Theft in parks

Submitted: Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 15:40
ThreadID: 51443 Views:4658 Replies:22 FollowUps:3
I have been caravanning for some 30 years and have never known of a problem with theft from my site except one time in Longreach we were warned about leaving the car fridge out. I have just acquired an 80 watt bi-fold solar panel that I would not want to loose.
We will be going north and west after Christmas.
Has anybody had any experience of theft that might be a concern. I will be insured of course.
Lee

Reply By: 96 GXL 80 series - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 16:01

Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 16:01
The little kids seem to target towel and small thing, but the bigger ones seem to go for spare wheels that aren't locked on to the spare wheel carrier in some way.

And also like the fridge, things that they can get quick cash for.

It seems worse around major cities but then don't let your guard down either, plus if you do loose something you will have an excess to pay if claiming on insurance.

AnswerID: 270915

Reply By: Grizzle - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 16:05

Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 16:05
Hi Lee,

I have a Bi-Fold Solar Panel as well. I bought a Plastic Coated Security Cable from Bunnings and two weather proof padlocks. I then drilled a hole in the Aluminium Frame of the Solar Panel just big enoug to get the Padlock through. I can now either wrap the cable around my van a-frame or axle, or around my car bullbar if I am camping and not have to worry. Most thefts seem to be opportunist, people drive through and grab your fridge or Solar panel. A determined thief will always get what they want but the cable will stop a casual thief.

AnswerID: 270916

Reply By:- Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 16:36

Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 16:36
Been camping everywhere in Victoria for more then 10 years and never (and I mean *NEVER*) hear or experience theft in park. Would be incredibly pity if this civilization “achievement” hit our parks.
AnswerID: 270919

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 17:11

Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 17:11
Heaps of caravan parks have no perimeter fence - thieves can just waltz in and out as they like at night. I've been in an outback caravan park where they have regular security "drive thru's" by a security company, plus the Police drop by from time to time. In my view, both totally useless - nothing more than tokenism IMO. Best to physicaly secure every single thing you have against casual thieves (the professionals will get it if they want it - that is what insurance is for).
AnswerID: 270930

Reply By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 17:14

Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 17:14
Like wise never had a problem or spoken to anyone that has indicated they have had a problem with theft while camping.

AnswerID: 270931

Reply By: Member - steve H (QLD) - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 17:30

Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 17:30
Parks in the Shoalhaven council areas have big problems with young locals stealing eskys looking for grog. People usually find their eskys on the beach the next morning. This only happens around xmas and easter.

PS: I have an esky alarm !!!
AnswerID: 270932

Reply By: deserter - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 17:36

Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 17:36
Few years back I camped successive xmas's at Port Macquarie. Theft was rife. You had to padlock anything outside the tent/van. I lost one of those three legged barbies that was old as the hills and worth buggerall. Funny thing - reported it to camp security and by coincidence the coppers stopped a car a couple hours later that had stolen stuff in the back - including my barby.
AnswerID: 270933

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 18:15

Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 18:15
I have never worried about leaving a campsite in Kakadu locked or unattended, there was never a need.

However I wouldn't do the same in Litchfield, it is a great target for people who leave their stuff on the seat or in full view for Mr Light fingers.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 270940

Reply By: Kinggeorge - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 18:25

Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 18:25
May be of interest to you Lee, I have known a couple of Van Parks that have signs in their office that state to lock doors and windows, even when going to the ablution block. Reason, some "outside locals", watch your van, cut the fly wire and remove your TV, Toaster, radio, and anything else that's not nailed down, all within five minutes. We installed a "Dick Smith" 300 db alarm on the Van entry ($28), and labelled the Van windows Warning of "ALARM INSTALLED", seems to be OK so far.
CHeers,
George
AnswerID: 270943

Follow Up By: V8 Troopie - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 20:25

Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 20:25
300db? that must sound like 10 atom bombs going off at once. I thought that a jet aircraft taking off at about 120db was loud :-)
Klaus
FollowupID: 533975

Follow Up By: Kinggeorge - Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 22:01

Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 22:01
Answer to VS Troopie. Yeah, 300 Db is LOUD, I thought that was the Db rating on the box (of which I have now discarded). But checking the Decibel rating list I would rate it more like 110Db, (which is that of a "car horn". Thanks for picking me up on that, I'll remember to watch my decibels in future.
FollowupID: 534963

Reply By: Member - Guy 59 (QLD) - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 18:37

Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 18:37
My Mum had 2 solar panels and the regulator stolen from the roof of her motor home & they were fixed down, she was not in it at the time, was a nice quite spot not a van park, nothing is safe , be very very careful
AnswerID: 270948

Reply By: DIO - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 19:32

Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 19:32
Doesn't seem to matter where you go or what you do, there is always someone close by seeking an opportunity to pinch something from you or someone else. Seems to be very little respect for people and property. You only have to watch the evening news or read the morning papers to see for yourself. So what does all this mean, be aware of your surroundings, especially total strangers and keep your property close by and preferably locked and secured.
AnswerID: 270958

Reply By: Member - peter C (VIC) - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 20:49

Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 20:49
have had esky stolen from outside caravan and friends had their poptop fly wire slashed and cds and cd player stolen. broad daylight caravan park at lakes entrance. owners said "happens all the time" pity they didnt warn us when we paid our site fees.
AnswerID: 270971

Reply By: North Coast Bob - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 21:00

Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 21:00
Hi Lee,

I think this is an increasing problem all over Australia.
Had the car broken into in Cairns (locals do the parks over on a regular basis), lost an esky in Kiama (after the grog - ended up on the beach) and we caught a guy trying to take a generator at South West Rocks.
We now always lock up the van, camper, etc, and use cables, etc, for gas bottles , bbq, etc. Its a sad situation but you always need to be aware that it could happen and take steps so it does not spoil the holiday.

AnswerID: 270976

Reply By: disco1942 - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 21:17

Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 21:17
Theft does not only occur from outside your van. Last weekend I was on the net sitting in my van around midnight. (Broken Hill T/T park) I noted considerable activity around the next van. I went out to check and saw the neighbour checking his vehicle and his wife searching with a torch.

What had happened was he was in bed asleep and she slipped out to have a shower. Whilst she was out someone slipped in and grabbed her handbag. This has happened in several other parks, we have not been hit as I had been sitting up late and the surrounding vans have lost belongings - in these parks we had not been locking our doors so we would have been hit if I had not been on the computer. These thieves can enter a van and take anything sitting on benches or tables without the sleepers hearing them - even those who had previously thought they slept too lightly for this to happen to them. Always lock your door when there is no one in attendance and awake.

AnswerID: 270980

Reply By: Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 21:34

Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 21:34
We stayed at a caravan park in a cabin at Tumut on our way back last week from doing the G.O.R and was about 9PM when we heard some one screaming, thinking it was just kids running around I had a look outside but couldnt see anybody except for two kids running down towards the office thought they were just chasing each other through the park. Wasnt until we saw blue flashing lights we went out to see what was going on. Found out that the parents were across at another cabin talking to some people and the girls were down at the river feeding the ducks and went back to the cabin for a drink when they were confronted by a bloke.He had jumped in through the back window of the cabin and was just climbing back out when the girls walked in. Flogged the mums purse which had most of there holiday money in, flogged the fathers wallet, ipods and a few other things. First day of there holidays spoiled by some scum bag. So be careful and make sure things are locked up when even having a chat to your neighbours. I reckon the piece of scum must have been watching them and pounced when he could. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 270985

Reply By: Tim Owen - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 21:59

Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 21:59
We had a portable solar panel stolen while at Cape Le Grand National Park a few months back. They also pinched my gas lantern/bottle from off the table next to the camper. Esperence locals came up off the beach in the middle of the night, made their way through both camp grounds pinching stuff, and then headed back to town.

We had a battle with the insurance company - who eventually paid up. I'd suggest you discuss the insurance of you specific item with your insurer - best to sort it out up front, not when you make a claim like us.

Even after this experience, I refuse to create a fortress when camping - might as well stay home.
AnswerID: 270988

Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 23:42

Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 23:42
When we went camping with canvas cover on the Ute some years ago, when we needed to stay in a CP, we asked to go 'with the oldies' and stayed amongst the people who go north for the winter. They were able to watch our fridge and stuff while we went sightseeing. They were also great company.

I have heard from fellow caravaners that when they stayed at a CP in Alice Springs, they found someone sneaking into people's annexes and tents. Sad that our property may not be safe these days.

AnswerID: 271005

Reply By: Member - Roger B (VIC) - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 23:57

Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 23:57
Was at a park in Exmouth a few years ago when the local cops raided this blokes van in the park. It seems he'd been knocking of portable fridges left outside vans all the way up the coast from Perth, moving on a few hundred k's and then trying to sell them. They carted him off.
AnswerID: 271007

Reply By: Ray - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 08:47

Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 08:47
AS I have said in a previous post. Crime rate has increased since caning was stopped at schools and parents are not allowed to smack their kids
AnswerID: 271030

Follow Up By: Paul Mac - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 09:54

Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 09:54
Sorry Ray but l don't think the cane is the problem. Unfortunately our education system is keen to teach our youth their rights but miss out when it comes to their responsibilities and respect for others.
Having read this thread I wonder where this country is going to when you can't even go camping not knowing whether your possessions will be safe.
I dare say on many occasions the law doesn't deter these would be offenders who merely get caught, go to court for their slap on the wrist and head back out to do it all again.
Maybe there is an argument for travellers carrying firearms to deter the would be thief? Sounds extreme I know but we are all only looking to enjoy our great outdoors in peace.
FollowupID: 534026

Reply By: Lee Brooker - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 16:29

Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 16:29
Thank you everybody for your responses. Although some of us have never had any trouble it seems that the problem is more widespread than I would have thought.
It is an indictment on society values that we can not assume that our space is our own.

AnswerID: 271087

Reply By: AdlelaideGeorge - Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 10:47

Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 10:47

I was camping at Pt Elliot SA campground a few years ago when I noticed a flurry of activity in the camp ground in the morning. Several cars had been broken into and at least 1 fridge had been taken from outside a tent - another Patrol had been entered and a family's movie camera stolen (with 10 months memories included) and various other items taken from around the campground including the food from another fridge.

The one thing I remember most though is being told by the lady that had the camera stolen that when she went to the reception to report it and ask that the police be called, the manager/whoever said: "don't you have a mobile 'phone?"

That was the extent of their concern!

Theft from parks that are not secured with good fencing is common - be careful.

Happy days
George
AnswerID: 271348

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 14:02

Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 14:02
never say never it beggars beliefe.
We had a spate of stealing (i was told cds loose cash etc)
from the mining camp - you can imagine how well that gos down.
anyway he was caught and cops called etc so he looses his 80-100k or whatever job and gets a record for theft 9assuming he doesnt get a spent conviction) and never works on a minesite again
all for what? cds and some loose cash?
never underestimate the fact that not everyone is on the same page
AnswerID: 271361