Small trip report- Newnes ( pic inc )

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 14:15
ThreadID: 51338 Views:3049 Replies:2 FollowUps:4
GREETINGS , Took a camping trip to Newnes on the weekend - weather looked bad in the morning when we left ( sat) But when we got there . the weather was great ( well not as bad as Sydney ) had a few little showers for 1 - 2 min here and there - but in general was great

Very happy with the Jayco :) - got there easily even on the 10 Km of slippery and in some places clay road

Was a little worried on Sunday about the river crossing back to wolgan road as the river had come up a bit and was fast flowing now - got across easily :) - on the other side of the river we were greeted buy a wombat with baby - very happily munching away grass without a care in the world - kids were very happy --- a little further down the road -- seen a very healthy Red belly black snake basking on the road - stopped and got him off the road before some careless drive killed him ......

was a great weekend and the walk around the old shale mine was also good - great spot -- good for the kids :)

Boc

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 15:42

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 15:42
What are the national Parks charging to stay these days?? Absolutely beautiful place, i was at a place called Mount Airley a few weeks back, that is on the Glen Davis Road....the Garden of Stone National Park is awsome....glad you kept dry....
AnswerID: 270360

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 16:08

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 16:08
What did they charge for 5 Million star accomodation? ........ $0.00

I also take More rubish out with me that what i came in with ( teach the kids to clean up after others also )

Boc

FollowupID: 533349

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 16:30

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 16:30
G'day dozer,

In our 4WD club we call Mt Airley (Jurrasic Park). We put the bush dunny in there.

It is one of my fav spots thats for sure
You would be familiar with this hill then
Mt Airley

FollowupID: 533360

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 12:08

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 12:08
Gday Stefan
Thanks for that mate, its still there and working a treat...Col is his same old talkative self....it amazes me how easily the Nissan drives that hill...well done.
Im glad the million star grounds were still free...ive heard all sorts from the NP putting camping bays in there to them wanting to lease the land for a resort in there like they are doing on the south coast in Killalea....i have fond memories of camping there for 8 days over new year, and lying in that creek most days....
The NP were just starting to fix up the ruins with their walkways and signage...interesting thing to consider is with the fuel prices the way they are, shale minimg for oil may well become viable again.
FollowupID: 533527

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 15:58

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 15:58
You are a good Dad . Lucky kids . When you bought the wombat , did you keep the baby ? Spell checkers can be a bugger sometimes !
Willie .
AnswerID: 270364

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 21:50

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 21:50
Willie

You read too much into it.. :-)
FollowupID: 533429