Kevndeb
Driving down a busy road in suburban in
Perth (
well the Kenwick Link in Maddington), coppers doing a radar on the other side of the road caught my interest. Then all I head was mum shout snake, while I was flashing my headlights at an unsuspecting truck driver, it was just before 2.30pm Yeap right in the middle of the Kenwick Link, a duguite had decided to sun it self. Same as Saturday, cars behind me and along side me, no where to go, except the curb. I reckon it was about 4 to 5 foot long, guess the cars behind would have hit it as
well.
Driven that road since it opened never seen a snake there before. So watch out, the snakes are
well and truly out. I hate snakes.
Debbie
Reply By: Mike Harding - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 20:01
Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 20:01
>I hate snakes.
They speak
well of you :)
They're just doing their own thing - leave them alone and they'll leave you alone.
Follow Up By: Himble - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 20:19
Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 20:19
I like snakes!!
Guess it'll be a good year for me!! LOL
Folks in
Perth...please don't kill snakes for the sake of it...they are very important to our (diminishing) ecosystem. If they're appearing to threaten you, back away slowly (if you can) and let them go about their business of finding a mate. Summer's almost upon us, and these guys (along with other reptiles) will be outnabout as the days warm up, looking for SEX!! ;-)
Killing snakes and other reptiles should be considered a LAST RESORT folks.
Andy
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 22:03
Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 22:03
X2 remember snakes WILL NOT chase you if you are lucky enough to come accross one and not didturb it so it takes off just observe it they are fascinating.
Some of them are sociable and will join you on the couch
Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 06:41
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 06:41
Himble posted:
Where are you located? so we can post everyone we get to you.
You can start up your own reptile
park.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 11:52
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 11:52
Perth and
yea i would love to add to the collection.
Strongly recomend a snake handling course to Snake o phobes.
It will give you a real appreciation of how an aggitated snake will behave and how unlikely you are to actually be put at risk by having snakes around.
typically brian Bush has 1/2 a dozen or so freshly caught Dugites, King Browns, death Adders gwarders etc which groups of around 10 take turns aggitating. cornering and capturing.
No one gets bitten because it is all about understanding the snakes desire for flight not fight.
Contrary to popular belief our snakes are far from the worlds deadliest - They kill very few people. Snakes in sri lanka and africa etc are far more deadly killing many people
Follow Up By: Ozboc - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 11:53
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 11:53
Nice beast davoe ,
I had 2 carpets that i raised from 2 weeks old -- they were almost 7 feet long each when i sold them. Kind of really regret selling them now as they were great Pythons
only ever bit me 3 times and those times were my own fault .... the never bit anyone else Inc kids ....
Boc
Reply By: Louie the fly - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 20:41
Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 20:41
Was coming home from work on Wednesday, there was a guy on a bike about 100m in front. Next thing he has legs in the air and is heading to the verge. I wondered what was going on, then as I went further there was a 5'ish foot long brown snake in the middle of the road. Had to try and miss both.
Reply By: 96 GXL 80 series - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 21:15
Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 21:15
It probably dropped out from under a car or truck.
I remember when we were in WA and stopped for fuel at
Singleton near Mandurah one morning on our way up to
Perth, when this truck pulled in running a bit rough and we said it sounds like your truck has a miss in the engine.
He was lifting the bonnet when I paid for the fuel and as I came out, the bloke came out from under his bonnet like he was on fire.
He took off the air cleaner to get to the carby and to his surprise there was a snake in the air cleaner and still alive.
Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 21:52
Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 21:52
Snakes and lead don't mix, but it is the best way to handle them.
Plus they are easier to handle.
Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 22:39
Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 22:39
6ft of snake 1oz of lead = 1 Tame snake.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 23:21
Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 23:21
.. .. .. ..
Follow Up By: Kevndeb - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 09:34
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 09:34
After thinking about it, and way it was coiled up, it probably had come out from under a truck. And yes even it was another creature, that was fury or fluffy I still would have had to hit it. I was doing 70kmh an hour ( speed limit), hitting the car alongside or jamming on brakes, and having the car hit me up the back or hitting the curb at that speed would have done a fair bit of damage to mum, me and the car. It is four lane highway/link road that connects the Roe Hwy with the
Albany Hwy it is very busy road. Now has I sit here, over looking my
park, there is a magpie being bashed up by it's mother/father do I go and save it, or do I let nature take it course? It does look sick, wing it broken, and it is walking around on one leg. Last time I save a duck and took it to vet, from the same
park, it had to be put down.
We live in semi-rural area and we went to local development authority yesterday, as in the paper there was article about a new shopping centre going here, I could not figure out where it would be. Turns out the shopping centre is going to be right next door to a wet land. and that this whole area is going go from being rural/semi rural to urban/suburbs. So it just not along the Mandurah/Rockingham rail line, but out here. Smallest block size is going to be 300sqm.
Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 23:05
Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 23:05
Live and let live. Snakes have an important role in our economy. They are the most efficient rodent killers we have, and save the country many millions of dollars of lost production by keeping down rodent numbers. Next time you see a snake, think of the good it does, rather than the 'if it moves, shoot it' mentality.
We are lucky in Australia that most of our snakes are shy creatures, and given the chance, will get out of our way. This includes the Tiger Snake, who is known as one of our more aggressive reptiles.
It is
well known that more people are bitten when trying to catch or kill snakes than those who leave them be.
Diseases carried by rodents have killed umpteen times more people than snakes. Snakes are welcome in my yard.
Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 06:38
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 06:38
What's this? 'if it moves, shoot it' mentality
Shoot it physically that way it is tame enough to relocate and he won't bite.
Reply By: Member - Roger B (VIC) - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 23:44
Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 23:44
We have lived in the outer Nthn, suburbs of
Melbourne for 36 years, and behind us is a cycling/walking track, and then a
creek. Last week we had our first snake in the back yard for the season. A Brown about a metre long. As soon as he spotted us he was gone. They don't get a good view of what's around them. This comes of having their eyes around the same level as their arses !! Every season we get several snakes,and our kids, and now Grandkids have always played in the back yard and never been threatened. In all that time we've seen more snakes here at home than in all our trips around the country. Except for one trip to the Murray when heaps of Black snakes passed peacefully through our
camp every day. I reckon they'd been doing it for years, and weren't changing their habits for us blow ins. Might have moved
camp if they were browns though!! Snakes are fine. Treat them with a bit of respect.
Reply By: Ozboc - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 11:51
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 11:51
Just a reminder to ALL , ALL snakes in Australia are protected , and if you kill one deliberately you can face heavy fines and also jail time -- just remember there are always people around , and the day you deliberately swerve for a protected species may be the day a snake enthusiast like myself is following you ....
Boc
Follow Up By: Member - John T (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 12:11
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 12:11
G'day Boc,
Yes mate, I too watch in disgust when ppl's swerve to run over snakes in my part of the world -
Tamworth and the greater North West of NSW. I have reported 1 vehcile to Police giving all my particulars but never heard anymore. Leave em alone and they'll respond in kind 99.9% of the time.
| John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions" Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Ozboc - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 17:24
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 17:24
Dont bother reporting to police - they dont care ...... i had a friend that had his car hit in a car
park - they got all the details from the offending car even the guys description -- took to the police and they said they cant do anything, take it to your insurance company ...... ( guy took off from the scene)
with that said -- your best bet would be contact NPWS - they do take these things seriously ....
Boc
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 20:52
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 20:52
its a traffic offence reversing without due care and the pigs are duty bound to upholsd the law
BUT unless they are being lazy innwhich case it should have been reported to his supervisor
as for reporting people running over wildlife.
Wouldnt bother unfortunatly all they need do is say they couldnt safely avoid it - without video tape no chance