moving the camper
Submitted: Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 17:11
Gob & Denny
hsa anybody got a rough idea of what it would cost to truck a camper trailer from
melbourne to far north queensland
Reply By: George - Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 17:27
Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 17:27
I have been quoted just over $400 on a car from
Melbourne to
Brisbane. If anything camper trailer should be cheaper but obviously there could be considerable adjustment up for the distance between
Brisbane and your far north destination. Get in touch with
government car auctions people and ask them nicely who would they recommend for the job.
Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 17:33
Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 17:33
Brisbane to
Melbourne is around $400-425.
Kim
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 21:48
Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 21:48
Gday Kim,
So what name did you use to get that price??? Not yours hey!
Mmm then again....Seniours Card...Pension card...Disabled card...etc....etc...etc
Sorry, your probably right.....LOL
Hairy
Follow Up By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 22:12
Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 22:12
Hairy
Your a funny old fella (given the fact that you've just had another birthday).
I've also noticed that your planning a
Grey Nomad trip.
Won't be too long from now before you'll require a Government subsidty to have somebody come around and scatch your bum!
On a more serious note, how are you going with the trip planning?
Kim
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 17:30
Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 17:30
Gday Kim,
Yeh good mate.
We are loking at going from here to Glendambo (ish) after work, across the dirt from
Kingoonya to
Ceduna and stay with my brother for a couple of days.
Then one or maybe two stops across the Eyre highway on the way to
Perth and then 1 maybe 2 nights in
Perth.
Perth straight to
Geraldton for Christmas and then spend about 4 weeks between
Geraldton and up a bit (no real plans once we get to
Geraldton). then home.
Hairy
Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 18:02
Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 18:02
Hey Steve.
I don't know how much, but ask them if the trailer has to be empty as most car carriers won't carry cars or trailer with anything in them for insurance reasons.
Cheers Steve.
Reply By: Member - Rotord - Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 18:18
Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 18:18
Ask Autotrans for a quote , they are in
Laverton North
Reply By: Stiphodon - Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 19:37
Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 19:37
When I was hunting around for the new camper, I got a quote for postage from
Tambo Campers in Vic, to
Cairns in FNQ. It was $1800! I quickly discarded that idea. I ended up sourcing the camper from customline trailers in
Brisbane. It cost $400 to send to
Cairns, which I thought was great value. If you can get the camper that up that far let me know and I'll give you the name of the transport company
Reply By: Gob & Denny - Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 21:09
Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 21:09
thanks guys
just trying to work out if its viable to tow the van up north and get the camper delivered will have to think it over ???
Reply By: Member - Thomo - Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 21:11
Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 21:11
Going From Melb to far north Qld I reckon would cost $1000+. Big difference when coming back the other way as our mates the truckies are chasing back loads.
Thomo
Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 21:44
Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 21:44
Just to throw in something to think about....Ring a company who is prepared to do it!
The reason I say this is...try $2000-$3000 from Qld/Nsw to Alice for a camper trailer!!!!!!!!!!!!.........and it gets better...an extra $500 if its got a treg hitch!..because they don't have one on their tow vehicle! I offered to buy them one, but they weren't interested. There are other things like.....if the load infront of yours isnt another trailer or vehicle that fits over the draw bar (or they are not willing to calculate it) and an extra 2m to the price of the load!
I personally (having done this sort of thing a few times) would not guess at a price, ring and ask, If its the wrong time or inconvenient it could cost a shiit load more or less than you may be advised. And no! thats not through back yarders....apparently reputable companies is what you are supposdd to call them.
I cant stress enough!!!! Ring the transport company before you make any decisions.
Hairy
Reply By: Member - Shane L (SA)QLD Bound - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 08:39
Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 08:39
Hi Gob & Denny,
I have been chasing the same sort of thing for my move to Sunshine Coast at the end of the month, not too many
places will transport a camper trailer. Found 1 that has quoted $880 from
Adelaide to
Brisbane (Depot to Depot) dearer than wife's car ($699) Company is Autotrans Express - a division of Toll.
Hope this is of some help. Like others have said coming the other way is cheaper due to back loads.
Regards Shane