Tub Liners
Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 14:55
Laura aka diver 1
Anyone know anywhere i could get one for the Navara (06 Dual Cab D22) for a half decent price...have found one for $380 delivered to Nowra - I think it the "tuff" brand...
Laura
Reply By: QLD Kev - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 15:00
Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 15:00
Have a bo peep at this one it is down your way
Kiwi look here...........yes here
Cheers Zev
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 15:04
Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 15:04
Ive asked them a Q - it looks bent on the side or is it maybe like this cos its off the ute???? its only a 40min trip to Berkely i think it was...
Laura
Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 15:07
Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 15:07
The sides are not designed to support weight. LOL
The bent bit is actually the piece for the tailgate. They are very easy to fit but IMHO I wouldn't fit one as moisture builds up undewr them and it eventually rusts the tray.
Cheers Zev
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 15:11
Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 15:11
yeah I get the end bits for under the back window but if you have a look on the right side of the photo it looks bent but it could be that it just cannt stand up by itself....
they're made so that air can circulate under them...we werent going to get one but figured it'll get trashed with what we will be throwing n the back. No tail
gate bit though....cannt be too hard to get rubber and get it to stay there some how..
kiwi
Follow Up By: TD100 - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 19:19
Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 19:19
Hey Kev,i had a 98 Hilux for a few years with a tub liner in it when i bought it new,when i sold it 3 years later i took it out to clean under it and it was in almost perfect order(apart from a bit of paint scuffing)no rust or anything else,IMO if it gets cleaned under there occassionally they wont have any dramas with it.cheers Paul
Reply By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 15:32
Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 15:32
Check out Blueys Ute World...
Sorry, no contact details, I think they're over Penrith way??
Reply By: DaveO*ST-R - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 15:53
Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 15:53
Laura,
If you were not aware,
the tub liner on ebay is an "over-lip" for want of a better word, with cut outs for the sports bar. The reason it is bending on the right side is that it is not currently being supported by the body of the vehicle. (the bend starts at its "weakest" point where the rear bar goes - it would be fine when you install it)
If you intend putting a canopy on the vehicle, this is not the one for you as obviously the sports bar would need to be removed, (in that case, you need the "under-lip" style, which I have on
mine)
From memory, I paid around the $380? mark for
mine from Nissan.
As an aside, if you are putting a canopy on the D22 and as such removing the sports bars, carefully check the panel under the moulding where the bar mounts to the side of the body.
Mine had small creases in the body work that annoy the c#*p out of me in certain light. Of course Nissan will not accept a warranty claim as they say the bars are meant to stay on !!, but if you do put a canopy on, it needs to be a genuine Nissan one as the sides of the canopy apparently hang lower over the side (than other after market canopies) and cover the creases !!! Go figure !!! You'd reckon they would fix the problem, not mask it. My canopy is an ARB which does not go down far enough to cover them. Nissan say the creasing is common on the D22.
DaveO
Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 16:23
Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 16:23
Wow $380 from Nissan...they quoted us $680 !! i told them to go stilck it !!!
not wanting to put a canopy on...interfers with Nathans work....and so the bars will stay on. Do you know if the tail
gate piece can be bought seperatly?
Laura
Follow Up By: DaveO*ST-R - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 21:50
Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 21:50
Glad I was sitting down when I read $680.00 How things go up !! Rogues !! I would have told them to jam it too at that price.
Sorry, I can't help with info on whether you can buy the tailgate piece seperately. Good luck whichever way you choose to go.
Reply By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 16:10
Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 16:10
Laura a mate of
mine has one of a 96 D/C D22. Not sure what brand but it was supplied by Nissan.
He replaced his with an alloy tray.
And still has
the tub liner and Tonaue.
How does $200 sound tub liner only as in new condition.
You would have to pick it up Northern beaches ,Newport,
Sydney.
Sydney make a day of it an see the sights go to
the beach,the kids will love it! LOL.
My email is on
my home page if you want any more info.
Regards Rob.
Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 16:32
Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 16:32
Thanks Rob,
Will run it pass Nathan and will let you know. Not sure if a 96 and an 06 have the same shape though...a few companies I looked at have a different liner for ones from 11/01 until current compared to earlier models
Laura
Follow Up By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 17:03
Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 17:03
Sorry should read 06 it is of a 2006 Navara
Follow Up By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 17:03
Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 17:03
Sorry should read 06 it is of a 2006 Navara
Reply By: MP - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 16:21
Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 16:21
Laura,
Re that one on Ebay - it has no tailgate liner. As previously said just make sure you will get value out of it. My dual cab has one which came with the vehicle but if I had a choice probably wouldn't get another. Other down sides are that they rub, are slippery, and you also lose a few centimetres here and there. I would make sure you get something for the tailgate, both to use as a workbench and to protect the top - to rest things on and drag stuff over. Just my two bobs worth.
Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 16:26
Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 16:26
Thanks Mark,
Not too worried if no tail
gate piece although will keep a look out..
Thought about not going liner cos they are slippery and loss of room and thought about putting rubber base down instead and may still do this....nathan want a liner...I want the rubber base...!!
laura
Follow Up By: MP - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 16:34
Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 16:34
I tend to agree, depending on its use. I have a canopy & use
mine for work and have made a shelf & side tubs so I can empty it in 10 minutes and load the
camping gear in. If you have a canopy carpet is an option. Either way they are both easy to remove to clean. Worst case without a tub liner would be a toolbox or gas bottle shifting and denting tub skin, common sense should prevail. Good luck.
Reply By: QLD Kev - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 16:32
Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 16:32
Kiwi,
Waht about this stuff you could colour match it to the ute LOL
I have a tailgate cover you can have if you want it, you can pick it up when you do the house work ha ha
Cheers Zev
| Russell Coight:
Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 16:38
Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 16:38
Dont know the cost???? I almost had a heart attack when i saw the price of $19k...but that was for buying into the frnachise...LOL
...housework....I got all my washing done...dried and away...only taken me forever to play catch up!!
Kiwi
Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 16:35
Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 16:35
Rhino liner or similar spray on liner would be better, the drop in liners get
water underneath, I'll leave the rest to your imagination.
Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 16:45
Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 16:45
Thats why Im not too keen on them but Nathans liking them...if it was up to me Id be buying some rubber - cuttn it to shape and throwing it in....
Laura
Reply By: Ianw - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 21:06
Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 21:06
Might as
well put in my two bobs worth. ( That's twenty cents for all you younguns)
My Nav had one fitted when I bought it. Thought it was great at the time . Had a ARB canopy fitted last year and when they took out the tubliner there was about 5 kilos of fine red sand underneath. Also surface rust where it had rubbed the paint off, and had been wet from a leak in the sealant on the front bottom of the tray. (Check yours for leaks here).
But worst problem was the top edges of the tray. The lips of the tubliner which cover the top had rubbed thru the paint almost all the way round.
Needless to say but I too have one I wont use! (great for storing firewood though!)