Navara D22

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 22:46
ThreadID: 50437 Views:4097 Replies:5 FollowUps:2
I have heard from a Nissan dealership owner in Brisbane that Nissan is to re-introduce the D22.

Reasoning is the D40 is far too dear to compete with the volume sales end of the ute market, where vehicles can be had for upwards of $30,000 or so.

Nissan is hurting due to missing out on a lot of sales in this price range

I guess this sounds feasible, since the emissions of 3.0 litre engine have been updated sufficiently to sell in the Patrol, so will be OK in the D22.

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 22:59

Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 22:59
Hey gerhard
I believe they are still selling the piece of poos......
http://www.nissan.com.au/navarasingle/
peter
AnswerID: 266012

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 23:05

Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 23:05
That page says "while stocks last", which means the old build dates.

My info is there will be a new lot built which are up to the 2007 emissions standard required, which the old one fails.
FollowupID: 528059

Reply By: OsherG - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 02:29

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 02:29
I was at the Leisurefest camping and RV show on the weekend and the Nissan Berwick people said the following.

The D22 is no longer being imported and the D40 is the only Ute available (aside from the patrol). The D22 is being re-released in a round September 2008 and will again be at the budget-ish end of the 4x4 Ute market to fit back into the volume sales position that the previous forum mentioned.

So there you have from the horses mouth!!!

The D22 is a great Ute and for $32,000 drive away with free bull bar as was the case earlier this year can't be beat, unless of course you have $45k for the D40 or want to waste $53k on a hilux.... what do people think of the other utes out there by the way, bt50 and ranger and triton or is the rodeo a decent Ute you reckon, interesting to see peoples views/experiences....

go nuts....
AnswerID: 266023

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 09:05

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 09:05
Osher,
The D22 may be a great ute if you only drive it in the city and use it as a tradies ute.
Mine is now 16 mths old. I have just returned from a tame trip from sydney to the west and back. By tame I mean the tracks were not all that difficult. Have had 2 bullbars snap, paint peeling off one of the mirror arms and the rear suspension has sagged that bad. It was carrying just over 600kgs on the trip and the springs were bottoming out constantly. I had to cancel a few tracks I wanted to do because I just didn't think it would make it.
I had to wait in Kalgoolie for 2 weeks for a new bullbar and the new one I have snapped on the simpson (french line). It could not possibly be the way I was driving it as I recorded the whole trip day by day on my gps and my average speed was 15kph.
So in my opinion if you need a city 4wd ute then yes they are great. If you want something for the Anne Beadell or CSR then pay the dollars and get a real 4wd.
FollowupID: 528110

Reply By: 93 Navara - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 13:15

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 13:15
At $32,000, theres plenty of saving for must have suspension and barwork!
AnswerID: 266088

Reply By: OsherG - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 13:58

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 13:58
Yep...well fair enough (to teh last two posts) like with all vehicles you have people who love ema nd people who loathe them, I should say that I do not actually drive a D22, but we sell all manner of 4wd parts and many D22 owners who I have spoken can't speak highly enough and really love their trucks for power, comfort, price and fuel economy. Having said that I have never known wherhter they drive to work and back or to the simpson and back, but imagine they wouldn't be shopping for springs, barwork, winches, recovery gear and lights to get teh kids to school and the apprentices to the building site!
AnswerID: 266099

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 16:54

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 16:54
The D40 cant be going to bad, it is the only ute that has out sold hilux (for one month anyway), and continues to sell more of the d40's per month than the d22 ever did. Well thats what the vehicle sales in the mags show
AnswerID: 266132