SA/WA Border Region

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 16:52
ThreadID: 51120 Views:2953 Replies:5 FollowUps:7
Hi all.
In May next year, 2 of us on motorcycles are planning a trip around South Australia to raise money for the Childhood Cancer Association. All the permits are in place (yes, even the APY Lands) but we're still trying, and failing, to find information on any tracks that may exist north of the Anne Beadell Highway through to Wingellina. As close as possible to the SA/WA border.
Any and all information, advice and even silly ideas, most welcome.
Tony

Reply By: equinox - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 19:58

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 19:58
You could try looking for tracks on Google earth.

or buy the relevant aerial photographs from your local mapshop (very expensive and you still might not find any tracks)

or maybe contact the locals directly.

Now the silly idea:

Cut straight through the bush. It's about 275 kms from Anne Beadell to Wingella as the spear flys. On the map there's a fair few sandridges to cross over. I presume you will have dirt bikes - shouldn't be a problem ,provided that there are no problems. I really don't think it's that silly but I think some people may.

Here's a pic of me in my Desert Recon Quad - Range of about 600kms. Bit different I know but these "silly ideas" are possible some times.

AnswerID: 269359

Reply By: Tony 12 - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 20:10

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 20:10
Thanks equinox.
In actual fact, just after posting this question again, I started ringing around to the communities in the area. I got the phone number of one of the traditional owners who sounds like he is willing to help. So I'll try him tomorrow, but the girl I spoke to was pretty sure there was heaps of tracks along there.
I've tried Google Earth, but the resolution goes bad about near Serpentine Lakes, so that's no help.
We had considered going cross- country which would be possible, but the bikes will be pretty well loaded as we have to carry enough fuel and water etc to get us from Eucla/Border Village, so travelling existing on tracks would be easier....... I hope.........
Thanks again for the input.
Tony
AnswerID: 269362

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 23:26

Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 23:26
Hmmm - what route are you planning North from Eucla..?. that is hellish country up there, and whilst following the border sounds like a great idea, and there appear to be a lot of tracks there, the country is hellishly slow, the mulga falls and grows over the track really easily - one minute you're in sand, next you're in the carst... That is why all the routes taken by the locals are west or east of the border.

Even on a bike I reckon you'd be doing 50km a day as the crow flies and 200km in actual distance.
FollowupID: 532508

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 22:38

Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 22:38
There's nothing near the border that I've noticed. To go that far cross country is not a likely option - the mulga there is very sharp - it tears up tyres.

Your best option for an adventure is to take the Mt Davies Road from Annes Corner on the Anne Beadell Highway. Do a search on this forum, and you might find the odd report from people who have done it in the past few years.

Its very isolated, and overgrown. Len Beadell described it as the most difficult road he'd ever built.

phil
AnswerID: 269616

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 22:46

Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 22:46
Just a caveat - If its just two of you on bikes, I'd have serious concerns of you being able to carry sufficient water and fuel. Theres no water out there, unless you deviate west to the the WA tanks on the Anne Beadell, or the shed tanks on the Cook Road about 100k south of Voakes Hill. And theres no one out there to provide help.

Only chance for fuel would be to deviate to Ilurka (?sp) roadhouse on the Anne Beadell.
FollowupID: 532488

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 23:08

Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 23:08
Any information on a road... um track north from 29 34 41.04S 128 53 30.31E ?

I had made a note of it, but can barely see something on Google Earth - have no idea where it goes (or went).

There is also the road north from Ilkurlka... you can get approvals for that road and I have been told it is in pretty good condition by the locals who seem to be using it.

Call up Ilkurlka - they should be able to tell you.

I can ask around when I'm up there week after next.
FollowupID: 532495

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 07:16

Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 07:16
Gday Andrew,
I haven't been out there. But it features on the Hema SW map.
I'll attempt to paste an image here from my members gallery, but its not working at present
or

Also, I'm still having a read of the DMP for Mumungari, so will email you in the next couple of days

FollowupID: 532533

Reply By: Tony 12 - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 23:01

Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 23:01
Thanks for the input fellas.
But I've talked to locals up there today, and there's lots of tracks to choose from but we need to go into Pipalyatjara to get through apparently.
No problems with fuel and water, it's only around 700kms from Eucla to Wingellina.
So thanks anyway, but those in the area are telling me no problem
P.S. this is not the first time we've done a trip like this.
AnswerID: 269623

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 23:30

Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 23:30
The Ilkurlka road north brings you out at Pipalyatjara - somebody here did it recently... I will put my mind to thinking who.

From what I understand it is graded and all - or has been lately.

That is a fair way west of the border and Wingellina... why Wingellina?

Andrew.
FollowupID: 532510

Follow Up By: Tony 12 - Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 01:01

Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 01:01
The whole point of the project is raise money for the Childhood Cancer Association by doing a 'Lap of South Australia' That means following the borders and coast as closely as possible.
We're well aware of the potential difficulties and are making every effort to gain as much knowledge about the country we're travelling through as possible before we go in May next year.
It seems the only people that think it's not possible are those who don't live in the area. I've made some great contact both in W.A. and the APY Lands, all of whom are very supportive and don't think it's in any way impossible. When the people in the area tell me it's not a good idea, that's when I'll reconsider. :-)
So I guess I just need to make my mind up who to believe.
I think you might also be surprised at how much more quickly and easily a bike can cover ground as opposed to a 4X4.
We simply had to come up with a project that was interesting, to make it attractive to sponsors etc. And this is what we have come up with.
We already having backing from some pretty major sponsors including a motorcycle manufacturer to supply bikes etc so I have every confidence that we will be successful. And even if we're not, we'll still raise some much needed funds for a very deserving charity. :-)
FollowupID: 532530

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 08:36

Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 08:36
I do spend a lot of time with the locals out there Tony, and have driven up the "border tracks" to the transcontinental line in a 4x4.

I don't ride bikes ;-)

The people in the area will never tell you anything's a bad idea. They only ever think you're craaazy and don't say it ;-) They call it manta milmil - country (manta) that is dangerous, sacred and forbidden (milmil). As far as I am aware you won't find them travelling out there except on the Oak-Valley - Tjunjuntjara road and if travelling North, usually from Cook or Rawlinna. Ask them where they go or where they have been out there. When I took a mob of them out there recently I was showing them things they hadn't seen.

For all that, I can't see that it's not feasible up to the Anne Beadell. It may be that the track that I mentioned near the border does continue North, but I've not been there. Certainly North from Ilkurlka should be feasible from all I've heard.

If you want some contacts at Oak Valley let me know (Andrew@vividadventures.com.au) - I look forward to following your progress.

Andrew.
FollowupID: 532545

Reply By: Tony 12 - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 23:26

Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 23:26
My apologies. I just reread my post and I sounded like an ungrateful sod! :-) I really do appreciate all advice.
And thanks Andrew, I'm getting information from one of the traditional owners at Wingellina, so I'm fairly confident it will be accurate. But I'd be interested to any other information you may find out.
Tony
AnswerID: 269627