cooper HT tyres
Submitted: Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 18:05
sparkyray
I recently fitted a set of cooper Ht tyres to my 2002 Pathfinder. I do 20% dirt (reasonable condition) I have run Bridgestone HT for last 6 years without drama, but I ve split sidewalls on 2 of the coopers in first 5000k. Are these tyes suitable for dirt roads. Has anyone else had a similar problem?
Any thoughts on swapping to maxxis tyres. What is the difference in maxxis mr761 and maxxis mr751OWL.
Also of interest is I received no assistance from the Goodyear tyre dealer or from Cooper distributer
Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 18:30
Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 18:30
Maybe you should have checked here first, Coopers would be the most complained about tyre here.
Follow Up By: sparkyray - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 19:51
Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 19:51
Yes!!! I agree with you.(now I know) The tyre distributer won"t.
I guess I will have to chalk this one up to experience and start listening to you guys from now on
Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 19:55
Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 19:55
Have a coopers (stt's though) and they are a good tyre in the right circumstance.
My father has used Cooper HT for as long as I can remember....they never go on dirst road but have done the odd chase of cows through the paddocks and through creeks and not a problem. Gets close to 80,000km out of them.
Have Maxxis also, cannt remember which ones but they are road tyres and they have a done a lbit of dirt road and have coped fine, not a prob. We got a good 30 - 40,000 more km's out of ours to go..
Have a look at what the wall ply is suppose to be on the coopers. I know the stt's are 8ply on the grippy bit and 8 ply wall.stc's are 10 from memory...
Laura
Follow Up By: shieldsee - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 20:22
Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 20:22
I have had a talk with the missus who knows our tyre bloke pretty
well, and the HT tyre are a road tyre. However if it was me I would keep at Coopers and the tyre
shop that sold them to you, if anything if you explained to the tyre
shop what you were going to be doing (most ask) and they sold you the tyres it comes down to being their fault as they werent sold to you as being what you wanted them for. Quensland has the fair trading dept. Sometimes just even a mention of them gets everyone trying to help you out. But thats only on a rare occasion.
Reply By: shieldsee - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 18:31
Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 18:31
One problem i have heard of is that the lugs come off. It got so bad that they no longer purchase coopers at all. I would take the tyres back and get Coopers to supply you with new tyres, it may have been a bad batch??
Follow Up By: sparkyray - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 19:54
Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 19:54
I would love Coopers to do something. Both the tyre seller ad Cooper are refusing to offer any compensation. They are not even offering anything as trade or even a reasonable discount on my purchasing a new set of tyres.
Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 20:16
Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 20:16
I think sparkyray would know if the lugs had come off... and usually that is not a highway travel issue. Lugs coming off tends to happen more with harsh conditions and aggressive treads like STTs.
More than likely if the Cooper distributor is not getting involved sparkeyray's HTs have been staked or damaged by stone impact ... perhaps the he might tell us more.
Follow Up By: shieldsee - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 20:24
Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 20:24
I was just telling what our experience was with them nothing more, the lugs coming off were on a offroad tyre not the HT, it was just a comment. Saying that we had heard problems as
well.
Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 20:12
Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 20:12
What does the Goodyear Tyre Dealer have to do with it?
Have you spoken to a Cooper Tyres dealer - preferably the one the tyres came from?
How did you split the sidewalls? After all, they are HTs and highways and dirt roads do not stake sidewalls.
Anyways, sorry I can't help with the Maxxi but think that there must be more of a story than is in your OP.
Follow Up By: sparkyray - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 20:39
Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 20:39
Dirt roads in this instance damage sidewalls (coopers anyway) Yes there werre stones on the dirt road, but we are talking about a grades dirt road outskirts of
Brisbane with stones about 25mm dia, which have never damaged a sidewall on the Bridgestones HT
Follow Up By: sparkyray - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 20:44
Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 20:44
The Goodyear tye dealer has everything to do with it. They sold the tyres and have a duty to look after teir customers. I also approached Cooper. All parties are not interested. I am interested if anyone else is having problems with sidewall damage on Cooper HT. when driven on gazetted dirt roads. Hey fellas, we are not talking off road here, but our tyre dealers think that you must be driving over the rough stuff to do sidewall damage.
Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 20:50
Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 20:50
perhaps drop me an email seeing as I can't MM you - andrew@vividadventures.com.au
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 21:16
Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 21:16
Sparkyray,
The tyre manufacturer provides warranty against manufacturing defects. So the dealer you buy the tyres off can only refer the matter to Cooper tires. If Cooper says no, then its Cooper tires you need to do battle with.
Any chance you can post a photo of the damage??
Follow Up By: sparkyray - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 09:47
Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 09:47
I do not consider my splitting problem a maufacturing defect. Both the tyre dealer and cooper has stated that the tyres were damaged from "outside forces". My beef is that I was travelling on fairly normal graded dirt roads for about 1 km, which I believed to be within the advertised realm of the tyres. Cooper seems to beieve this is off road. reading other
forum discussion verifies that cooper generally will not warrant their tyres (even At) if taken off bitumen. Most of my driving is highway with sand and dirt roads (graded) being about 10% of mix. All conversations with experts point to correct selection of HT tyres for road handling and speed rating as per tyre placard from manufacturer.
Camera needs new batteries at moment, but imagine a sidewall split 50mm long.
Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 21:49
Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 21:49
Sparkyray
Sometimes if you have the tyre pressure too high, the splitting you have described can happen.
No doubt the manufacturer would would turn 'deaf' if they thought this might be the case.
Reply By: Rock Ape - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 06:38
Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 06:38
Coopers themselves start your tyre is 90% bitumin and 10% dirt so go and stick it to them
Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 08:30
Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 08:30
And to play devil's advocate, he does 20% dirt... and 20% is more than 10%.
A rock impact is a rock impact is a rock impact. A stake is a stake is a stake.
Your speed, tyre inflation (and deflation for dirt roads), the weight you carry and your ability to negotiate around the bigger rocks is critical in determining if you will sustain rock impact damage on a dirt road.
I don't know whether is Goodyear Dealer is an authorised Cooper dealer, but at a glance, they probably should have directed him towards an ATR if they were in possession of all the facts.
That said, he would be
well advised to either start getting his tyre dealer advocating for him, and if the dealer won't then take the damaged tyres to Exclusive Tyres in Brissy and make a common sense rational case without histrionics. I'd be surprised if he didn't succeed regardless of the merits of the case.
Follow Up By: Rock Ape - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 12:13
Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 12:13
Mate stop repeating yourself. A rock impact is a rock impact is a rock impact, so is a gutter is a gutter is a gutter.
6yrs on HT tyres and no problem, now he has a problem. He only uses them 10% on dirt don't you Sparkyray.
Maybe ll the conjecture you have made about the damage could be correct but also the tryes may have failed.
I run Cooper AT's and have had no problems, so I am not biased, but with all the posts about problems with Cooper something must be amiss with batches of their product.
I also do a tad of dirt driving about 90% dirt and 10%bitumin, destroy a set of mudders(not coopers but a
well known brand) about every 5000K. Run into town on dirt and bitumin on HT's at high speed and don't tear sidewalls out
Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 17:58
Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 17:58
But is there a problem with Cooper tyres or is it they sell more then the other manufactures hence the more so called claims.
I don't think a tyre manufacture would release a bad tyre and keep it in the market.....maybe a bad batch.
I think they way manufactures say that their tyres are a 80% road 20% dirt tyre is wrong.
Thy should rate the tyre for the use.
I would not reconmend a HT tyre for any 4X4 and in some applications soft roaders as
well.
I think alot of tyre damage is owner abuse, expecting more then the tyre can do, using it for the wrong comditions and tyre pressure.
Regards Richard
Reply By: sparkyray - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 10:00
Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 10:00
I will try to make this my last comment. Thank you all for your advice. Yes, I know it is only my and the witness's word on what thecondition of the roads are. My and the witness(4wd club member) opinion is one of astonishment that I could receive sidewall damege on this road.
The tyre seller was a Cooper dealer (Goodyear at Wooloongabba). I have as previously stated, drivren on much worse roads and forest tracks for 6 years on Bridgestone HT tyres. There was no load in the vehicle, except 2 adults and 2 kids. The tyre pressures were 32psi (measured by the dealer) which prompted them to state that I should be running 28PSI on dirt no matter how short the distance.
I am still hoping that Cooper will come to the party (allready discussing this with them and so far the reaction is stiff chedder)and at least offer some discount on replacement tyres, as I have asked. I am willing to pay the difference and even wear these tyres, but I expect at least a discount on new tyres. So far the only offer from the Goodyear dealer was a price that I was able to better from a neighbouring dealer within 1 hour. SERVICE????
Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 10:35
Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 10:35
I had the same problem with Light Truck construction STs, the people following me couldn't believe that 2 tyres failed on a level track strewn with loose rocks, beside a river.
If Coopers are genuine about their warranty, why is
Sydney,
Melbourne &
Brisbane only?
Follow Up By: PradOz - Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 22:45
Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 22:45
I had a coopers tyre fault that caused us a near serious accident. luckily for us all turned out okay - ended up with a full car respray and some new glass and 2 new tyres - so cant complain. it was only one tyre with the fault. i took it to another tyre dealer for an opinion first and they showed me why it was a faulty tyre. so i then took it to the dealer i bought off only to have him tell me it was all my fault and the tyre was perfect - no faults. after some discussion he agreed to sell me another tyre (as i was about to go away on holidays within two days) on the condition he return the suspect tyre for checking at coopers head office.
whilst on holidays i got a call to say coopers recognised the fault and so i got a new tyre on return less the cost for the wear on the damaged tyre. i was happy enough as it gave me 5 coopers tyres now and the cost to me was negligible.
however the interesting thing was the other tyre dealer i went to told me to go elsewhere (within 30 minutes) as they would have better after sales service.
the problem as i see it is coopers limit the dealers to ONE in any location that can sell their product, which tends to make some have an ego problem and become arrogant. I have had the coopers for about 3 or 4 years now and would definately buy them again. i obviously have a good reason to change but wont as the positives outweigh the negatives. i have the ATs which i think is a better option to HTs which really are a road tyre (to my understanding) ps. sometimes i see jealousy as a reason why some will curse the cooper tyres. how many of you that are bagging coopers have actually had them for a period of time and used them off road.
cheers mick
Follow Up By: PradOz - Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 22:45
Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 22:45
I had a coopers tyre fault that caused us a near serious accident. luckily for us all turned out okay - ended up with a full car respray and some new glass and 2 new tyres - so cant complain. it was only one tyre with the fault. i took it to another tyre dealer for an opinion first and they showed me why it was a faulty tyre. so i then took it to the dealer i bought off only to have him tell me it was all my fault and the tyre was perfect - no faults. after some discussion he agreed to sell me another tyre (as i was about to go away on holidays within two days) on the condition he return the suspect tyre for checking at coopers head office.
whilst on holidays i got a call to say coopers recognised the fault and so i got a new tyre on return less the cost for the wear on the damaged tyre. i was happy enough as it gave me 5 coopers tyres now and the cost to me was negligible.
however the interesting thing was the other tyre dealer i went to told me to go elsewhere (within 30 minutes) as they would have better after sales service.
the problem as i see it is coopers limit the dealers to ONE in any location that can sell their product, which tends to make some have an ego problem and become arrogant. I have had the coopers for about 3 or 4 years now and would definately buy them again. i obviously have a good reason to change but wont as the positives outweigh the negatives. i have the ATs which i think is a better option to HTs which really are a road tyre (to my understanding) ps. sometimes i see jealousy as a reason why some will curse the cooper tyres. how many of you that are bagging coopers have actually had them for a period of time and used them off road.
cheers mick
Follow Up By: PradOz - Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 22:47
Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 22:47
sorry for the stutter but the computer locked up .. mick
Reply By: Old Mal - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 14:14
Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 14:14
Next time go with B F Goodrich All Terrain T/A's. We did 14,000 km from
Perth to
Birdsville & back last year via mostly offroad tracks and this year we have just completed a 20,000 km round Oz trip - with heaps of very rough dirt tracks across the top. Estimate we have done 50% dirt and 50% blacktop with these tyres which have now done 45,000 km and I reckon we'll get another 25,000 km out of them. Our rig is a 2003 GU Nissan Patrol tray back ute with a Supreme Sunray slide on camper so we are pretty heavy once all packed up with fuel,
water etc. We have never even had a flat tyre so far but last trip we traveled part way with a friend who had brand new Coopers on his Cruiser and he had a flat the first day out of
Perth ! (Road kill 'Roo bone through tread). He's since had another tyre fail and it got shredded before he could pull up so don't know the reason for that.
I would not consider any other tyre now