time I still have not had encounters with attacking feral pigs. Have had them walk through camp in the middle of the night as well. Pigs normally run away to escape but if cornered will have a go at you.
Maybe a loud automated siren or horn attached to your vehicle could be the catalyst to scare camp intruders away. I don't think a fiream is necessasry.

AnswerID: 264121

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 16:48

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 16:48
Ah! it now becomes clear.

TAFE course Module 101 in 'hunting purposes' - that must be the one that includes blowing Felines off of the face of earth.

You ARE a sly dog Willem. (ROFLMAO)
FollowupID: 525924

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 18:19

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 18:19
Yerrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!! hahahahaha
FollowupID: 525950

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 18:41

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 18:41
You can buy siren in a can it is an aerosol can with a siren on it. I have seen it used for football. Just stash it in the swag
Tafe course?????? sheeesh WA used to have the toughest firarms restrictions!
FollowupID: 525955

Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 08:06

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 08:06
I often throw out my swag in remote locations on my own across this wide country of ours.

I've been woken by porkers - smallish ones (probably 100kg), but never threatened by them, however I've never seen so many of them on the road (alive and as roadkill) as the last 10,000ks I did Adelaide-Tanami-Broome-GRR-Darwin-Adelaide. I'd guess on 20 carcasses, some 150kg+.

I've been told a couple of them can clean up a cattle carcass in one night.

Andrew who has no interest in carrying firearms.
AnswerID: 264126

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 08:52

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 08:52
Bob ,
You definitely do not need a gun for defending yourself against our porkers .
You may need one to give you peace of mind when camping by yourself . There is a few bad humans around these days .
Carrying a gun , even with a licence in the NT , can be a problem if you want to travel into WA . All states except WA accept the licence of another state .
Willie .
AnswerID: 264136

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Friday, Sep 28, 2007 at 19:55

Friday, Sep 28, 2007 at 19:55
Hey , seen the movie "wolf creek" ?

makes you think twice about camping outback

Boc
FollowupID: 526032

Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Sunday, Sep 30, 2007 at 12:54

Sunday, Sep 30, 2007 at 12:54
does it?
FollowupID: 526197

Reply By: Bob Kinzett - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 08:53

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 08:53
OK, Thanks all, I did wonder if it was just a "leg-pull" or perhaps just the burbling of somebody who liked to stretch the truth a little, some of the tales he was telling, the jobs he was doing, the sh*tloads of money he had, etc did make one sit back and, although one enjoyed the company for the evening (after all, he was providing the wines), wonder how much was fabrication....

I have swagged quite a bit around WA (I test the road network for a living, rarely home) and haven't had any problems over the last 4 years. Just thought it might be prudent to get some other advice, so I appreciate your feed back thanks guys.
AnswerID: 264137

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 09:10

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 09:10
You test the road network for a living ? I didn't know that such jobs existed !!
We test the road networks for fun, how do you make a living out of it ? :))
FollowupID: 525851

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Sep 30, 2007 at 00:06

Sunday, Sep 30, 2007 at 00:06

What exactly is it that you test.

Potholes maybe or if not - Corrugations maybe.

Water courses that cross the road/s every now and again.

How fast you have to go to beat a train across the level crossing.

The bitumen is wider than the narrowest road registered vehicle.

Give us an idea what a 'roadt tester' really does.
FollowupID: 526171

Follow Up By: Member - Bob K (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 22:22

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 22:22
Imagine driving along an open highway, pushing a 3m high wall and towing a trailer, at the posted speed limit.

Then, quite suddenly, about 100m away, a traffic light appears, on RED!

You stop, for about 45 seconds, and in that time you have to lower a 300mm plate onto the road surface, and a rail mounted with several seismic sensors. You raise and drop a heavy weight (about 250kg) onto the plate three times, and measure the shock wave received by the seismic sensors. The plate and rail are raised, and suddenly the traffic light turns green. You're off!

But! 700m away there appears another bloody red traffic light, and you repeat the whole sequence again, and again, and again.....

With all the stop-start action, you average about 25-27 Km per hour, and on a really good day you might travel 250-300km. You average about 2500-3000km on a set of brakes, tyres would be lucky to give 15000km, and your fuel consumption is around 45-55litres/100km! (Good thing you have a company credit card, eh!)

And the really annoying thing is..... you're the only one that can see the traffic lights, so you cop abuse from all the other road users.......

Still, the best part is, you stop at a different pub every night, you're paid to be a tourist (albeit a very slow one)

At the end result is, by analysis of the data produced, you can see how well bound-together the understructure of the road is the base course and sub-base). If they're not strongly compacted, or breaking down then there's nothing to support the bitumen and that's when the wheel ruts appear in the seal.....

Wasn't that fun?
FollowupID: 526588

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 00:33

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 00:33

This is one of those times you wished you had never asked the question in the first place. (LOL)

Thanks for the 'job description' and now I know never to apply for same - never ever.

I just hope they pay you $1,000 dollars a day for such a boring as bat chit job. That would make it worthwhile.

Do you ever finish the day with a 1,000 yard stare or start talking to 'unseen' people.

FollowupID: 526608

Reply By: Smudger - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 09:16

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 09:16
Do ya reckon we should warn him about the Drop Bears?
AnswerID: 264141

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 11:17

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 11:17
no no no
FollowupID: 525871

Follow Up By: Bob Kinzett - Friday, Sep 28, 2007 at 18:50

Friday, Sep 28, 2007 at 18:50
No, don't do that, I already use that tale to explain that tree out on the Nullabor, just west of Mundrabilla
FollowupID: 526021

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 09:34

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 09:34
We had a Canadian girl working for us and when she got over here she was fed the usual bull dust about venomous snakes and deadly spiders.
She got some photos of a death adder before it took off and wihile sitting on the dunneys you could see the redbacks going about there business
- hadly life threatining stuff
She then showed us the pictures of there tent from the yukon torn apart by a massive grizzly and told us storys about Hungry cougers
- point is there is not alot dangerous in Oz especially when compared to elswhere.
If you are really worried get your self a bow and arrows and a big bowie knife. thats how real men kill pigs and its perfectly legal
AnswerID: 264152

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 11:28

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 11:28
thats not how real men do it

they use a 38-55 with at least 350 grain pill or 416 rigby with 400 grain pill...or 470 nitro express with 500 grainer
FollowupID: 525873

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 12:22

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 12:22

Guns are no good for this 'problem' - you need fire power in the form of FIRE.

Just take a large can of WD40 or such like to bed with you plus a cigarette lighter, then if a Razorback gives you any bother, all you have to do is ignite the lighter and spray the WD440 through the flame with the instant result of a flame thrower.

Razorbacks can't tolerate fire on the snoze (snout) and if you are real quick you might be able zap the coota on the nuts as he turns around.

This double burn action will ensure that the critter will never, ever return to bother you.

Inquests into missing campers over the years in the area your heading into have established that none of them were in possession of life saving WD40 along with a cigarette lighter
AnswerID: 264163

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 12:23

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 12:23
Ooops! forgot.

You have to sleep with one eye open and have the reflexes of a taipan.
FollowupID: 525878

Follow Up By: blue one - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 18:33

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 18:33
You have to be careful with the WD40.

Had the same thing happen to me, got a bit carried away and the dispenser caught fire. Threw the thing at the pig where it exploded in its mouth. The head landed on the Patrol and burnt the duco. I had a hard time with the insurance company.

FollowupID: 525954

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 19:33

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 19:33
Can see the Headlines now.

Insurance claim rejected for telling 'porkies'.

An insurance claim lodged by Mr Blueone re fire damage to his Missan-Nissan was rejected by the ACME Insurance company today on the grounds of it being Fraudulent.

Company spokesperson - Elmer Dud - stated that a phone cam video received anonymously showed quiet clearly the said Mr Blueone attempting to roast a Wild Boars nuts with an aerosol Pack of WD40 and a cigarette lighter.

The big Razorback swung around to see what was 'biting the nuts' and in so doing frightened the chit out of Mr Blueone who had waited for the porker to turn around.

The Boar Roared and Mr Blueone in a reflex action, tossed the burning can which landed in the Boars mouth, and promptly exploded.

This decapitated the Boar and launched the flaming pigs head into the air where it landed on Mr Blueone's vehicle, subsequently burning the duco.

NOT like his insurance claim stated - frying up a mess of eggs and bacon on the Bonnet when a suicidal magpie tried to steal the bacon and in doing so tipped the contents of the frying pan all over the duco.

ROFLMA
FollowupID: 525969

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Friday, Sep 28, 2007 at 16:45

Friday, Sep 28, 2007 at 16:45
Hey Lucy
Did you mention the hoop snakes. Can't out run them !
FollowupID: 526009

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Sep 28, 2007 at 21:16

Friday, Sep 28, 2007 at 21:16
Aw! stop it you guys.

Else, Bob will be huntin' EX-OZ members like the good old boys in Southern USA do, where he will learn you a thing or two.

(ROFLMAO)
FollowupID: 526050

Reply By: Wizard1 - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 12:35

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 12:35
DID YOU EVER CONSIDER CONTACTING THE WA FIREARMS LICENSING AUTHORITIES OR POLICE????

WHAT IS THE POINT OF ASKING AN INTERNET FORUM WHEN IT INVOLVES A DIVERSE RANGE OF LEGAL, SECURITY, CHARACTER AND ENTILEMENT REQUIREMENTS.

FOR A QUICK ANSWER RING THE WA POLICE.
AnswerID: 264171

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 12:46

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 12:46
because you will get more usefull information off of the net - actually there is more factual info written in the back iof a dunney door than you will ever recieve from contacting WA coppers relating to Firearms laws.
all they will do is tell you whatever they have currently made up personally
- Not anything relating to actual legalities
FollowupID: 525879

Follow Up By: Diver1 - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 15:03

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 15:03
Wizard1 dont spoil a good day with your yah who!!

Laura
FollowupID: 525899

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 18:28

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 18:28
Yeah!, and stop yelling too!

FollowupID: 525953

Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Friday, Sep 28, 2007 at 12:35

Friday, Sep 28, 2007 at 12:35
inside voices now wizard...
FollowupID: 525995

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Saturday, Sep 29, 2007 at 10:16

Saturday, Sep 29, 2007 at 10:16
Wizard1...as Sandman says...STOP BLOODY YELLING
we can all hear better if you type in lower case
FollowupID: 526086

Reply By: Diver1 - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 14:45

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 14:45
I know for NSW there is alot of crap to go through to even buy a gun...it took Nathan 6 weeks to get his licence through then another 30 days for his aquire to obtain(??) came through then he could go buy one...

Take someone with you....easier and less of a time waster....

Laura

PS let me know how you go - Nathan may be heading that way for piggn trip in the near future...mainly qld from what i understand....
AnswerID: 264190

Follow Up By: Kev M - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 14:53

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 14:53
Laura,

Is that before or after the diesel conversion :))

Kev

FollowupID: 525897

Follow Up By: Diver1 - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 15:01

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 15:01
aaahhhh who knows!!!LOL

he came home frome work this morning asking what I thought if he went to QLD for a bit.....i think the old girl is gonna stay on petty......bugger!!

Laura

ps....your always on here!!!
FollowupID: 525898

Follow Up By: Kev M - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 15:18

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 15:18
I know, on here instead of doing assignments LOL

Kev

FollowupID: 525903

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 16:42

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 16:42
Diver 1

I need to know - what is your diving specialty
FollowupID: 525921

Follow Up By: Diver1 - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 09:03

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 09:03
G'day Lucy
My driving specialty - good question - like it all ! ! Love the open dirt / gibber what ever type road as long as its not the black stuff ! ! Sand is great, the stt love it..... Mud for a good days fun.....
FollowupID: 526637

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 10:38

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 10:38
Diver1

Please, Please put your glasses on and read my query again.

I said Diving specialty you dill, not Driving Speciality. )ROFLMAO)

I really should make a whole new post out this, however, seeing as how you are a fellow Toyota man I will desist from such thoughts.

Have a good one and tell me what your 'diving' speciality.

If you are an ex navy man I could hazard a guess or two (LOL)
FollowupID: 526648

Reply By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 18:13

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 18:13
Hi Bob
To obtain a fire arms licence these days you need to prove a genuine reason for one eg target shooting or hunting,and
self defence is not one.You could call the http://www.ssaa.org.au/
It can make it easier to obtain a licence if you are member of some club.
As for protection from marauding pigs you won't need a gun.
But if you want to reduce the feral population a bit i mean pigs
A good double barrel shot gun with 20 inch barrel's are nice and handy with some 00 Buck shot in heavy field loads.
Rob
I only ever made one mistake
and that's when I thought I was wrong!

AnswerID: 264219

Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 19:28

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 19:28

I agree with the others. However, if you happen to considering any future work in the Victoria High Country, you need to very careful in areas inhabited by the Bogong Bog Hopper.

This animal is dangerous, and has almost decimated our Camel and Water Buffalo population above the 1200m mark. In fact I can't recall seeing either animal in a long time. LOL

Seriously, you don't need a firearm. It's a lengthy and frustrating exercise.

Kim
AnswerID: 264234

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Sep 28, 2007 at 11:26

Friday, Sep 28, 2007 at 11:26
Do you need a gun for protection? Short answer no. Would I take a gun? Yes. Why? Because I see blowing away a feral animal that is causing destruction to the land a worthy cause and just a tiny bit of fun. (they also make good dog meat)
To get attacked by pigs is highly unlikely (not impossible), but you would have to walk into the wrong place at the wrong time and do something silly.
Id be more worried about some of the weirdos (human) getting around or mud geckos than pigs.
As far as obtaining a NT firearms licence, Its pretty straight forward (unless it has changed recently), Go to the local cop station, tell them you want to get your licence, fill out some paperwork, answer a few simple questions, and your all legal,
From memory when asked why you want a licence, saying recreational shooting on private property was good enough.
Ive got to contact a friend in firearms today about another matter so Ill double check that while im talking to him.

Hairy
AnswerID: 264257

Follow Up By: Bob Kinzett - Friday, Sep 28, 2007 at 18:59

Friday, Sep 28, 2007 at 18:59
Thanks Hairy, that seems pretty straight forward. From the general gist of the rest of the responses it doesn't seem to be that necessary, but if I bother, purely from the enjoyment side of things while out on a long sojourn in the "outback", then your advice has been helpful. How easy would it be to obtain a firearm in the NT and then resell it at the end of the trip?

FollowupID: 526022

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Sep 28, 2007 at 20:37

Friday, Sep 28, 2007 at 20:37
Gday Bob,
Couldnt image haveing any trouble selling your gun before you leave.
Only trouble you might have is a while ago they bought in a new law that says you have to have a gun safe before you get a licence. Bloody stupid if you dont own a gun!
Ive emailed the firearms bloke and asked him if you can have a gun safe in your vehicle if you dont have a fixed address.
Ill let you know what he says ASAP.

FollowupID: 526037

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Sep 28, 2007 at 21:30

Friday, Sep 28, 2007 at 21:30
>Ive emailed the firearms bloke and asked him if you can have a gun
>safe in your vehicle if you dont have a fixed address.
>Ill let you know what he says ASAP.

Are you talking about a police officer?

Their opinion on points of law (and, in my experience, especially firearms law) is worthless. If he's prepared to proffer an opinion ask him to do it in writing - ideally signed in blood - but it'll still be worthless.

FollowupID: 526052

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Sep 29, 2007 at 09:06

Saturday, Sep 29, 2007 at 09:06

>Are you talking about a police officer?
No....some big hairy bloke at the pub who sells cheap firearms...
Cause I am!

Read the post, I did say emailed. Im sort of hopping the return email does come back in writting ( rather than jiberish).

>Their opinion on points of law (and, in my experience, especially firearms law) is worthless.
Oh Yes...I could imagine...You walking in to their office and forcing your opinion down their throat and telling them they dont know what they are talking about. Probably went down like a tonne of shiitte.

This would be the reason Bob is ASKING questions and Im asking the people who will have the say weather or not is is easy enough to get, and what would be the best to go about it
Asking for an opinion rather than giving one......ever thought about it.

FollowupID: 526079

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Sep 29, 2007 at 10:29

Saturday, Sep 29, 2007 at 10:29
Up to you who you seek advice from Hairy but police officers are employed to enforce the law not to be experts or give advice upon it.

Last time I asked the District Firearms Officer for advice the advice he gave to me was totally wrong and left me (unknowingly) in possession of unlicenced firearms - it was the owner of a gunshop who corrected the situation for me. Saying "a policeman told me it was OK" does not wash in court.

The Firearms Registry (a division of Victoria police) made a formal apology to me after refusing to issue a licence to me for a specific (unusual) purpose - they didn't know the law - I was, eventually, issued with the licence.

Take legal advice from police officers at your own risk.

FollowupID: 526088

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Sep 29, 2007 at 11:01

Saturday, Sep 29, 2007 at 11:01
Victorian Police....HaHaHa...Say no more! Bloody Mexicans!

The people I were dealing with are both head of their departments and been in the job over 20 years and friends.
They are the people who will give you the licence and will also stand by what they say.
I've also been mucked around by juniors at the counter, that's why I go to the top.
I once a a female cop at the counter look down the barrel of my 44-40 before checking the breach...she shat when I told her it was loaded...Then went of at me! Then I explained to her It wasn't but she should have treated it as if it was and the rest of the police station erupted in laughter, then she got frustrated and tried pumping it to open the breach (its a lever action). When I tried to explain how it worked she got even more insulted and nearly dropped it (my old favourite, 90+ year old gun)
I ended up grabbing it off her and telling her to get someone who knows what they are doing.

My point being...there are some real drop kick cops out there....but they are not all bad.
Bob can now contact this firearms bloke and deal with him direct and hopefully turn an awkward licensing situation into an easy and legal one by contacting the right person, not just an office jockey.
I dont know about other states cops but the NT cops are generally pretty good and relaxed and have enough problems to deal with without going out looking for them.
FollowupID: 526090

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Sep 29, 2007 at 09:34

Saturday, Sep 29, 2007 at 09:34
Gday Bob,
Sounds like a licence will be no drama,
Basicaly
You do the test.
Need a secured place in your vehicle to store it as you wont have a fixed address.
Need access to a permanent gun safe. (he said you can put my address on it if you dont know any one up North).
Recreational shooting on private or crown land is still a good enough reason to hold a licence.
If you post your email address I will forward on the letter, there are a few booklets and regs, youll need specifications out of.

Hairy
AnswerID: 264354

Follow Up By: Bob Kinzett - Sunday, Sep 30, 2007 at 13:26

Sunday, Sep 30, 2007 at 13:26
Cheers Hairy
appreciate your assistance
email: Bob(dot)Kinzett@bigpond(dot)com
FollowupID: 526199

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Sep 30, 2007 at 14:00

Sunday, Sep 30, 2007 at 14:00
No worries.