The long and winding road

Submitted: Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 19:47
ThreadID: 51311 Views:2698 Replies:9 FollowUps:9
There was no accommodation available in Broken Hill and I'd driven from Kimba . I was in a hurry to get home so with night approaching, I zoomed up the highway at the breathtaking speed of 80km/h. Keeping a wary eye out for animals, I finally made Wilcannia. Not the sort of spot I wanted to wander around finding a bed, so it was on towards Cobar and the dark for the night. Truck after truck sped by while I looked for the whistle stop that I knew would be open. Finally I spied the lights off to the right and pulled in for a coffee.
Just the two customers, myself and a station owner who was drinking, not exactly suburbia but a welcome break. Had a longish yarn, was shown Paulene Hanson's book ("she's been on dancing with the stars ya know. I reckon she'd fancy me if I put my teeth in" says the owner.)
Nine thirty and I'm off again into the dark. Suicidal roos, goats, emus and other wanderers take years off my life with worry. Just one more truck pull off before Cobar and I'm too tired to go any further so its in I go, followed by a truck that has refused to pass me for the last 50K. It turned out to be an explosives truck with a lady driver.
Ready to kip, all organized in the passenger seat. Turn on the radio and note the world is still turning.
Just about asleep, when I feel the truck moving from side to side, like a giant hand is rocking it. Peer out of the slightly opened side window, and can't see anything, even that truck. Huh ? Tree branches about 20m up are waving like they're at a rock concert. Oh. It's a dust storm, a beauty. Roll window up but find later that it's too late. Instant change of colour of the vehicle's inside.
Next morning roll almost into Cobar, looking forward to a feed.

But...both sides of the highway are being stopped by half the police in NSW, assisted by customs and customs dogs.

I roll in and am told by the female constable (fonstable ?)
to stop my engine. Oh how silly of me. Engine stopped. She reads me the relevant act and hands me a copy that she's signed...thats a newie.
Meanwhile a male constable does a visual and the dog handler and dog have a sniff around the vehicle. I get out and open the doors so the dog can run riot. It sure likes dirty socks.

Do you want to do a license check I ask the girl. That would be nice.
Good, cause the buggars in Eucla missed me this year I tell her.
License comes back and she wanders off.

Are you going to test ME for illegal substances I ask a young constable ? Well...I'm not exactly sure of what we're doing she says, I just got here. Typical.

The original gel comes back and looks amazed. You can go now she tells me. Apparently I've outstayed my welcome.

Later as I head out of Cobar I see a sign telling me I'm now in "Bogan" shire.

That explains a lot ! :))

Reply By: furph - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 20:30

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 20:30
I too heard about the Eucla cops. Went into the gunshop in Kal. because having travelled all the way round from W. Qld. and heading home east, leant that carrying a firearm in WA without a permit is sudden death (so to speak).
The shop owner said he could pretty easily organise the necessary for a "couple of hundred $'s", because the Eucla cops were absolutely red hot on stopping and checking on everything.
I thought, bugger, I am licensed in my home state, the guns are registered, so will argue this out if needed.
About 20k. west of Eucla, here is the patrol car, a stopped VW camper, and 2 cops going through the lot. Bags, cases, you name it, out on the roadside everywhere.
You reckon I put my foot down as I went by!! Barely drew breath till we reached the border.
They could be doing a good job and I hope so, but I didnt need their attention!
cheers furph
AnswerID: 270226

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 13:10

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 13:10
We were returning home from the West about 3 weeks ago and camped off the road near Mundrabilla. We were about half a k from the road but expected to hear trucks during the night. next morning the trouble and strife and I both commented about the lack of noise during the night. Approaching Eucla, 3 Highway patrol cars were heading West obviously after a long nights work. Still very few trucks on the road and just over the border at the Border Village, the SA Scaleys, Mermaids and Cops were waiting for and had a heap of trucks lined up giving them the go over.
They are only doing their job and if you have done nothing wrong, you have nothing to worry about.
Funny thing though, it was surprising the number of trucks who were parked on the side taking a break. LOL
FollowupID: 533323

Reply By: obee - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 21:02

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 21:02
and i though the wallahs at the airport were bad.....

owen
AnswerID: 270236

Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 21:19

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 21:19
Footloose

Yes, but what was the highlight of the trip?

Kim
AnswerID: 270241

Reply By: Member - shane (SA) - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 21:20

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 21:20
what are they mainly looking for, do you have the right to stop the dog going into the car? i carry very fragile and expensive things in the back and a dog could cost me about $2000.00 in broken items if allowed in. not to mention very unhappy customers.
AnswerID: 270242

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 06:39

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 06:39
AFAIK unless they have a reason, yes you have the right.
I opened the vehicle up for the dog because I figured that the sooner they knew I wasn't a bad guy, the sooner I could get breakfast.
FollowupID: 533258

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 21:29

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 21:29
Footloose

Umm .... Did you sell anything ...!!!

AnswerID: 270245

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 21:54

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 21:54
You're on a roll Footy. Keep 'em comin LOL

AnswerID: 270248

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 06:43

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 06:43
Naah....time for me to pull my head in and let people post on serious matters LOL
After all, too much of a good thing .........
FollowupID: 533260

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 22:08

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 22:08
Footy, that same operation uncovered a truck with a stash to behold and 2500 grey nurses. Yep that's right the cab was stashed with two hundred and fifty grand CASH!!!

I reckon they found what they were out there for.

Cheers, Trevor.
AnswerID: 270254

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 06:42

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 06:42
I was fairly sure that they had good intel, and were probably expecting a large shipment of drugs through.
Two fifty grand ? That was probably to pay for the diesel ! :))
FollowupID: 533259

Reply By: DIO - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 10:16

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 10:16
What an enthralling yarn. Isn't it reassuring to know that our Police are out there doing their job. Checking for Illicit drugs, stolen property (including vehicles), wanted persons (warrants & escapees), illegal, unregistered/unlicenced and incorrectly stored fireams and ammunition, illegal immigrants, perhaps even unlicenced drivers driving unregistered vehicles. All of these and probably lots more are legitimate reasons for Ppolice to be out on the streets, stopping vehicles, speaking to people, detecting and preventing the commission of crime(s). Police don't/didn't know you, they had no idea of your reasons for travelling the roads, who or what you were transporting for whatever reasons. Get the idea. They were out there doing their job. Something they get paid for, by tax payers. Gee sorry if you felt a little inconvenievced. You can be assured, I and millions of others were at home probably sleeping soundly or getting ready to do so in the knowledge that there was some form of authority and policing out there.
AnswerID: 270303

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 10:40

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 10:40
Well. It seems my entertaining story struck a raw nerve.
If you'd have read closely you would have found that
I was more than happy for them to do MORE than they were tasked to do.
Yes, I was inconvenienced. They had their job to do, and no doubt complained about the early hour and the bleary eyed travellers. That's human nature, just as I'm allowed to mention the fact that they were there, doing their job.
Very few of the travelling public are stopped at random, except at Eucla. In fact I think that a "license check" is a pretty poor excuse. Why not just do an RBT? Or be honest and say we're checking to see if you are a bad guy and have illegal stuff ?
No doubt they catch a lot of bad guys. But they'd do the same if they stopped you and your fellow citizens on your way to work also. By the way, how many times has that happened...and why do you think that's the case?
Life would be so much easier for law enforcement in a police state, wouldn't it.

FollowupID: 533298

Reply By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 12:16

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 12:16
Sydney airport, Brisbane airport, Melbourne airport and Adelaide airport security is a job I have walked thru all of the above mentioned airports with little firecrackersn in my carry on luggage and have being pulled over once for a explosives check. I had like three little Chinese firecrackers in the bottom of my laptop bag left over from new years of this year!!! Not sure if there in there still I do think I have cleaned them out, but the point being they haven't being picked up at all by our airport guys?????
AnswerID: 270320

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 12:24

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 12:24
And I'll bet the check was at Bris airport ? Some are better than others I guess...it's a worry for flying passengers.
FollowupID: 533312

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 12:39

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 12:39
No both where sydney airport, when i go to and airport i have to take off my colorado boots belt, my wallet mobile phone my headset for mobile phone, coins in pocket, practically strip naked for the world to see, and thats before i get to the laptop bag!!!!

Most of above happen generally except i have to go thru with no boots on because colorado have a metal strip thru the middle of the boot it is fun for the ladies and if your that way nclinde which i am definetly not! Getting married in a a couple of weeks!!!
FollowupID: 533318

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 12:50

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 12:50
Many years ago I had to spend time in a transit lounge in a certain Asian city. When I got off the plane they ignored two long haired scruffy guys in front and stopped me. Woman customs officer using hand signals. I had chewing gum paper in my pocket and it set her machine off. I explained what it was, so without saying anything (I guess she was annoyed), she put her hand into my pocket and pulled the paper out. Grunting, she showed me to the exit. How rude, thought I. At least she could try and learn a bit of English if she wanted to assault me !

As I was sitting in the lounge she went past with a co worker. They were both speaking better English than I.
You can imagine what I thought.
Hopefully this wouldn't happen in today's world...would it ?
FollowupID: 533321

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 13:07

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 13:07
Yes, i believe you as i have heard a few stories from people who have travelled ovesea's, I haven't left australia yet but am longing to see ireland and a few other countries around the world!

I find it disgusting that people who are multi lingual refuse on occasion to speak anything but there mother tongue, but don't get me wrong I am not racist and can't stand racist people, as i have many friends from many parts of the world and i enjoy there friendship and try to learn some of there language and customs so as not to offend!

Above you describe many parts of australia, ie the gold coast if you aren't asain then you don't get served, this is from what i have heard, so i cannot and will not make a claim to its authenticity, but i hope that in this great country that there is none of the above will or is happening.

I hope your trip went better from then on!!!
FollowupID: 533322