DIY Landcruiser oil change

Submitted: Thursday, May 22, 2003 at 13:52
ThreadID: 5071 Views:35889 Replies:13 FollowUps:21
This Thread has been Archived
Hello,

Apologies that this is a fairly dumb question: I have a 92 Landcruiser 75 series. I'm new to owning a 4wd, but someone did mention to me that I should do my own oil changes every 5000km. I would like to give it a go, but don't know how. Any advice anybody could offer on how to do it would be appreciated (even if just to tell me to take it to the garage!).

Cheers
Justin
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: KiwiAngler - Thursday, May 22, 2003 at 14:12

Thursday, May 22, 2003 at 14:12
justinb

My suggestion (and this is what I have just done) is take it to a garage and ask them to let you help. I did this with West End Diesel (thanks Devesh) and rocked up in my overies and watched, asked questions and helped. I am now confident I can do my own. You may need to buy 2 items though (I did) one is a suitable container to allow the oil to drain in and the other is the filter removal tool thingy (see how mechanically declined I am). It is not a difficult task but one you will need to do if you are on an extended trip away from garages. Hope this helps
AnswerID: 20774

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Thursday, May 22, 2003 at 14:15

Thursday, May 22, 2003 at 14:15
1) Take vehicle for a 10minute run to warm the oil
2) Find container which will hold at least 10litres of oil
3) Swap steps 1 and 2 around
4) Undo drain plug at bottom of engine sump and let engine oil drain into container
5) Wait till it is down to a drip drip drip then reinstall drainplug
6) Remove oil filter / filters (anticlockwise) (oil will bleep out of these also)
7) Wait till a drip drip drip and install new filter / filters as per instructions on box
8) Refer to owners manual for amount of oil needed for oil change including filter
9) Remove oil filler cap on top cover of engine (unscrews)
10)Fill to specifications of owners manual