Don't break down or get a service in Jabiru.

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 15:16
ThreadID: 50747 Views:4122 Replies:9 FollowUps:5
Now I could be wrong but I think I will have to find another place to get my troopy serviced.

I have recently been charged $464 to change the oil and filters on a 1hz 1995 troopy.$100 for delvac oil, $66 for a fuel filter, $57 for an oil filter,$38 for an air filter.

They also checked gearbox and diff levels etc. A couple of days later my gearbox oil found its way into the transfercase and out the breather. Also the speedo cable broke one hour after I picked it up (Driving to Darwin to fly south)

They are also the AANT so they put my troopy on a flatbed and brought it back to their wkshop.
Over a week later they have not begun to fix the problem. It may be another week or more before its on the road again.

Can someone tell me if the above prices and are normal and if its normal to wait two weeks to fix the above problem

Regards a frustrated Bob

Reply By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 15:35

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 15:35
How many workshops are there in town ?
AnswerID: 267656

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NT) - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 15:40

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 15:40
Squizzy

I have since found out there are two. The Mobil garage is the main one and there is another about 100 mtrs down the road from it.

I have been told it is the better of the two but I obviously don't have first hand knowledge.

Up until now I have been changing my own oil but because I now work ten hours a day, six days a week, I thought I would get some one else to do it.

Regards Bob
FollowupID: 530037

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 15:35

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 15:35
G'day Boo,

Reckon that is about right.
Had my 94RV Troopy serviced at the end of last month with
our local guys.....don't have time to do it myself...and have just
checked the invoice..$448.oo Delvac oil is a tad dearer than the
RX super used in mine.

That was for a 240,000km service plus check/adjust/pack front
wheel bearings.

-and that is SA country prices!!

Must admit have not had any further problems and find it a bit
hard to believe that the problems you got were anything to do
with the service.

Can give you a break down of costs if you want...

Michael
AnswerID: 267657

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NT) - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 15:45

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 15:45
Michael

This service did not include the packing of bearings. I did ask that it be done but was advised they would not have time.

Your are probably right about the problem not being related to the service, but it is very frustrating to have to wait at least two weeks to get my troopy back.

What did the filters etc cost you?

Regards Boo
FollowupID: 530038

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 15:58

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 15:58
Boo,

Oil filter $37.50
Fuel filter 5l $40.00
Fuel filter H 2H $25.50
Multitrax gear oil $54.60
RX super $49.00

I am sure that some will say "ripped off" or similar but given the
hours I work, at the moment it suits me and ensures that the
Troopy is getting good care.

Michael
FollowupID: 530042

Follow Up By: Blaze - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 01:03

Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 01:03
Confirms why I went back to a dual fuel vehicle from a T/Diesel.

Just had my Mitsi done which included changing gearbox and transfer and motor oils, checking diffs. Filters, oil and fuel, also included LPG filter system and wheel bearings etc.

SWMBO was cursing when the account came in for $375.00, ripper I must show her this... LOL
FollowupID: 530136

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 17:24

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 17:24
Info may be useful - genuine Toyota items from Jarvis Toyota in Adelaide (for a 100 series TD but).
$ - Air filter 55 - Oil filter 38 - fuel filter 44.
Ryco from Repco is about half those prices.
AnswerID: 267679

Reply By: Member - Phillip S (WA) - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 18:49

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 18:49
Bob, I do most of my own services....oil every 5k and filter(genuine toyota) every 10k , air and fuel filters as per schedule and now when I look at your expirience I have saved a lot of money indeed...I also contract out certain work, ie cooling system flushes ( I insist on toyota inhibitor and demin water AND check before I pay), transmission services ,tyres and wheel alignments and suspension etc...in other words I don't go to any garage and just blindly except what they tell me but I take ownership for the vehicle servicing. But you using this forum as a sounding board for your concerns is a good start...stay in touch, as this forum is good for that type of advice...and yes I think you could save yourself a bundle by becoming more involved and informed as to your vehicles needs.....cheers Phil
AnswerID: 267690

Reply By: Kev. (Cairns) - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 21:08

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 21:08
I do my own services & now i know why, damn thats a lot of money !

You know why your waiting 2 weeks ?..............AANT.

I bet if you sat across the road you will see the cash paying customers drive in & out before they get around to doing your vehicle.

Anyway,
In Elliot, NT we were quoted $500 just to supply a new fuel pump that i know for a fact is $120 new.

Needless to say i towed my brothers car 300km to the next township.
AnswerID: 267717

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 08:27

Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 08:27
Geez, now I am happy I drive an old Datto(94 Nissan 4.2 diesel)

Mobil Delvac 10lts =$45
Ryco Oil Filters x 2 =$20
Nissan Fuel filter x1 =$46
Air Filter Element x1 = $33

1 hour labour charge by mechanic =$66

Normal service(oil and filters and grease) = $131

AnswerID: 267762

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 16:40

Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 16:40
10x oil filters + 5x fuel filters + 5x air filters for 92 80 series turbo diesel from an ebay seller in Perth WA delivered to my door in Brisbane $189 , and yes all the same as the local Toyota dealer uses ,,,
AnswerID: 267822

Reply By: Austravel - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 19:34

Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 19:34
Yep some know how to charge. If your in Broome steer clear of the main RACWA contactor, very, very dear and proud of it. Couldn't be more UNhelpful.
AnswerID: 267852

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 21:10

Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 21:10
Hey Boo Boo

I'm a bit disappointed with this thread.

Let me say first that Mobil Jabiru, will stop and help a traveller at a minutes notice, I have seen them do it many many times.

Secondly Jabiru is a small town 250 km from Darwin and 300km from Katherine, so getting stuff out here cost trust me I know first hand.

I get my new car serviced there and a little bit cheaper because of fleet discount my labour charges are a bit less.

Mobil Jabiru also have a contract to service at least 5 large associations including Parks Australia North, they have a large fleet, so 2 weeks is a short time.

The gearbox problem is a Toyota problem, In no way was it a Mobil Jabiru problem.

So if you travel through Kakadu and need help, 1: Mobil Jabiru will help. We are remote so it will cost, These guys have helped me no end, they have even opened up there work shop on a weekend for me just to help out at no extra charge.

You also know if you need help you can call around anytime.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 267871

Follow Up By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 07:43

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 07:43
Steve, the problem is most people dont understand the logistics of an out of the way place.
Our wait time at the moment is about two weeks as well and then any thing over five kilo,s is road freight from either Darwin or Perth. Also freight only leaves two days a week and if you come in on a friday an instant four day wait till next truck leaves Perth and three days to get here.
Tourists are seasonal and so the workshop has to support staff for the off season or let them go and getting more staff is harder and harder. There is a shortage of good mechanics and city pay rates are high as they are having the same problems so to get them to move bush takes a big package.
End result is a fairly big bill for break downs out in the middle of nowhere which to most people is still better than no service at all.
FollowupID: 530313