Whatever happened to Australian Culture?

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 21:58
ThreadID: 51024 Views:3343 Replies:16 FollowUps:27
Where are we going?

When did blokes become guys?

Why do Australians use Ass instead of Arse.

What happened to biscuits? I don't eat cookies.

Why do we now drive SUV's.

Why do I hear radio commentators calling Soccer Football, we have our own game of Football.

Why is Marcia now pronounced Marsha?

When will the term "buggered if I know" be related to an act of sodomy? Soon I assume.

I could on, but I think some of you will get my message.

Reply By: ZukscooterX90 (Qld) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 22:07

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 22:07
Jimbo, i thought you said you were very busy,working.LOL
AnswerID: 268845

Follow Up By: Jimbo Vic - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 22:10

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 22:10
Fair go,

It's Sunday night, I'm entitled to a little time off.

Or should I say "Yo man, give me a break" LOL
FollowupID: 531587

Follow Up By: ZukscooterX90 (Qld) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 22:19

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 22:19
To be honest Jimbo, i really don't care to much much for how or why the mentality of Oz is swying towards the Americanism's.But for sure it the movies & TV shows that people watch have a lot to do with it IMHO.I use Ass as not to be detected by the Forum Police here.LOL
Cheer's Bob.
FollowupID: 531591

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 22:12

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 22:12
Jimbo
Well I'll be buggered mate .....You alright , You been swooned by some shiela ???,

Desperate Doug

AnswerID: 268846

Reply By: Red Frog - Vic - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 22:14

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 22:14
LOL, you think too much Jim, just carry on being a bloke like the rest of us and bugger the snags
AnswerID: 268847

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 22:41

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 22:41
Bugger the snags; I hear there is alot of that going on in Sydney and Melbourne LOL
FollowupID: 531603

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 22:53

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 22:53
Yeah well Tweed Valley sounds like a place for some rather dubious sorts but whatever, down south we don't have to conform to any expectation from others, truly a diverse population without constraints, that's why the south is and will remain so powerful and others look upon us with awe and besides that foreign nutters like me are accepted with open arms :) The people of the south are truly great
FollowupID: 531609

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 23:25

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 23:25
Ray,

Now I know you've lost it LOL

FollowupID: 531618

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 23:29

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 23:29
By the sounds of it Tweed Valley would be right up your alley, so to speak. LOL

I grew up in Bondi and left the Kiwis at age 34. LOL Since then I have realised that you can't escape people; but the type you meet can be very different. Freaks are everywhere LOL
FollowupID: 531620

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 23:33

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 23:33
lol, life is all fun to me Al, I'm not scared of global warming, I'm not scared to die but I feel for my kids (missus couldn't give a ratz) and most of all I'm not scared of you members, 96 and I are going to start our own club...hahah
FollowupID: 531621

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 23:40

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 23:40
Ray,

Get a bloody move on then hahahahaha

FollowupID: 531625

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 23:44

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 23:44
Just have to find the right uniform, we are looking for something in shocking pink.
FollowupID: 531626

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 23:46

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 23:46
If it's got a lime green stripe through it, I'm in :)))

FollowupID: 531628

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 23:51

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 23:51
Great, we are getting special snatch straps made, 96 has found some great uses for them.
FollowupID: 531629

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 00:43

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 00:43
Gramps,
you can be the "Ring" leader if you like.
FollowupID: 531636

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 00:52

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 00:52
Red Frog - Vic posted:
lol, life is all fun to me Al, I'm not scared of global warming, I'm not scared to die but I feel for my kids (missus couldn't give a ratz) and most of all I'm not scared of you members, 96 and I are going to start our own club...hahah

Red Frog, I think we should call it the 69ers club, that way it wouldn't matter which way you came in.
FollowupID: 531639

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 00:54

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 00:54
Or we could modernise it and call it the One Eight One {181}Club.
that way we would be up to date with the metric conversion.
FollowupID: 531640

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 18:37

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 18:37
69 tm
FollowupID: 531762

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 22:31

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 22:31
Oh, I dunno, John Howard managed to get George W. to describe him as "dinkum".
Or was it bonzer?
AnswerID: 268851

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 00:47

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 00:47
I think George W. only came here early for the Apec meeting was to see if America would fit into Australia.
FollowupID: 531637

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 11:09

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 11:09
Wasn't it the OPEC forum in Austria?
FollowupID: 531680

Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 22:47

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 22:47
Good on you Jimbo

Completely understand what your saying.

Kim
AnswerID: 268856

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 08:09

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 08:09
As he sits back sipping his Latte!
FollowupID: 531655

Reply By: BIG_red87 - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 23:01

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 23:01
Mate know something's wrong when you go down the pub and the blokes are wearing more pink clothing than the women... and probably use more cosmetics
AnswerID: 268857

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 23:10

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 23:10
Honestly Ithink you are visiting the wrong places, are you from Sydney ?
FollowupID: 531611

Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 23:12

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 23:12
nah perth.
FollowupID: 531612

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 23:19

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 23:19
really! the blokes are wearing pink over there..hmmm maybe I should take a little trip..lol
FollowupID: 531615

Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 23:35

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 23:35
haha take a couple back with ya
FollowupID: 531622

Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 23:07

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 23:07
You know how to get a topic going, don't you? LOL Especially from a man with a name that sounds like he drives a 'pick-up' LOL

I've just started working at a place that is frequented by 'real' Australians; cockies, truckies, tradesmen, rural business owners, long-time residents etc. It is bloody amazing. I get to listen to their stories every day and their language.

I grew up listening to my maternal grandfather who worked on the wharves and my paternal grandmother who travelled alot. Both of them were full of phrases and rich stories that are truly Australian.

I try to impart this richness on to my young kids and get frowns from the in-laws etc, I don't know why LOL
AnswerID: 268858

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 23:42

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 23:42
It went out the door with the "Cooper Tyres" Americas No 1 4wd tyre.

AnswerID: 268859

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 23:42

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 23:42
It went out the door with the "Cooper Tyres" Americas No 1 4wd tyre.

AnswerID: 268860

Reply By: 96 GXL 80 series - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 01:12

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 01:12
I tink our Gubberment is chasin it round Da Territry now Bro.
AnswerID: 268864

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 02:05

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 02:05
Yep and only a couple of days to go and kids will knock on your door yelling trigk or treat
to which i reply piss off back to america
FFS
What next
Thanksgiving
AnswerID: 268869

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 02:31

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 02:31
That's right, mate.
Get the fire works out; it's the 4th of July, American Independence Day.
FollowupID: 531644

Follow Up By: Gob & Denny(hampton park vic) - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 18:24

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 18:24
thanks davoe
i am not the only bloke who thinks like that my missus reckons the bloke that grows all the halloween pumkins should shove where the sun dont shine
we turn all the lights off and watch tv in the dark and if they still knock we just yell no one home !!!!!

FollowupID: 531756

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 06:15

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 06:15
Why do I hear radio commentators calling Soccer Football, we have our own game of Football.

Because soccer is football none of those games are football they use there hands more than there feet.
Simple I think.

AnswerID: 268871

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 06:54

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 06:54
Thanks Eric,

That is a good & simple answer that I will be using quite often in future. Even most Ozzie's should be able to understand it :-))
FollowupID: 531648

Reply By: Redback - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 08:11

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 08:11
If you really want to split hairs Jimbo, soccer is actually an American term for football!!!!

AnswerID: 268882

Reply By: mfewster - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 08:27

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 08:27
For what it's worth, every culture on Earth, including Americans, has the same fear. We could try to block all international trade and communications into Australia. We could set up something like the French Academy that has fought an hysterical, losing battle for years to try to keep the French language pure from English contamination. We could join the protestors on the streets every time there is a G8 (or something similar) meeting and scream for an end to Globalization. We might sympathize with the various religious fundamentalists and indigenous groups who want to keep their faith or nationality apart from western pollution. We could just record and respect our history and get on with human one-ness.
AnswerID: 268888

Follow Up By: png62 - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 10:02

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 10:02
Struth cobber - I know what yer mean - it's just not on, dozen madder but, cos I just keep tellin the trouble 'n' strife an' the rug rats that I'll have none o' that bull%*## in my 'ome, ay !!
FollowupID: 531671

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 11:15

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 11:15
Ture! I laughed years ago when in Quebec when I saw a sign for KFC: "Poulet au Frit a la Kentucky".
Didn't have quite the same ring to it.
Gerry
FollowupID: 531681

Reply By: Member - Roger B (VIC) - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 20:49

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 20:49
Stone the flamin' crows, sport.................
AnswerID: 269004

Reply By: Member - BIGMARK (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 22:13

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 22:13
Hey Jimbo,
Come to NQ and we'll go bull catchin mate.Then share a bottle of rum mate.
AnswerID: 269205