parking a caravan

Submitted: Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 21:34
ThreadID: 50179 Views:3432 Replies:17 FollowUps:8
just a quick question...

What is to stop you parking your caravan on the side of the road?

Are there laws against it?

Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 21:43

Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 21:43
For how long and where ?

Are there road signs ?

Do you have insurance ? :-)
AnswerID: 264623

Follow Up By: Mel & Michael - Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 21:45

Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 21:45
what I mean is can you travel around the country towing a caravan and reasonable expect to be able to camp for free by just pulling the van up somewhere for the night?
FollowupID: 526405

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 21:54

Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 21:54
In the Nt....as long as you don't annoy anyone...eg, cattle pads, stupid places etc, and your commfortable with it......Absolutely nothing.

AnswerID: 264625

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 21:58

Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 21:58
My family nad I once camped in the park in the middle of a small outback NSW town for the night.

I have seen more than one couple overnight in the centre of one of the larger towns in western NSW. Just pulled up walked from car to caravan and spent the night. Don't know that any of the authorities even noticed.

Can't testify to the legalities but I have seen it done.

AnswerID: 264626

Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 22:04

Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 22:04
There is a great book out called Camps Australia and is now in the 4th edition.

It is well worth keeping in the car.

I have used it often for free camping or just to find a spot for the night.

Camps 4
AnswerID: 264627

Reply By: Member - Phillip S (WA) - Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 22:10

Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 22:10
I have seen people just pull up in a car park and spend a night...next morning take off only to come back and do it again for another night....sometimes up to 3 nights then disappear...I think they were careful to choose a spot that was not odvious...I live next to the Australind estuary and see this often...there are rules which say you cannot camp within so many k's (not sure how much) of a caravan park and then there are the local shire rangers..."move along please"...I think they are polite most of the time but you never can tell....one stiff fine and you might think twice next time.
AnswerID: 264629

Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 22:40

Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 22:40
Although we use Camps Australia Wide as a back up, we usually find our own secluded and quiet spot - like tracks running into the bush, old roads, and our favourite, flat and clean old gravel pits. Maybe not all spots we have stopped are strictly legit, but we leave no mess, and are after all just resting for the one night. Beside a highway is noisy (trucks all night), whereas beside a rural road is quiet after dark. We do no stay in towns, although i have seen people do so, even in the centre of the town where i live. We have just returned from two weeks around the WA Goldfields with the F250 without caravan. Apart from the weekend at a motel which i had won, we camped out every night. Some were recognised free camp sites; others just nice spots we found.

Some Shires object to free campers, so watch signage. Others are coming to realise that free campers stay longer an spend money in their towns. We noticed that the WA wheat belt towns of Newdegate and Dumbleyung have new toilet blocks complete with free hot showers - how civilised.

AnswerID: 264632

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 08:41

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 08:41
There are a number of like places around the country.....Swan Hill in Victoria has a camp kitchen and hot showers in the town for travellers.
FollowupID: 526441

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 23:19

Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 23:19
When I camp out like that with a Caravan I do the same as I do without the van when as a Pilot, Go to a truck parking bay, of course there is a warning here, NEVER park behind the truck , and keep well away to give him his personal space , Of course most Truck bays in NT have the sign with a Caravan Crossed out [vice versa as well ] , But the idea is to avoid the Truck bays and leave them for Truck Drivers, it's easier for a Car and Caravan to find a spot than a Triple Road Train when he can't get into a bay because it's full of vans, I found that one night at Kuttabul Truck Bay, I had to press on to the next one.

Doug

AnswerID: 264636

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 23:32

Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 23:32
We spent 5 years on the road towing a 27 footer doing just that...........stopping wherever we could find a space. Some camps were too close to the road but other camps were in brilliant places. We free camped for 90% of our time on the road. It is a great time for travelling. Go for it!!!

AnswerID: 264640

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 00:28

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 00:28
probably nothing. i have camped in pub carparks at streaky bay, Broome, Esperance, kalgoorlie. and have camped in the Middle of Derby, semaphore breakwater etc etc
AnswerID: 264644

Reply By: Members - Chris/Lindsay (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 07:00

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 07:00
I was advised years ago not to camp in an obvious spot within about 5klms of a town as the local lads might come for a spin looking for trouble. We have always got out of sight up a track just as a precaution. I suppose it also depends on who is in your group. An attractive teenage daughter needs to be looked after!
Christine.
AnswerID: 264653

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 00:11

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 00:11
thats no garantee about 15 years ago we found such people camping between wudinna and Pygery just on the road you can take to mt wudinna and gave them a good serve of do nuts with my mate tearing it up round the caraven on a dirt bike.
saturdays entertainment was to go to the parjing bay 7k east of wudinna and do nut the carpark pepering the parked caravans with rocks........................................................................................ Aint much to do in the country
(disclaimer this was about 20 years ago and i was young and dumb)
FollowupID: 526605

Reply By: Alan H (Narangba QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 07:18

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 07:18
For just an overnight stay, we often look for gravel pits/dumps along the road which seem to occur about every 20k or so. Some are not suitable but a lot of them are and often being used by others. As we usually travel non-highways, the traffic is not a problem after dark.

We also try to keep at least 20k from town to avoid troublemakers.
AnswerID: 264655

Reply By: Wizard1 - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 07:37

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 07:37
I assume you mean a little off the road not the actual verge.

We used to do it all the time, especially in NT and SA. We drive along until we find a suitable spot off the road then pull up for the night.

Best spots are where they stock pile gravel for road works, flat, good drainage and you can park behind the stacks.

The other are road side rest areas which have had people create their own camp areas to the rear of the area. They can be upto 200 metres away from the road.

Plenty of time we've gone to a spot out of Camps or similar guides to find them packed or unsuitable, so we keep going and pull up at a spot of our own choice.

We get at least 50 metres away from the road. I always do a foot recon first to check the grouns, especially if there's been rain and to ensure I have good access and turn around for the van.
AnswerID: 264658

Reply By: DIO - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 08:51

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 08:51
Depends just where in relation to the side of the road. In general, I would have thought it too dangerous from both passing traffice and 'unwanted visitors'. I've always tried to get a kilometre or so away from the road/highway. A lot more peace of mind. Your choice.
AnswerID: 264669

Reply By: Godlike Chef - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 11:12

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 11:12
We camped in parking bays an the way up to Broome last year and again this year. I believe that as long as you are 20kms out of town then you should be ok but check with the local shire ranger is advisable. I know in Broome there is nowhere to camp for free as the beach car parks all have no camping signs and the fine is around $1000!!!!! (so I personally don't think it's worth the risk) you can however find places like Willie Creek where you can camp.
AnswerID: 264682

Reply By: Member - Royce- Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 12:56

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 12:56
Don't tow a van, though I've had a trailer on behind lots of time. For the last 14 years, I've propped wherever I like. Never been bothered except for the start of the year in Tassie. Some police asked what I was up to... parked in suburbia mind you. I said "I'm working at the local school in the morning and stopping here for the night.... okay?" "No worries mate" they said!

Yep. I pull over in the middle of suburban Melbourne. Pull the curtains and settle in. Never a problem. If you don't bother anyone.... they don't bother you.

Cheers Royce
AnswerID: 264695

Follow Up By: Mel & Michael - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 15:39

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 15:39
yeah, we were of the mind not to tow a van, and just to use tents, but i am thinking at least if we have a van, we can camp free sometimes. But then I suppose we have to weigh that up with the fact that when we do stay in camp grounds, we will pay more for the site...

We only have a ute and there will be us and our 2 kids, so we can't all sleep in the car.
FollowupID: 526522

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 00:19

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 00:19
We've done the tent thing in the bush too (but we'd left the children at home). Best of all is camping on the back of the Ute - up above the ground and the creepy crawlies, and looking at the stars. The beauty of the van is not having to set up camp each night - home is always ready for you, and it doesn't matter is if rains.

FollowupID: 526606

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 00:20

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 00:20
Oops - much too late at night - correction:

It doesn't matter if it rains.

FollowupID: 526607

Reply By: Member - Debbie R (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 19:50

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 19:50
Hi Mel and Michael
The LGA or Local Government Act, does prohibit camping on Council property or streets and roads, It is an expiatable offence and ignorance of local law is no excuse. Whilst I know a lot of people do it, there is another good reason not to do it, if a vehicle hits you or your van, and it is proved you were illegaly stopped or camped, not only are you not insured by your own insurance company, you are also responsible for the other parties damages.
Regards Debbie
AnswerID: 264764

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val W (ACT) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 20:59

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 20:59
Debbie,

The way around that difficulty is to get well away from the road. While we dont tow anything we frequently bush camp, and have done so in some great spots. Finding a good spot for the night becomes a bit of fun on the journey, though there are some areas where good camps are hard to find. We try to get well out of sight from the road though. Camps 3 or Camps 4 gives a good starting point but have found that doing advance planning with these and Oziexplorer is the best way to find a likely place to stopover.

Val.

FollowupID: 526581

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val W (ACT) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 21:00

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 21:00
Debbie,

The way around that difficulty is to get well away from the road. While we dont tow anything we frequently bush camp, and have done so in some great spots. Finding a good spot for the night becomes a bit of fun on the journey, though there are some areas where good camps are hard to find. We try to get well out of sight from the road though. Camps 3 or Camps 4 gives a good starting point but have found that doing advance planning with these and Oziexplorer is the best way to find a likely place to stopover.

Val.

FollowupID: 526582

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 00:13

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 00:13
You get a 'feel' for finding the right place after a while. If we are travelling in a hurry, we have driven till dark and stopped anywhere we can pull off the road just a bit. We do not drive with a caravan after dark. Mostly we have been on holidays and start looking early afternoon for the perfect spot, and get less fussy as the day _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx on. Be aware of the danger of fires if bush camping in summer.

We have only been challenged once. We had been unable to get camping space in the Cape Le Grande NP camp sites as it was January holidays and they were packed, so we abandoned plans to climb Frenchman's peak and drove inland where we found a patch of bush (which had been camped in before us). Next morning a park ranger came and said we were parked in a nature reserve, and you can't camp in a nature reserve (there were no signs). He asked us if we were staying long, and we said we were almost ready to leave. He then indicated we should park where we can't be seen from the road.

I would argue that we are not camping but just stopping to rest for the night.Camping is a 'a group of tents or caravans or other portable accommodation". Stopping in a self contained caravan is not camping in my opinion.

Travelling out without the caravan, we have just had 2 weeks around the Kalgoorlie region. Some of the spots we stopped were designated free camps with enviro toilets; others were gravel pits, or along tracks into the bush. It's a great life.

AnswerID: 264806