Reversing Camera's
Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 22:22
pf11
Hi to all, has anyone here installed a reversing camera that has the monitor slip over your existing rear view mirror? If so how difficult is it to run the power and cables needed to power up this monitor? I have a 2000 model 79series and am thinking of installing one but I am unsure of the effort needed to install the cables discreetly.
Cheers: Phil
Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 23:50
Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 23:50
No..but..why do people use reverseing cameras?
I find a half inch chain around your kids neck, tied to the esky is fairly safe! One , you know were the kids are,...and two, you can find the esky.
If there is a three, someone elses kids is ther problem!
Woops...I just read that!.....What the hell???
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 00:11
Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 00:11
Yes,
I have installed a camera and mirror mounted monitor on the Jack.
Was quite easy.
The roof trim can be eased away from the roof along the edge adjacent to the window and the cable inserted in
the gap created.
There should be plenty of room for the trim to return to its original position, except for the small bit where the cable exits to the camera.
Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 00:17
Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 00:17
Phil,
I bought a cheap camera and monitor off Ebay. Easy enough to install. The only issue is that the weight of the monitor causes the mirror to pivot down. I have anchored it with some tape.
Reply By: vuduguru - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 09:16
Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 09:16
Noticed Supercheap has a special on a wireless jobie. Binned the brochure but it was no more than $299.
Reply By: traveller2 - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 10:25
Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 10:25
The wireless ones quite often suffer from interference apparently.
I recently had a camera and screen installed in a bus and the general opinion on exploroz and the installer was that wired was much better.
Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 11:52
Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 11:52
Yep the wireless ones do suffer from interference quite badly to but I think it does have something to do with the frequency used
Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 12:07
Reply By: Member - Charlie (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 14:00
Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 14:00
Yep, I have a similar system installed in the 100s. The cable tucks neatly under the roof lining and runs over to the front door pillar and is then hidden behind the plastic shroud, cant see a thing. Can be easily removed for whatever reason.
Only problem I had was that the monitor is to heavy for the standard mirror, so I bought a mobile phone holder thingy with a suction cap of Ebay, removed the standard mirror and stuck the phone holder onto the windscreen. Has a bit of vibration on rough roads, but nothing I can't put up with.
Charlie.
Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 21:26
Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 21:26
I have one also and had one with a separate screen which I think is much better The mirror one reflects too much (as its supposed to do) and the little screen I had was just like a TV Clear and
bright. Am seriously thinking of reinstalling it.
Dont buy a camera with infra reds for night as they tend to give a washed out daytime view. I put a Swann one on my caravan and it had hardly any colour at all. Took it back and bought a mini camera off ebay and its really good. At night when reversing in the car the brake and reverse light give enuf illumination for a day camera to work.
Also tried wireless on the van which was a disaster. Too much metal for it worked in line of sight but not with the van between the camera and the receiver.
As far as installing it goes just run the cables up the door pillar after removing the trim. Your reversing light wire will be in the l/h kick panel. I have
mine wired thru a switch as
well so I can have the van one on whilst driving to see whats right behind me. The rear camera on the 100 series is mounted under the lip of the top tailgate and I can see the towbar and 100 meters behind me. The wires are run thru the loom from the l/h side rear
Can give u wiring diagram for dual power supply if u like
Follow Up By: pf11 - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 20:38
Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 20:38
Graham, thanks mate for your in-depth reply I will be taking on board what you and everyone else has said. My gratitude to all that replied, Graham I would realy appreciate it if you could send that wiring diagram on to me via Email. My address is philfarmer@optusnet.com.au
And again thanks to all that replied.
Cheers:Phil
Follow Up By: PradOz - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 21:45
Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 21:45
Hi Graham, thats pretty good info.
Any chance I can jump on the band wagon and get you to also forward me a copy of that wiring diagram on to me via Email. My address is v8footy@hotmail.com