ExlorOz Tyre Covers - How well do they fit ?
Submitted: Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 14:26
Member - Willie , Epping .Syd.
I was thinking of getting these for the two spares situated on the front of my van .
Will they come off in the wind or are they tightly fitted and
well fastened ?
Thanks ,
Willie .
Reply By: Wizard1 - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 14:54
Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 14:54
We got one a few months ago for one of the 15 inch spare on the back of the van.
Seemed to mould its self the longer it was on there. Its was still there when we got back to the
Gold Coast from Byron Bay.
Make sure you get the one for your tyre size.
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 15:12
Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 15:12
Yeh but miy spares are on the front of the van in the wind . How do you reckon the covers will go there ?
Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 15:13
Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 15:13
Willie,
I have been running 2 wheel covers, one of which is an ExplorOz,for a few years now and they have not come off.
They have a lot of overhang around the back of the tyre and this is what keeps them on.
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 18:20
Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 18:20
Yeh but Wayne , that's on the back of the car out of the wind .
I need some info from someone who has had them on the front of a van where they cop a heap of wind .
Thanks ,
Willie .
Reply By: ExplorOz Team - David - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 15:55
Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 15:55
Willie,
Try it if it comes off let us know and we will send you a replacement. If you get the right size you should have no problems. I have heard from one person that they lost one on the front of a camper however I was not 100% sure it it was the right size to start with.
Reply By: Member -Signman - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 15:56
Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 15:56
G'day Willie,
The vinyl type wheel covers are good for REAR mounted spares.
However, front mounted
wheels (like you mention) tend to 'buffer' with the wind- and I've seen them self-destruct in a short time...
Firstly- (without trying to put David out of business) do you need the ExplorOz cover?? and secondly, if you do go with the vinyl type cover- come down and I'll cut some corflute backing which keeps the cover stiff... Tried & tested !!
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 18:24
Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 18:24
Hi David ,
I thought I would get the EO ones just to support the cause . I would imagine canvas ones would be a lot more expensive and the Super Cheap Auto ones a lot cheaper .
Where do you put the corflute - over the back to stop wind entering ?
Thanks ,
Willie .
Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 18:44
Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 18:44
Yo Willie
I ' sandwich' the corflute between the sidewall of the tyre/wheel and the inside of the face of the wheel cover.
If you still have my number- give me a call....
Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 17:49
Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 17:49
G'day Willie,
I put one on a 285/75R/16, and yes it is on the back.......but it
is soooooo bluddy hard to get on and off I would be very surprised
if it even moved located anywhere on the wagon........
Michael
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 18:21
Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 18:21
Thanks Michael .
Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 19:14
Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 19:14
Michael,
I have done the same, I think I have the wrong size, it was a nice fit on the 265/70R16 but not with the new 285/75R16s it is tight as a fishes bottom.
Nick
Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 20:48
Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 20:48
Good evening Nick,
I purchased one for Marc's car first and he has 265.70R/15 on his GQ.
When I bought
mine I actually telephoned ExplorOz to ensure I got the correct size.
Was sent the same size as Marc's..........one size fits all?????
Was assured it was correct..hmmmmmmm!!
It does fit, but is as tight as the provervbial fishes thingo.
Still, don't think it will fall off......LOL LOL
Michael
Reply By: DesF - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 19:11
Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 19:11
Hi, My mate has had one on the spare wheel on the front of his mazda campervan and has done over 30.000ks and has not had any probs, it used to bow in , in the wind so he put a piece of thin ply in the rim, and it looks great.
Cheers Des.
Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 20:52
Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 20:52
Hi Willie, I have one on the prado (as in rig pic) and it hasnt budged. Very good quality even has the drain hole in the bottom to let any
water out that would get in, rain etc, even the genuine one from Toyota that I had fitted when I bought the prado was nearly rotted out as it didnt contain a drain hole. Wether it would come off yours been front mounted I couldnt say BUT I doubt. Sounds like Davids very confident it wont. Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 20:54
Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 20:54
Sorry, also forgot to say hit David up for a discount since your buying two !!! Sorry David LOL. Regards Steve M
Reply By: Member - 120scruiser (NSW) - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 22:20
Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 22:20
Mine came off my spare last weekend from the front of the camper trailer coming down the
putty road in NSW which is not a fast road. It is the right size cover for the tyre it was on. I wouldn't recommend any tyre cover for the front of a van as the wind turbulance will upset it.
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 08:50
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 08:50
Thanks . I think the secret ( as Signman suggested ) is to place a board of some kind into the front face . This stops the wind blowing it into the hollow and pulling the sides forward .
Willie .
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 01:33
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 01:33
The only reason I have an ExplorOz tyre cover on the back of the camper trailer is to promote ExplorOz while I am exploring Oz. It's kind of like a big window sticker for the tyre.
I also have the spare tyre on the back of the Jack and the original canvas cover died with old age. I now have a "nude" tyre on the back of the Jack and I don't care.
If the spares are on the front of the van, no one will see them much anyway, so I don't think there is much point in covering them up.
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 08:47
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 08:47
Because there is two spares , they are at the sides and are quite visible .
The reason I am covering them though , is to stop the sun buggering them . The two spares on there now , have never moved since the van was purchased in six years ago . They look as though they have been in the sun all that time and are showing signs of deterioration .
Cheers ,
Willie .
Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 16:20
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 16:20
Well, sorry to rain on your parade but I am of the opinion that tyre covers do bugger all in stopping tyres from ageing, so all they really do is advertise what's on the cover.
If your tyres are showing signs of deterioration and are 6 years old, they are probably not much chop as reliable spares.
That is the reason I didn't bother replacing the original cover on the Jack. The rubber compound hardens with age, regardless if the sun is shining on them or not.
Ask yourself this:- Do the tyres that are on the road
wheels have, or need, covers on them to stop ageing???
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 18:50
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 18:50
If the tyres are kept out in the sun for 6 years , they ARE effected more than they would have been with covers .
Rubber compounds do harden with age . Rubber compounds are also adversely affected by ultra violet light .
If a caravan is parked facing north , the four tyres on the van would not suffer , but the two spares on the front would be in the Qld sun every day for six years ( except for the small amount of time they used it ).
I don't ask myself dumb questions but I will give you an answer to the dumb one you posed :
If the four shaded tyres on the van are showing no signs of deterioration , but the two exposed spares are , it is evidence enough that the sun has caused the problem .
Willie
Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 23:55
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 23:55
Willie,
I will ignore your rather aggressive reply.
The reason the road
wheels don't deteriorate to the same level as the spares is because they a being used and remain pliable.
I'm only trying to help you perhaps save $100 or so, if you only want the covers for the reason you gave.
The original spare on my vehicle remained unused and fully enclosed by the Jackaroo's full canvas cover, thus no ultraviolet light "got in".
After 6 years of non use and covered all the time, the Goodyear Wrangler was as hard as an 18 year olds erection. It was disposed of at the tyre dealers as being unreliable for outback travel.
Now, you please yourself mate.
Have a good day.
Reply By: Member -Signman - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 08:41
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 08:41
Isn't it strange that some people can't read a post ??
You DID mention that the spares are on the FRONT of the van.
A very different situation to being on the rear of a vehicle.
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 08:48
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 08:48
Be gentle . I have done the same thing , so I am not going to criticise anybody .
Willie .
Follow Up By: RovingOz (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 10:49
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 10:49
Come on Willie where's the photo of the new van
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 18:29
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 18:29
Elvis is at Traction 4 at the moment getting new brake shoes and bearings . When he returns I will put a picture in my photo gallery .
Your van looks like it does the business .
Willie .
Reply By: The Landy - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 22:11
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 22:11
Hi Willie
I've got one in the garage which doesn't fit anything I have..it is a medium size (from memory), if it fits you're welcome to it. Pop in when you are out walking.....I'm out Thursday (11/10) morning, but around in the afternoon.
baz
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 22:35
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 22:35
Baz,
Tomorrow I have a guy coming down from
Ballina to look at the Trak Shak I have for sale . I think he will turn up around lunchtime so maybe I can get down there in the arvo .
We shall see ,
Thanks ,
Willie