Navara now deemed unsafe to drive
Submitted: Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 20:43
Member - extfilm (NSW)
Hey all, expecially Navara owners. As I am monitoring the cracks on the tray mounts, on my way home from work I could hear a strange noise every now and then from under the near side at the back of the tray.
To my horror the bracket that holds the distribution valve for the brakes has snapped off. As a consequence the valve is only hanging on by the brake pipes........
If I had not noticed it, it would only be a matter of time before there would be a D22 missile on the road with a snapped rear brake line unable to stop.
I hope all navara owners who have taken thier so called "Nissan Tough" vehicle bush has a look to see if the bracket is still hanging in there.
I would really hate to have bought this "Soft Roader" as a farm ute.....
Now I am getting a little more cranky......
Reply By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 20:52
Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 20:52
Bin it!!!!! but keep the Jim beam girls though ;)
Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 21:18
Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 21:18
I'm sure I can arrange to have them on the bonnett of the new Cruiser ute when it arrives :) (Note that is a real big smile Stefan) :)))))))
Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 20:55
Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 20:55
I thought modern vehicles had a split system ....oh sorry it's a Nissan .
Follow Up By: TD100 - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 21:08
Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 21:08
yeh it has a split system--split in half!hahahahahaha.Paul
Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 21:16
Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 21:16
I am sure it is getting very close to splitting in half....... But if it does fortuanetly it will be on the back of a tow truck on monday
:(
Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 22:18
Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 22:18
Hi Extfilm
We have been hearing you complain about your Navara since last
February, 10 months ago, you said at the time you ordered a
75 series, my son ordered his in May and picked it up in August,
must be a bit slow down at the Toyota dealership where you come from.
Daza
Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 22:19
Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 22:19
Get two tow trucks and take one 1/2 to one dealer and the other 1/2 to another and you might get two truck for the price of one.
Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 22:47
Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 22:47
No Daza, I really wished I had, never did though. Got all the quotes but accountant advised me to wait till the new financal year. Only recently got back from a 10 week trip and just want to clean this one up before I commit on the 75.
Plus I thought I might give it the benifit of trying it out through the centre of oz.
I'll admit it did make to
Steep point and back to
Sydney with only the bullbar snapping and being replaced in Kalgoolie. Mechanically it is fine.
Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 22:21
Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 22:21
Extfilm im not trying to be a smartarse here , but surely if you know there is a problem , wich you obviously did, wouldnt you do something about it to make sure it doesnt develop into a dangerous situation??? Iknow i would .......Cheers......Dave
Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 22:36
Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 22:36
Hey Borgy,
It is actually booked in for Monday for the first Bullbar replacement. I only got back from my trip 3weeks ago and it has taken Nissan 3 weeks to approve and get the parts in.
Only realised the Tray mount cracks 2 weeks ago and the dealership said we will look at it when we replace the bullbar.
The tray mounts did not deem the ute undrivable.
Only heard the noise today so looked underneath and found the brake distribution mount broken today. I think it was ok last week when I looked under it. But don't think I closely looked to see if it was cracked.
I am all for preventative maintenance but can only be preventitive if Nissan comes to the party too.
I was once a mechanic so I can usually tell when something is unsafe or not.
Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 22:43
Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 22:43
Extfilm , no worries mate , like i said i wasnt being a smartarse , just i had read your posts on the cracks with interest and wasnt aware that you had actually approached Nissan about it , i cant say i blame you for being p i s s e d off mate , i know i would be , anyway best of luck and i hope your new Toyota when you get one serves you a bit better than the Navara did......Cheers.......Dave
Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 22:49
Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 22:49
Sorry just reread and I meant to say second bullbar replacement
Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 04:21
Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 04:21
Bloody hell fellars !
I have had our Navara Twin Cab 3.0TD since Oct 2003, and never have had a problem. ( touchwood ) except for
the springs shyting themselves, hence the aftermarket
suspension kit, which by the way was going on it anyway.
Think I will have a good look at it, We have had a couple of trips up into the Deserts if S.A and sth. N.T., not to mention the countless shoots for foxes in it...and the odd
vic High Country trip after Samba.
Mechanic has not picked up anything either, as yet, but next servicce I will be looking with him.
Thanks for
the tip.
Cheers all
Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 11:45
Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 11:45
Gday Bucky....My son had one as
well, he usd to punish his fairly hard and never had a problem with it , i think Extfilm must have been unlucky and got a lemon , or else theres something hes not telling us ........Cheers.......Dave
Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 18:44
Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 18:44
Just put 2 new tyres on today and the tyre fitter told me he has heard of a few that are having troubles too.....
These have been city utes too.