Roof Storage

Submitted: Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 14:58
ThreadID: 50908 Views:2006 Replies:2 FollowUps:7
Hi, have recently purchased a Toyota prado 2002 TD and am looking for some advice on what I should get for a roof cargo rack/ storage area…… Any help would be great..

Reply By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 15:16

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 15:16
Hi Jock
Don't quote me but i believe the max weight for a prado roof is 100kg. So keep this in mind when working out which rack and what you want to put up there. Our ARB rack is 65kg, with a max roof load of 200kg.(what a bugger of a thing to get off and on a raised troopy too!)
Anyone want to buy it, it's brand new!! :))
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

AnswerID: 268451

Follow Up By: Jock69 - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 16:08

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 16:08
Thxs heaps for the info....
FollowupID: 531051

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 18:00

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 18:00
Lyndon ,

I bought an ARB steel rack as well and sold it without using it . The weight is ridiculous .

Jock , I am happy with the 6' Rhino alloy rack I have now . I have had three alloy racks in the past , and have never had a problem with any of them .

I think short racks are a bit of a waste of time too . Put a spare up there and there bugger all room for anything else . I reckon 6' is the go - you don't have to fill it up , but it's there when you need it

Willie
FollowupID: 531075

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 15:57

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 15:57
Lyndon was almost correct - 95series limit is 75kgs all up. Means you only want a lightweight rack. Lots I know have been happy with a mesh basket on the gutter mounted slim roofbars (?Thule).
AnswerID: 268462

Follow Up By: Jock69 - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 16:10

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 16:10
Thxs I just spoke to a guy with a mesh basket down in the shoping car park a minute ago and he suggested the same...
Thxs
FollowupID: 531052

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 21:12

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 21:12
Only problems I've seen with the baskets is that the U-bolts that hold them can rattle loose - worth checking them for tightness when you're away, or slip on some nyloc nuts.
FollowupID: 531160

Follow Up By: Pyro 1 - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 21:58

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 21:58
Don't forget the rhino rack very light, easy on and off. I think they look good too.
FollowupID: 531175

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 09:05

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 09:05
I spoke to the proprietor of Roof Rack World in Adelaide last week and they do not recommend an alloy rack for offroading.

They do sell the Rhino Aluminium rack so they are not just trying to flog anything.

Roof Rack World have two steel mesh racks to choose from a lighter weight one and a heavy duty model.
When used in conjunction with the Rhino Rack cross bars, attachment is by bolts and strengthening plate that screw into threaded lugs inserted inside the channel. Very neat.

FollowupID: 531239

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 09:54

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 09:54
Sandman,
I'd agree with roofrack world about most alloy racks.
But with the Prado, you're not going to be putting a lot of weight up there anyway, and I've had friends with Rhino racks who do a lot of offroading without a problem.

Another option is the steel mesh platform - Opposite Lock sell them. They are pretty similar to what I have welded up in the past for several 4wds. Good thing about the platform is that you can keep the height of the prado under 2 metres with the rack on, so you have a good chance of getting into many carparks. And they were easier to slide tyres and tents into, because there are no sides.
FollowupID: 531255