Next G Nokia Fiasco continues

Submitted: Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 18:38
ThreadID: 50585 Views:3941 Replies:10 FollowUps:15
For those that are interested, I waited till the Nokia Next G was released and last week took advantage of Harvey Normans free bluetooth GPS deal. Couldn't be happier..NOT. After a week of trying to get the Phone to talk to the GPS, I find out today that the Uniden GPS is not compatible with the Nokia 6120.
What the...

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 19:01

Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 19:01
Fair go, Steve, it was a sweetener. You didn't expect it to be compatible as well, did you?
Anyway, how does the Nokia perform as a phone?
Gerry
AnswerID: 266704

Follow Up By: Member - Phantom (WA) - Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 19:08

Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 19:08
Don't know Joc as I haven't been "out " but my only criticism is that the freaking buttons are very small if you have big fingers.
FollowupID: 528919

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 19:54

Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 19:54
Agree about the small buttons. Took me awhile to learn how to navigate around all the functions. Haven't tried the in-built GPS function yet though.

FollowupID: 528934

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 19:06

Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 19:06
I must have missed something here???

How can a "free" offer by Harvey Norman be reflective of the Next G Network and or Telstra??

Your complaint is with Harvey Norman and the dills in their sales dept who structured a deal that offered you a product that did not talk to each other.

AnswerID: 266706

Follow Up By: Member - Phantom (WA) - Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 19:14

Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 19:14
Wrong John, The deal is with Telstra. HN 's submit a claim to Telstra and get reimbursed the cost of the GPS. (So they tell me)
I am on first name terms with my friends at Harveys as I have just spent about $8000 with them so I am inclined to believe. I asked if I could pay extra and get a GPS that is Bluetooth compatible and they said Telstra only allow certain models. The offer extended to LG and Samsung phones which may be compatible. Reports on this Forum put me off those models.
I have spoken to Uniden at length and have now asked if that phone will be made compatible. Wait and see now.
FollowupID: 528920

Reply By: disco driver - Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 19:11

Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 19:11
Hi Phantom,
Was the GPS advertised as being compatible with the Nokia?

My TV's advert only said "Buy the phone, get the GPS free".
No mention of compatibility.

You cannot assume that it is so.

Your thread headline is incorrect and you have no cause to complain....unless either doesn't work properly.

Disco.
AnswerID: 266707

Follow Up By: Member - Phantom (WA) - Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 19:19

Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 19:19
Hi Disco,
You are correct, I believe that there are several GPS available in the offer, the Uniden, the only one that has Bluetooth, which I selected as the phone has GPS. It may be my ignorance as technologically disadvantaged but I could rationally assume that they would be compatible. I believe it is only because the phone is a new model as well and Uniden haven't kept up the pace.
FollowupID: 528923

Follow Up By: disco1942 - Tuesday, Oct 16, 2007 at 01:02

Tuesday, Oct 16, 2007 at 01:02
So - that brings us back to your answer to Reply 2 - you purchased your equipment from Hardly Normal so that makes them responsible for any claim you make.

FollowupID: 529000

Reply By: Pomgonewalkabout - Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 19:47

Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 19:47
I'm having a senior moment here and only turned 47 last week! But why would you want a mobile phone to talk to a GPS?

Anyway last week I purchased a LG on the Next G network only because my dog chewed up my old Nokia CDMA phone. Yesterday I got that to talk to my Ipaq handheld PC that I use with my Garmin GPS III with Ozi Explorer

AnswerID: 266719

Follow Up By: Member - Phantom (WA) - Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 20:02

Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 20:02
Hi Pom,
I have them every day, that's why this is all so confusing.
I don't want the phone to talk to the GPS but through its bluetooth capacity. Which means I can make and take calls through the GPS unit without touching the phone. Its becomes a hands free unit and the phone can be buried in the bottom of your wifes handbag.
It may be that I am unreasonable but I would have thought (and expected) that if I bought a new phone that the free offer of a Bluetooth GPS that they would be compatible.
FollowupID: 528935

Follow Up By: Dustin - Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 21:31

Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 21:31
Thanks for asking that question, I was wondering too but didn't want to ask :-)

FollowupID: 528965

Follow Up By: disco1942 - Tuesday, Oct 16, 2007 at 01:08

Tuesday, Oct 16, 2007 at 01:08
That's a new one to me - a GPS with audio. I thought you would use a headset to make hands free calls with a mobile phone, not a GPS.

FollowupID: 529001

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 10:27

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 10:27
G'day mate
As a follow up to a post a couple of weeks ago..
OK got myself a Nokia 6120 'phone (Bluetooth)..and have an iPAQ PDA with Ozi etc working...(also Bluetooth)...
Sooooo- question is- What & How can I utilize this technology.
Be gentle coz I'm not a real TechHead...
FollowupID: 531673

Follow Up By: Member - Phantom (WA) - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 17:47

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 17:47
Hi Signman,
I think the answer to your question is covered in Follow up 1 above. I couldn't get the Uniden GPS with bluetooth to work with the phone so I swapped it with my daughters Mio GNS8365. It now works as the audio unit for the phone so I can make and receive calls hands free through the GPS. I don't know about PDA's unless it has audio functions.
I am happy with the phone and the GPS is fantastic, although I must admit I still have trouble connecting every time with the bluetooth facilty.
FollowupID: 531747

Reply By: Pomgonewalkabout - Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 20:06

Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 20:06
I see,
You would have thought that anything that is Bluetooth would be compatible?
AnswerID: 266725

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 21:15

Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 21:15
Harvey Norman are a pretty good mob to deal with. Surely they would help you with this?
AnswerID: 266738

Follow Up By: Member - Phantom (WA) - Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 21:31

Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 21:31
Hey Brew69,
I agree as they are great. On this occasion their hands are tied. They will give me back the GPS which isn't bluetooth compatible with the Nokia. As I said I have approached Uniden for guidance and the next option is I purchase a bluetooth speaker thingy that works with it.
FollowupID: 528964

Reply By: stocky - Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 21:33

Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 21:33
Meh - thats what u get for dealing with "the specialists in everything"
good luck
AnswerID: 266745

Reply By: Dustin - Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 21:40

Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 21:40
Bluetooth hands-free speakerphone

What a pain, I have one of these: and it works great. Don't know if it works with the Nokia or not.

http://www.ht.com.au/N/0/keyword/hands+free/part/S3951/detail.hts

But having a bluetooth car kit working with your GPS would have been good. One less piece of kit in the car.

Good luck getting this issue resolved and let us know how you go.
AnswerID: 266747

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 21:42

Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 21:42
So, in actual fact it is a Telstra, or Uniden fiasco, rather than a Nokia one?

AnswerID: 266748

Follow Up By: Member - Phantom (WA) - Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 22:43

Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 22:43
Sandman, It is a hard question. Individually they are all fine. Telstra swapped over my CDMA immediately at no charge. The GPS is acceptable and has no problems and works fine. The Nokia 6120 is a great phone with the extras that most of us older folk don't want or need, but it works fine.
The only drama I have is that they obviously didn't talk to each other when they introduced this special deal.
You get that!
FollowupID: 528981

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 16, 2007 at 09:38

Tuesday, Oct 16, 2007 at 09:38
Steve,

I can understand your frustration and this sort of thing is not uncommon with bluetooth technology.

I have a Haicom 4 in 1 holder for my PDA which can with a bluetooth enabled GPS. Problem was, I could not get the bloody thing talking to the PDA via bluetooth. It worked fine via the physical connection but meant the PDA was tied to the holder.
So I bought a Globalstar Bluetooth GPS and that works fine. Some products are just not "compatible" with others.

Now, the Nokia 6120 bluetooth connection works extremely well and reliably with both the Nokia CK-W7 car kit and the Nokia HDW-3 "headset" which I refer to as an "earpiece".

Actually, the 6120 has an interesting feature.
You cannot manually "tag" contact names with a voice tag, but every entry is automatically assigned a voice tag and although when making a voice activated call, the computerised voice sounds wierd, it works first time in my experience.
Better still, you can enter a person's home, business and mobile contact numbers under the one single entry and still make voice activated calls to each separate contact number depending on how you enter them. As long as they are unique, the voice activated capability works very well.
So if I enter Bill - Home, Bill - Work, Bill - Cell, all included under "Bill" it will recognise each with a separate voice tag.
Bloody good I reckon.

So far, I cannot fault the 6120 even though I purely use it as a phone and don't use all the other internet features, etc.
The only thing I am "hanging out for" is the cradle, or car holder, to link it to the CK-7W for car charging and external aerial link and I don't give a bugger if this is via a coupler or not.
In the meantime, the bluetooth connection is automatic when I turn the ignition on and with auto answer enabled and one touch activation of voice activated calling via the remote button, I'm legal and laughing.

See Ya!
Bill.

FollowupID: 529056

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 20:30

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 20:30
Hi Sandman, just cruising around trying to learn a bit more on Next G phone capabilities and thought this Whirlpool thread might be of interest, given your post on car kit problems.
I'd don't understand it all, but I'm sure you will.
Interesting comment is that it is claimed the 6120 will get 5db gain out of a 6.5db antenna without direct coupling. A reduction, but not a bad outcome under the circumstances, if it is right.
My big worry all along has been getting a good phone (we always prefer Nokia), but with good remote area capability. The 6120 has no 'Blue Tick' so is not recommended by Telstra.
Nokia 6120 and CK-7W
FollowupID: 531810

Reply By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Oct 16, 2007 at 14:39

Tuesday, Oct 16, 2007 at 14:39
I would have bought the Nokia wherever and bought a Holux Bluetooth GPS elsewhere. They are cheap and super reliable, haven't seen the Uniden version.
AnswerID: 266828

Follow Up By: mike2ronnie - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 15:46

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 15:46
so where is the best placeBunbury area to purchase nokia 6210 and does the old nokia chargers still fit this one power one and car charger or do we need to buy the whole set again?
FollowupID: 529348