EO mates to the rescue - THANKS

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 15:17
ThreadID: 51560 Views:2449 Replies:6 FollowUps:12
I arrived home at 1.45pm CDST and thought that I had better post this before Des Lexic gets back to his office computer.

Many thanks to Blaze for taking time off from work to come and jumpstart the Datto after I accidentally switched the fail safe switch off. Thanks also to Des Lexic for passing the message on to Blaze. I appreciate your help very much.

Yesterday whilst cruising along the Milmed Rock Track through Wyperfield NP I notice the alternator guage dropping below 13volts. This morning the Datto started OK but the needle kept on dropping southwards and was only showing 8 volts by the time I had to refuel in Berri. But she started again and then 10 minutes later in Monash both batteries were as dead a two doornails. Kept the engine running after that.

Better go find some new brushes for the alternator and hope that is all that will be required.

It is great to have this network of friends throughout the country and all due to the wonderfful friendships made through ExplorOz.

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 15:25

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 15:25
Good to see ya back Willie,

Sounds similar to the problem Marc has just had.....was the diode pack in the alternator. Just had it rebuilt by our local sparkie...
tad under $500.oo........and Marc took it off and refitted:((

Anyway Des beat you to it...........

Michael
AnswerID: 271495

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 15:32

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 15:32
Michael
G'day, sounds like an expensive Alternator, mine cost $360 new, was going to throw one out in Dalwallinu WA , but decided to have it checked over first, $49 after a new set of brushes , no worries , got a spare now .
Are you still working, The beautiful tropical climate of North Qld is not bad , I'm in Mareeba but could be going to Cooktown , if not it will be Innisfail,

Doug

FollowupID: 534493

Reply By: Vince NSW - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 15:30

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 15:30
Des got in 12 min before you Willem.
Well done Blaze.
Great to know that members are out there to offer help.
Vince
AnswerID: 271497

Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 15:51

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 15:51
Vince I had to go and get him going, I had orders from the Tourist Association to make sure Willie didn't end up camped in the Riverland overnight LOL
FollowupID: 534498

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 17:51

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 17:51
Trust the friends crossed the desert successfully and didn't meet with a grizley end of a Rugged Roll toolkit there. They already knew of axe murderers and the internet from stories the night before they left. ;-))
AnswerID: 271532

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 18:09

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 18:09
LMAO,

We haven't heard from Muddy yet,
Charlie and Robyn may still be on the run ha ha

Kev

FollowupID: 534522

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 19:29

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 19:29
Muddy and Judy survived the desert run. We left Charlie and Robyn camped with Willem at the Big Billy Bore campground south of Murrayville and they might still be out there somewhere!

Was a great day's run through the Mildred Rock track. Just topped off a fantastic weekend.

Muddies
FollowupID: 534542

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 20:16

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 20:16
John ........Hmmmm...when I left Charlie and Robyn at Big Billy Bore this morning they still had their scalps intact.

Hey Muddy, thanks for the Mystery Tour of Victorian Farmlands courtesy of Nuvi 660. Good to hear that you and Judy arrived home safely.
FollowupID: 534559

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 20:36

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 20:36
No worries Willem,

Just out of interest we proceeded up that main track towards Murrayville and 2 km short of the main road Nuvi directed us to the left onto a fast dirt road that paralleled that hwy for 60km and brings you out right next to the silos at Lameroo.

Was a terrific run that kept us off the Hwy with all those trucks and also avoided having to undergo that pesky inspection at Pinaroo (even though we were in strict compliance with the regulations). Must remember that one for later. Great things those Nuvi's!

Thanks for the opportunity to do that Wyperfield track - was good fun and we really wish we could have stayed with you at BBB but work this morning beckoned! We got home about 9.30pm last night.

Muddy
FollowupID: 534565

Follow Up By: Member - Luke (SA) - Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 21:00

Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 21:00
Muddy,

You should've put the Nuvi on the off road option, would've been home earlier lol
FollowupID: 534932

Reply By: Member -Toonfish - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 19:17

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 19:17
i should have mine back in the next few days ,same problem willem but i have a few extra kms on it ,half thinking it was mud ingestion.

ah well cant wait to have it back on and wheelin
2013/14 around oz adventure bound

AnswerID: 271545

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 20:18

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 20:18
Hey Toony....no show at Pyrenees! Working or more babies on way...lol???
FollowupID: 534560

Follow Up By: Member -Toonfish - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 20:59

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 20:59
still waiting on this one mate, a few personal issues going on but i will be about a bit more in the near future .
2013/14 around oz adventure bound

FollowupID: 534569

Reply By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 22:39

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 22:39
Hi Willem, " Yeah its that East Coast Moron again", I wouldn't go down the road of replacing brushes ,in something thats half bleep ed, anyway!, Join the throw away society and put a new after market alternater on, you may be surprised at the price, Any way not telling you how to suck eggs!!.

AnswerID: 271603

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 06:39

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 06:39
Hi Axle

Just as well mate you are not telling me 'How to' as I am allergic to eggs...hahahahaha

I have already got my mechanic to ring around to find a replacement alternator. I will then let a lekky mate repair the old one to keep as a spare.

FollowupID: 534623

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 15:59

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 15:59
Hi Axle

I sourced an alternator via my mechanic man for $480 inc freight which seemed like a good deal as I was told that they could be anything from $400 to $1800. Fitting should be around $50. Truck should be mobile by tomorrow arvo again.

FollowupID: 534718

Reply By: QLD Kev - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 14:27

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 14:27
Willem,

Sam wants to know was it the fail safe switch or the keyless ignition that caused the dramas LOL

AnswerID: 271686

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 16:03

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 16:03
Hi Sam

Hmmmm...I got out of the wagon to get a better Satphone signal and bumped the start switch with me knee. Two flat batteries had alrerady been installed and so I was going nowhere.

New alternator is on its way this arvo.

FollowupID: 534719