Tom Tom Navigator

Submitted: Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 16:54
ThreadID: 50698 Views:2392 Replies:8 FollowUps:9
OK where's the technology Guru's. Can the Tom Tom XL tell you what speed you are travelling Etc or am I better off getting a Nuvi 310 or 610??

I want to get it for SWMBO's B'Day and will eventually get the Garmin GPSmap 276c with 4wd tourer option.

Opinions please.

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 19:04

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 19:04
Kev
Probably can , I never looked at one , Mate if your going to get a Garmin 276C later you would be better of getting a Garmin now, Files, Waypoints, map software, will be compatible.
Tom Tom's must be OK or Johnny Appleseed would not be selling them .

Doug

AnswerID: 267403

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 19:07

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 19:07
For the basic starter for SWMBO do you reckon I'd be better with the Nuvi 310 or spend the extra dollars and get the 610

FollowupID: 529791

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 19:31

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 19:31
Kev
Sure you don't mean a 660
Yes the 310 would be ideal , better still have a look at the 250W
Same size as the 660 without all the frills and cheaper than a 310.
Garmin Nuvi 250W

.Doug

FollowupID: 529803

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 19:40

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 19:40
Yeah I meant 660 :)

I hadn't though of the 250W, The options are endless LOL

FollowupID: 529809

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 19:08

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 19:08
Yes,

Site Link

However, I don't think the TomTom One XL will do auto route recalculation. I may be wrong though, I sometimes am:-)

AnswerID: 267406

Reply By: Laura aka diver 1 - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 19:36

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 19:36
Check to see if it has the adaption for the house map..re details of where vacuum cleaner, Iron & ironing board, washing machine is kept and the most important is the clothes line.....LOL

Couldnt help myself Zev....

Kiwi
AnswerID: 267411

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 19:41

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 19:41
Is that so you can find them when you come to clean my house??

Zev

FollowupID: 529811

Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 08:41

Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 08:41
Na....for you to use....Peta knows where everything is I guess....no good to me if its not in my car!!!

Kiwi
FollowupID: 529889

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 08:56

Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 08:56
I guess you have seen how good a 1 year old does when trying to vacuum LOL

Zev

FollowupID: 529891

Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 09:02

Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 09:02
I got Amy a vacumm cleaner - a kids version - for her birthday....the first thing she did was get a handle full of dog food and try to vacuum it up ! ! !she was geting really cross cos it wasnt going up the thing..LOL...but they do a good job of wiping the sliding door down!!!!!

kiwi....by the way how's Al going with the car???? Cannt wait for photos....Nathan walked passed as i was looking at it,..he had no idea what it was until he had a closer look!!!! He thought it was a burnt out car or something!!!

Kiwi,,again..
FollowupID: 529892

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 09:19

Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 09:19
As far as I know the rear wall is tacked in and waiting to be fully fixed. Al was in Perth this week so not much happened but you can't rush perfection :))

Zev

The kid vacuum get pulled out every week the cleaner turns up Ashley loves to help but she has a habit of creating more mess than actual cleaning LOL

FollowupID: 529893

Reply By: bruce - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 20:41

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 20:41
Yes it can...I have the tomtom 1 which I believe is similar , also tells remaining distance to go . eta at present speed and heaps of other things ..has lots of different voices...had people in the car the other day and they were amazed at sweet female telling me when and where to turn ...got mine at tricky dickys on a special promotion...cheers
AnswerID: 267427

Reply By: allblack55 - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 21:10

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 21:10
Hi Kev,

Yes the TomTom XL will display speed, and they are extremely easy to use. (Ideal pressie for SWMBO)

We recently bought a TomTom for a trip to the West and it was brilliant for what we required, we however also have a Garmin/dash mount screen/pc plus Ozi for off road navigation.

It`s horses for courses.

Give some thought to what you actually need before spending twice.

Leigh.
AnswerID: 267434

Reply By: jskogsta - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:39

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:39
I believe you can. I have a Tom Tom One, and it does tell me the speed I am going on as well. Should be the same 'OS' on it.. can't remember off the top of my head what I had to do to do it, but I had to enable some kind of extended screen information. Ie showing time, distance, speed etc.... quite small 'writing' on the screen, but the XL is somewhat bigger than the XL, so may be better on that one than what I have on mine. /Jorgen
Portaled 79 series with rego VALHAL. Selcal 1510 VKS. Nissan 4x4 Club of Victoria & Trakmaster Owners Club.

AnswerID: 267450

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 08:12

Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 08:12
Look for Preferences in your setup and its usually in there. Gives you options as to what to show on the screen when travelling.
That is presuming all Tom Toms use he same menu system.
I have Tom tom Mobile 5 and thats how you do it
AnswerID: 267479

Reply By: Steve - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 11:59

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 11:59
I still run an original TomTom and it does show speed and also re-calculates when I have, erm...."blonde moments" ;-) and miss my turn.
AnswerID: 267639

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 12:17

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 12:17
I thought only Roachie had those moments LOL

FollowupID: 530010