Finally its our Turn!!

Submitted: Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 06:30
ThreadID: 50899 Views:2777 Replies:10 FollowUps:3
After 3 long years, (and it feels like 6!) of being in a business that is 7 days a week and watching and listening to many other EO members talk about their upcoming trips IT'S FINALLY OUR TURN!! yippee. We will be jobless as of next Wednesday, when we do our final stocktake, then we will spend a couple of days moving house, then its off up the NSW Nth coast for 2 weeks.
When we return we'll spend Xmas at home, then first week of March 2008 we will travel for 8 or 9 mths (hopefully longer) around as much of what Australia has to offer. Hope to catch up with some members along our travels, and we still cant believe it's actually going to happen now after some of the highs and lows we had during the sale process. We are still currently working on our exact itinery, but will be spending long periods in the backblocks of WA and the Kimberly region. Still a few months away yet but Jodie and myself are just starting to get the "excitement" tingles woo hoo!

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 07:01

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 07:01
LOL lucky buggers. A while yet for us but I'll be looking forward to reading about your travels.

AnswerID: 268385

Reply By: Laura aka diver 1 - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 07:35

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 07:35
Yay ! ! ! ! ! I was thinking about you the other day...saw your old pajero and got all excited cos i saw the exploroz sticker and then realised it was your old one ! ! ! ! !

If I dont make it out there before wednesday to say G'day, Congratulations and good luck....Im so glad its worked out for you.

Laura
AnswerID: 268393

Follow Up By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 08:32

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 08:32
Thanks Laura, it took a while but alls good now.
FollowupID: 530983

Reply By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 08:05

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 08:05
good onya hope all goes well, Bu@#er 2 yrs to go
AnswerID: 268400

Reply By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 08:16

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 08:16
Uncle,

All the best for your travels. You're about to do what a lot of us are only dreaming about. That elusive "one day" is now a reality.Well done and happy travels.

If you're travelling through the Mallee in Vic....we'd love to meet you.

Viv
AnswerID: 268401

Follow Up By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 08:27

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 08:27
Thanks for the warm welcome Viv, we'd love to catch up as we head thru Vic. Laurie
FollowupID: 530982

Reply By: Member - John T (NSW) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 08:19

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 08:19
Uncle & Jodie

Sitting here turning green with envy. I reckon I've have to work for at least another 5 years to have enough $$ put aside to travel the way I want and to see the places I hear soooooooo much about on the EO forum. Good luck and enjoy. If you come up through Tamworth please wave as your pass me slaving away.

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

AnswerID: 268402

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 08:22

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 08:22
G'day Uncle,

Mate, I've just put the kettle on and stuck a few extra tubes in the fridge; awaiting your arrival...........;-)))

Cya when ya get 'ere..........

Safe travels

AnswerID: 268404

Follow Up By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 08:26

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 08:26
Thanks Roachie, looking forward to it, could turn out to be a looong night!
FollowupID: 530981

Reply By: Robnicko - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 08:49

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 08:49
Uncle,
Sounds great. I can only imagine the buildup of excitement thats happening. I have next friday and monday off and going up to vic high country and I cannot wait for that.
Enjoy the trip

Rob
AnswerID: 268406

Reply By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 09:07

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 09:07
We really appreciate all the welcomes and replies of encouragement so far guys, thank you. We should have done Cape York a few months back with good friends and fellow members Craig & Kerry W, but we were in the middle of a possible business sale, that didn't come thru but now this one has with another purchaser. Unc
AnswerID: 268416

Reply By: Old Dave - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 09:11

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 09:11
Congratulations Uncle

We too had 16 years of owning and running a 7 day business, we finally sold out last year, we have been away on trips several times so far this year practising for the big one next year when we can officially retire.
Enjoy your freedom we can easily relate!
Happy travels
AnswerID: 268417

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 17:31

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 17:31
Have a good one.
6 years 7 days a week no thanks.
I used to work 6 days a week up until about 17 years ago then started the family. Now only work 5 days a week and 8 hours a day. I try and spend as much time with them even if they don't like it.

AnswerID: 268480