Pyrenees Trip report Tour 1 - Bonz's Bandolero's

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 22:53
ThreadID: 51648 Views:3856 Replies:6 FollowUps:25
Well I just thought I would add to the Pyrenees trip reports with a review of the BonzTrain’s Saturday Journey

It started off well at 0630hrs with me changing a tyre. Moved the Patrol about 3 metres and there goes that lovely hissing noise, must admit that when I woke the next morning I recalled Len Beadell’s adventures with flat tyres in the morning and my eyes misted over for a sec.

The fire beckoned and over I went, Mornin Kev! Nice cuppa and back to the tyre. GOB (of “and Denny” fame) came over to see if I needed a hand, and Heather, bless her cotton socks, came over and took a pic.

Fri Night around the fire I had planned a tour extraordinaire for the Saturday. A little hard and a little easy and a lot of scenery. That about sums up the Pyrenees. The plan was also to leave at 0900hrs, however I was petitioned by the hard working Dairy Farmer Contingent to put back the start time. Hey! We are on holidays – Not a problem! Of course NickR was up ready to go by 0800hrs, but I still had to wait for the newest EO member to arrive from Geelong, the Bonza Brother Rob with his 2 boys and a Pommy, U.S. accented Scott. (don’t ask! I don’t know the answer!)

Lined up to leave were Bonz (of course) + family, Rob n the Boys, Twinkles and Marg, NickR and Simone and the R-Crew, Shane and Anne-Marie (the Magnificent) + Bridie (she’s cute but I don’t know how she’ll handle the rough stuff), Dave and Nora in the Troopy with Willem and Jude as Tail End Charlie (Judy not looking too crash hot, she would double for Muzbry in a dark alley). Channel 16? OK lets Go! <--- Twinkles likes to get a move on.

We finally got away at 0937hrs and away up Emery track, what a track! In Robs words, “You drive around the corner on a dirt road and there’s the biggest rockiest track you can find”. The climb is a pearler! It just goes and goes and … just goes. Pick your line and go easy and it’s a cinch. We all made it up there no problems and with a call back to Glenn at camp to say the terrible ascent was clear, we continued off down Mill track, passing a lovely little echidna beside the track eliciting coo’s of “Cute” from the back seat. Right turn through beautiful Glenshee, green grassed valleys along Spring Creek Rd down Dridan track to the bottom of Old King Tree track. If Emery looked steep this thing looked steeper (and rocky). With expert skill and guidance, (from Me!) thems that wanted to try romped up the track making it look easy and making me wonder why I had three tries at this track 2 weeks earlier, now I am not saying that JohnR in the front reduces ground clearance, or that a good understanding of which side of the front axle the diff is in is important but never-the-less three tries it was. Dave’s Troopy made it look like childs play, him with his house on his back only needed one little cinch back and he was at the top in a jiff too.

From here we proceeded over to Camerons Track campground complete with lizards around the tank outlet (it’s the brass tap near the ground Anne-Marie) and a nice drink stop, where AdrianLR popped up the track and decided to join the parade. Merv Flett (DSE Ranger) also caught up, but he was in a Prado and didn’t want to go off the gravel road (or something). From there it was of to the bottom of Old Tiger Cat track, or the F F track, so named by Mrs Al. Coming down the track and looking up at the Old Tiger Cat track made it look un-scaleable. Being a caring trip leader, I nosed up the Chicken track with three other cars behind me, including NickR, the Man who conquered Slate Quarry track, however this time with Simone saying No No No! We walked up the track a bit and it looked relatively easy, steep but easy but Nick wasn’t having any of it. I asked Twinkles if she was going to give it a go, mentioned the line to take and she was off with a bounce and nary a second thought – DID IT EASY, although I am not sure if more than three wheels were on the track at any one time! Good one Twinkles – made it look easy. Of course this prompted Nick to give it a go, and for a moment we thought he was going to reverse up the track, but no, he did it easy too, bonnet first as is the custom in Victoria. Minus Simone tho! Willem and Jude (looking more and more like Muzbry as the day wore on) idled up as if it was Flemington Road at 1714hrs on a Thursday afternoon. Ahhh experience, you cant buy that! Met Des Lexic at the top, he was so lost he asked for directions from Flemington Rd up PascoeVale Rd. Last I saw as we headed off up the track was Willem pointing at the track and saying “Its easy!”.

A short drive around Main Track and we descended to Waterfalls campground for lunch down the steep, and picturesque Fraser track, rock shelves abound, head out the window descents watching the front wheels and where you place them, but we all got down with nary a dent, although I do believe Shane found out why those things on the side of the Hilux are called Banana Boards, not side steps. Beautiful lunch spot, shade and toilets, but a shame that the mooted Ice Cream van with the 63 flavours wasn’t there! When we gout out, in full daylight, it did appear to be Muzbry in the passenger seat of Willems truck. My mistake earlier... ;0)

After lunch was a leisurely jaunt down Schmidt track, Lever track, Radigans track to the highest peak scaled on the day, where we took a group photo and I couldn’t understand why, with all the wood and sticks on the ground, Twinkles bought along some aluminum ones, but that’s ok, no worries. We made our way back to camp along Point Patrick track, a great drive with a nice steep section at the end descending around 450m, beautiful scenery and ending up in Pete’s driveway for the trip back to the camp.

Back on the bitumen I just couldn’t be seen to drive back into camp and Willem graciously agreed to tow me back in, topping off a fantastic day.The Pyrenees turned on the weather and the tracks are magnificent, but ts the EO people that made the day such a joy. Thanx to everyone who came along, all named above and sorry about that one little track that petered out….. Des Lexic told me to take that one hahahahah

Reply By: nowimnumberone - Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 23:03

Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 23:03
and how long did that take to type out sir types-a-lot
AnswerID: 271913

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 23:05

Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 23:05
about 15 mins, hows tricks old mate?

FollowupID: 535019

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 23:20

Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 23:20
helloo sir jim, hope you are fit again too mate. Been great if you made it to the Pyrenees but not as much mud as last time there with you
FollowupID: 535026

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 23:19

Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 23:19
Good one mate. Looking forward to Glenn's and Des Lexic's too now. I keep going back to your quote of the other day -"how I love the Pyrenees" and it has obviously whetted Kev's appetite for more off-road.
AnswerID: 271918

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 06:24

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 06:24
John,

After so long out of the saddle I want to stay in it LOL

I agree with Blaze though Des is still trying to work out where he went ha ha
Maybe Mr and Mrs Al could give him some assistance

FollowupID: 535062

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 07:43

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 07:43
Kev, will try to make sure of avaailability when you come back so there can be a mini tour if you like. Get you back on the range.

Still a Mystery Tour as advertised I am sure. I wonder if they had to do a re-trace as per the GPS crumb trail many times? I am sure Willem would have known, had he been on that tour. Blaze should be able to watch the video in reverse to get back there again. LOL
FollowupID: 535072

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 09:57

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 09:57
It was always intended to be a Mystery Trip, Turned out to be a Mystery Trip and where we went is still a Mystery to me.
Looking at the bread crumb trail we left, We didn't do too badly.
Only made the comment about that lost African tribe once or twice too.
Have to come up with a trip report over the weekend.
FollowupID: 535100

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 23:57

Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 23:57
Your eyesight is a worry Bonz

I think I will stick with the original Jude.....lol

AnswerID: 271926

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 18:12

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 18:12
hahahaha Willem at least I didnt catch you two canoodling

FollowupID: 535181

Reply By: Blaze - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 00:59

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 00:59
Great report Bonz, it will be interesting to see if Des knows yet where we went for his report..LOL Also if he knows the names of the couple of walking tracks that he lead us up and down on, one isn't even on any of the maps....
AnswerID: 271934

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 07:46

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 07:46
I am expecting the information mate, no matter how he does it. He should have 2-3 videos to recognise the tracks by shouldn't he?
FollowupID: 535073

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 18:14

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 18:14
Thanx Blaze, I have seen the breadcrumb trail, it looks like you did the block mate

FollowupID: 535182

Reply By: Redback - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 08:18

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 08:18
Don't any of you blokes own a flaming camera????

AnswerID: 271963

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 13:35

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 13:35
Sure, there is one beside me. Have downloaded a few pics too. They really never look as steep as they do at the time. Have a look at the one of Dave's that I corrected of Willem on the Old Tigercat Track. I just corrected to get the trees vertical and get some steepness back in. Will post som later. Looks good to see the angles of Fay-D-Away, the ice cream van going up a steep hill.
FollowupID: 535137

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 16:51

Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 16:51

Well this one works

The crew at the top all smiling

FollowupID: 535368

Reply By: Twinkles - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 13:35

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 13:35
I never did learn to crawl properly, hence the bouncy ride. I'll have to learn about creeping up rocky tracks now that I have a front Lokka. The IFS has made me rely a bit too much on momentum!
AnswerID: 272026

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 13:43

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 13:43
Gutsy performances Twinkles. Momentum means a lot, especially in mud and sand.
FollowupID: 535138

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 14:08

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 14:08
This is of a track on the way to the F... F... Track, I cant remeber the name but I bounced all the way up and this is Moggs following behind me

Moggs at Pyrenees

FollowupID: 535141

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 14:37

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 14:37
Al and Mrs Al at the same spot as Moggs in the converted Cruiser :))

FollowupID: 535148

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 14:44

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 14:44
Was all that buzzing sound the censors button for Mrs Al ????

FollowupID: 535149

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 14:50

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 14:50
LOL,

Wait till I upload the F... F... track one of Lyn then it is a constant BEEEEEEEEEEEEEPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP he he

Kev

FollowupID: 535150

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 14:57

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 14:57
LOL, looks like Moggs learnt from Twinkles for that bumpy ride too. Plenty of revs, wonder what they were and tyre pressures too? I know with Nissan gearing and big tyres, you tend to have a high gear and need revs to overcome the weight with the slope.
FollowupID: 535151

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 15:00

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 15:00
I was bouncing a lot higher let me assure you LOL
I ran 25 all round.

FollowupID: 535152

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 15:11

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 15:11
I had 19 front and 24 rear up there to make life easier.
FollowupID: 535153

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 15:18

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 15:18
You should be able to hear Lyn screaming in this one LOL
It the F... F... Track

Lyn as a passenger coming down the track

cheers Kev

FollowupID: 535155

Follow Up By: Twinkles - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 15:34

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 15:34
I as running 16 all round in 31" ProComp muddies.
FollowupID: 535159

Follow Up By: Moggs - Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 17:50

Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 17:50
Ahhhh! Brings back good memories of a great day out.

John, I was in low 1st in that video, had 22psi all round. Our vehicle was a barrel of laughs. Nat and the girls were getting a good chuckle out of being bounced around. Most of the rocky hill climbs were done with a bit of speed to maximise enjoyment :-)

Never had an issue with the gearing in the Patrol running 285/75/16's.
FollowupID: 535381

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 18:48

Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 18:48
Moggs, I had comments from Willem on one long downhill run that I was using the brakes a bit, as the weight was pushing me down a bit quicker than I needed. I watched some of the other vehicles that had lower gearing ascend and decend slopes without the revs I needed.

There are plenty of memories of that weekend, all very good, well mostly, very good.

I reckon that once Lucy feels better he will be looking to doing another recce if you are interested, assuming that we don't all make it back when Kev picks up Darkie ;-))))
FollowupID: 535396

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 19:02

Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 19:02
I'm ready when ever Darkie is, the swag is cleaned and ready to go again LOL

I just need John from Tamworth to finalise details for the central NSW gathering and I'll be in heaven LOL

4WD Monthly want to do an article on Darkie when I get him so I better work out his good and bad points ASAP before they turn up LOL

Kev

FollowupID: 535400

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 12:11

Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 12:11
LOL,

Kev the first time I came down that track I was the driver....I asked the kids about half way down if they had their eyes closed...and they said they did...and I said...so do I...

the one of us going up the track...we had Eric's daughter Natalie with us...and her, Tegan and I were killing ourselves laughing..it was a great track to go up...you car sure did bounce up that one..

Lyn
FollowupID: 535558

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 12:15

Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 12:15
I got up that one before Glenn had a chance to get the camera out from memory :(
Ashley went off cause it was a bit rough and the others were looking to be going smoothly up the track. Don't know how she could tell as she had her eyes shut as well LOL

Kev

FollowupID: 535562