Folding up those mongrel shower tents
Submitted: Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 19:19
Jimbo Vic
I know this was discussed a little while back and I've searched the archives but can't find it.
Can someone please tell me which thread it was?
Reply By: Topcat (WA) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 19:43
Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 19:43
Have a look at thread 49219. Cheers.
Follow Up By: Jimbo Vic - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 20:07
Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 20:07
Thanks Mate,
I'll get the bastard of a thing out and try the methods in that thread.
Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 19:47
Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 19:47
Jim I gather from your question that you have problems with them? We've considered getting one are they worth it and are they a hassle to use?
Follow Up By: Topcat (WA) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 19:54
Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 19:54
I've got one that I use as a shower cubicle when a little privacy is required & reckon it's great. No problem setting up & as explained in the thread above with a little practise can be folded up quite easily. Cheers.
Follow Up By: Jimbo Vic - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 20:12
Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 20:12
Dunc,
They are simply brilliant to set up, they pop up faster than John Holmes, bang in four small tent pegs and Bob's your Mother's Brother.
Sometimes I fold it up in one go. Other times I hurl it through the air to the four winds in shear frustration.
Once I master the sod of a thing I will be happy. I'm going to practice a bit more.
Follow Up By: Harry - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 21:41
Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 21:41
Duncan,
No they are not a hassle if you get the right 1.
I purchased an OZTENT model and the instructions are simple to understand and folds up 1st go everytime. There's only 1 tricky bit and once you understand what you need to do, bingo all happens. Email OZtent and Shane will tell you why some others have trouble. It's in the type of material used, and if i recall correctly, metal poles make them easier to use.
Definitely worth it.
Reply By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 20:08
Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 20:08
Jim,
Know how you feel. I'm the designated shower tent folder upper in our
camp. Send me a message and then drop round - we're in
Upwey and I'll give you some personal tuition.
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 20:13
Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 20:13
Jimbo,
You could also download and print the OzTrail manual.
Has instructions and pictures.
OzTrail Pop-Up Ensuite
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 00:03
Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 00:03
Boy thats a harder way than I use.. LOL
folding them away must be the second easiest job I've ever done.. :-)
Follow Up By: Member - colin M (NSW) - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 11:34
Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 11:34
Thanks was that, was about to burn the bloody thing, will have another go. If all else fails read the instructions.
Reply By: 96 GXL 80 series - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 20:14
Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 20:14
The easiest way to solve your problem, is to leave it up and sell it to the next arrival at the
camp site.
Problem solved.
Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 20:21
Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 20:21
PS. I just read the instruction manual.
So what ever you do, tell the new owners that you never got a manual with it.
Other wise you will be stuck with it.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 20:36
Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 20:36
We've got a couple of different brands and use them heaps. The instructions on both are useless. A
young staffer at Rays outdoors showed me how to do it to their "impossible to fold" shower tent.
Do up the zips and fold it flat.
Stand on the bottom, grab hold of the top and push it away from you.
If it pushes away evenly, then its OK to fold. If it already wants to bend, then the poles are twisted and you need to open it out again and fold it flat in the opposite way.
Assuming its even, then join the top and bottom together in your left hand.
Grab hold of the bit nearest to your right hand and twist it clockwise, so it starts to fold in. At the same time, the bit near your left foot will want to go in, so give it a nudge, and it will all fold together like magic.............hopefully :-)))
Follow Up By: Topcat (WA) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 21:06
Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 21:06
Thats exactly the way I figured it out to fold up. Works like a charm & as mentioned by others.....throw away the bl........dy handbook instructions!!!!!! Cheers.
Reply By: GREENDOG - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 21:46
Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 21:46
Well i have the solution,do'nt worry about the shower tent and do what MR and MRS GREENDOG do shower out in the open,as we have the shower on the paj we just pick the right spot and have a relaxed shower and if some one drive's past and has a look
well at least they'll have a story to tell.cheer's GREENDOG
Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 15:14
Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 15:14
LOL. I drove into one of the campsites at Purnululu in the dark one evening... usual thing of many circular roads to get to your
camp... as I came around one of the circuits my lights lit up a woman in her birthday suit sitting on a bit of a chair near the tap washing herself with a bucket.
Was a rather confronting scene ;-) but one that brought much hilarity as she was rather surprised and so was I!.
Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 22:51
Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 22:51
I hear that many people who have camper trailers just lay the damn things flat on the bed before folding the camper down over it.
Cheats way but very effective!
Muddy
Reply By: Member - Roger B (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 23:36
Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 23:36
Unfortunately I was showing off my skill at putting our shower tent up and down when my mate ?? produced his video camera !!! It took about 20 minutes to get the %$#@*& thing down, although all my practice goes at home were perfect. He reckons it's the best bit of comedy video he's ever seen. Hope he doesnt know about u tube.
Reply By: Member - Hayjude (NSW) - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 11:16
Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 11:16
We got one from Rays Outdoor Centre and it is great. The best bit is when we pack it up as Hayd spits the dummy and it just goes on top of the bed in the camper. He spent over half an hour after the first time we used it and has never tried again. Best laugh I had for ages.
Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 15:10
Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 15:10
I've watched this ritual quite a number of times. In the
Simpson Desert Bike Challenge, it is common for support teams to provide showers for riders, the tents for which need to be packed up in the dark, so that the rider can depart at first light.
It is a sight for sore eyes and ears - as they try to do it without getting wet - something that is nearly impossible.
Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 16:51
Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 16:51
Hey Jimbo !
Dunno where the post is, but are they the ones which are done with spring steel and simply pop open. gr8 arn't they.
Because when folding them up they are easy. Do it wrong and you stuff the springing effect, and the blood pressure goes up, and they almost certainly become frizby's
Never had a issue with them ,,
Remember when in doubt RTFM ( something about reading the manual )
Cheers Mate
Reply By: Mikee5 (QLD) - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 19:01
Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 19:01
I hold the bottom (of the tent), my wife holds the top, we twist (the tent again) and it folds quickly into a bag sized package.
Mike.