It's reasons like this we visit the outback.

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 16:53
ThreadID: 50194 Views:3248 Replies:6 FollowUps:29

And reasons some of wish we had stayed at home.

Reply By: Kev M - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 17:13

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 17:13
What did they hit??
I suppose the driver seat is needing replacement as well:))

Kev

AnswerID: 264739

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 18:04

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 18:04
Just some people we met along the way. They were experienced travelers who ran into strife after crossing a grid at 70kp/h. Both unhurt although the passenger is sporting a band aid on one arm. It's a reminder to us all how quickly things can happen, and how easy it can be to lose concentration.
FollowupID: 526543

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 18:06

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 18:06
Oops.........it rolled completely once. I have lots of pics of it but they all have the rego showing so just posted this pic.
FollowupID: 526545

Follow Up By: Kev M - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 18:13

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 18:13
It is a good advertisment for the aerial, looks like it survived pretty well.

Kev

FollowupID: 526546

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 18:16

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 18:16
The cargo barrier seems to have done a terrific job too. Also the lightforce spotties were unmarked.
FollowupID: 526547

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 20:15

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 20:15
Brew69

The first photo is beautiful.

The second is a reminder at how easily 4WD roll. I am glad to hear that they were not injured. It still ruins what could have been a good holiday.

Tjilpi
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

FollowupID: 526573

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 01:21

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 01:21
70kph eh!

Well I am glad there is no radar gun toting dude around grids when I go through them.
FollowupID: 526610

Follow Up By: Voxson - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 08:39

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 08:39
C'mon,
Crossing a grid at 70kmh did that?

There is something missing from the story there Stu.
But you can only repeat what they have told you.
FollowupID: 526632

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 12:56

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 12:56
Roachie got given the whole story. I believe they put the left wheels in the loose stuff off to the left of the main worn track and started to slide, so they corrected and one wheel gripped (?) and rolly polly.
FollowupID: 526675

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 21:00

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 21:00
The guy who owns the Toyota fell in love with Roachie's thing, when Roachie was packing up yesterday the guy took another load of photo's, the same as he did the day before and the day before that.

So there maybe another Roach mobile on the road soon if the insurance writes the 100 series off.

Regards Richard
FollowupID: 526749

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 23:07

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 23:07
Well! that is the last straw, I mean to say, imagine two of those overweight, oil spewing heaps of nuts and bolts groaning around our fantastic outback roads.

I suppose the two 'knob' owner drivers could talk to each other about all the things that have gone wrong, especially the o/heating issues.

I wonder if he realizes that by changing vehicles he is still going to roll the new sucker going through a grid if he doesn't learn how to drive on dirt roads.

Two Roachies on the road = nightmares tonight.
FollowupID: 526779

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 17:24

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 17:24
I can understand why he would fall in love with a Patol.

After all he has found out why they are Landcruiers are called Toyota Landrollover.

Due to the constant 4WD set-up the Landcruiser is more prone to rolling than the Patrol.

FollowupID: 526877

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 22:55

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 22:55
Kumunara (NT)

hows that?

FollowupID: 526966

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 00:08

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 00:08

All 4WDs are prone to rolling because of the high centre of gravity. The Landcruiser is more prone than the Patrol. I had it explained to me by a mechanic but it was in technical terms that I would be unable to explain. It was however due to the constant 4WD system on the Landcruiser.

He did also explain to me the advantages of the constant 4WD system in having better traction.

FollowupID: 526980

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 00:18

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 00:18
Can't see how having more control, could lead to roll-over, maybe going over the limit..?? having a crash,, not just a roll-over.

But anyway have a good night.. cheers

FollowupID: 526981

Follow Up By: Pete and Lez - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 05:04

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 05:04
C'mon olcoolone, that wasn't the full story. He also said that he would NEVER buy anything else after surviving the rollover in the 100 series. Even Roachie recitaled that fact!!!!!!
I didnt want to raise the hopes of those Nissan owners unnecessarily
Cheers Peter and Lez
FollowupID: 526988

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 06:19

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 06:19
Richard, i have ridden lots of 4 wheel bikes and concur that the 4WD versions are far easier to roll.
FollowupID: 526989

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 22:28

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 22:28
Hah! the 'thlot plickens'

Thank you for setting the scene and story straigh Peter & Lez.

Can't trust Roachie and his 'band of merry Nissan men' to report anything correctly.

(LOL)
FollowupID: 527154

Reply By: pepper2 - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 17:59

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 17:59
what did you hit?
AnswerID: 264744

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 18:05

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 18:05
See above.
FollowupID: 526544

Reply By: Rick (S.A.) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 23:38

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 23:38
Lovely pic, Brew...........

And a lovely reminder that blasted weeds are invading!

Note the horehound behind the Swainsona formosa (Stuart's pea)............

and could it be that blighter, Paterson's Curse, is there also?? A bit harder to ID, that purple plant is.

Where did ya take the photo?

AnswerID: 264802

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 06:23

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 06:23
Pic taken on just south of Mt Ive. (Gawler Ranges)
FollowupID: 526615

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 21:13

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 21:13
Pattersons Curse or Salvation Jane???
FollowupID: 526758

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 01:19

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 01:19
Firstly

Very nice Sturt Peas

Secondly

Instead of waffling about you 6120 (previous post) your 35-40 Hat size, 200-250 Belt size, 40 gallon beer drinking capacity etc etc; could you pleeeeeease learn how to resize your pics to the correct size for the forum page.

Obviously not a life skill taught in SA schools

And thirdly

Whats more anoying than your monster pics, is the poxing 'rolling' advert to right of where I am typing that continuously shows a pic of a Patrol or pathfinder.

I'll give you a free mexican tip and that is, ACDC has a lovely little resize function in it just for peolple like you and me.

Now I expect better things from you next time.
AnswerID: 264810

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 06:25

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 06:25
Well there you go. I always thought photobucket did that for me. When you have ADSL2 , it doesn't slow you down at all, but i suppose on a dial up connection it would be slow to open.
FollowupID: 526616

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 13:20

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 13:20
Oooooooh! you are such an infuriating bitch some times. (ROFLMAO)

Dial up - good one, no one uses dial up any more.

Matter of fact I don't think its avaialble according to the Telstra 'we are everywhere' blurb.
FollowupID: 526676

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 19:51

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 19:51
Excuse me ""Miss Lucky""

Some of us peasant citizens dont have access to ADSL, cos we are out in the sticks and our votes dont count, so we have to take whatever crap is thrown our way, kinda like feeding sheep, rations, from a plane at 10,000 feet as it passes over, with some highly paid executive only pushing a button to make it happen.

OH mate dont get me started!!!

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 526738

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 23:18

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 23:18
Have you been sipping on that stuff you give to the weeds.

Mate! I reckon I could stand on your 60 series in your front yard and after 12 beers pee over the hill into Clare, thats how close you are to ADSL.

It most probably goes right past your front door to the Presidents house in Kadina where it is rumoured he has a 'his' & 'hers' ADSL setup in the house.

I reckon you must be the only person in Blythe not on ADSL. Could it be that you haven't been paying the bills, poked chit at the 3 amigo's, vote labour, No 1 suspect for knocking the Flag and Whistle off, drive a blue 4WD etc etc.

Yep! that ADSL stuff sure is chit compared to broadband, the current version which woeful.

Just can't wait to get on the New G Broad, Broad, Broadest Band and give it a go.

I'll let you know what it is like .
FollowupID: 526781

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 11:25

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 11:25
It isn't too late to resize the pic on Photobucket. You can do it right now. 600x800 is an option across the options at the top. Fits nicely
FollowupID: 527207

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 14:13

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 14:13
Voila!
FollowupID: 527220

Reply By: Nick R (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 18:37

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 18:37
When did you become 69 again?

Nice paterson's curse, I also saw it, before the desert pea
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 264897

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 19:36

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 19:36
A few weeks ago i got sick of the 34.5 thing lol. Back to the original.
How can you miss all that lovely red??? It would have to be my favorite flower.
FollowupID: 526736

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 20:54

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 20:54
Hello all, we got back tonight (Wed) and it is a fantastic place.

The Toyota got picked up today about 9.30am on a tilt tray.

The photo of the Stuart Desert Pea is that the one on the right hand side of the road about 60 kilometers from the homestead, Lyn thinks Dawn said she saw it on the way in on Friday night.

Regards Richard
AnswerID: 264932

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 21:15

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 21:15
Thats the one. Glad you mad eit back safely mate. Did you do the Kingoonya leg?
FollowupID: 526762

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 21:45

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 21:45
Na, that bloody Hendy mob.....well Toby..... talked us into staying, on the Monday myself and Hendy went and did the Eagle track and yesterday we did another track out to the lake 6+ hrs.. in 37Deg. heat at 5.00pm.

Big dust storm came in yesterday and wind storm last night so we had to spend the night in the dinning room.

That big strange odd mob who stayed in the cabins were still there and they had another sing along in the dining room....Hendy started feeling sick from it with their hymns and we nearly had a riot on our hands when Toby piped up and yelled out something like "that was the worst piece of music I have ever heard).....I had to leave the room after that comment.....I couldn't stop crying and my sides hurt. LOL

Ask Toby about the sick sheep next time you see him.....he has a way of getting people to do things in a hurry.

Lyn did nothing on the Monday but yesterdat and today she was fine.

Both the tracks were closed to general public access, will show you some amazing photo,s.

So whats next.

Regards Richard

FollowupID: 526767