Rabbits
Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 09:47
Andrew from Vivid Adventures
So what is it with the increasing rabbit populations?
Has anyone else noticed this over the last couple of years?
Does anyone seen any information about the effectiveness of the Calcivirus and whether we are going to get plague proportions again?
Andrew who has something he can try to run down now besides camels.
Reply By: QLD Kev - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 09:52
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 09:52
Andrew,
The numbers are increasing due to them watching TV and seeing China has built a big wall to keep them out. The marvels of modern technology, in years gone by they never would have known :))
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 09:55
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 09:55
You're a twit Kev - you know there is no TV coverage in the middle of the
Simpson Desert or the Tanami, but the rabbits are there.
You might be onto something though - they are probably watching it on their NextG phones.
Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 09:58
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 09:58
Now whose a Twit,
Next G can't possibly work out there. Do a search on it enough people have complained about crappy service.
The rabbits probably have
satellite TV
Kev
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 10:41
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 10:41
I did a search and can't find anyone complaining about not getting NextG service in the
Simpson Desert. Must be fine there.
Andrew who prefers to leave his phone off in
the desert.
Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 12:42
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 12:42
Its not the great wall of China keping them out.
its just that someone has sent one to China to have copied and now they are mass producing them by the thousands and sending them here by the container load cheaper than the Aussie rabbit can re-produce.
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 07:52
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 07:52
your both twits...its cdma phones that they use....we all know cdma has better coverage
Reply By: Philip A - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 10:24
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 10:24
I was once standing on the Great Wall at Badaling and who comes up?
A bloke with a 22 and a couple of rabbits over his shoulder.
Regards Philip A
Reply By: Member - Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 10:48
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 10:48
Andrew,
They probably are Chinese rabbits - we get everything else from China - why not rabbits?!?!?!
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 10:49
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 10:49
yep ive noticed it They are saying the unplanned release of calci has reduced its effectiveness as it was meant to be along with other measures in a coordinated effort.
hardly plauge prportions yet but if you remember your biology relating to a sexual vx sexual reproduction and short generation spans i guess it is a matter of time
Reply By: mfewster - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 11:16
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 11:16
G'day Andrew
I posted on this subject about this time last year. I hope the CSIRO mob have another rabbit nastie in preparation, Rabbits plus the big dry. There won't be much left. If you are back from the bike challenge, give me a call.
Reply By: Alan S (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 12:11
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 12:11
What i have noticed is that they are very seasonal. I notice a increase in winter and spring and then decline in early summer. But not a increase in total numbers.
Although i use different methods to control them especially after my paved verandah collapsed one year. I reckon the calicivirus is keeping some control on them.
The other thing since the calicivirus went through is that they appear not to leave droppings around their burrows any more.
Reply By: Member RayJen Paj05 (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 13:12
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 13:12
Andrew: Here in Mittagong there's rabbits galore. Our intrepid hunter Lilly, a
Tenterfield Terrier, does her best on our 1 1/4 acres but the b*ggers separate when she's on the chase and she doesn't know which one to go for!!
BTW rabbits for eating are up to $32/head in
Sydney butcher shops
Reply By: Philip A - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 17:04
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 17:04
By the way the meat rabbit industy in China was destroyed a few years ago by calicivirus. They used ot export heaps to Europe.
Re meat price.
Unfortunately rabbit growers have to get at least $10 a kilo to break even.
A friend and colleague did a study for NSW DSRD( State and Regional Development). Its really so expensive to grow them that theycan never compete with chicken for cost, so are destined to remain a gourmet item.
And back then food was cheap. i bet its twice the cost now.
Regards Philip A
Follow Up By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 21:34
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 21:34
Hairy
Now your telling me there are rabbits in Scrubby Town....
Absolute disgrace! The Federal Government should be pouring millions of dollars in order to control this menace.
What are the name's of these two recalcitrant animals?
Kim
Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 17:36
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 17:36
When they let calicivirus go in the centre it pretty
well wiped them out, only problem was the flea used to carry the virus doesent like the dry heat and has all but died off, might be time for another dose.
Ist a shiitt load better than fostoxin.
Hairy
Reply By: BarryMcKenzie - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 21:54
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 21:54
I heard that the old rabbit killer, 'myxo' is still doing the rounds ok on bunnies but that it's effectiveness was increased after rain periods or it's spread rather.
With bugger all rain about this may have let the rabbits fight back a little?