Air Compressor

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 08:35
ThreadID: 51587 Views:4412 Replies:9 FollowUps:10
I am in the marker for an air compressor for my Pajero SWB.

Can anyone suggest an appropriate brand commensurate with economic prudence. And what is the optimum output required from experience.

Thanks in advance'

Reply By: Member - GeeTee (NT) - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 08:45

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 08:45
Max Air is the only way to go ! !
AnswerID: 271645

Follow Up By: Member - MR 1927 - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 09:07

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 09:07
Thanks for that.
FollowupID: 534649

Reply By: PradoTrev - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 10:04

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 10:04
Look at the new ARB one saw it on 4WD TV or on the 4WD action mag DVD doing a test comparo on the old ARB and the new one. Looked to be more than twice as fast. Now that either means the old one is supper slow or the new one is up there

Trevor
AnswerID: 271656

Follow Up By: ben_gv3 - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 12:22

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 12:22
Nope, the old ARB one is super slow compared to the competition (and I have one).
FollowupID: 534670

Reply By: apriti00 - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 10:35

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 10:35
Definitely consider the new ARB unit, it seems to be a good unit backed by a reputable company and you can also rebuild it should there be a problem after the warranty expires, not that there should be any issues.
Cheers Walter
AnswerID: 271660

Reply By: apriti00 - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 10:35

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 10:35
Definitely consider the new ARB unit, it seems to be a good unit backed by a reputable company and you can also rebuild it should there be a problem after the warranty expires, not that there should be any issues.
Cheers Walter
AnswerID: 271661

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 13:38

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 13:38
Ox ...Made In USA
Blue Tongue...Made In USA

Max Air ..Made In China
When your in locations like the SD or CSR you need something that will work and keep on working.
There will be some Max users that will swear by them , It's a free country but I like to only buy once.
I use an Ox and a Blue Tongue

AnswerID: 271679

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 14:26

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 14:26
G'day Doug,
Up until this time last year I used my 4.2TD (since sold) as my daily driver. It was fitted with a plumbed-up Max-Air which operated the air horns and front locker. Now I didn't use the air locker much, but always kept the air receiver tank pumped up in case I needed to give some lethargic pedestrian a bit of a hurry-up!!! (hahaha). Due to an imperfect air-line system, the Max-Air was required to operate several times every day for over 5 years (to keep the system pressurised all the time).

I have now transferred that Max-Air to my current rig and it is still performing totally flawlessly and is the quickest compressor amongst our club's members (none of us has a engine-driven unit).

If it ever does give up, I'll be looking at one of those "BIG BOSS" jobbies.....they draw a lot of amps, but are as quick as an Endless Air by all accounts (they are selling them on ebay either with or without a large receiver tank).

As for the ones you mention, they are not immune from "dying". I have seen a Thomas seize-up and it had only done a very small amount of work.

Chinese stuff sure is a bit hit and miss.....quality control leaves a lot to be desired. But I reckon in the case of the "proper" Max-Air....(as opposed to the clones that are now popping up everywhere), you can't go too far wrong.

Just my observations over a 5 year period of owning the Max-Air.

FollowupID: 534696

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 14:30

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 14:30
Sorry, stupid me!!! You didn't mention the "Thomas" brand at all........ time for my medication me thinks!!!
FollowupID: 534698

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 14:32

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 14:32
Hey Roachie,

Isn't Lucky a pest (I mean a member) of your club LOL

FollowupID: 534699

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 14:44

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 14:44
Thanks for reminding me Kev (NOT!!!!). He caught me at a weak moment.......Not one single solitary 4x4 club in Vicbloodytoria would allow him to join their ranks. Indded, he tried to join several closer clubs (eg: Des Lexic's Riverland 4x4 Club) here in SA, but none would take his money. (Not worth the hassle apparently). So, eventually he reached right over here and (as I said already), we were desparate for the membership fee so we allowed him sign-up. Best part is that we only see him over here once in a blue moon!!! hahaha
FollowupID: 534701

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 14:46

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 14:46
Behave your self, that medication might rat poison , NO hang on this is Roachie ...a member , I got carried away thinking about someone else that owns a GLX ....Cough Cough

FollowupID: 534704

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 15:08

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 15:08
And Lucky suckered you lot to accept him LOL
Wonders never cease

Kev

FollowupID: 534707

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 15:20

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 15:20
Okay, it's about time I told the truth I spose.......

The REAL reason why I didn't oppose Lucky joining the YP 4WD Club, is that he ALWAYS makes me look good!!!!

Yes, I know, that's a bloody big call........but it's true!!!

He is the only bloke in Australia (involved in the 4WD fraternity....otherwise we'd have to include the likes of Harold Screwball etc) who I can go on a trip with and I come out the other end with nobody talking about how many far-cups I made.....cos all attention has been on the misadventures of Lucky and "Lucy".....hahahaha

ROFLMAO........
FollowupID: 534712

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 16:17

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 16:17
When I selected "Big Red" as my compressor of choice, it wasn't the cheapest one around (cost an arm and half a leg) and it wasn't necessarily the fastest.

But it's reputation for reliability, plus the portability of the "tool box" model I have won it over for me. This allows me to pump HER car tyres at home up as well, so she is happy. Haven't bothered with the 240 V shed compressor for pumping up tyres for ages.

It's now about 6 years old and a "phase I" instead of a "phase II" but still going strong.

Buggered if I know (or care) where it's made.
It just works.....and works.....and works......

AnswerID: 271698

Reply By: Member - Tom V (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 19:07

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 19:07
MR
check out the, 4x4 australia, december 2007, issue. they have a air compressor comparison. ?? cheers Tom
AnswerID: 271727

Follow Up By: Member - MR 1927 - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 19:14

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 19:14
Thanx Tom. I'm an idiot.
I subscibe to that mag and have the copy you mentioned, however I have not yet opened it.
Gives me something to do tonight.
Thanx to everyone who answered, gives me a lot to think about.
FollowupID: 534768

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 20:40

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 20:40
Theres heaps to choose from now.

In the distant past, I used hand pumps - had two good ones but they worked well on the split rims.

Then I upgraded to two of the better Kmart compressors ($50 each) - I figured I could do 2 at once and if one were to fail, I could use the other - they got heaps of use, and only failed when the rubber deteriorated after 10 years.

Replaced them with a Blue Tongue 3 about 8 years ago - again heaps of use, pumps the tyres up quick, and survived the installation under the bonnet. Still going strong and is a good investment.

But needed a second one to carry as a spare and to put in our Xtrail for trips - spent $125 at the 4wd show on a twin cylinder Terrain Tamer compressor. I timed it and it pumps just as quick as the Blue Tongue. Don't know how long it will last - but I guess I'll find that out.
AnswerID: 271752

Reply By: nickb - Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 19:45

Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 19:45
I haven't had any problems with my max air. 2 mates have used them for a few years and they are still going strong. I tried a cheap version of the max air and it only lasted a year. As long as you stick to a reputable brand you can't go wrong.
AnswerID: 271867