Check out Channel 7 Tonight

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 16:29
ThreadID: 50637 Views:3185 Replies:9 FollowUps:9
I just read on another forum about Channel 7 Sydney having an article about Appin and the reckless damage caused by 4WD's.

Article fron local paper about it

What hope do we have when they cant report things correctly. They are not wombat holes, they are just large ruts.

Reply By: QLD Kev - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 16:50

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 16:50
This is the You Tube link in the article

AnswerID: 267017

Follow Up By: George_M - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 17:50

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 17:50
...what a difference a diff locker or two makes...
Come any closer and I'll rip your throat out!

FollowupID: 529385

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 18:17

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 18:17
They just showed some of that footage on the News. What a load of bleep .
They pretty much said that an unloaded Fire Tanker couldn't traverse most of the tracks in question. But I cant see how the footage they are up in arms about did any further damage to the track. If they were wet that would be another issue.

The local Appin 4wd community have spent a lot of time and effort in the area with clean ups, as they don't want to lose a great 4wd area.

FollowupID: 529391

Follow Up By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 18:21

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 18:21
Yep, thats all we need, another bunch of morons "big noting" themselves on You Tube and then the media get a hold of it.
FollowupID: 529394

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 20:14

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 20:14
QLD Kev, saw that myself on the 7 news. What a joke. They say that the 4wdrives were chewing up the track and they are doing the damage shown and is stopping the fire trucks getting in. Mate I would like to know when was the last time that area that was shown on the news was grated ready for the fire trucks to gain entry if needed in an emergency. Dont reckon there's been any track repairs in a bloody long time. Today Tonight, wish they let us have our say on air instead of just showing this and the general public thinking we are all ratbags. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 529417

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 20:59

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 20:59
if they throw enough bleep ... it will stick... no matter how big the lies arew

that front page probably did 15 yrs worth of damage alone to 4wding image.
FollowupID: 529431

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 12:59

Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 12:59
Kev
I watched about the first 45 seconds , why didn't they drive around the detour where the bloke with the camera was running, ...city slickers eh, A complete load of BS

FollowupID: 529911

Reply By: Dunedigger - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 21:26

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 21:26
The track shown is in poor repair for two reasons.

1. The land owner, SF or NPWS have not done any work in the track for years, The road needs drainage and regular maintenance.

2. Bloody 4WD drivers out on the tracks while the tracks are still wet and muddy.

In dry weather the use of the track is fine, Just blame the Land owner for poor maintenance AND not policing the use during wet weather.

The use of tracks in wet weather DOES need more policing by clubs and individuals

Dunedigger
AnswerID: 267083

Reply By: wdric - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 21:44

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 21:44
R yes the youtube phenomenon

One day someone will unwitingly post a video of someone doing something stupid in a sensitive area and all hell will break loose.
The world is getting much smaller with technology.
There are now eyes in the bush!

Although this is a beat up, one day it might your favourite little spot put in the spotlight so look after it.
AnswerID: 267087

Reply By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 06:36

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 06:36
Didn't see the story but doesn't surprise me about channel 7. Happens all of the time.

Last week they had headlines of "Sudanese gangs terrorise supermarket". The footage they showed as 'proof' were all white people, no Africans at all!!

Shame most people get their so-called 'news' fed to them by these commercial station fools.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 267121

Reply By: Ozboc - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 16:25

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 16:25
Friend of mine rang the news paper in the morning and Fully explained how it is - with such terms as WOMBAT HOLES and such - Also informed them that the 4x4 club he is with often has Clean up days and Tree plantings in various national parks ....

the news papers reply was that they had NO IDEA about all those things 4x4 drivers do and the terminology we use. Makes you wonder how a "reporter" gets a job for a news paper when they ONLY research half of the story ..

Boc
AnswerID: 267201

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 16:28

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 16:28
It is all about the Headlines and the public reaction.

Kev

FollowupID: 529591

Reply By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 08:05

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 08:05
There is one way to at least try and help voice your opinion, and that is don't purchase the papers, don't watch those Tripe TV programs.

I personally refuse to watch or read anything that comes from these media outlets. All they are interested in is sensationalism to try and help flog a crap product.

The unfortunate thing is that there is a large majority of individuals in the wider community who cannot think for themselves and quite happily just believe the vomit they are force fed by these unscrupulous organisations, and form their opinions accordingly.
AnswerID: 267319

Reply By: ferog - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 16:34

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 16:34
Firstly I'm not familiar with using this forum however I posted in another topic on this already.

How would you feel if you were out on a club trip driving responsibley, you later see your vehicle shown on the front page of a paper then on the TV and you're being label a reckless hoon who was driving illegally and ruining wombat habitat?

I think it is important that we don't assume what the media portrays as actual fact.

I've attached the link to the Outerlimits 4x4 thread regarding this news article and the people involved in the video.

http://carl.outerlimits4x4.com/viewtopic.php?t=122843&start=0

Just to clarify, the You Tube video shown involved Club Members on a Club Trip, in no way were they "Hooning" nor were they driving unauthorised or recklessly through Appin.
The video footage dug up by theMacArthur Chronicle is over 9 months old (News must be REAL slow at the moment!)

The video was labelled 'Wombat Holes".
Those who understand four wheel driving terms know this does not imply an actual Wombat Burrow, it simply is a term for a series of dips in a track. In no way are these 'Wombat Holes' shown in the video an existing or previous animal habitat.

If you look at the facts from the OL thread it is quite obvious the story holds absolutely no credit and the article is an insult to responsible four wheel drivers everywhere including the boys and girls in the you tube video.

If they can turn a responsible club day out into a blatant lie and in turn stimulate a media beat up on all four wheel drivers- what chance does any one in Australia have of pursuing any hobby involving and respectful use of the Australian outdoors. It starts with us the four wheel drive community, it won't be long before the media finds a way to twist the truth on water sports, cyclists, trail bikes etc.

The thread holds information on how you can help fight back against such spine-less discrimination against the Four Wheel Drive Community and ensure the media doesn't pursue this avenue of story telling in future.
AnswerID: 267383

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 16:42

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 16:42
I'm hearing what your saying, hence my post here on ExplorOZ.

I'm just bleep that the media can get away with this.

FollowupID: 529757

Reply By: Member - R Send - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 17:08

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 17:08
So in order to provide some balance to the situation why don't one of the clubs, or the individuals concerned contact the programme and ask for some time to show what 4WD clubs do and how they look after the contryside, not ruin it?

There are lots of good constructive actions that the sport takes (as witnessed by the various stories on these forums) - lets get them out there!

It's all well and good pontificating on these things, and being critical - if you want the sport to be shown in a fair light then you will need to force the issue and put yourselves in the spotlight in a responsible manner.
AnswerID: 267389

Follow Up By: ferog - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 06:36

Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 06:36
Exactly, the work is currently underway. It is a shame it has taken this to get it out there. I think from now on everyone including myself will be making more of an effort to parade the goodness there is involved in our sport, it does help people get a better understanding of what we are really like and in a way is a pre-defence against the bullsh*t that the media feeds to the public.

FollowupID: 529873

Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 19:14

Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 19:14
Even though it is exaggerated, we aren't all exactly squeaky clean, you only have to look at the damage done at Huggetts Crossing or the 'circle work' at Merrington's or more recently O'Toole's.
(All in Victoria)
AnswerID: 267562