Efficient 12V Camp Lighting?

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 11:34
ThreadID: 50187 Views:14769 Replies:14 FollowUps:41

I'm currently researching 'efficient' 12 volt lighting as we're off for 6 months next year and are hoping to be as self sufficent as possible, keeping away from caravan parks. We all have LED head torches that last a long time and we're using rechargeable AAA batteries for them and rechargeable AA batteries for digital camera and kids games. These recharge quickly in the car and I'm happy with that side of things.

Our set up is:
4WD: dual battery 100Ah running small fridge.
Our 'new' 2nd hand Camper: on-board 75Ah battery also running small fridge, numerous 12V cigarette outlets in camper in which to plug 12V fluoro lights etc into. (Soon to purchase 1 KVA genny as last owner had permanently installed Smart Charger and used Genny, all set-up for me ready to go). Camper gets trickle charge from vehicle on the move.

I've been looking at 12V Lanterns as a light for eating under/cooking/playing Monopoly etc! With my current (old) one I usually buy a couple of 6V batteries and that's OK for a week or so, but I don't want to be buying lots of batteries for 6 months and am hoping to find a good rechargeable one.

The expensive ones on average list a 9 hour run time (on low power) with 10 to 14 hour recharge time - that's too long when out in the sticks for days. These are the fluoro type ones. There was a 6 LED one in K-Mart that could be recharges via 12V, 240V or winding dynamo, 2 minutes winding for 50 minutes light. This sounded great but the light output was a lot less compared to the fluoro ones.

I also have some 12V fluoro work shop lights (9 to 11 watt). I'm trying to avoid gas & fuel type ones so I can use them safely inside the camper.

Even though we'll have a Genny with us, I want to use it as little as possible. I want to have an efficient set-up that can last a while, rather than simply relying on the Genny every day.

Does anyone have any recommendations? I'm hoping there's a LED lantern out there with good light and short re-charge time. Anybody have one?

Mark.

Reply By: CYPHER-CHLNGER - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 12:46

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 12:46
These are really good.

http://www.virtualvillage.com/items/item.aspx?itemid=4397870&utm_source=baseusa&utm_medium=shopping
AnswerID: 264691

Follow Up By: Member - Mark H (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 13:35

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 13:35
The UFO light would look great in the camper. Haven't seen any in Australian shops though, maybe Dick Smith or the like might stock them? I'll see if I can find them.

Mark.
FollowupID: 526495

Follow Up By: Dave from P7OFFROAD Accredited Driver Training - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 14:53

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 14:53
BCF have them!
FollowupID: 526514

Follow Up By: Member - Mark H (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 17:36

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 17:36
I checked them out, no picture or info on them, only the price! There's a few on e-bay from America, look like a good thing but will wait till I see one locally.

Thanks Dave,
Mark.
FollowupID: 526535

Reply By: CYPHER-CHLNGER - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 12:48

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 12:48
Laterns also

http://www.theledlight.com/emergencylights.html
AnswerID: 264693

Follow Up By: Member - Mark H (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 13:55

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 13:55
The NU-12 lantern looks great. Again I'll try to find something like that in our shops.

Mark.
FollowupID: 526498

Reply By: Nick R (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 13:19

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 13:19
We have 3 LED versions of the flouro ones out there, 2 with cords and 1 without, We find the light is very good, also I am going to put some led rope lights in the camper.
Apparently with a 7 amp hour gel battery one of the corded lights can last about 2 weeks non stop.

One idea I have had about recharging instead of a gennie with inbiult charger I am thinking of putting a car alternator on a lawnmower engine, should give a good level of charge in an hour if i was basecamping for a few days......
NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 264697

Follow Up By: Member - Mark H (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 13:30

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 13:30
Thanks Nick, I haven't looked at the rope lights, I thought they were for parties! Your lawnmower thing sounds like these - Christies Engineering. How long do you get out of the cordless fluoro?

Mark.
FollowupID: 526492

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 15:15

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 15:15
Mark, it is the cordless LED not flouro. Nick has an Ironman LED as I have. They are great and run for about 8-10 hours on a charge for the super bright LEDs.Here or as it looks

The LED at the bottom is the red one that glows on low charge. Comes with a 12v and desktop charger
FollowupID: 526518

Follow Up By: Member - Mark H (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 15:42

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 15:42
Thanks John, they look impressive. Any idea how long they take to charge on 12V? It doesn't say on their website.

Mark.
FollowupID: 526523

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 19:51

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 19:51
I second the ironman led light. Bloody amazing for an LED and very tough. Recharges ina few hours plugged into the cigg lighter while driving. Have anither suggestion for lioghting alternative posted at the end.

FollowupID: 526566

Follow Up By: Member - Mark H (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 22:31

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 22:31
Mick do you know how much they are? They look like a copy of Narva's See Ezy Cordless Rechargeable which I've seen for $185! Damn expensive.

Mark.
FollowupID: 526591

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 23:43

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 23:43
Mark, last time I saw a price it was quite a bit better than that but I couldn't be certain on the actuals.
FollowupID: 526603

Reply By:- Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 13:25

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 13:25
Most efficient things are LEDs. Get bright LED light (JayCar, DickSmith or even LED downlight kit from Bunnings), power them with LiMh batteries and get fast 1Hr charger.
AnswerID: 264701

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 13:31

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 13:31
Don't you have a name? Makes it hard to talk to nobody!

FollowupID: 526493

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 14:51

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 14:51
Andrew, if you loo in certain lights you can see the ring glint and the eyes behind the mask. Its the Phantom bantam
FollowupID: 526513

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 14:56

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 14:56
LOL, i was worried where you were going when you said " if you loo in certain lights you can see the ring glint " :-)

It's much easier to respond to someone with either a name or a "handle" at the very least....thanks John for the headsup ;-)

FollowupID: 526515

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 15:18

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 15:18
I meant to have a 'k' as in look. LOL
FollowupID: 526519

Follow Up By: Member - Mark H (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 19:49

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 19:49
Cheers Anon,

Do you have such a set-up as you have mentioned?

Mark.
FollowupID: 526565

Follow Up By:- Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 09:06

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 09:06
I do not understand why this site does not like me so much that even mask my nic!
I have few LED torches and they awesome in terms of power consumption. One particular what I like and use a lot is this one: http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=ST3332&CATID=21&keywords=&SPECIAL=&form=CAT&ProdCodeOnly=&Keyword1=&Keyword2=&pageNumber=&priceMin=&priceMax=&SUBCATID=649 . It is truly awesome torch in terms of performance and easy outperform my 4D Maglight. And it run ages from one battery set. As for charger I definitely would recommend this one: http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=MB3536&CATID=18&keywords=&SPECIAL=&form=CAT&ProdCodeOnly=&Keyword1=&Keyword2=&pageNumber=&priceMin=&priceMax=&SUBCATID=295 , I am using it for number of years and incredibly happy.
As for lightener (in opposite to torch) I am using 240V 11W reflector fluoro light – they easy as bright as 100W conventional bulbs. But it probably will not suit your needs to run inverter it you really power-saving oriented. As for batteries be aware that majority NiMh batteries have high self-discharge rate (i.e. loose power when not in use). I know only one variety without this annoying “feature” – Enelop made by Sanyo and highly recommend them.
Now it is quite a few replacement “bulbs” which runs LEDs – check above-mentioned JayCar catalog. I am sure you can find something suits your needs.
KSV.
FollowupID: 526639

Follow Up By: Member - Mark H (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 11:00

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 11:00
Thanks KSV,

I have a little LED torch that clips onto a shirt pocket and it puts out a great light for its size. It's a Pelican MityLite. My charger does AA & AAA batteries, got it from Dick Smith last year and it charges in around an hour too, even on 12V.

I've just found a Spinifex LED lantern that uses 4 C size batteries for 85 hours burn time. Looks like I'll be getting some rechargeable batteries in that size too.

Mark.
FollowupID: 526654

Follow Up By:- Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 12:27

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 12:27
Be aware that charges is most trickier part of all setup. Do not be fulled of low-priced superfast charger. You need charger that charge batteries individually rather then in pairs (what most chargers do). When charging in pairs one screwed cell will ultimately damage another good one, not saying that it does not allow charge both cells properly. I was amazed what difference good charger makes. On the same set of batteries my CB runs twice longer! I am not saying that only abovementioned JayCar charger is good, there are plenty on market, but rather saying that IMHO proper separate cell charger a must – not only it pumps more juice into batteries, but also prolong batteries life (if you do not care about cost, think about environment).
KSV
FollowupID: 526671

Reply By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 14:12

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 14:12
Hi Mark, We ran an 11w flouro off a 600 ah Battery booster pack
for 5 weeks ,maybe 4hrs a night & didnt need to recharge it.
Will recharge off cig plug if required. Not exactly a reading light but
more than adequate for cooking & locating esky....oldbaz.
P.S. Both from Autocrap...light $15, Booster...$50.
AnswerID: 264708

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 14:26

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 14:26
600Ah for $50!! LOL....might be CCA's or similiar?

FollowupID: 526509

Follow Up By: Member - Mark H (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 19:21

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 19:21
Hi Barry,

Yeah I might be fine running the my fluoro's off the camper battery but I like the idea of these LED one's that use even less. Plus a lantern one that sits on the table. I think I'll do some testing tomorrow for power drainage.

Mark.
FollowupID: 526558

Follow Up By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 12:10

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 12:10
You are right Andrew, misread the box..cca indeed. Worked
a treat though.....oldbaz.
FollowupID: 526667

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 12:17

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 12:17
That's OK, i just want to see you carry a 600Ah battery around :-)

FollowupID: 526669

Reply By: Middle Jeff - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 15:44

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 15:44
Hi Mark

I just got one of these Narva led work light and I love it, for something so small it really puts out a lot of light. The only down side is that it has no hook but it does have a belt clip, but I have a light holder that it just slips into.

Have fun

Craig
AnswerID: 264727

Follow Up By: Member - Mark H (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 19:03

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 19:03
Thanks Jeff,

I've been checking the Narva website and found other LED worklights that have hooks and 12V chargers here. Like the Iron Man mentioned above, these look really good and have a 3 hour charge.

Mark.
FollowupID: 526555

Reply By: Member - R Send - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 17:58

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 17:58
At the Penrith Camping show recently they were selling LED lights you could hang from the 'rafters' when camping. I think the units had about 24 LEDs in 2 groups - each group of LEDs could be lit on it's own or with the other so there were three levels of lighting.

I don't have any other info but I think they were on the CAMEC stand.
AnswerID: 264741

Follow Up By: Member - Mark H (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 19:18

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 19:18
Thanks mate,

I'm going through their website, it's huge! Might take a while.

Mark.
FollowupID: 526557

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 19:59

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 19:59
I went to Jaycar and bought a 17 A/H Sealed battery. I connected a 50 amp Anderson plug to it and just plug it in to my aux batteries to charge it. It also has a cigg plug attachment on it. I carry this to the tent and plug a normal 12 volt fluoro into it. Means you don’t have to set up the tent near the car to access the power. I had a little carry bag made by Klaus at In Front and the whole thing slides in next to the battery box in the rear while travelling. I noticed in Jaycar that they have a small carry bag for 18 bucks that comes complete with a cigg plug and cigg socket. It takes a 7 a/h Sealed lead acid battery which'll cost you $20. This will run a versalite 12 volt fluoro for at least 5 hours (probably more). Means you can transport a good quality 12 volt fluoro anywhere around your camp. (Go the versalite. $80 on special now and then but nothing beats it).

AnswerID: 264767

Follow Up By: Member - Mark H (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 22:30

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 22:30
Hi Mick,

I already have a 7Ah sealed battery that I used on my mountain bike, it was powering a 30 watt Lightforce Bike Light that was awesome but that's another story.

For outside the camper the 17Ah battery & fluoro sounds like a good idea, which is also mentioned below. I've used my Arlec fluoro outside before and its pretty good.

Thanks for the suggestion Mick.

Mark.
FollowupID: 526590

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 22:58

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 22:58
So it just piggybacks in parallel with your auxiliary battery for charging while driving?
FollowupID: 526595

Reply By: Philip A - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 20:04

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 20:04
I have made 2 clip on lights with the following
2x 38 LED MR16 lamps
2x MR16 sockets
2 pieces of PVC 2inch pipe say 3inches longplus 4 X end plugs
2 rocker switches
suitable length 2 core cord
2 merit plugs
2x clamps
They are as bright as 20W halogen lights and draw say 0.4 amps
I plug them into the plugs in the camper
I also have a "Supa cheap" 40 LED hand lamp like the one above but with cord and Merit plug. I have glued 2Hiflux magnets on the back. It sticks to the camper bow near the kitchen to light the workbench.
I reckon you are best running LEDs from the car battery. They draw so little it is not an issue .
Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 264768

Follow Up By: Member - Mark H (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 22:46

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 22:46
Phil I've just checked those MR16 LEd globes on the Jaycar site, they look like they'd throw plenty of light. I presume these are your 'room' lights in the camper? Wouldn't have a pic of this would you?

The supercheap light sounds good in terms of getting a LED light cheaply. I know you get what you pay for but some of these things are a bit rich. I can't find one in their latest catalogue, can you remember how much you payed?

Thanks for your help, would love to see some pics if you have them.

Mark.
FollowupID: 526594

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 23:15

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 23:15
Phillip, where did you get the sockets for the LEDs? We found it easy to buy the lights, and could buy the 'tails', but needed to improvise to make the sockets.

FollowupID: 526597

Follow Up By: Philip A - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 09:41

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 09:41
The LED MR16s fit reasonably snugly in the end of the 2inch PVC tube.
I just push them in, then use a bit of clear silastic to hold them in place. I push them down about 5MM, so that i can put the cap fully on the end to protect them in transit. All you have to do is silastic them then leave them face down until the silastic dries.
The lights are in the camper at the moment , so at present do not have tiime to open it up etc.
BUT they are not pretty.

AFAIR I paid $19.99 for the corded LED worklight at Supacheap.

Here is a good site for LEDs. I bought my current ones from them.
http://www.ledshoponline.com/automotive_leds1156.htm#camping
Regards Philip A
FollowupID: 526641

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 20:28

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 20:28
A Pirahna or similar brand 11 watt 12 volt flouro light coupled with a 17amp hour Projecta (or similar brand) "powertank" would make a unbeatable general camp light that you can use anywhere around the camp.

Outside, the idea is to set it up nice high and it will illuminate a good area. We and a few other friends set up an extendable pole with a small angled bracket that sits in the top and a peg that has a bit of tube welded to it. Drive in the peg then sit the pole in the tube. Sit the light in the bracket at the top of the pole setting it at 45 degrees to the ground. The effect is much like a small streetlight and it is amazing how much coverage you get.

When in groups we set up 2 or three of these around a common area and it is nice and safe and well lit. These flouros use only about 1amp per hour so a 17 AH battery pack will do several nights of a few hours usage easy before plugging into ciggy lighter of car for a recharge while travelling. Alternately a couple of hours on the genny during the day and you have strong silent lighting during the evening when you DON'T want the genny running.

Supplement with a couple of LEDs in your work areas like kitchen and inside the camper and then you are all set. We have found that the LEDs are great for focussed light but you can't beat the 11 watt flouros for area lighting.

A bonus of the Projecta powertank is that it is available to jumpstart the car in a crisis. Also handy if you come across some other poor soul that needs a jumpstart (reduces the chances of a faulty connection in a car to car jumpstart frying your engine management computer).

Muddy
AnswerID: 264773

Follow Up By: Member - Mark H (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 22:37

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 22:37
Thanks Muddy,

Mick up higher mentioned a similar set-up which sounds good to me. In our old camper I'd hang my 12V fluoro outside when we had 240V through a transformer/reducer thing and it was great...using a 17Ah battery/power tank is a good idea.

Just got to work out the LEDs for inside now. Some great ideas coming through.

Mark.
FollowupID: 526593

Follow Up By: Ianw - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 23:34

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 23:34
Those 12v Compact flouros work a lot better when fitted inside a reflector like a street lamp. You will get twice the amount of light. Light is not wasted shining up in the air. 12v compact flouros are available from Bunnings for about $30, or others from Oatley Electronics for $7. Oatley also sell suitable reflectors. (30 cm aluminium)
One reason that LEDS are reasonably bright is because all light is focussed in one direction.

FollowupID: 526785

Follow Up By: Member - Mark H (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 19:27

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 19:27
Ian you're dead right about the reflectors. Last night I tested my good fluoro against a bushranger one that was left with my camper trailer. The bushranger has a refelctor behind it and despite being a shorter light, it was much brighter. I'll look into those reflectors for my other 2 now.

Mark.
FollowupID: 526927

Reply By: Member - michael H (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 21:42

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 21:42
Hi Mark, I like the jaycar 21 led lights and have taped them to the inside of the camper with switches. I think they draw .2 amp each have a look at my rig pic at my set up, It might be a bit over the top but it suits me. I have just made up another light set up over the kitchen out of qubelok that i can dismantle and store under the trak shak stove. I'll try and get some photos up shortly I am in the process of modifying the gas stuts on the camper hoping to make it easier to open and close.

Cheers Michael
AnswerID: 264788

Follow Up By: Member - Mark H (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 23:22

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 23:22
Geez Michael your camper looks like Star Wars at night! That's some set-up you have there. I've searched the Jaycar site and I'm guessing your's are the flexible ones pulled straight?

I know photos can be decieving but the night one does look quite dark (as you mentioned). I would have thought that with all those lights it would be super bright inside. Is that the case? And how hard was it to wire up your switches and fuses?

Thanks for your post,

Mark.
FollowupID: 526600

Follow Up By: Stiphodon - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 06:57

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 06:57
Hey Michael, nice setup, I was thinking of putting the same LED strip from Jaycar in my camper, I was just wondering if one is bright enough to read under whilst in bed? Or do I need as many as you have in your pics? If not I was going to throw in a Cole Light, but they get a bit too bright.

FollowupID: 526618

Follow Up By: Member - michael H (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 14:17

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 14:17
Hi Mark, Yes the flexible type I have used electrical tape to hold them to the bars so that when folded they can move about if needed. The switch panel was from Whitworths (boating accessories shop) with inbuilt fuses the wiring was pretty simple but you could always run the wires and then get a auto electician to connect up if unsure, Stiphodon I also have one above my kitchen that hangs off the tailgate so its about 600mm above which would be good enough to read under but the ones in the camper were set up high for overall lighting and would cast a shadow if lying down.

Cheers Michael
FollowupID: 526832

Reply By: V8 Troopie - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 00:33

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 00:33
While you enquired for 12v lights, why did you rule out gas lights? I would assume you have gas available for cooking, it also gives an excellent light to do it by. Its likely to be cheaper to run than the most efficient 12V lights when you put the light output into the equation.
If I were planning to stay at one campsite for some days then a gaslight is hard to beat.

Klaus
AnswerID: 264807

Follow Up By: Member - Mark H (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 11:26

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 11:26
Hi Klaus,

Our camper has a 2 burner metho stove. It's last owner put it in for it's safety factor (less volatile than gas and unleaded) and I don't argue with that as I've done some hiking with Trangia stoves that use metho. I know it's not popular but I don't think people even consider it.

I don't argue about the output of gas lights as my old man always used gas lights so I grew up with them. He loved his too, even though he seemed to go through the mantles. My original thought was for a good 12V LED lantern that I could use outside and inside the camper if needed, so I didn't want a gas light inside the camper. Also, I have always found gas lights annoying in that people tend to crank them right up and the camp area looks like the MCG under lights! Kind of ruins the camping atmosphere. Of course I can turn my own down but as mentioned above, a good fluoro does a good enough job.

From what I have read of LED lights, they attract far less bugs than gas & fluoro lights too, which would be nice when sitting down for the evening meal.

Thanks for your interest Klaus, it's good to think about all options and hear peoples views on different set-ups.

Mark.

FollowupID: 526661

Reply By: tdv - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 11:39

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 11:39
I have just returned from 4 months in a camper and my setup was a 20 amp/hr sealed battery in small carry bag with cig socket and 12 volt and 240 volt charger included for $98 from Whitworths (boating supply store, they are online also). I could charge while driving from cig socket. From this I ran a "Col Light" which was more than sufficient to cook and eat by. It draws just 0.8 amps. We were so stuffed each day that it would only be on for 3 hours max a night anyway. As mentioned above it can be moved around easily. I also used the bettery to run electronics in my tinnie. I could get 5 days without charge easily from this setup. Inside the camper I used a coleman rechargable lantern to read by etc. It would only be used for 30min a night on average. I had some problems initially as I was trying to charge it from cig lighter once it went flat which mean't a long recharge time. However once I plugged it in everytime we were on the move there were no problems. It has an easily accessible 4amp? battery in the base which could take charge faster if you just removed it and connect directly to your car battery.

Tez
AnswerID: 264848

Follow Up By: Member - Mark H (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 23:18

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 23:18
That sounds similar to using the Power-Tanks mentioned above. I have a Whitworths catalogue lying around somewhere, I'll find it and have a squizz.

Thanks Tez,

Mark.
FollowupID: 526782

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 11:43

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 11:43
Mark,

Your qualification of EFFICIENT narrows the market considerably.

Muddy is the only one who is spot on with his recommendation.

The Piranha or Versalite 12 volt fluro (made in the same factory and virtually identical) draw around 1 amp and provide the most effective light output of any 12 volt light source.

They retail for around the $90 mark but are a worthwhile investment all the same.

The next level down is the LED lamp.

Besides the Piranha mentioned above, I also have a LED "worklight" containing 20 rows of 3 LED's for a total of 60.
This light is quite good but is not as bright as the Piranha/Versalite.
The advantages are 1/2 amp power draw and does not attract insects anywhere as much. Good to place around cooking areas, but I always have the fluro going at the other end of the Camper Annex. Price was also around the $90 mark.

AnswerID: 264849

Follow Up By: Member - Mark H (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 13:44

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 13:44
Hi Sand Man,

Yes Muddy's set-up (and your own recommendation) is a great one with fluoro's lighting the camp area and LED's for inside camper and cookiing area, but let's not dismiss everyone elses input by saying he's the only one who is 'spot on'! Some of the set-ups mentioned above are great and imaginative and still advocate the use of LED's inside the camper.

I'm wrapt with the responses and as I already have some good fluoro's, it's the use and set-up of LED's inside the camper that I'm trying to work out. As they're using the same battery as the fridge/freezer, their efficiency is important to me. Half amp power draw and less sounds good to me.

Thanks for sharing your knowledge,

Mark.
FollowupID: 526680

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 14:07

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 14:07
Mark.

As I said above, your request called for EFFICIENT.

Anything other than the current crop of 12 volt fluro lamps such as the Versalite/Piranha are inefficient in either the reduced level of light output, or the amount of excessive current they draw.

If these limitations are acceptable, then of course there are other considerations.

You could have a 500 watt floodlight running off an inverter, but efficient it would NOT be. It would however, be an effective light source, the power source just wouldn't last too long:-))

FollowupID: 526681

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 14:12

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 14:12
Oh,

One other light that can be thrown into the "efficient" solution is the Torpedo light marketed by EvaKool. They also draw about 1/2 amp.

FollowupID: 526682

Follow Up By: Member - Mark H (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 23:13

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 23:13
I must say those Torpedo lights look impressive, very bright with little power usage, how efficient is that! Will see what they're going for at the 4WD Show.

Mark.
FollowupID: 526780