Ghostly Hitch Hiker?

Submitted: Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:00
ThreadID: 50705 Views:3696 Replies:20 FollowUps:24
I was out on a station during the week performing some tasks and accommodation provided was in the Old Homestead building. This is a rambling building, dating back to the early 1900’s and made from timber and corrugated iron, with a centre hallway and verandas all around. I was the only occupant there and expected the floorboards to creak and the tin to contract at night.

The first night I heard the usual sounds and what sounded like someone in the kitchen mucking around with dishes. The second night I thought I heard the sound of a tin being opened with a can opener. The third night was very windy outside and all house noises were drowned out. Every time I walked through the kitchen I experienced goose-bumps and the hair on my neck ‘shivered’ a tad. Ahhh, just your imagination me lad, I thought. Then came last night……………………

I walked into the house at 9.45pm in the dark and immediately my hair stood on end! But I continued down the hallway to my room. I went to bed and read a book for a short while, listening to the creaking house. Doused the light at around 10.30pm and was in the process of dropping off into a deep sleep when I thought I felt something touch my beard! Then a strong perfume wafted through the room. I flicked the light switch but there was nothing there. Bugger. I thought my luck had changed! But my goose-bumps were running rampant all over my arms and back, and my hair, what there is left of it, wouldn’t lie down. “Oh, bleep -off”, I declared to the open space, switched the light off again and dropped back onto my pillow. But whoever it was, wouldn’t let go and by now I had goose-bumps on top of goose-bumps. I grabbed my sleeping bag and other stuff and walked out of the house into the moonlight towards my wagon. The ghostly feeling followed me out and along the footpath until I got to the gate and then it left me. I made my bed and slept soundly in the back of the Nissan until first light. In the morning the house was quiet and whoever it was, had left.

I asked around the station about the house being haunted but no one could recall an incident. I even asked the previous owner later in the day but he also could not recall any incident. However, his wife passed away many years ago and is buried across the creek up on a hill. Maybe she was on a nightly kitchen run.

Then again, I could have picked up a ghostly hitch hiker along the way on Monday when I stopped for a snack in a neighbouring town?

There are things in life, which are unexplainable.

Reply By: Desertrose - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:18

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:18
Gave me goosebumps just reading it Willem!
What a cool place to stay........but probably not without the reassuring presence of someone else in THIS physical realm. :)
Richard commented to me after steering me to this post "Why don't exciting things like that ever happen to us?" (meaning to HIM) to which I rolled my eyes and thought to myself.....
"Richard could trip OVER a ghost and not realise it was there!"

Anyway, I agree, there ARE things in life that are definitely unexplainable.
AnswerID: 267438

Follow Up By: RFLundgren (WA) - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:35

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:35
Yes there are some things in life that are unexplainable, but I still want to know why nothing exciting such as this ever happens to me.

FollowupID: 529843

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:44

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:44
RFLundgren
Travell with Willem ....spmething's sure to happen

FollowupID: 529848

Follow Up By: RFLundgren (WA) - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:51

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:51
Doug

Might just have to do that I think, although Tracy seems to attract all kind of weird people and occurances, but for some reason I never get to experience them. Maybe I am just too black and white, or at least thats what she keeps on telling me.

FollowupID: 529853

Follow Up By: Desertrose - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:57

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:57
I think it's just as Axles wife said.
Some people are just more receptive to "other worldly" things than others.
Besides Richard, when you SLEEP like the dead how on earth do you expect to HEAR the dead?
FollowupID: 529854

Follow Up By: RFLundgren (WA) - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 23:07

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 23:07
They should be considerate and wake me so as I dont miss out of course

FollowupID: 529857

Reply By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:19

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:19
Hi Willem.
What a an interesting story.
Remind me to never invite you on an outback camping trip!!!.
Regards.
Vince
AnswerID: 267439

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:40

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:40
FollowupID: 529846

Reply By: Rick (S.A.) - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:25

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:25
Hey Willie,

A freind of mine has spent much time in that house (I'm presuming it's keith's).
I'm gunna print this off & snail mail him (he's not on the net) & ask him if he is aware of this "happening"

Will get back to ya

Ps did ya get my email about M Terry?
AnswerID: 267440

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:30

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:30
Hi Rick

Yes was about to answer your mail. There was no attachment re M Terry. Anyways will email soon.

Yes it is the house you mention but wanted to keep it anonymous

FollowupID: 529842

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:27

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:27
Hey Willem.

I've spent a few nights at Koolpin Gorge near coronation hill, home of Bulong and Bulla, also regarded as Djang sites.

These sites are burial sites also known as sickness country.

Every time I've camped there I have felt shivers and had some out there experiences, one old man told me that, that was Mimmi spirit saying hello.

I've also seen Min Min light's in QLD twice as well.

Cheers Steve
AnswerID: 267442

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:42

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:42
Hi Steve

I never experienced any of that in or around Koolpin but did have a similar happening at Deaf Adder Gorge and also out near the Fitzmaurice River. Weird stuff.

FollowupID: 529847

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:29

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:29
Hey Willem.

I've spent a few nights at Koolpin Gorge near coronation hill, home of Bulong and Bulla, also regarded as Djang sites.

These sites are burial sites also known as sickness country.

Every time I've camped there I have felt shivers and had some out there experiences, one old man told me that, that was Mimmi spirit saying hello.

I've also seen Min Min light's in QLD twice as well.

Cheers Steve
AnswerID: 267443

Reply By: Member - Axle - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:29

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:29
Willem!, no personal response from me, but at first reading this post i thought chit where's swmbo?, she's right at home with this!, letting her read the post she said with out battering a eye lid, your energy that surrounds you attracted the ghost.. A hundred people could go into the house and not feel anything!

It appears the ghost made its presents felt as it obvisously did not want you in the house. Mmmm, Dunno!!.If it where me keep sleepin in the nissan.

AnswerID: 267444

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:44

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:44
G'day Axle

Yes my thoughts too.

I am home again and the dog checked the truck out with no qualms, so the hitch hiker has moved on to somewhere else.

FollowupID: 529849

Reply By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:31

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:31
Bloody hell mate, I am sitting here on my own and looking over my shoulder, geez don't do that to me... spooooky
Cheers Ray
AnswerID: 267446

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:50

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:50
FollowupID: 529851

Reply By: Footloose - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:32

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:32
And had we been partaking previously ? You're a worry Willem LOL
AnswerID: 267447

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:46

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:46
No No only one beer last night....lol
FollowupID: 529850

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:37

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:37
Willem
Have you been......

AnswerID: 267449

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 23:00

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 23:00
Doug,
I think he has a hangover from the bag of them that he ate a week or two ago.
She probably couldn't see his face in the dark and though she was pulling the hairs on his behind.
FollowupID: 529855

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 23:06

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 23:06
Eating mushrooms?.....NO!
FollowupID: 529856

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 23:18

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 23:18
you didn't marinate them in that Wacky backy did ya?
FollowupID: 529858

Reply By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 23:41

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 23:41
There is definately stuff in the spiritual world that we can't see. I have had more than my fair share of the good and bad encounters.

Jo
AnswerID: 267458

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 02:41

Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 02:41
Hi Willem, what a story, what a night???

Like others have said "Why don't these things happen to me???????????? I stayed in the old York Hospital for a week with a school camp but the ghost in there didn't make the slighest appearance but we mum's had a great time pretending!!!!!!!!!!!

Another time we drove into an abandoned community (this was many years ago) and the goose bumps were difinitely up then, couldn't get out quick enough.

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 267464

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 08:16

Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 08:16
Yes and it can be even more spooky when something like that happens in broad daylight.

FollowupID: 529884

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 02:42

Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 02:42
Gday Willem,
I thought the same thing the day you walked in my gate!
Shhit!!!!! ,what a Ghostly character!!!!
But you new I was a gentelman. Hey

AnswerID: 267465

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 08:08

Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 08:08
Cheers Hairy, you are not the first one to say that.....LOL
FollowupID: 529879

Reply By: Gob & Denny(hampton park vic) - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 07:30

Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 07:30
goodday willem & others
when we visited the grave sites at arltunga denny had to leave fairly quickly as she could feel presences and said could also feel the pain and suffering the miners went thru
she doesnt like going back there

AnswerID: 267471

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 08:12

Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 08:12
G'day Steve

Yeah I have heard that before though I was not affected when visiting there.

FollowupID: 529882

Reply By: Member - Rotord - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 07:49

Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 07:49
In our evolutionary past we were often prey . It makes evolutionary sense that we have inbuilt fears to protect us . Something that has no instantly obvious explanation triggers fear . In our past a vague shape in the bushes , a noise or a smell in the dark could have been potentially fatal so a fear response was a useful characteristic to evolve . Couple this with stories of psychic phenomena and away we go . We need to remind ourselves that the only psychic phenomena that we have any real physical evidence of is the tooth fairy .
AnswerID: 267475

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 08:10

Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 08:10
And so there is no God?
FollowupID: 529881

Follow Up By: Desertrose - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 11:14

Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 11:14
I very much believe in energies that have been left behind, not just from those that have passed on but those also, in some cases, who are still alive.
One of the places I have been most affected by in connecting with this kind of residual "energy" is at Uluru.
In fact there are many places in central Australia where I have felt at times almost "watched" in broad daylight.
And, not all of these kinds of things are necessariy "bad" energies either btw, but anything we do not understand usually makes us feel frightened for reasons probably in line with what Rotord said.

Being the rational thinking beings we are we always look to fit our experiences into some kind of category that makes logical sense, but I believe, in line with the evolution side of things, that over time we have actually stopped connecting with that deeply intuitive - perhaps even psychic part of our selves, that possibly served to protect and guide us.
FollowupID: 529901

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 12:18

Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 12:18
Please Willem - dont start a discussion on God - it will not be pretty...better off on some other forum if you ask me....though for anyone undecided on the subject here is an interesting website that gives both sides of story...

Does God Exist? Examining the Question of God's Existence & Nature

FollowupID: 529904

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 12:31

Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 12:31
Reminds me of the dyslexic agnostic who daily pondered the question:

Is there really a Dog?

FollowupID: 529905

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 12:36

Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 12:36
Absolutely Positively Hilarious…and the answer is of course “!oN”

FollowupID: 529906

Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 21:19

Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 21:19
http://www.churchonthecorner.us/id28.html

does it take more faith to not believe??? i think so....

Anyway....Imagine this:

It was the year 1989 ( i was 8 yrs old) and I have managed to get a peanut in my lung but it hasnt been picked up in x-rays taken from all sort of angles. Im in the local hospital a few times for not bing able to breath, my blood cell are going mad...so mad that I am to say goodbye to my friends at school - Im in yr 2 - and then taken up to Camperdown Hospital (npw Westmead Childrens Hospital)....because I have all the syptoms of leukemia and need to start some sort of treatment...so I am admitted to the oncology ward.

Mum doesnt give up (she's an RN...) and takes the x-ray herself...with some help of course....and there you go...a tiny spec is found....

(im getting there....) so they do a Broncioscopy and some fenominal time later (instead of being 30min it took quite a number of hrs) they pull a peanut out...

Anyway, Im there so now the history....In the 1800's there was this nurse that worked in that ward for many yrs the Matron I think - didnt really know the full story - but she was real special...anyway...during one of the next few nights a nurse came in with a candle - not a torch - and wanted to make sure i was alright - but she wasnt wearing the normal nurse outfit - it was the real old type -she had the head gear on and all - but I didnt think anyting of it...I told her to look after the girl in the bed across from me cos she was really sick...She did and the others as well...then on the way out she winked at me......

That was it - never seen again.....

Never thought anything of it until I read something a few yrs ago....

Now thanks alot...Ive now gotta have a shower and tuck the kids in and go to bed all by my self....Thanks...just what I needed!!!!

Laura
FollowupID: 529964

Reply By: Rock Crawler - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 08:11

Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 08:11
Me thinks there might have been some white lighning about lol
AnswerID: 267478

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 08:18

Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 08:18
Ah! yer a non believer....lol and NO the White Lightning was at home....hahahaha

Cheers mate. Its good to see you back again.
FollowupID: 529885

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 08:14

Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 08:14
My house in kalgoorlie waspreviosly owned by an old couple until he passed away.
when I started working away i got a house mate in who lasted Less than a week before fleeing saying the place was haunted with sliding doors being closed before work and open when she got back and the TV turning itself on as well as other stuff she wouldnt elaborate on.
i just thought crazy b%$tch and got another house mate.
a couple of months later i mentioned it to her and she replied Oh yes there was a ghost here,. An ol d man who was walking around the house. being more mature She told him he no longer lived there and should leave.
Yea right
then she described the old man to the guy accross the road
and described Robert the former occupant
AnswerID: 267480

Reply By: Bros 1 - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 09:57

Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 09:57
Willem,
After the first night you would not have got me back in there for quids.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 267494

Reply By: Mamba No 1 - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 20:42

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 20:42
I too have had the hair on the back of my neck at attention, in the Grampians. Not a perfomed lady of the night but some type of creature that fair frightened a significant amount of things from my bowels. I spent the night in the car too, and in the morning ventured out to where I had seen this creature and there were no footprints at all other than my pwn in very soft slimy mud. I am sure a fart would have left an impression in that stuff but nothing from this creature. It had fox like ears but a cat like face and nose, still gives me the shivers when I think of it.
AnswerID: 267713

Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 17:19

Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 17:19
That windy night would have been Tuesday? It blew a fair gale at Mt Little Station near Hawker. I was having enough trouble keeping my swag on the ground without any other complications!

Pete
AnswerID: 267826

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 17:25

Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 17:25
Crikey Willem !!! Next thing you'll be postulating about Yowies and Bunyips not to mention Dropbears etc etc

AnswerID: 267828