Fire Basket Quest

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 11:13
ThreadID: 51409 Views:7694 Replies:12 FollowUps:15
Hi Everyone

I am trying to procure a firebasket for a party type fire in suburban Melbourne backyard.

Some people have used the stainless steel tub from an old washing machine which has rows of perforated holes in it which really makes them work well.

They just weld on some legs to the tub.

Before I start roaming the streets looking for one in a roadside rubbish collection I thought I might ask here about options.

A Google search shows that some are available overseas but not here.

Reply By: Wombat - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 11:25

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 11:25
We got one similar to this from Bunnings.

AnswerID: 270716

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 11:31

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 11:31
Hi Wombat

That looks cute , will keep in mind , but I'm probably looking for something more down market , but not as down market as half a 44 gallon drum.

FollowupID: 533728

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 11:35

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 11:35
I think it was only about $70 (the Bunnings one isn't copper), so I think the next step down may be a half 44.
FollowupID: 533730

Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 13:30

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 13:30
I borrowed one of these over winter from some friends who weren't using it. Works a treat.
FollowupID: 533745

Reply By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 11:35

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 11:35
G'day Robin,

One that I have seen that works well was an old pressure tank from a water pump. If you can get a 70litre or larger tank, cut an opening approximately 1/3 of the diameter and 2/3 of the height. Weld some reinforcing legs on the base to keep it off the ground.
Weld some reo rods just below the face opening that you have created so that the ash will settle into the bottom. You could even place a chimney on top to help draw the heat and get rid of the smoke at a better level.
I have a Davey 70l pressure tank that I intend to convert. The yellow paint will burn off but you could paint it with the black Pot Belly stove paint.

I hope you can understand my description. If you want more info, MM me and I'll try to provide a sketch that I could fax to you.

Des
AnswerID: 270718

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 11:40

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 11:40
PS Some of the hardware stores sell the wrought iron type Braziers. They work very well with heat beads.

Try some of the irrigation type business places who may have old tanks. Once the bladder has let go, it is cheaper to replace the tank than fit a new bladder.

I have the bottom half of an old Pot Belly that I use for outside heating.
FollowupID: 533734

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 11:37

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 11:37
what's wrong with a drilled/grinded out (safe to heat) 44? Should not cost you more than 10 bucks.
AnswerID: 270720

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 11:38

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 11:38
aaah, just saw your "down market" comment.

guess I'm a "bloody peasant" then :) and a happy one too.
FollowupID: 533732

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 11:49

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 11:49
Hi Bushfix

I was thinking more of my skills with a grinder and a welder and had mental pictures of ragged holes and sharp edges etc.

The washing machine tubs , are really good as they have hundreds of little holes in them and hence loose little material and give a good glow.

FollowupID: 533735

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 11:52

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 11:52
funny you posted this, on return from our latest trip, the washing machine carked it....goodbye another thousand dollars. But now I have a fire basket from the old one. Although, I generally use a well established fireplace I have in a corner of our yard....if I lived in Melbourne you could have had it for a slab.
FollowupID: 533736

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 12:15

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 12:15
At my local rubbish dump there is a whiteware collection area where they remove the stainless baskets and sell them as planter boxes - cheap.
AnswerID: 270730

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 12:43

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 12:43
Hi Kiwi

Yes , thats a good use to, I'll have to check out dumps in Melbournes east.

Like some of your member pics - you'll have to add some more titles if you can.

FollowupID: 533739

Follow Up By: HowdyDoody - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 12:47

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 12:47
Where is your local rubbish dump? We have been after a washing machine tub for this exact purpose for years.
FollowupID: 533740

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 13:25

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 13:25
Sorry HowdyDoody but it's on the East Island :-)), I am in NZ at the moment. I would think that any large rubbish dump has a metal reclaim / recycling area these days so you should be able to pick one up. Otherwise try a large appliance store that takes trade-ins. Most of the old washing machines get dumped so they may be able to do a deal for you and give you a trashed machine.
FollowupID: 533744

Reply By: 96 GXL 80 series - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 13:51

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 13:51
There will be one on link 51410

The one just above this one very shortly.

He is asking where to put the fuel containers?
so keep an eye out or get his mobile number to keep in contact and grab it before someone else does.
AnswerID: 270742

Reply By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 14:33

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 14:33
I cut a 9kg gas bottle in half and welded legs and handles on it. I made a grill to so I can cook on it as well. That is our camping one. In my backyard I made a steel ring 3ft diameter about 6mm steel and 400 high. Covered the sides with rocks and build a swing in barbeque next to it so you can swing the plate in and out. About time the weekend comes up....the pork roast is defrosting :-)

Reiner
AnswerID: 270747

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 19:07

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 19:07
If you can't find a "cheap - up market" option, you could invest in a HillyBilly Brazier.

Hillbilly Brazier

AnswerID: 270787

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 20:53

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 20:53
Looks interesting Sandman

FollowupID: 533812

Reply By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 20:13

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 20:13
Robin,

Our solution is literally a fire bucket. It's a standard size bucket with grate and air holes and it is fantastic. We don't use huge logs of course but it throws out lots heat from scrap timber and twigs.

AnswerID: 270802

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 20:49

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 20:49
Hi Peter
Is this something you made or a product ?

Robin MIller
FollowupID: 533810

Follow Up By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 20:54

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 20:54
We got it from of all places Myers. I think it was a patio bbq. I have a gal bucket that I plan to adapt and it'll be pretty simple.

Drop by to see if you like - we're in Upwey.

FollowupID: 533814

Reply By: Member - peter C (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 20:26

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 20:26
have used the hillbilly brazier and found it excellent and not bad value .
AnswerID: 270810

Reply By: Gob & Denny(hampton park vic) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 21:00

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 21:00
goodday robin
a couple of old truck brake drums sitting together they make a great firplace

AnswerID: 270824

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 23:01

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 23:01
Hey!
I second Steve's suggestion.

Christine and I camped at Wallaraugh River a couple of years ago and got caught with the tail end of a blizzard of the Victorian Alps. The camp ground owners had welded legs onto a heap of 15" truck brake drums to make fire braziers. With a good hardwood fire going in them they threw out a hell of a lot of heat. I think the trick is to make the legs long enough so that they sit up high, that way you can pull your chair up to get the radiated heat but let the smoke blow over your head. We found them to be very effective/cosy.
I admit that they were practical but not "stylish".

FollowupID: 533866

Reply By: Shaker - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 23:37

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 23:37
The 'wrought iron' brazier style from Bunnings for around $40.00 is excellent.
AnswerID: 270865

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 23:50

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 23:50
yep, I have one of the hardware store jobs that I got for about 30 bucks.

It is just a few bits of flat steel bar welded together in the shape of a large champagne flute gathered together at the base. Stands about 2 feet high and a foot wide.

Fill 'er up with 1/2 a bag of heat beads with a couple of firelighters in the bottom and light'er up. Takes probably 30-50 minutes to get going but once it is going it throws tremendous heat for 3-4 hours. Top up with the other half of the bag of heat beads and it will go till the wee small hours.

1 bag of heat beads and you are toasty (if you can't have a "real" campfire!).

Muddy
AnswerID: 270866

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 08:23

Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 08:23
Hi Muddy

I did see those actually , but without thinking about it much I thought that the vertical bits had gaps in between them that would let burning bits fall out easily, and ashes blow away.

Have you noticed this at all , my initial source of firewood will be a paling fence that has just been replaced.

FollowupID: 533895