window tinting

Submitted: Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 21:52
ThreadID: 51064 Views:2460 Replies:5 FollowUps:16
So I have finally got approval from swmbo to put some tint on the 4b windows. i think they look pretty good nice and dark, especially on a black one like my 4wd.

so what do you all think? as dark as possible, or keep it a legal and boring lighter shade.

i am in south west sydney if that makes the slightest difference.

time to beat the heat. any suggestions as to a supplier/fitter?

thanks mick

Reply By: Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 22:02

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 22:02
Hi Mick I know what you mean with the darker looking better had it on my commodore but the prado has the lighter tint but besides rego issues I believe insurance could be an issue as well in the event of (hopefully not) insurance claim. Might be worth checking up with your insurance company. Just a thought before you apply something applied. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 269018

Reply By: everydoghasitsday - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 22:32

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 22:32
Hi pradoz
regards window tinting ther r a few ways you can go about it,

1*the dark tint doesnt always stop the most heat but more glear and privacy,the pajero has 20%from factory on the rear doors and cargo area and 35% the legal tint on the front doors,You should have no problem with having your 4b done like this

2*The dark films there r alot of cheap died films out the ,the better 1,s r metal films but you dont get that black look its more of a hi reflective mirror look but unlike a died film the metal will not fade,the other is a carbon film ,I just put a new 18% carbom film on my 4b looks nice this film also will not fade (well it will in like 8-10yrs-but unlike the died it fades after 8mths)
I have been it the tinting game for 12yrs now and seen alot of cheap crap and most of all i will tell the customer all about the film they want to put on and yes if they choose the died films i do tell them they will fade
You sound like you are down south to far from me(lower blue mountains)
Good luck and hope this helped
AnswerID: 269029

Follow Up By: PradOz - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 22:38

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 22:38
thanks for the advice.

any ideas on price range for my model.

i know it depends on what type tint.

thinking of something that will last but dont want to look like a mirror. just want something to keep the heat and glare out and look good with black duco and chrome work

thanks
FollowupID: 531848

Follow Up By: everydoghasitsday - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 22:59

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 22:59
PradOZ

If you where local to me i could do you a good price for the carbon film $195 mates rates LOL
but in a tint shop you will be looking around $350-$450
I have done some of Stephen M many cars and 4by's he has had and he seemed happy with the job.
Just shop around your local blokes and bargan with them or if its worth a drive i can help you out
FollowupID: 531856

Follow Up By: PradOz - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 23:12

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 23:12
i think i would be interested in the mates rates - they are always good. Main thing is getting a good quality job, after all its something you got to spend a fair bit of time looking at after its done hey.

where are you located and how long does it take to fit? never know what can be arranged with a little bit of thought. i was wanting to find an excuse to take my 10 y.o. son somewhere different.

thanks
FollowupID: 531858

Follow Up By: everydoghasitsday - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 23:15

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 23:15
Ya
im in the windsor area and you ?
FollowupID: 531859

Follow Up By: everydoghasitsday - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 23:16

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 23:16
Ya
im in the windsor area and you ?
FollowupID: 531860

Follow Up By: PradOz - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 23:23

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 23:23
i am only over in campbelltown area. not that far really. brother in law lives at freemans reach.

let me know if you would be interested and any details etc i need to think about and i will see what we can work out if it suits you.

thanks mick
FollowupID: 531863

Follow Up By: everydoghasitsday - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 23:31

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 23:31
pradoz

Sounds like you know the area if you want to pass on a email add and we can go from there
the other thing is how soon do you want it done the wife was ment to have the baby yesturday but the dame thing wants to stay in haha
just i will have my hands full for a week after the bub pops its our 2nd and last i gather you have kids so you know exact what i mean
Cheers rusty
FollowupID: 531865

Follow Up By: everydoghasitsday - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 23:36

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 23:36
FORGOT
it will take an 1hr or so if i dont chat LOL or drink lol
FollowupID: 531866

Follow Up By: PradOz - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 23:40

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 23:40
hey rusty my email as follows

v8footy AT hotmail.com

obviously replace the AT with @ and you will get me.

i am in no hurry other than before xmas. only other thing i need to do is arrange LPG conversion which should be done in about 4 or 5 weeks if i go ahead with it. (still tossing that one up)

good luck with the new bub. wish your missus all the best - obviously all your hard work is finished and hers is about to begin. hope she isnt over-cooking it by leaving it in there LOL :)) good luck to you both. send me an email when you get time with some details for me to contact you. thanks mick
FollowupID: 531868

Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 01:48

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 01:48
Gidday Mick,

You wrote:
"i need to do is arrange LPG conversion which should be done in about 4 or 5 weeks if i go ahead with it. (still tossing that one up)"

Just one question, why would you still be tossing up about having it fitted with the rising fuel prices and the Gov subs, for having it fitted??

I have both road vehicle and Off Roader converted and can't even contemplate not having it...
FollowupID: 531879

Follow Up By: mq swb - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 09:38

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 09:38
Hey Rusty,
If your keen I to have a prado that needs tinting, I'm at Hornsby Heights so just through the gorge and I'm there.

email: andrew.lee@defence.gov.au work hours
dixie_lee_au@yahoo.com.au after hours
I'm in no rush but like mick would like it done before XMAS

FollowupID: 531900

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 18:03

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 18:03
Hi PradoOz, as everydoghasitsday has stated yes he has done around 5 of my own private vehicles (not including the prado ) which was done prior to me buying it and as he has mentioned the cheap dyed crap will fade as myn has done and go a purple colour. I have been extremely happy with the quality of his work on all my vehicles and have never had any issues with lifting,going bubbly etc as seen on some vehicles. Forgot to also say in last nights reply the darker it is the harder it is to see out of on a rainy and/or dark night when reversing which Im sure everydoghasitsday will agree with. I would take his advice and go the dearer tint you wont regret it. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 531976

Follow Up By: PradOz - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 19:02

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 19:02
Hi Blaze - I was only tossing up the idea as I wasnt sure how towing a caravan or off road driving would be effected. I actually booked in today for the conversion which hopefully will go ahead in next 4 weeks or earlier. I would be happier if I could keep the 90L main petrol tank and fit the LPG tank in the place of my 69L sub tank. But if I am to get any benefit from a LPG tank it has to go in place of the main petrol one.

So it is due soon so hopefully all will be good.

Thanks for your opinion and reply. Cheers Mick
FollowupID: 532003

Follow Up By: PradOz - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 19:14

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 19:14
Hi Steve

Thanks for the info. I am happy enough to go for the better film as I rather quality in anything any day. I just want to have something that looks good against the black duco also. I am aware of the problems of dark tint and night vision which is one reason why I have not tinted the Prado before and stuck with the factory stuff for so long. I was wondering what the tint Rusty recommends looks like on a dark car or any car for that matter. Do you have a photo you can email me.

v8footy@hotmail.com if you are able to send something.

I trust his opinion and yours as word of mouth is the best form of advertisment. A good job will reward him with many recommendations in the future as yours is doing now. Looks like my thread here may get Rusty busy after the new bub arrives with Andrews reply also. I may even be able to talk the daughter into doing her first car which now sits in the garage with my wifes now outside. (and she hasnt even got off her Ls yet)

Thanks Steve any info appreciated and thanks to all other replies and suggestions. They are all worthwile reading. Cheers Mick
FollowupID: 532012

Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 22:56

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 22:56
The regulations vary a bit from one state to another.
My son got legal tint put on by the dealer in NSW and later shifted to SA.
Could not register the car without taking the tint off.

Get some cheap tint and it will turn a purple colour and probably go bubbly within a few months, Waste of money.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 269036

Reply By: Blaze - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 01:42

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 01:42
Hi Mick,

One thing I didn't like about the real dark tint was night driving, we had very dark reflective tint on our last road vehicle and when trying to turn into our driveway at night I had to put the window down and look out through the opening.. Just some extra food for thought. I have the darkest legal on both my vehicles now and am happy with that, may decide later to put a shade on the rear window as I use a reversing camera.
AnswerID: 269045

Follow Up By: PradOz - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 19:26

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 19:26
Hi again Blaze

LPG on 4WD

REVERSE CAMERAS on 4WD

If you have an opinion or suggestion on these two things would you care to drop me an email at the address I wrote above or post here. All suggestions appreciated.

Thanks Mick
FollowupID: 532022

Reply By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 12:42

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 12:42
I did have dark tint on the front windows of a previous car. I thought it was dangerous. Especially driving at night. I had to look hard and for twice as long to see any headlights coming towards me. There is a reason why the law regulates darkness of tint on front windows.

It would be better to have the windows looking good from inside the car looking out. Rather than looking good from the outside to match the paint wouldn't it?

Barnesy
AnswerID: 269105

Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 12:44

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 12:44
It was hard enough seeing oncoming cars. Pedestrians under street lights and kids riding pushbikes with a light on the handle bars were all but invisible. Not safe.
FollowupID: 531933