OH&S rules!! Regarding filling up fuel containers.

Submitted: Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 20:56
ThreadID: 50924 Views:10987 Replies:15 FollowUps:30
After 40yrs of filling up 20ltr drums at servo's etc i was hauled over the coals today for having the containers in the back of the ute whilst filling them up. According to the latest rules you must have those containers on the ground when filling, electrical issue here ithink. Ok you fill the ute up the tank is mounted to the chaassis via brackets etc, the tray is mounted to the chassis so whats the dillema with the containers being filled while on the back of the ute??. and of course those that have the approved 200ltr diesel tank mounted on the back of their ute are just going to love lifting that on & off when they fill up!! not, Safety i agree with stupidiity i don't.

Reply By: GRAEME. - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 21:08

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 21:08
I think it's because a lot of utes these days have those plastic liners in them, falcons even have them as standard.
AnswerID: 268523

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 18:45

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 18:45
could be true - but the second you pick up the pump -- you are touching steel - unless you have one of those pumps that is fully insulated - in any case - i have made it habit over the years to touch steel first before opening fuel lids or pumps ( for petrol cars ) to discharge any static ...

Boc

FollowupID: 531530

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 21:09

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 21:09
Axle

Rule has been around for over 20 years, so that only means you have been braking the rule for 20 years.

Cheers.. :-)
AnswerID: 268524

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 21:21

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 21:21
Ah well!, not going to bad then .....lol.

FollowupID: 531161

Reply By: Rossco td105 - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 21:41

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 21:41
Hey Axle,

Not sure if I read somewhere it has to do with better earthing of said containers? A little bit safer if they are on the ground. (Just like the exploding mobile phone theory?).

Ross.
AnswerID: 268533

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 21:53

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 21:53
Thats what this dude at the servo was trying to explain , as he had his quiet smoke up the side of the garage!.

Cheers Axle
FollowupID: 531171

Follow Up By: Rossco td105 - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 21:56

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 21:56
G'day Axle,

Surely that has no impact on his, or other servo users health and safety???

Ross.
FollowupID: 531173

Follow Up By: Member - Longtooth (SA) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 21:57

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 21:57
I was castigated a few years ago because it allegedly allowed fumes to build up in the well - the fact that it was a tray top with no place to allow a build up in the stiff breeze was too hard for the attendant to comprehend. Rules is rules and as I say below "Don't confuse me with facts etc"
FollowupID: 531174

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 07:18

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 07:18
The earthing things sounds correct, Rossco. It seems to also apply to refilling LPG bottles. I recall some time ago having the Servo owner asking me to put the bottle onto the ground rather than on the rear door for that very reason.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 531220

Reply By: top bloke - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 22:19

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 22:19
i have done what is a aip course wich stands 4 aust institute of petroleom the reason is as petrol pours into the jerry it in it self creats static wich can stuff your day your tyres sort of insulate between said jerry and ground as 4 consol operators smoking with in 6 meters i have witnessed i used to fit car was machines as such had to do coursce but do 1 thing when filling up 1hand touch steel the other on pump handle women in queensland went up because of static generated by her clothing hope it helps
AnswerID: 268543

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 23:25

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 23:25
For future reference, it might help to push the "Spell Check" button beneath your message when composing it, so as to make it easier to read. ;-)

FollowupID: 531193

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 08:15

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 08:15
hehehehehe......and I think David needs to fit another button that says "WTF"........... I don't understand what top bloke is trying to say (or should I say "trying 2 say"?)..... hehehehe
FollowupID: 531660

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 09:33

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 09:33
I'll have a crack at the code LOL

I have done an Aust Institute of Petroleum (AIP) course.

The reason for placing the fuel jerries on the ground is due to the static electricity created when decanting fuel from the pump to the jerry. The vehicles (or Trailers) tyres insulate the jerries from earthing adequately causing a potential hazard.

I have witnessed the servo consol operators smoking within 6 meters (I don't know what this ahs to do with it).

I used to fit cars with some sort of petroleum fueled machine which is why I was required to do the AIP course.

One way to earth the jerries it to touch them with one hand and hold the pump handle with the other.

A woman in Queensland went up because of the clothing she wore, which created static.

I hope that's right,

any other takers??

FollowupID: 531664

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 22:22

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 22:22
I was once castigated for leaving my ignition "on" while filling the tank so I could watch the fuel guage (engine was not running). When I asked what the problem was, I was told "well, that pump's running on 240v and your car is 12v - that's a big voltage difference, and anything could happen".
WTF!!!
I was too flabbergasted to even try to unpick the logic of that one, and left with no further discussion.
Gerry
AnswerID: 268544

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 06:52

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 06:52
I love it when people try to offer a reason for there stupidity ( or to make themselves appear more intelligent

i then play the dumb card and get them to explain how and why's of there comment- This is one i would have loved to have gotten -- voltage difference 12 v to 240 v --- classic ..... did you have to plug your car into there pump ??? LMAO

Boc

FollowupID: 531646

Reply By: top bloke - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 22:28

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 22:28
so 240v running through said fuel nozzle what a woodduck was he indian
AnswerID: 268546

Follow Up By: top bloke - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 22:35

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 22:35
concol operator should know dangers to do work there has to do course
FollowupID: 531183

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 23:52

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 23:52
If he wasn't he probably didn't want to go there.
FollowupID: 531203

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 06:54

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 06:54
Do a course? what a 5 min induction ?

Boc

FollowupID: 531647

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 11:18

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 11:18
That would have meant having to learn to read.
FollowupID: 531682

Reply By: Voxson - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 23:10

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 23:10
Just run an earth strap from the drum to the ground. Its a no-brainer.
AnswerID: 268557

Reply By: top bloke - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 23:40

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 23:40
notice when planes are refuelled u are right cable ran from tanker to plane
AnswerID: 268565

Follow Up By: guzzi - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 00:23

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 00:23
Actually, its aircraft to ground, tanker to ground, tanker to aircraft, nozzle earthed to aircraft before opening fuel tank or connecting refuel fitting.
Dont refuel with a thunderstorm within 5 miles.........
FollowupID: 531206

Reply By: 96 GXL 80 series - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 23:51

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 23:51
At most servos you will find an earth strap near the bowser and a sign telling you if filling containers they must be earthed.

AnswerID: 268567

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 07:36

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 07:36
Wow, i've never seen one....or at least taken notice of it.

FollowupID: 531226

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 07:37

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 07:37
I had this problem in Kalgoolie, there was a sign on the bowser so I went into the consol operator to ask how I was expected to fill my 200l approved Diesel container? The women said I could try the servo down the road. Ok I said. I went to the next one and went inside to ask them and they simple told me to earth the tray to the ground. No worries I did that and they got $530.
In Alice I filled up at the same service station I had 6 weeks earlier with the same consol operator. It was as if I had murdered one of her family the way she went on. The first time I went in she was telling me how to fill up so much fuel and utalising the shopper dockets for 4 cents a litre off.
Maybe the servos are only just starting to enforce it. This particular fuel company will not even let you fill up an approved 200l tank now.
I am curious, if this becomes enforced accross all major fuel companies? How am I supposed to fill my excavators?
AnswerID: 268577

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 08:01

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 08:01
You will find that the rule / law ONLY applies to petrol not to diesel containers.
FollowupID: 531230

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 09:50

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 09:50
Sure but both servos were adament that I could not fill up my 200l tank. They were ok with my 20l plastic drums.
FollowupID: 531253

Follow Up By: Rossco td105 - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 20:03

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 20:03
I have to start drinking Beam..
FollowupID: 531343

Reply By: Laura aka diver 1 - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 07:57

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 07:57
When I worked at C$%^&x I asked head office the reason behind it and they said its due to the earthing issue.

Our biggest problem was people filling up gas bottles with autogas. Major fine for us if caught (min. $20,000)...some people just dont realise that they are different gases.

Its just a safety thing - especially for the plasitc containers that can cause static. metal not as dangerous..

Keep going you'll be right....

The mobile phone issue is a real danger though....Lady in Batemans Bay caught alight because of it. Witnesses say that they could see fumes near her head and the first thing to go was the mobile on her ear.

Laura
AnswerID: 268579

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 08:04

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 08:04
Kiwi,

Myth Busters busted that myth about mobile phones

Cheers Zev

FollowupID: 531231

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 08:46

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 08:46
"Totally busted"
FollowupID: 531235

Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 09:33

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 09:33
Myth Busters also have to go back and re-do their testing because they leave things out or didnt get the environment right etc....dont believe first sight with them...

kiwi
FollowupID: 531247

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 09:35

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 09:35
I pulled into servo at Pt A Gutta, and Roachie was in front of me so I did a u turn and pulled up on the other side of the pump to use the other hose.
I waited and waited, looked at moron operator, he looked back waited and waited, eventually totally hissed off i went and asked what was wrong with pump, and he said that he couldnt turn it on because i was facing the wrong way???
Besides the verbal lecture I gave him I voted with my feet and went and spent my money a few hundred metres down the road.
Never been back there and never will, so they have lost hundreds of dollars already in fuel and food sales from our club members.

We use jerry cans every day with our work, and never been chatted about how we fill them, sometimes on the ground, sometimes on the tray, and sometimes we fill small motors direct from the pump.
Pity they arent more particular about the smokers who dont give a rats !

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 531248

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 09:43

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 09:43
Agreed with Mythbusters.
If there really was a problem, they would have banned the use of VHF/UHF mobile 2-ways years ago, which run 25W rather than the 0.5W peak from a mobile phone.
And the servos even ask you to turn off pagers!!! Like telling you to turn off your Ipod, hearing aid or car radio! That's an indication of their technical know-how.
There is far more risk of a spark in a vehicle from relays, starter solenoids and other switch contacts.
Many of these stories are myths circulated on email like those virus warnings, telling you to send it to everyone on your address list.
Gerry
FollowupID: 531251

Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 09:53

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 09:53
Thats a bit harsh about facing the wrong way...but almost everyone who did a drive off on me was facing the "wrong" way....so i dont blame the guy - plus he's probably doing what he was told to do.

Many servo's have a one way in - one way out system and it works very well. many people drive around trying to find a pump and have forgotten which side their filller is. They face the "wrong"way and someone else comes in and faces the right way then they get bloked in because there is an idiot facing the wrong way who has someone in front of him and he cannt move untill the guy moves out of the way - its disaster waiting to happen....

They do ban the use of uhf's etc just like mobiles, mabe not every servo has the sticker for it but ours certainly do along with the smoking stickers....

if you ask me....people see what they want to see when it comes to the warning stickers....just like under 16's filling cars is a no no....not many people "see" that sign

Jock, Silly turning off ipods and hearing aids - they dont work like pagers, uhfs and phones.....there is no relay into them from another source. But while where at it why not turn off the shops air- con too...LOL !!!

Laura
FollowupID: 531254

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 16:32

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 16:32
Hi Laura,
The silly thing is that pagers don't work like vhf/uhf's and mobile phones either - they are just a receiver, passively receiving a signal, no transmitted signal. Absolutely no chance of a spark at all.
Unless the pager going off causes you to drop your cigarette!! :-)
Gerry
FollowupID: 531295

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 16:43

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 16:43
Hi again, Laura,
Meant to mention, as you're obviously in the servo business, what really cheeses me off is where some (not all) servos don't have clearly visible signs above the pumps indicating what products are at the pump. It's fine for most people who just fill up with petrol, as any pump will do, but diesel is another matter, with often just one pump providing diesel, and you can't read the sign on the pump till you drive right up to it. So if you're in the wrong lane, too bad, go around again. Sometimes, I've had to send out a spotter to find the diesel pump before I drive thru, coz there's nothing to indicate the diesel pump from a distance.
I once pointed this out to the attendant at the till, and he was totally non-receptive when I pointed out that the sign was only visible when you were right beside the pump; "other people don't seem to have this problem".
Gerry
FollowupID: 531299

Reply By: Patrol22 - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 09:36

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 09:36
It is definitely an earthing thing. For years I worked on the flight line operating various makes and models of military aircraft. When fuelling the first step is to earth the aircraft then earth the tanker/fuel hole, then connect the hose and aircraft via a earthing lead, then connect the fuel line to the aircraft fuelling point. Convoluted I know but static electricity discharge and fuel just don't mix - the effects can be devastating. To be safer when fuelling a motor vehicle I believe that there should be a means of earthing out the vehicle (to discharge any static build up) before commencing fuelling....but then again that might be too time consuming for today's fast paced society.

Pete
AnswerID: 268592

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 09:38

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 09:38
....tanker/fuel hose :-))
FollowupID: 531250

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 10:00

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 10:00
Sometimes rules are just plain silly.

The earthing issue should relate to the Vehicle rather than the ground. If the vehicle is insulated in some way from the ground you still would have the same earthing issue.

Now if the petrol containers are in the back of a Ute, or trailer, it should be a simple matter of earthing the container to the vehicle so that the earthing potential is the same.

I use a jumper lead when topping up from a jerrycan on the trailer, using the Tanami pump. (brilliant device)
The trailer is actually already earthed through the safety chains, but I just add a little extra earthing with the jumper lead.

AnswerID: 268595

Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 10:19

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 10:19
Hey Sandman,

Didnt your light use to flash....on your pic..once upon a time....???

Laura
FollowupID: 531260

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 13:30

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 13:30
Laura, you could make the lights flash with an animated *.gif file but now we need to use *.jpg files or Jpegs which we can't animate. It was really a series of pics, where the area of the lights was doctored so it looked like they were on for some of the series. Just like a movie.
FollowupID: 531272

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 12:03

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 12:03
Hi Axle,
The filling point and drum need to be earthed. I have seen a couple of vids at work (Oil Refinery) that show the result of electrostatic discharge whilst filling a drum. Usually when we sample into metal containers, we use a purpose-made earthing strap. Which is a hefty piece of wire with earthing clamps at each end.

As mentioned above, the use of tub liners these days insulates the drums from the vehicle earth and is just a bomb waiting to happen. Even so the earth of the vehicle and that of the bowser will be at different potentials anyway beacause the vehicle is isolated from the bowers earth by the rubber tyres. So a spark can still be generated by this difference. The strap needs to be connected from the bowser to the drum.

And its no use saying I have been doing this for x amount of years. Like not wearing a safety helmet on a bike, it only takes one time to kill. Maybe your time hasn't come yet but its only a matter of opportunity and the right dry static conditions for Murphy to have his day.
AnswerID: 268611

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 14:56

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 14:56
What everyone has to remember is most of the things places ask you to do is for there own benefits and not yours.

The chances of things happening with most things including petrol stations is very low and in some circumstances non existence.

But it could happen so it is a safety issue.....you have to remember people who provide safety analysing of potential problems live in a fantasy world and not the real world.

A mobile phone has never caused an explosion at a petrol station but in theory it could.

Ladys wearing nylon clothing including stocking have caused explosions at petrol stations but the petrol stations turn a blind eye to it WHY?

It comes down to a calculated risk assessment of the likelihood of it happening and lose of income and the income wins.

We have just completed a 40 page document to give to some of our customers who have asked for it, this document including a job safety analysis and an enviromental impact analysis.

OH&S and duty of care are going to far in this country.

Regards Richard

AnswerID: 268748